Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Tue 02 Sep 2014, 00:42
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Dingo alpha7 feedback/bugs
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 3 of 9 [135 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9 Next
Author Message
rerwin


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 1513
Location: Maine, USA

PostPosted: Sun 09 Mar 2008, 19:04    Post subject: Re: assumed home directory  

disciple,
Keep in mind that all of the programs invoked with the "$@" parameter are affected. So adapting ROX doesn't solve the entire problem.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
klu9

Joined: 27 Jun 2007
Posts: 345

PostPosted: Sun 09 Mar 2008, 19:55    Post subject:  

OFF TOPIC
I'm surprised these incremental versions aren't being additionally offered via Xdelta patches (as opposed to only full-size ISOs), to really reduce the download time for the majority of users, who'll already have a previous alpha.

http://puppylinux.org/wikka/XdeltA

_________________
- Remember: it's a wiki. You can contribute too! Very Happy
- Puplet creators, see DistributingYourPuplet

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7047
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Sun 09 Mar 2008, 20:04    Post subject: Re: Dingo alpha7
Subject description: feedback
 

charnisingh wrote:
It looks like Barry has not uploaded the "gettext-0.16.1" as package manager can not install it.

Fixed.

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7047
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Sun 09 Mar 2008, 20:13    Post subject:  

zygo wrote:
Booting entirely into RAM from a CD. Here are some observations of this alpha release.


Quote:
Dialup disconnects after 2 seconds. The /root/.etc/ppp/chap-secrets and /root/.etc/ppp/pap-secrets workaround seems to fix it.

What workaround is that?

Quote:
cdp is missing.

Is there any application or script that needs that? Or is it just something that you yourself find a useful thing to have? I think it is small, I could put it in.

Quote:
xine takes 20-30 seconds after the button is clicked before it makes any sound from an audio CD. During this time the disk is spinning. This drive worked much quicker in 301. I tried starting xine after replacing the boot CD with the audio CD but then the xine window title says 'There is no MRL'. Even when I put the Puppy cd back into /dev/hdc.

The volume control in the panel has no effect on the sound coming from xine.

Maybe I'll go back to Gxine, same as 3.01. Then at least Dingo will be no worse than 3.01.
I experienced a problem with Xine-ui a couple of days ago -- when I tested a VCD, clicking the "VCD" button on the GUI interface hung my computer.

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7047
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Sun 09 Mar 2008, 20:22    Post subject: Re: Geany print problem - easy fix  

GeoW wrote:
After using CUPS to set up printer, trying to print from Geany says it
will use: /usr/bin/lpr - but lpr is a dead link to lpr-cups

Replace it with a link to lpr_cups and Geany prints.

Note: when you first enter Puppy 3.97 lpr is a small script but when
you invoke CUPS lpr gets changed to the dead link.

GeoW

Ah, running CUPS from the menu runs /usr/sbin/cups_shell, which has this in it:

Code:
#v2.17.1 PDQ print system has lpr symlink to /usr/bin/pdq, set in /usr/sbin/printerwizard.sh,
#so may have to change it back...
rm -f /usr/bin/lpr
ln -s lpr-cups /usr/bin/lpr


So, I've commented those lines out. Dingo is commited to CUPS I think, so cannot go back to PDQ.

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7047
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Sun 09 Mar 2008, 20:32    Post subject: Re: xorgwizard resolution fixes not added to alpha7
Subject description: Corrects & adds Cyber adapter signatures; corrects resolution for new X driver: intel.
 

rerwin wrote:
Barry,
I created an alpha6 fix for xorgwizard with my report of issues quoted below. Since it was skipped, I have merged the xorgwizard changes into the aplha7 xorgwizard. The result is attached along with a difference listing. I have tested it successfully with both 3.98 and 3.02.

Those changes correct the video adapter signatures for Trident CYBER adapters, add two more of them, and insert the xorg.conf "PreferredMode" monitor parameter to ensure the selected resolution is set. The incorrect resolution may be related to either the new version of xorg or to RandR-enabled video drivers such as "intel".
Quote:
Posted: Mon Feb 11, 2008 8:03 pm Post subject: XorgWizard sets wrong resolution with new "intel" driver
Subject description: New driver supports RandR; ignores Puppy's resolution settings; uses non-listed 1152x864. Solved.
On my IBM NetVista PC with Intel 845 built-in graphics and an ADI 5P CRT monitor, the old driver, i810, set resolutions as directed by Puppy's xorgwizard in xorg mode. In alpha6 and the newer driver, intel, the resolution is set to 1152x864 no matter what I select (1024, 1280, 800) with the wizard. The resolution is reported by HardInfo and corresponds to what I see on the screen.

I found a post that suggests the solution:
http://www.mp3car.com/vbulletin/linux/111031-my-troubles-intel-i810-drivers-xorg-fixed.html
It uses an xorg.conf Monitor-Section Option statement that affects only adapters that support RandR 1.2 (The X Resize and Rotate Extension) and is apparently ignored by other adapters. The man-page definition of it is:
Quote:
Option PreferredMode string
This optional entry specifies a mode to be marked as the preferred initial mode of the monitor. (RandR 1.2-supporting drivers only)

I have tried this Option using the same resolution as in the Screen Section and, indeed, the problem is corrected. I have modified /usr/sbin/xorgwizard to generate the Option statement with the same value as that placed in the Screen Section "Modes" statement. I have also tested the fix on other PCs (that don't need it) and there is no impact.

Please consider updating the wizard from the attached archive to avoid resolution weirdness. Thanks.

Anyone can try this out by extracting the wizard to someplace easily accessible from the command prompt. Boot with pfix=nox, mount the location of the new xorgwizard file, then run it using the full path name. Then run xwin to finish bootup.

If already booted to the desktop, just exit to the command prompt, find and run the wizard as above, then xwin.
Richard

It's done. Thanks for that, especially the difference file so I was able to see quickly what you did.

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7047
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Sun 09 Mar 2008, 20:35    Post subject:  

lluamco wrote:
Is g77 missing in devx_397.sfs ? (and devx_396.sfs...)

Yes, missing. Dingo was compiled in T2, and g77 was not enabled. I suppose it could be compiled.

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7047
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Sun 09 Mar 2008, 20:40    Post subject: Re: Pwget dialogs use incorrect/inconsistent term
Subject description: User should "copy and paste", not "cut...".
 

rerwin wrote:
The new pwget tool directs the user to "cut" out a web address and paste it, while all that is needed is to "copy" the URL to paste it. Pwget's instructions can be made more precise by the replacement of "Cut" with "Copy" in statements 12 and 29 of the script in /usr/local/Pwget.

My original report on this for alpha6 is here:
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=170802#170802
Richard

Thanks, fixed.

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7047
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Sun 09 Mar 2008, 20:49    Post subject: Re: xfdiff misses difference in very long statement/line
Subject description: Differing word about 350 characters into 500-char line not detected.
 

rerwin wrote:
While verifying my minor changes to pwget with xfdiff, I discovered that my change on line 29 was not indicated. The same change on line 12 at character 16 of a ~130-char line was detected.
...
Since xfdiff did not find the word or indicate the maximum line length it compares, its credibility is dubious. It cannot be trusted.

Hmmm. Perhaps you could send an email to the author of xfdiff.
I sent him an email about 6 months ago informing of the patch-file-generation just crashing. No response. However, I did contact him once before that, with another difficulty and he did reply on that occasion. It has been a long time since he upgraded xfdiff, so he should be gently persuaded to do so.

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7047
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Sun 09 Mar 2008, 20:54    Post subject: Re: Unexpected directory for home/file icon and menu selecti
Subject description: Default directories depend on current directory as set at command prompt outside of X.
 

rerwin wrote:
While testing my xorgwiz fix at the command line before running xwin, I changed the current directory to my flash drive. After executing xwin and getting back to the desktop, I found that the "file" icon and ROX menu entry resulted in display of the contents of the flash drive, instead of the familiar /root directory. Other programs exhibit the same default directory. Apparently the "$@" parameter in the underlying scripts relies on the setting of the "current directory".

Unless this is an intended "feature," it can be remedied by having xwin ensure that the current directory is "~/". The following statement would accomplish that, inserted after line 9 of xwin for both 3.97 and 3.02, and similarly for other Puppy versions.
Code:
cd ~/   #v3.98 Ensure current directory is root, in case changed at command prompt, so rox icon and menu item open only at home directory. rerwin

Richard

Yes, I can't think of any reason why we would want that as a feature, so I have implemented your change.

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7047
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Sun 09 Mar 2008, 21:01    Post subject:  

klu9 wrote:
OFF TOPIC
I'm surprised these incremental versions aren't being additionally offered via Xdelta patches (as opposed to only full-size ISOs), to really reduce the download time for the majority of users, who'll already have a previous alpha.

http://puppylinux.org/wikka/XdeltA

I saw your earlier posts about xdelta, but I just never got round to looking at it. Just now looked a the link -- looks good. Perhaps I will use it for the next Dingo, hopefully the beta.

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
changturkey

Joined: 29 Dec 2007
Posts: 67

PostPosted: Sun 09 Mar 2008, 21:10    Post subject:  

Barry, did you have the chance to read my prior post? I was just wondering, were any changes made to ALSA from alpha6 to 7?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
zygo

Joined: 08 Apr 2006
Posts: 211
Location: UK

PostPosted: Sun 09 Mar 2008, 21:17    Post subject:  

Barry,

From http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=23950&start=100

'I checked /etc/ppp/chap-secrets in 301 and found it contained the literal username and password separated by a 3 character sequence (tab, asterix and tab) followed by a blank line' pap-secrets is identicle.

Thanks for including cdp. It's ideal for older CD drives with an external headphone socket or where the PC was built with the luxury of a CD drive to sound card cable - oh the expence!

***Edited to make hyperlink out of plain url.

Last edited by zygo on Mon 10 Mar 2008, 18:47; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
zygo

Joined: 08 Apr 2006
Posts: 211
Location: UK

PostPosted: Sun 09 Mar 2008, 21:29    Post subject:  

I have a new PC with vista on a SATA drive which I need for another project. It has 2GB of RAM and I want to use it with Puppy live-cd on a regular basis. I have mistakenly booted Puppy without pfix=ram and when I next booted vista it complained then 'fixed' the disk. Will changing the first line in isolinux.cfg to 'default puppy pfix=ram' avoid this?

What I would really like is a way to stop Puppy scanning the IDE bus at boot or any other time. Or just sata drives. Or maybe all drives including usb. Is there an easy way to do one of these like delete a module before remastering? I'd like the drive to disappear under Linux. The trouble is ms has to keep changing ntfs to disuade the use of alternative OSs. And that although I have a backup, that doesn't mean the cost of recovery is zero.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 9066
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Sun 09 Mar 2008, 21:41    Post subject:  

Just out of curiosity, did you let Puppy make a savefile in the Windows partition? Is that what Vista complained about?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 3 of 9 [135 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1143s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0206s) ][ GZIP on ]