Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 20 Aug 2014, 14:32
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Taking the Puppy out for a walk » Announcements
Pup214R v1.01 uploaded
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 5 of 8 [112 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8 Next
Author Message
tempestuous

Joined: 10 Jun 2005
Posts: 5234
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Tue 19 Feb 2008, 12:48    Post subject: Re: mrv8k wifi card and driver  

joe-roberts wrote:
the log indicates that it failed to load a firmware file.

OK, that could be the problem. I provided "standard" firmware for the mrv8k driver, but maybe it's necessary to install the vendor-specifice firmware.

jrb and joe-roberts, please install this dotpet, and copy the Windows driver for your device somewhere convenient ... let's say /root/my-applications
The Windows driver may consist of several files, I think it's the .sys file we want.
Now run this command to extract the firmware from the Windows sys file -
Code:
cd /root/my-applications
mrv8k_extract_fw <myWindowsdriver.sys>

Now shift the extracted firmware files from /root/my-applications into /lib/firmware, and reboot.
Look at the output of dmesg to see how the mrv8k module loaded, and report what it says if there are further problems.
mrv8k-extract-fw.pet
Description 
pet

 Download 
Filename  mrv8k-extract-fw.pet 
Filesize  3.46 KB 
Downloaded  473 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tempestuous

Joined: 10 Jun 2005
Posts: 5234
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Tue 19 Feb 2008, 12:49    Post subject:  

tony,
Yes, the orinoco driver in Pup214R was updated.
Please load the driver and configure your wifi connection using manual commands, following this procedure -
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=22469

This way you should be able to identify at what point the process fails, and you can report your results if you need further help.

As a start, you should do this to see how the orinoco driver loaded
Code:
dmesg


then do this to see if a network interface has been created
Code:
ifconfig -a
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
prit1


Joined: 03 Jan 2008
Posts: 540
Location: Los Angeles

PostPosted: Tue 19 Feb 2008, 20:24    Post subject:  

Thank you Dougal and others who came up with the HotPup daemon. I installed this on my Puppy 2.17.1 and worked very well.

I really love seeing this feature in our favorite Puppy Smile.

Thanks again.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tony

Joined: 14 Jan 2006
Posts: 316
Location: Montreal.ca

PostPosted: Wed 20 Feb 2008, 12:52    Post subject: pup214R on Portege 4010
Subject description: Problem solved.
 

Hi tempestuous,

Thank you for coming back, I had already worked through the measures that you prescribed. but it led me to type in the cardmgr command.

I was then surprised to find that I had wireless. Had to think back to what I had done.

It seems that the card manager was not starting automatically at boot. Something that it did with teenpup.

Regards Tony.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Dougal


Joined: 19 Oct 2005
Posts: 2505
Location: Hell more grotesque than any medieval woodcut

PostPosted: Thu 21 Feb 2008, 08:42    Post subject:  

Pizzasgood wrote:
In case you're interested in the syslinux modifications I mentioned above, I just uploaded them here:
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=172777#172777

I remember you asked people to test this for you and wasn't sure if there's a point in it, but I guess we should probably add it. I'll implement it today.


Quote:
One other thing about 2.14R that I took a while to realize: I like the GTK theme, but it's hard to tell at a glance if a check box is checked or unchecked.

Yes, that's a pretty annoying thing about that gtk-engine.
I've also got a package with the smooth engines and a bunch of themes -- I should post it in case people want to use them (I left it out by default since it's big and slow).

_________________
What's the ugliest part of your body?
Some say your nose
Some say your toes
But I think it's your mind
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Dougal


Joined: 19 Oct 2005
Posts: 2505
Location: Hell more grotesque than any medieval woodcut

PostPosted: Thu 21 Feb 2008, 08:54    Post subject:  

Pizzasgood wrote:
I found another bug the other day that I was going to mention, but then I forgot what it was... I noticed it again today though, so here it is:

In the /usr/sbin/puppyinstaller script, it gives you the option to mount an iso to get the pup_xxx.sfs file. This uses a loop device. Since it wasn't specified which, it will generally grab /dev/loop2. That's a problem later, because the part that mounts pup_xxx.sfs (line 1417) is hardcoded to use /dev/loop2. This would also be a problem if the user had something else mounted (like an old pup_save.2fs file). Changing:
Code:
losetup-FULL /dev/loop2 $SRCPATH/pup_${NEWVER}R.sfs
mkdir $DESTMNTPT/srcmntpt
echo "mounting pup_${NEWVER}R.sfs on $DESTMNTPT/srcmntpt"
mount -r -t squashfs /dev/loop2 $DESTMNTPT/srcmntpt

to:
Code:
LODEV=`losetup-FULL -f`
losetup-FULL $LODEV $SRCPATH/pup_${NEWVER}R.sfs
mkdir $DESTMNTPT/srcmntpt
echo "mounting pup_${NEWVER}R.sfs on $DESTMNTPT/srcmntpt"
mount -r -t squashfs $LODEV $DESTMNTPT/srcmntpt

would let it use any loop device while still explicitly using losetup to mount it.

Ok, fixed.
I must say don't understand why Barry used losetup in the first place, rather than just using "-o loop" when mounting...

_________________
What's the ugliest part of your body?
Some say your nose
Some say your toes
But I think it's your mind
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Dougal


Joined: 19 Oct 2005
Posts: 2505
Location: Hell more grotesque than any medieval woodcut

PostPosted: Thu 21 Feb 2008, 09:09    Post subject:  

jrb wrote:
Hi Dougal,
Love hotpup and pfix=blacklist. I've just done full install to my harddrive (twice) and FYI it won't recognize usb flash drives in any way: hotpup, mut, pmount, or command line. I've tried 5 different drives of various types and sizes. Works fine from liveCD however. It's also the first puppy edition that's recognized my mrv8k wireless card.

That was discussed either earlier in this thread or on another one -- I've also posted a updated rc.sysinit that fixes it (you can also just add "modprobe use-storage" to /etc/rc.d/rc.local).

_________________
What's the ugliest part of your body?
Some say your nose
Some say your toes
But I think it's your mind
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jrb


Joined: 11 Dec 2007
Posts: 1030
Location: Smithers, BC, Canada

PostPosted: Thu 21 Feb 2008, 20:48    Post subject:  

Thanks Dougal,
Found the new rc.sysinit in

http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=25132&start=15

installed it and rebooted. Problem solved. 2.14R-1.01 will now become my puppy of choice.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Dougal


Joined: 19 Oct 2005
Posts: 2505
Location: Hell more grotesque than any medieval woodcut

PostPosted: Sun 24 Feb 2008, 09:34    Post subject:  

Ok folks, I need some feedback on something:
I've been updating a bit the keyboard shortcuts in JWM, to make it easier to work without a mouse (think laptop with only touchpad).
I don't have much experience using other system, so didn't know what the standard shortcuts were (just found some from google).

Here are the current shortcuts I've set:
Quote:
"Windows" keys (Super_L and Super_R): open application menu
Alt-F1: open application menu
Alt-F2: open Xrun
(Alt-F3 not used, since JWM doesn't support window list)
Alt-F4: close window

Alt-#: move to desktop #
Alt-Tab: move to next window in task list
Alt-space: open window menu for current window (like right-click on title-bar)

Alt-F6: minimize window
Alt-F7: shade/unshade window
Alt-F8: move window
Alt-F9: resize window
Alt-F10: maximize window

Print-screen: take screenshot
Ctrl-Alt-T: open terminal
Ctrl-Home: open file manager (at home)(note that this uses defaultfilemanager, if you don't like Rox)


The F6-F10 keys are rather arbitrary... Barry had F6 and F10 that way, so I just filled out the others.

Any suggestions welcome, but remember that these are window manager shortcuts, which will override the equivalents in applications -- so always make sure the same combination isn't used by some app (I look in things like Geany, where there are a lot of them).

Should we have some more for applications, such as the default-browser?

_________________
What's the ugliest part of your body?
Some say your nose
Some say your toes
But I think it's your mind
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
disciple

Joined: 20 May 2006
Posts: 6427
Location: Auckland, New Zealand

PostPosted: Fri 29 Feb 2008, 23:56    Post subject:  

I say we all post our key bindings to inspire each other. Someone inspired me once Smile
Mine look like:
Code:
   <!-- Key bindings -->
   <Key key="Up">up</Key>
   <Key key="Down">down</Key>
   <Key key="Right">right</Key>
   <Key key="Left">left</Key>
   <Key key="h">left</Key>
   <Key key="j">down</Key>
   <Key key="k">up</Key>
   <Key key="l">right</Key>
   <Key key="Return">select</Key>
   <Key key="Escape">escape</Key>
   <Key key="F13">root:3</Key>
   <Key key="F14">root:3</Key>
   
   <Key mask="A" key="Tab">next</Key>
   <Key mask="A" key="space">close</Key>
   <Key mask="A" key="F4">close</Key>
   <Key mask="A" key="#">desktop#</Key>
   <Key mask="A" key="F1">root:3</Key>
   <Key mask="A" key="F2">window</Key>
   <Key mask="A" key="F3">move</Key>
   <Key mask="A" key="F7">move</Key>
   <Key mask="A" key="F13">desktop</Key>
   <Key mask="A" key="F14">desktop</Key>
   <Key mask="A" key="Menu">minimize</Key>
   <Key mask="C" key="Menu">minimize</Key>
   <Key mask="C" key="Escape">root:3</Key>
   <Key mask="CA" key="Delete">exec:rxvt -e htop</Key>
   <Key mask="CA" key="w">restart</Key>


F13 is my left windows key, F14 my right windows key. I find the alt+windows key binding by far the most useful as I have two virtual desktops and I often have one hand on the mouse and the other sitting in that area of the keyboard spending most of it's time operating shift and control keys, so this lets me switch desktops at high speed.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nestul

Joined: 04 Nov 2007
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Wed 05 Mar 2008, 23:43    Post subject:  

I can't get my ESS1869 sound card working in Puppy214R (PII Compaq Armada 1700 laptop 288MB RAM).

After completing ALSA wizard selecting snd-es18xx isa card, I continue having no sound, and after rebooting, puppy214r hangs throwing quite text through the screen. If I boot now using pfix=ram and delete the lines created by ALSA Wizard in modprobe.conf
Code:
# --- ALSACONF version xxxx  ---
alias snd-card-0 snd-es18xx
alias sound-slot-0 snd-es18xx
option snd-es18xx isapnp=0 irqX
# --- END: Generated by ALSACONF, do not edit. ---
then puppy can boot again normally but no sound. The differences between the original modprobe.conf and the one after ALSA wizard are this lines added and 4 or five lines deleted near the line
Code:
options sb io=0x220 irq=7 dma=1 dma16=5
writing by heart, can't remember exactly

Well, if after booting I write the command:
Code:
modprobe snd-es18xx isapnp=0 irq=5 dma1=1 dma2=5 port=0x220 mpu_port=0x330 fm_port=0x388
the module loads successfully (parameters taken from BIOS). Adding this same parameters to the alsa config in modprobe.conf doesn't resolve the problem.

This leads me into thinking there is something wrong in the scripts at /etc/rc.d

Please help me to solve this. I can provide the information you ask me, but tell me how to get it, because I am not a linux expert.

THANKS puppy linux users and developers Laughing
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Dougal


Joined: 19 Oct 2005
Posts: 2505
Location: Hell more grotesque than any medieval woodcut

PostPosted: Fri 07 Mar 2008, 08:18    Post subject:  

nestul wrote:
After completing ALSA wizard selecting snd-es18xx isa card, I continue having no sound, and after rebooting, puppy214r hangs throwing quite text through the screen.

If you boot with pfix=debug and tell me what text appears just before it hangs, I might have some idea where it happens.
However, as the alsawizard warns, ISA modules are problematic, so it might be something specific to your machine.


Quote:
Well, if after booting I write the command:
Code:
modprobe snd-es18xx isapnp=0 irq=5 dma1=1 dma2=5 port=0x220 mpu_port=0x330 fm_port=0x388
the module loads successfully (parameters taken from BIOS). Adding this same parameters to the alsa config in modprobe.conf doesn't resolve the problem.

This leads me into thinking there is something wrong in the scripts at /etc/rc.d

It might be something about the order in which the modules are loaded -- try adding those params to modules.conf and then boot with pfix=debug and tell me what kind of messages you see before is stalls.

_________________
What's the ugliest part of your body?
Some say your nose
Some say your toes
But I think it's your mind
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jrb


Joined: 11 Dec 2007
Posts: 1030
Location: Smithers, BC, Canada

PostPosted: Sun 09 Mar 2008, 16:35    Post subject:  

I don't know if this has been mentioned before, but I've just noticed that /etc/puppyversion lists the version as 217. This makes remasters difficult if not impossible. Simple to change to 214 and remaster works fine.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Dougal


Joined: 19 Oct 2005
Posts: 2505
Location: Hell more grotesque than any medieval woodcut

PostPosted: Mon 10 Mar 2008, 08:30    Post subject:  

jrb wrote:
I don't know if this has been mentioned before, but I've just noticed that /etc/puppyversion lists the version as 217. This makes remasters difficult if not impossible. Simple to change to 214 and remaster works fine.

You mean in 2.14r?? That must be something Pakt did... I'll fix it.

_________________
What's the ugliest part of your body?
Some say your nose
Some say your toes
But I think it's your mind
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jrb


Joined: 11 Dec 2007
Posts: 1030
Location: Smithers, BC, Canada

PostPosted: Mon 10 Mar 2008, 16:03    Post subject:  

Yes, 214R1.01. I was making an opera remaster when I noticed. I searched through the remaster script and found the reference to /etc/puppyversion. I had spotted this a few weeks ago but didn't notice the above reference and manually changed everything to "214" in the remaster script. This change got overwritten so I was about to do it again when I spotted the problem.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 5 of 8 [112 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Taking the Puppy out for a walk » Announcements
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1118s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0077s) ][ GZIP on ]