Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sat 25 Oct 2014, 01:48
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Teenpup 214v2 over 214R
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 1 of 1 Posts_count  
Author Message
Aitch


Joined: 04 Apr 2007
Posts: 6825
Location: Chatham, Kent, UK

PostPosted: Thu 14 Feb 2008, 17:22    Post_subject:  Teenpup 214v2 over 214R
Sub_title: best install sequence
 

Hi

I have installed [fullHD install, dualbooted with win2K] Puppylinux214R
onto its own partition & put grub in the mbr,
on a P3/667/128Mb/10Gb desktop box
My previous favourite was plain 214 as a live CD, so no problem
Now I'm trying Teenpup v2, & wonder if anyone has done a full install
OVER 214R, ie leaving 214R on the drive & full installing Teenpup v2
onto the same partition?
There is a seperate 400Mb swap partition, because of the small memory

Is it possible/advisable?
or, should I wipe the partition & do a fresh install of Teenpup v2

I don't have anything in the 214R to save, that I've created,
though I had to add a few scripts, with help from the forum,
to get usb devices [pendrive, external usb CDR] working
The only minor niggle is that 214R will play DVDs (in Xine I think),
[superbly & with Intel 810 graphics!!]
but Teenpup doesn't, so I will need to figure that out after I get
the install sorted
(As an aside, this box almost runs tombh's wNOP - nice work tom!)

I did ask John Biles, but he hasn't directly answered my need,
Crying or Very sad , so I'm turning it over to the forum for help
Smile
Aitch
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Aitch


Joined: 04 Apr 2007
Posts: 6825
Location: Chatham, Kent, UK

PostPosted: Wed 20 Feb 2008, 12:24    Post_subject:  

What - nobody tried this?

150 views, no posts

Exclamation

Aitch
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
steevieb


Joined: 30 Dec 2006
Posts: 286
Location: Poole, Dorset. UK

PostPosted: Mon 25 Feb 2008, 17:02    Post_subject:  

Why not leave 214R alone, as it is set up how you like it, and just use Teenpup as a live-cd?
_________________
Slacko 5.3 scsi on Proliant server, 2x2.4ghz P4,18gb & 4x36gb scsi drives, 128mb Radeon Pci, 2gb ram, usb 2, dvd
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Aitch


Joined: 04 Apr 2007
Posts: 6825
Location: Chatham, Kent, UK

PostPosted: Thu 28 Feb 2008, 18:01    Post_subject:  

Hi steevieb

yes, I was thinking I'd stay with 214R myself, I tend to stay with one puppy for a while, & 214 was with me for 10mths before R, however when I posted that I'd just installed it on a friend's PC

How does your puppy version [or any other you may have tried] run on the proliant?
I've been offered a proliant box and a load of old scsi stuff someone's clearing out
I've never tried any scsi with any linux let alone puppy
Does it set up OK?

aitch
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
steevieb


Joined: 30 Dec 2006
Posts: 286
Location: Poole, Dorset. UK

PostPosted: Thu 28 Feb 2008, 19:10    Post_subject:  

I have run from 2.12 to 2.15 well, 3.01 ok. I prefer the 'larger' puppies as they have more things set up for you. I'm lazy I guess.
I had to put in an IDE drive for pup_save files and /mnt/home. Once booted MUT finds scsi drives ok. I have music and data, etc on different drives.
I have disabled the onboard ATI graphics chip with a dip switch (lots of instuctions printed inside side of case) but Puppy still finds it, so I have to edit xorg.conf on first boot. Not a problem if using original chip.
Plenty of room to work inside the case as it about 2 or 3 times normal size - and weight!
I have added a 4 port usb card as everything seems to be usb now.
If Puppy ever does SMP all I have to do is slot in a processor and vrm.
It is fairly quiet compared to more modern machines, ie; an Athlon 1.4 I had sounded twice as loud
I prefer it to a standard pc - I have a 2.6 celeron I keep meaning to fix. Smile

_________________
Slacko 5.3 scsi on Proliant server, 2x2.4ghz P4,18gb & 4x36gb scsi drives, 128mb Radeon Pci, 2gb ram, usb 2, dvd
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Aitch


Joined: 04 Apr 2007
Posts: 6825
Location: Chatham, Kent, UK

PostPosted: Thu 28 Feb 2008, 19:52    Post_subject:  

Steevieb

Cool
Was there an ide header or did you have to put a card in for it?
I think the one I've been offered has 2 processors with fairly large
[by PC standard ] 1Mb L2 cache & 2 Gb main memory, 4x512Mb,
though only 133Mhz

Not sure puppy can use the dual processor though, but the memory should help if it can't
Edit: OOPS just googled SMP - bling!!

I read somewhere [compaq site?] about needing an IDE drive to boot from with scsi hardware,
so that doesn't surprise me, though it had slipped my mind till you mentioned it

Did you install it, or are you running from cd/dvd?

Thanks
Aitch
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
steevieb


Joined: 30 Dec 2006
Posts: 286
Location: Poole, Dorset. UK

PostPosted: Fri 29 Feb 2008, 16:10    Post_subject:  

I have one IDE header with the hdd and dvd-rom on.
Some servers (I think DL380) may not suppport ide drives.
I used to run W2000 Pro and that booted fine from scsi although took longer than Puppy.
I run from live-cd (although I am trying to get a frugal install working by putting grub on the IDE drive and starting scsi boot that way, without much luck so far.)
Is 133mhz processor or memory speed? Would expect around 500-1ghz from memory size but could be wrong. What model is it?

_________________
Slacko 5.3 scsi on Proliant server, 2x2.4ghz P4,18gb & 4x36gb scsi drives, 128mb Radeon Pci, 2gb ram, usb 2, dvd
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Aitch


Joined: 04 Apr 2007
Posts: 6825
Location: Chatham, Kent, UK

PostPosted: Sat 01 Mar 2008, 07:00    Post_subject: Cheap Hardware for puppy
Sub_title: Proliant server
 

Steevieb

I don't know what model it is, I only saw it briefly,
in the back of a cupboard
Its an old style 'laying on its side' rack mount 19"
light cream coloured, about 6" high
I think it has 4 x 9Gb drives possibly in raid configuration
I seem to remember the owner saying the processors were
500Mhz or maybe 8, definitely some number of hundreds
I'll be seeing him again soon, so I'll let you know
If it has an ide drive, I'll see if I can find out how to do the
boot thing, 'cause I've heard of that before

It's quite funny to me, that just when I was thinking of going
for smaller less energy using machines, I got offered
this old beast and have been given a Viglen 500 midi tower
with 4 x 4.3Gb scsi drives, running win 2k
I tried puppy on it, but it just freezes at a fairly early stage,
not sure why - I'll have to play some more
And there was me planning on a thin client,
- when I can find one that'll 'puppy'
for the right price i.e. cheap Smile

Aitch
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 Posts_count  
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0597s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0060s) ][ GZIP on ]