Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Tue 25 Nov 2014, 16:47
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » HOWTO ( Solutions )
Step by Step: Installing Puppy Linux to Your Hard Drive
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 3 of 5 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 Next
Author Message
Guest
Guest


PostPosted: Mon 10 Oct 2005, 23:10    Post_subject: Re: It works!  

[quote="edoc"]
budden wrote:
The step-by-step here works pretty much as advertised.



Rambling a bit ... again it works.

The instructions say 'at least 500M' for hda2. What they don't say is THIS IS THE PLACE TO USE THE WHOLE DRIVE! So I had Puppy nicely running in a fifth of the entire drive and the rest was not partitioned and not usable. So when I discovered that 1.0.5 was out (one release newer than what I'd installed), started over.

This time, having a successful install in the log, I skipped all the hda1 part since didn't intend any changes there. Echo some other comments, would be nice to dispense with MS-DOS/DR-DOS entirely, but that's somewhat of a nit since I have a copy.

fdisk: blew away hda2 and restored it ... this time with the whole drive (less hda1). NOW I have some serious working space.

Reinstallation worked fine, per instructions.

Grub does need to be reinstalled since it's config files, by default, live in /boot. Which I'd blown away and re-established. Again, per instructions.


Recommendations, to close this ramble: they pertain to the install script itself not the instructions (I know enough to pop the CD ... after all, I want the ethernet back and I can have one or the other (single PCMCIA slot), but not both). Y'oughtta be able to boot off the puppy CD and push the Setup-->Install HD menu button and be off. That script should make sure you're wholly on CD+RAM (with no hda mounted), should fork into fdisk to do surgery (with recommendations), ... There are several very good scripts in Puppy so this should be within scope.

</ramble>

1.0.5 looks nice. I like JWM -- it's a decent improvement. Still haven't found a good solution to the 1024x640 oddball screen size. The root of the problem is in xvesa with side effects shown up in JWM that I haven't found a workaround for yet (like relocating the task bar).
Back to top
daklander
Guest


PostPosted: Tue 11 Oct 2005, 16:46    Post_subject:  

I didn't see a note about this anywhere so if there is one, I apologize for asking here.
I'm trying to install Chubby Puppy on a drive with Windows 2K Professional. The install part seemed to go fine though there was an area where is said a window would open so I could edit a file. That window never opened. This is a 20gig drive with only one format. I did do the boot floppy. Anyway, when I went in to try have grub install in the MBR I get a notice that it can't be done because there is no Linux partition. I had the impression I could install to the windows partition and use dual boot to operate Puppy off the hard drive. Is that wrong?
FAT32, not NTFS....
Back to top
Guest
Guest


PostPosted: Fri 04 Nov 2005, 11:59    Post_subject:  

I an using a HP Laptop with windows xp Sp2 installed. tried to use liveCd, everything was working fine but hung at the point I was supposed to select the Keyboard Layout. Nothing was responding at all.
I followed the instruction on installlation to hard disk using GRUB and it stopped at the same place. Can some one please help me this is my first time with Linux.
I would however like you to know that I installed it with Qemu emulation.
I am using Puppy 1.0.5
Back to top
aahhaaa


Joined: 06 Oct 2005
Posts: 341
Location: Lower Michigan, North America

PostPosted: Thu 10 Nov 2005, 21:03    Post_subject:  

imho- this and some other HOWTO threads are getting confusing and dated. The info is getting mixed with unanswered Qs too.

Could the mods maybe lock these HOWTOs when complete & maybe cross-ref with the wiki or the Documentation project? And where useful add Puppy version to the header?
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
edoc


Joined: 07 Aug 2005
Posts: 4389
Location: Southeast Georgia, USA

PostPosted: Fri 11 Nov 2005, 21:11    Post_subject:  

aahhaaa wrote:
And where useful add Puppy version to the header?


This is a pet peeve/nit of mine.

It would seem a valuable list rule that everyone label the version to which they refer so we may make a more valid judgment if it is relevant to us as readers.

On the rare occasion that the version is non-critical then perhaps we need an abbreviation that flags that.

With the growth of Puppy and Puppy Forum users these small things become increasingly important.

Oh, I wrote this on a laptop using 1.0.4 ... Wink

IMHO, YMMV .... doc

_________________
Thanks! David
Home page: http://nevils-station.com
Don't google Search! http://duckduckgo.com
Puppy upup Raring 3992 & Lighthouse64-b602
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
mayakovski


Joined: 19 Nov 2005
Posts: 124
Location: Comox, BC, CANADA

PostPosted: Sat 19 Nov 2005, 20:46    Post_subject: Failure at HD install  

Bruce B wrote:
Mechsus wrote:

I attempted to install Puppy with only an MS-DOS partition and without installing MS-DOS 6.22 - but couldn't crack it - although there must be a method (?).


I tried to understand why you installed MS-DOS. I don't see any reason for it other than that you want to have a dual booting - Puppy/MS-DOS system. But this does not seem to be the reason you install MS-DOS.

Yesterday, I did some expermenting installing Puppy on a spare HD. The results of which indicate that it doesn't make any difference of you nuke the hd or install on a pre-partitioned HD, which I presume you know this. Except the nuking is as someone wrote, hygenic. But I've seen cases where nuking the drive is the only thing that gets it working right again.

If the HD is partioned you can delete the partitions by booting Puppy CD and using cfdisk or fdisk to delete the partitions.

Suppose we start off with a drive that has either been nuked or the partitions deleted with Linux fdisk or cfdisk.

The basic procedure is insert the Puppy CD and boot the computer.

Puppy won't install the pup001 file on this type of drive because there are no partitions.

.


I have gotten this far and am then asked for a password. I have nuked the entire disk and re tried about 6 times, every time it wants a password?
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
mayakovski


Joined: 19 Nov 2005
Posts: 124
Location: Comox, BC, CANADA

PostPosted: Tue 22 Nov 2005, 14:11    Post_subject: Re: Failure at HD install  

Anyone know what the password is??? Crying or Very sad

mayakovski wrote:
Bruce B wrote:
Mechsus wrote:

I attempted to install Puppy with only an MS-DOS partition and without installing MS-DOS 6.22 - but couldn't crack it - although there must be a method (?).


I tried to understand why you installed MS-DOS. I don't see any reason for it other than that you want to have a dual booting - Puppy/MS-DOS system. But this does not seem to be the reason you install MS-DOS.

Yesterday, I did some expermenting installing Puppy on a spare HD. The results of which indicate that it doesn't make any difference of you nuke the hd or install on a pre-partitioned HD, which I presume you know this. Except the nuking is as someone wrote, hygenic. But I've seen cases where nuking the drive is the only thing that gets it working right again.

If the HD is partioned you can delete the partitions by booting Puppy CD and using cfdisk or fdisk to delete the partitions.

Suppose we start off with a drive that has either been nuked or the partitions deleted with Linux fdisk or cfdisk.

The basic procedure is insert the Puppy CD and boot the computer.

Puppy won't install the pup001 file on this type of drive because there are no partitions.

.


I have gotten this far and am then asked for a password. I have nuked the entire disk and re tried about 6 times, every time it wants a password?
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
mayakovski


Joined: 19 Nov 2005
Posts: 124
Location: Comox, BC, CANADA

PostPosted: Thu 24 Nov 2005, 16:12    Post_subject: I got it going.  

I never did figure out what password it wanted or where that password request came from.

But I did finally realize that Puppy cannot boot with only 49MB RAM and no swap space. I manually created a swap partition (Using a different distro that would boot in 49MB RAM and no swap space), then Puppy booted just fine for me. Razz

_________________
Mayakovski
**********************
Puppy Linux | Barking Up The Right Tree

Compaq Armada 1580DMT | P150, 49MB RAM - 3.2 GB HD, Puppy 1.0.6
Compaq Deskpro EN | P3-733, 384 MB RAM - 80GB HD, Puppy 1.0.7
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Nina
Guest


PostPosted: Mon 05 Dec 2005, 02:53    Post_subject:  

edoc wrote:
I am trying to install Puppy on a laptop with no FDD..........

..........How does one install without the use of a FDD?
Thanks! doc

i hope someone can answer that Rolling Eyes
I downloaded a version of puppylinux that has firefox but its an older one from:
http://mymirrors.homelinux.org/puppy/V.0.9.6/
i don't have floppy drive and when trying to install to /dev/hda5 it requires inserting a floppy even when i press any key+enter .
besides it doesn't have the option to install grub .
is there any way around this to edit/replace the install script?
I'm on dial up and it took me 4hrs to DL the above version and can't download another.
can you please help me with that.
Thanks
Back to top
edoc


Joined: 07 Aug 2005
Posts: 4389
Location: Southeast Georgia, USA

PostPosted: Tue 06 Dec 2005, 01:07    Post_subject:  

Nina wrote:
edoc wrote:
I am trying to install Puppy on a laptop with no FDD..........

..........How does one install without the use of a FDD?
Thanks! doc

i hope someone can answer that Rolling Eyes
I downloaded a version of puppylinux that has firefox but its an older one from:
http://mymirrors.homelinux.org/puppy/V.0.9.6/
i don't have floppy drive and when trying to install to /dev/hda5 it requires inserting a floppy even when i press any key+enter .
besides it doesn't have the option to install grub .
is there any way around this to edit/replace the install script?
I'm on dial up and it took me 4hrs to DL the above version and can't download another. can you please help me with that. Thanks


Wow, that is an old post of mine!

You really want to download Puppy 1.0.6 or one of the enhanced versions such as Chubby Puppy or Grafpup.

You then burn the .iso file to a CD (or have a friend do it for you if you have problems with your cd burner as I do), place the CD in the drive and reboot.

Puppy will load up with only a few questions about your keyboard, mouse, and video preferences.

Once running you may use Setup to get it to activate your modem or network card (for high speed access) and other resources.

HTH ... doc

_________________
Thanks! David
Home page: http://nevils-station.com
Don't google Search! http://duckduckgo.com
Puppy upup Raring 3992 & Lighthouse64-b602
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
kb9tua

Joined: 28 Jun 2005
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Wed 08 Mar 2006, 23:30    Post_subject: puppy hd install  

Here's how I did it. Very simple and from one of the hd install examples.

First I installed SUSE 10.0 and partitioned the hd (one excusively for puppy). I then copied vmlinuz, image.gz and usr_cram.fs into that partition (below the 1024 boot section). Then I opened the grub.conf(/boot/grub/grub.conf) file (operating from SUSE 10.0). Next, I typed in the following between other grub menu choices:

---------------------------------------------
title Puppy Linux
rootnoverify (hd0,2)
kernel /vmlinuz root=/dev/ram0 PFILE=pup1-none-524288 PHOME=hda3
initrd /image.gz
---------------------------------------------

hda3 aka hd0,2 happens to be the partion that I set aside for puppy. I saved the file and re-booted. The grub bootloader came up with my Puppy Linux selection. When I selected it...the dog was running from my hard drive. The SUSE option still works too. Two, count em. Two Linux OS's and no windows to speak of. I also have a home LAN set up. My Linux box and my wife's Winbox going into a router then into a cable modem. I can access files on her Winbox from both puppy and SUSE as well as surf the net. What more could a comp-nerd ask for.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
atwin

Joined: 10 Mar 2006
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Fri 10 Mar 2006, 14:45    Post_subject: It works... :-)  

The install procedure works fine...

Thanks

Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
TPittman

Joined: 21 Apr 2006
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Fri 21 Apr 2006, 12:07    Post_subject: HardDiskInstall  

The links here seem to be mostly broken. Frex,

http://www.goosee.com/puppy/wikka/HardDiskInstall

turns up 404 not found.

I bought a dual-boot PC (WinXP+Linux) "everything installed and working." The linux is DOA (more accurately, in a Terri Schiavo coma: appears functional but unable to do anything), and I want to replace it with Puppy (which actually works :-) but I know nothing at all about the three Linux partitions except that one is named "Swapfile". Are there instructions for doing this? I have no basis in knowledge nor experience for knowing which of the many options Puppy offers to select from.

Tom Pittman
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
muggins

Joined: 20 Jan 2006
Posts: 6690
Location: lisbon

PostPosted: Sun 23 Apr 2006, 03:10    Post_subject:  

tom,

if your the linux on your hard disk is non-functional, & you're going to wipe it & install puppy, this is easy to do, but you have to know what partitions you've got & what's on them.

linux fdisk is a powerful, & easy to use utility, (when you know how), that will give you such info. here's a link to a guide to using fdisk:

http://www.justlinux.com/nhf/Installation/Using_fdisk.html

all you need to do is boot your puppy cd, open a console window, type "fdisk /dev/hda", then type "p", to show your partition info, then just write down which partition your linux is on ,& where your swap is, then "q" will quit without changing anything.

then you've got to decide if you want an option1 or option2 install. because i'm to lazy to go into the first, i'll only mention the latter install. just select the puppy "install to hard drive" option, select "2", then enter the appropriate partition, then follow the rest of barry's prompts.

one thing to be wary of though, with your windows xp partition, is that whereas puppy has no problems writing to xp on a fat32 partition, doing so to an ntfs installation is fraught with danger.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
smog

Joined: 13 Jun 2006
Posts: 134

PostPosted: Mon 26 Jun 2006, 14:04    Post_subject: hd boot  

when I installed puppy on to my hard drive and used the grub file below;

title Puppy Linux
rootnoverify (hd0,4)
kernel /vmlinuz root=/dev/ram0 PFILE=pup1-none-524288 PHOME=hda5
initrd /image.gz

puppy boots from the hd if the puppy dvd is not in the drive, BUT if the dvd is in the pc, it still boots from the dvd, not the hard drive.

Any ideas how I can force the hard drive to boot even when the dvd is in the dvd drive?

Thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 3 of 5 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 Next
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » House Training » HOWTO ( Solutions )
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1011s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0051s) ][ GZIP on ]