Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Tue 22 Jul 2014, 23:57
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Dingo alpha6 feedback/bugs
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 8 of 10 [139 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 6, 7, 8, 9, 10 Next
Author Message
oli

Joined: 30 Aug 2006
Posts: 194
Location: Germany, Frankfurt

PostPosted: Wed 20 Feb 2008, 03:29    Post subject:  

There is still a problem with the xorgwizard. My hardware isn't recognized properly by Puppy Dingo (and the older releases, too. I hoped this could be fixed in Dingo) so I use Xvesa. But Xvesa doesn't know the German special characters (like ä ö ü ß) although I had choosen the German keyboard layout. So I had to edit Xmodmap. This is not the best way so it would be good if Xorg would work for me.

In the meantime I tested a live CD of PCLinuxOS. This distro uses XFdrake and recognizes my hardware very well. Perhaps you could add XFdrake to the xorgwizard. Below you will find the content of the file xorg.conf of my PC created with PCLinuxOS (I cannot show the content of the file created by Puppy because xorgwizard crashes and doesn't create this file):

# File generated by XFdrake (rev 57713)

Section "Files"
# font server independent of the X server to render fonts.
FontPath "unix/:-1"

# minimal fonts to allow X to run without xfs
FontPath "/usr/share/fonts/misc:unscaled"
EndSection

Section "Extensions"
Option "Composite"
EndSection

Section "ServerFlags"
#DontZap # disable <Crtl><Alt><BS> (server abort)
#DontZoom # disable <Crtl><Alt><KP_+>/<KP_-> (resolution switching)
AllowMouseOpenFail # allows the server to start up even if the mouse does not work
EndSection

Section "Module"
Load "dbe" # Double-Buffering Extension
Load "v4l" # Video for Linux
Load "extmod"
Load "type1"
Load "freetype"
Load "glx" # 3D layer
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
Identifier "Keyboard1"
Driver "kbd"
Option "XkbModel" "pc105"
Option "XkbLayout" "de(nodeadkeys)"
Option "XkbOptions" "compose:rwin"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
Identifier "Mouse1"
Driver "mouse"
Option "Protocol" "ExplorerPS/2"
Option "Device" "/dev/mouse"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
Identifier "monitor1"
VendorName "Plug'n Play"
ModelName "S1931"
HorizSync 31-64
VertRefresh 59-61

# Monitor preferred modeline (60.0 Hz vsync, 64.0 kHz hsync, ratio 5/4)
ModeLine "1280x1024" 108 1280 1328 1440 1688 1024 1025 1028 1066 +hsync +vsync

# TV fullscreen mode or DVD fullscreen output.
# 768x576 @ 79 Hz, 50 kHz hsync
ModeLine "768x576" 50.00 768 832 846 1000 576 590 595 630

# 768x576 @ 100 Hz, 61.6 kHz hsync
ModeLine "768x576" 63.07 768 800 960 1024 576 578 590 616
EndSection

Section "Device"
Identifier "device1"
VendorName ""
BoardName "NVIDIA GeForce FX and later"
Driver "nv"
Option "DPMS" "false"
EndSection

Section "Screen"
Identifier "screen1"
Device "device1"
Monitor "monitor1"
DefaultColorDepth 24

Subsection "Display"
Depth 8
Modes "1280x1024" "1152x864" "1024x768" "832x624" "800x600" "640x480" "480x360" "320x240"
EndSubsection

Subsection "Display"
Depth 15
Modes "1280x1024" "1152x864" "1024x768" "832x624" "800x600" "640x480" "480x360" "320x240"
EndSubsection

Subsection "Display"
Depth 16
Modes "1280x1024" "1152x864" "1024x768" "832x624" "800x600" "640x480" "480x360" "320x240"
EndSubsection

Subsection "Display"
Depth 24
Modes "1280x1024" "1152x864" "1024x768" "832x624" "800x600" "640x480" "480x360" "320x240"
EndSubsection
EndSection

Section "ServerLayout"
Identifier "layout1"
InputDevice "Keyboard1" "CoreKeyboard"
InputDevice "Mouse1" "CorePointer"
Screen "screen1"
EndSection
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7047
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Wed 20 Feb 2008, 10:43    Post subject:
Subject description: mksquashfs produces sfs files not mountable in earlier Puppies
 

Sit Heel Speak wrote:
I don't know whether this is a "bug" or a "feature," but, I used

mksquashfs ./* trashedsystem.sfs

to make an archive of a trashed filesystem...while running tmxxine 'Vision' from live-CD..'Vision' uses kernel 2.6.24rc8...and...

..the resulting trashedsystem.sfs is not mountable by Puppy 2.17-1.

Nor mountable in Sabayon 1.1 PE, which uses a 2.6.23-something kernel. dmesg | tail did advise that I should update my kernel.

trashedsystem.sfs is mountable in 'Vision' --I presume it would also be mountable in Barry's "stock" 4-alpha-6 which has a 2.6.24 kernel, though haven't tried. I wonder if it is mountable in the earlier 4-alphas.

Yeah, there's a problem here. Dingo uses squashfs v3.3, whereas Puppy3 uses squashfs 3.2r2 and earlier puppies may have an even earlier version of squashfs. The 'mksquashfs' utility in Dingo creates smaller sfs files, but that means incompatibility with earlier squashfs's. The problem specifically is the squashfs kernel module in the earlier puppies.
What you have to do is boot the older puppy and use its mksquashfs utility.

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7047
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Wed 20 Feb 2008, 10:55    Post subject:  

Jesse, I've just compiled the 2.6.24.2 kernel, with the conventional /dev/hd* restored for IDE drives. The libata PATA /dev/sd* works for most IDE drives, and on all PCs that I have tested. There are just a few, like yours and sage's, that are troublesome. So, probably alpha7 will have the /dev/hd* restored and we'll see if that fixes the problem.
_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Jesse

Joined: 08 May 2005
Posts: 465
Location: Auckland, NZ

PostPosted: Wed 20 Feb 2008, 20:21    Post subject:  

Yay! I'll give it a go soon. I want to fix a MUT2 bug that prevents it running on Dingo editions. Although the bug seems related to scsi disks, so it MUT2 might run unchanged on Dingo alpha7 no-problems.
Jesse
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
GeoW

Joined: 31 Dec 2007
Posts: 150
Location: New Jersey, USA ( East Coast )

PostPosted: Thu 21 Feb 2008, 14:18    Post subject: Dingo Alpha 6 Chat continuous loop * fixd w Xchat*
Subject description: freenet & nickserv generate tabs quicker than I can delete them
 

Help,

I'm just starting to use chat, Puppy 3.01 works, Dingo A6 seems to go
into an auto log loop. freenet and nickserv generate tabs so fast
that I can't even send out a msg asking for help.

If I x it closed, it pops up again and continues. I need to kill it.

I am running a frugal install
Multi booting Puppy 301, Dingo A6, Windows XP Pro (SP2)

Anyone seen this? I've just reread this entire thread and no mention.

My defaultchat says exec pidgin

I get the same behavior from the menu sel and the icon.

Help,

GeoW

Last edited by GeoW on Fri 22 Feb 2008, 20:58; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
disciple

Joined: 20 May 2006
Posts: 6424
Location: Auckland, New Zealand

PostPosted: Fri 22 Feb 2008, 19:53    Post subject:  

Scratch this - I'm confused Sad
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
kirk

Joined: 11 Nov 2005
Posts: 1391
Location: florida

PostPosted: Sun 24 Feb 2008, 09:41    Post subject:  

Quote:
I've just compiled the 2.6.24.2 kernel, with the conventional /dev/hd* restored for IDE drives.


One down-side to doing that is newer drives won't have DMA support and you can't enable DMA with hdparm. The DVD drive in my laptop is one of those. In the past (pre-Dingo) I've booted with libata=combined to fix that, but most people who try Puppy and have one of these drives will just think Puppy is slow. I've tried Dingo on 5 computers with IDE drives and had no problems. Not to say a problem doesn't exist. Perhaps if you're going to have a retro kernel (2.6.21.7), compile that one without libata.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
linuxcbon

Joined: 09 Aug 2007
Posts: 749

PostPosted: Sun 24 Feb 2008, 14:45    Post subject:  

Isn't /etc/profile too complicated ?
There are obsolete entries like : /opt/gnome2/lib
Should qt4 also be included in /etc/profile ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
linuxcbon

Joined: 09 Aug 2007
Posts: 749

PostPosted: Sun 24 Feb 2008, 19:21    Post subject:  

By the way, just installed pidgin-2.3.1, newest version, can you include it ?

Can you please include xawtv --- edit, not needed ---

Last edited by linuxcbon on Tue 26 Feb 2008, 22:25; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7047
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Sun 24 Feb 2008, 21:00    Post subject:  

kirk wrote:
Quote:
I've just compiled the 2.6.24.2 kernel, with the conventional /dev/hd* restored for IDE drives.


One down-side to doing that is newer drives won't have DMA support and you can't enable DMA with hdparm. The DVD drive in my laptop is one of those. In the past (pre-Dingo) I've booted with libata=combined to fix that, but most people who try Puppy and have one of these drives will just think Puppy is slow. I've tried Dingo on 5 computers with IDE drives and had no problems. Not to say a problem doesn't exist. Perhaps if you're going to have a retro kernel (2.6.21.7), compile that one without libata.

Yeah, maybe you're right. I'm getting Dingo running nicely with the 2.6.21.7 kernel, so perhaps I should have that one for people that need the /dev/hd* -- after all, only a few people have reported trouble with the libata PATA -- sage and Jesse, maybe a couple of others.

I might release alpha7 with 2.6.21.7 as that is working pretty good and just needs a bit of refining to become a release candidate, and I might even hold off from releasing a 2.6.24.x version and wait for 2.6.25 as I'm not happy with some of the wireless drivers in 2.6.24.x.

I was really pleased that I recompiled 2.6.21.7 in Dingo and the old modules from Puppy3 loaded without complaint, despite the compiler mismatch. Well, they must be close enough, 4.1.2 in Puppy3, 4.2.2 in Puppy4. I don't know if glibc version matters, but that is 2.5 and 2.6.1.

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Sit Heel Speak


Joined: 30 Mar 2006
Posts: 2595
Location: downwind

PostPosted: Sun 24 Feb 2008, 21:07    Post subject:  

Dingo a-6-k2.6.24, on a wired network with four other (all XP Pro+SP2) machines. PNetHood will see three of them but not the fourth. We can ping the fourth, but PNetHood does not sense it. The missing machine does have shares, they can be seen from the other XP machines. Anyone have any clues?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
linuxcbon

Joined: 09 Aug 2007
Posts: 749

PostPosted: Sun 24 Feb 2008, 21:17    Post subject:  

I dont know if it happened to you, but I got Segmentation fault very often with epdfview when scrolling a pdf file.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
disciple

Joined: 20 May 2006
Posts: 6424
Location: Auckland, New Zealand

PostPosted: Mon 25 Feb 2008, 02:16    Post subject:  

I was playing around with gview and it gives a lot of segfaults too, but maybe you aren't meant to use it
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
HairyWill


Joined: 26 May 2006
Posts: 2949
Location: Southampton, UK

PostPosted: Mon 25 Feb 2008, 02:34    Post subject:  

SHS
pnethoods server detection is done by nbtscan. Two possibilities spring to mind:
1) the server is on a slowish network segment and nbtscan is not waiting long enough for a reply
2) if the server has the netBIOS protocol disabled this might cause a problem

try running
nbtscan -qt 10000 192.168.0.0/16
replacing the subnet with whatever you have

if this helps, then changing the timeout at line 54 in /usr/local/apps/pnethood/pnethood should make it work

_________________
Will
contribute: community website, screenshots, puplets, wiki, rss
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
disciple

Joined: 20 May 2006
Posts: 6424
Location: Auckland, New Zealand

PostPosted: Mon 25 Feb 2008, 03:48    Post subject:  

The solver in Gnumeric causes segfaults too.
But I think most of the problems I was having with Gnumeric must only occur when Puppy is running in RAM on the very first boot, because I don't have them now.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 8 of 10 [139 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 6, 7, 8, 9, 10 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0911s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0064s) ][ GZIP on ]