Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Thu 21 Aug 2014, 02:18
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
Setting up a web server on Puppy; Quisp, Monkey
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 2 [22 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2 Next
Author Message
Bruce B


Joined: 18 May 2005
Posts: 11084
Location: The Peoples Republic of California

PostPosted: Thu 26 May 2005, 21:54    Post subject:  Setting up a web server on Puppy; Quisp, Monkey  

I thought Puppy had a built in web server, but I can't locate it.

Any tips on how to setup a simple web server would be much appreciated.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Bruce B


Joined: 18 May 2005
Posts: 11084
Location: The Peoples Republic of California

PostPosted: Fri 27 May 2005, 04:08    Post subject: Answering my own question  

Answering my own question. I found a little web server in /root/ghttpd called httpd.

It seems to work just fine although I don't know much about using it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7047
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Fri 27 May 2005, 09:06    Post subject:  

Quisp uses that web server, its "nullhttpd" package.
I seem to recall that nullhttpd have virtually no documentation.
I also vaguely recall GuestToo getting some other web servers going, I think reported on the old forum.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Bruce B


Joined: 18 May 2005
Posts: 11084
Location: The Peoples Republic of California

PostPosted: Fri 27 May 2005, 09:27    Post subject: Thanks  

Thank you Barry. The configuration file gives a little hint about how it works. I copied the necessary files to another directory under root/.usr/ghttpd

I don't know cgi so I didn't setup a cgi directory. I just want it simple. You can run the web server on any port you want. So far it tests good. Maybe GuestToo will give his recommendation about what he things would be best to use.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
GuestToo
Puppy Master

Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 4078

PostPosted: Fri 27 May 2005, 15:59    Post subject:  

i had a Monkey roxapp package uploaded at one time ... i could make it a dotpup

it used to be nullhttpd had a security hole, but they fixed it, so i think nullhttpd and monkey are about the same ... monkey has some security advisories, but they are just about the default cgi files, and they don't work in Puppy anyway (no Perl or PHP)

you can easily disable the cgi anyway

they say it's better to not run servers as root
you can su spot and run the server as spot ... you may need to put your config files in /root/spot though

my monkey roxapp ran as spot

it is very easy to setup and use
basically, put your web files in ghttpd/htdocs
you can put other files like zip files, mp3s, pictures in there too and they can be downloaded from your server

httpd doesn't have a convenient way to run/stop it though
i did make an xmessage script to start/stop the server ... i have it somewhere

you could make 2 scripts, and drag them to the desktop to create shortcuts, or put them in the menu, or just open the folder and click them ... these 2 scripts are about as simple as you can get:

#!/bin/sh
/root/ghttpd/httpd

#!/bin/sh
killall httpd
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
menno
Guest


PostPosted: Fri 27 May 2005, 16:41    Post subject: ghttpd  

From the CGI-BIN you can run scripts , such as Quinsp is , as Perl , Xbasic and others as Peu or Euphoria also compiled C programs .
PHP may be a problem because its run normely from the doc directory .
I didn't have the time to find out how to do it . I ame running the Lampp that is a compilation of PHP Perl Appache and some more . The only disadvantage is that it very large .
Back to top
GuestToo
Puppy Master

Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 4078

PostPosted: Fri 27 May 2005, 18:40    Post subject:  

i made a Monkey dotpup
http://www.murga.org/~puppy/viewtopic.php?t=18&start=87
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Bruce B


Joined: 18 May 2005
Posts: 11084
Location: The Peoples Republic of California

PostPosted: Sat 28 May 2005, 07:57    Post subject: Thanks  

You're incredible. Thanks for the Monkey server! Much appreciated!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Bruce B


Joined: 18 May 2005
Posts: 11084
Location: The Peoples Republic of California

PostPosted: Sat 28 May 2005, 23:49    Post subject: Monkey question for GuestToo  

GuestToo, the monkey pup package was really nice work. Thanks again.

Monkey works well at the address you assigned it: 127.0.0.1:51234

I tried to set it to run on 127.0.0.1:80 and all I've been able to get is a 'connection refused' message with the browsers.

I've set the configuration files to run it on port 80 but no go. Any ideas how to set it to run on port 80?

BTW - I tested port 80 to see if it was available by using httpd and it is and httpd works 127.0.0.1:80
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
GuestToo
Puppy Master

Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 4078

PostPosted: Sun 29 May 2005, 15:49    Post subject:  

if you read /root/monkey/conf/monkey.conf, it says:

Quote:
Whatever specified number less than or equal to 1024, only will
# be able to be established as a connection door if the user posesses
# privledges of Root.


i setup Monkey to run as nobody
if you run Monkey as root, you can use port 80

Monkey will run as root if you change the line in AppRun from:
su -c $SM - nobody &
to $SM &
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Bruce B


Joined: 18 May 2005
Posts: 11084
Location: The Peoples Republic of California

PostPosted: Sun 29 May 2005, 17:20    Post subject: I got it.  

Thanks that was very big of you. You could have just said, "Learn to read."

Since I didn't read careful enough, I'd never have figured it out without you.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Guest
Guest


PostPosted: Sat 04 Jun 2005, 01:06    Post subject: Website using quisp and shsqi  

Hey Bruce,

I've built a fully dynamic website using quisp and shsql that come packaged with puppy. All content from the website is stored in the shsql database and retrieved using quisp page code. I've found there are a few niggly little issues, but all can be overcome. I initially had problems with quisp not serving images, but this was resolved by using the full html url of the image in the <img src=""/>, rather than the relative path on the server.

eg "http://www.cooma.biz.tm/banner.png"

rather than "banner.png"

This is a lot slower (on my machine and connection), but it works. If you figure out a better way, please let me know Smile

There is heaps of info available on how to set up a quisp website - Barry has provided some. If you go to Information Managers -> Quisp... and click on the examples link; there is enough to get you started.

I have just used Null httpd on Puppy, but I think Apache is a more secure choice for a production system.

Cheers
Back to top
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7047
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Sat 04 Jun 2005, 05:51    Post subject:  

It's on the to-do list to setup Quisp and nulhttpd running as a user, rather than as root.
This is what we do with didiwiki -- it runs as user "spot".
(see /root/spot).

What is your URL so I can see your Quisp pages?
...i think you posted something about this earlier, but I can't recall.
...a newsworthy item i think!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
thoughtjourney

Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 61
Location: Sutton, NSW

PostPosted: Tue 07 Jun 2005, 07:17    Post subject:  

Hi Barry,

sorry about the delay in replying... I've been flat out with study, and haven't had much time for the fun things in life.

my website can be found at www.cooma.biz.tm

(or it will be in a few minutes... I'm testing the mono::live cd on my server machine at the moment)

I'm playing around with the styles at the moment, so it isn't very pretty, and I am in the middle of building a content management system. The skeleton is there, though. I am running the web server as a user (db). I'd be grateful for any feedback Smile

cheers

_________________
in the beginning was the Logos

http://thoughtjourney.aus.cc
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Nathan F


Joined: 08 Jun 2005
Posts: 1760
Location: Wadsworth, OH (occasionally home)

PostPosted: Wed 08 Jun 2005, 11:23    Post subject: Monkey as root  

Ijust tried this:


if you run Monkey as root, you can use port 80

Monkey will run as root if you change the line in AppRun from:
su -c $SM - nobody &
to $SM &

Unfortunately, it doesn't seem to have worked for me, as port 80 is still refused. I tried it with nulllhttp and I can acces port 80. Any help would be appreciated, as I'm still somewhat new to Linux in general.

Thanlks,

Nathan
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 2 [22 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0833s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0141s) ][ GZIP on ]