Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Thu 02 Oct 2014, 10:36
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Dingo alpha6 feedback/bugs
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 6 of 10 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10 Next
Author Message
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7047
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Sun 03 Feb 2008, 19:58    Post_subject: Re: puppy universal instaler  

ferikenagy wrote:
puppy universal instaler don't fiind puppy files installed in different directory than root /

Are you using the build with the old 2.6.21.7 kernel? If so then it uses the old Universal Installer from Puppy 3.01 as I have not back-ported the Dingo Universal Installer yet. See my blog for announcement about this.

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
straypup

Joined: 03 Feb 2008
Posts: 47

PostPosted: Sun 03 Feb 2008, 21:04    Post_subject:  

Just another of the growing list of Puppy lovers. D/L both versions of 4a6 (6.23,12.1 and 6.24) Tried 6.24 first but could not get online. Module
would mount (rel8187) but had no connectivity. Tried to mount Windows driver using ndiswrapper but couldn't get it to load. Read in forums that
the .24 kernal didn't work well so D/L .23. The built in rtl8187 driver didn't work but the Windows driver loaded in ndis works very well. Apparwntly the version "b" will not work with the generic driver. D/L and installed the YAP tar and all went well. Saved settings and everything seemed to word on rebooting. No comments on Citrus--I changed to Puppy theme instead. Am typing this on 4a6 right now.
Thanks for a nice os
Straypuppy


Homebuilt msip4mam2-v, 1 Gig DDR,Trendnet TEW424UB wireless dongle
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
exProphecy


Joined: 05 Nov 2007
Posts: 334
Location: Bay Area, California

PostPosted: Thu 07 Feb 2008, 06:16    Post_subject:  

Okay, I'm getting this problem using Puppy 4. Everything is working fine but for some reason, when I use the PETget package manager and I try to install something, it freezes on me. For example, I tried to get the firefox-2.0.0.X in the PETget package manager and I was able to pick which server to download from and was able to download it. But after downloading it and the orange box disappears, my computer freezes. There's nothing I can do so I just do a manual restart of the laptop. Anyone know what's causing this? It happens with all the PETget packages I try to install.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message AIM 
Sit Heel Speak


Joined: 30 Mar 2006
Posts: 2595
Location: downwind

PostPosted: Sun 10 Feb 2008, 03:34    Post_subject:  

I can't succeed in downloading any of the three alpha-6 ISO's tonight. They give bad md5 checksums, but the same md5sum each time (two tries each) ***Edited. Succeeded eventually, see below***
Edited_time_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
trapster


Joined: 28 Nov 2005
Posts: 2005
Location: Maine, USA

PostPosted: Sun 10 Feb 2008, 12:35    Post_subject:  

I just tried a frugal install of puppy-396-seamonkey-k2.6.21.7.iso.
md5sum checked ok

I am getting a 0x9 (CRC32 check memory) error when trying to boot.

I never could get puppy300 (reg) to boot and had to go with the retro. Maybe my lappie no like the newer kernels..??

HP n5250
P600
250 ram

_________________
trapster
Maine, USA

Asus eeepc 1005HA PU1X-BK
Frugal install: Puppeee4.31 + 1.0, Puppy4.10 + Lupu52
Currently using Slacko AND lupu52 w/ fluxbox
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Sit Heel Speak


Joined: 30 Mar 2006
Posts: 2595
Location: downwind

PostPosted: Mon 11 Feb 2008, 11:32    Post_subject:  

Monday morning, 36 hours later: still getting

a55652c5086ba718d78cb398440e51b

as the (incorrect) md5sum, for puppy-3.96-seamonkey-k2.6.24.iso.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
russ

Joined: 08 May 2007
Posts: 48

PostPosted: Mon 11 Feb 2008, 15:47    Post_subject:  

Lobster wrote:
I am having difficulty installing .pets
(downloaded from Iblio or other sources)
The only thing that may be complicating this: Is I am running from CD with data saved on USB and have 31MB of memory free (according to the tray applet)

So I would like to know if others are able to install .pets?

The basic situation is .pet starts to expand. Computer freezes completely. Then have to turn off computer (probably a reset button would do but I do not have one) Ctrl + Alt + backspace does not work.

Complete freeze up

Edited_time_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
John Doe

Joined: 01 Aug 2005
Posts: 1689
Location: Michigan, US

PostPosted: Mon 11 Feb 2008, 15:50    Post_subject:  

russ wrote:
Lobster wrote:
I am having difficulty installing .pets
(downloaded from Iblio or other sources)
The only thing that may be complicating this: Is I am running from CD with data saved on USB and have 31MB of memory free (according to the tray applet)

So I would like to know if others are able to install .pets?

The basic situation is .pet starts to expand. Computer freezes completely. Then have to turn off computer (probably a reset button would do but I do not have one) Ctrl + Alt + backspace does not work.

Complete freeze up


I'm getting the same behaviour with a session saved to USB drive.

Pets work OK, with full HD install.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
exProphecy


Joined: 05 Nov 2007
Posts: 334
Location: Bay Area, California

PostPosted: Mon 11 Feb 2008, 16:29    Post_subject:  

John Doe wrote:
russ wrote:
Lobster wrote:
I am having difficulty installing .pets
(downloaded from Iblio or other sources)
The only thing that may be complicating this: Is I am running from CD with data saved on USB and have 31MB of memory free (according to the tray applet)

So I would like to know if others are able to install .pets?

The basic situation is .pet starts to expand. Computer freezes completely. Then have to turn off computer (probably a reset button would do but I do not have one) Ctrl + Alt + backspace does not work.

Complete freeze up


I'm getting the same behaviour with a session saved to USB drive.

Pets work OK, with full HD install.


Hey what the copy cats. I'm getting the same problem. I MEAN copy puppies =]

_________________
Puppy 4.3.1 + Sansa Express MP3 Player + 10GB USB Flash Drive = My triple threat OS. Wink
I consider myself a Turritopsis Nutricula.
http://www.wellminded.com/puppy/pupsearch.html
http://www.esnips.com/web/exprophecypets
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message AIM 
changturkey

Joined: 29 Dec 2007
Posts: 67

PostPosted: Mon 11 Feb 2008, 16:43    Post_subject:  

Puppy freezes when running the "alsaconf" from the console shortcut at the bottom left, near the menu.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
rerwin


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 1519
Location: Maine, USA

PostPosted: Mon 11 Feb 2008, 20:03    Post_subject: XorgWizard sets wrong resolution with new "intel" driver
Sub_title: New driver supports RandR; ignores Puppy's resolution settings; uses non-listed 1152x864. Solved.
 

On my IBM NetVista PC with Intel 845 built-in graphics and an ADI 5P CRT monitor, the old driver, i810, set resolutions as directed by Puppy's xorgwizard in xorg mode. In alpha6 and the newer driver, intel, the resolution is set to 1152x864 no matter what I select (1024, 1280, 800) with the wizard. The resolution is reported by HardInfo and corresponds to what I see on the screen.

I found a post that suggests the solution: http://www.mp3car.com/vbulletin/linux/111031-my-troubles-intel-i810-drivers-xorg-fixed.html It uses an xorg.conf Monitor-Section Option statement that affects only adapters that support RandR 1.2 (The X Resize and Rotate Extension) and is apparently ignored by other adapters. The man-page definition of it is:
Quote:
Option PreferredMode string
This optional entry specifies a mode to be marked as the preferred initial mode of the monitor. (RandR 1.2-supporting drivers only)

I have tried this Option using the same resolution as in the Screen Section and, indeed, the problem is corrected. I have modified /usr/sbin/xorgwizard to generate the Option statement with the same value as that placed in the Screen Section "Modes" statement. I have also tested the fix on two other PCs (that don't need it) and there is no impact.

EDIT 2/16/08: Apparently I only intended to post regarding the grubconfig script, but did not actually post. I updated grubconfig to remove all the "HD..." references, for use with kernel 2.6.24+, where all hard drives are "sd...". That is the third fix of the "three" mentioned in the next paragraph. /EDIT

Attached is an archive with this fix as well as the previous three I have posted in this thread. If extracted to the / directory, the scripts will go to their correct directories. From the readme file:
Quote:
Content:
pwget: Changes "cut and paste" to "copy and paste".
xorgwizard: Corrects "Trident CYBER" entries, adding line for 8620.
Adds PreferredMode option to xorg.conf monitor section for RandR accomodation.
grubconfig: Changes "hd*" to "sd*" and removes hd* from table (for use with kernel 2.6.24+ only).

EDIT 2/19/08: Forum member hln informs me that he got his Toshiba Portege 7200CT display to work by adding its adapter ID to the test for problematic adapters:
oem: Trident CYBER 9540
Barry, please add it to the version of xorgwizard in the attached archive. Thanks.
Richard
rerwin-listings-fixes-to-396.tar.gz
Description  Listings of the changes made.
gz

 Download 
Filename  rerwin-listings-fixes-to-396.tar.gz 
Filesize  70.36 KB 
Downloaded  323 Time(s) 
rerwin-fixes-to-396.tar.gz
Description  Four fixes for problems I described above. Extract to /.
gz

 Download 
Filename  rerwin-fixes-to-396.tar.gz 
Filesize  30.13 KB 
Downloaded  322 Time(s) 

Edited_times_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Lobster
Official Crustacean


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 15117
Location: Paradox Realm

PostPosted: Tue 12 Feb 2008, 02:02    Post_subject:  

Quote:
Pets work OK, with full HD install.


Barry is working on the Universal Installer and .pet package system whilst on holiday.

I am now running Puppy Alpha 6 (have been for a few days) from Multisession. This seems to be going OK. My main program use is:

Seamonkey (occasional freezing - normally seems related to some media intensive site and I have a feeling I am not giving it time to complete a process thing is it may be slowing other open windows)

AbiWord (this program seems to display a missing line in images on occasion) but is OK for printing using Cups which I have set up for my Canon BJc 4300

Inkscape We have up to now used a cut down 'lite' version but Barry has the full version in the Alpha. I find the full version very useful.

MtPaint. For some reason the previous default of using the mouse wheel to zoom in and out, has to be turned on in preferences. If this is an Mtpaint decision, I preferred the previous default middle wheel zooming feature . . .

Geany Use a lot. As usual nothing to report - just works.

Wallpaper setter Wot no preview (as in Marks wxbasic version)? Embarassed I believe this is related to the lack of a pic viewer and might be remedied? Smile

Pwget. I used this to download a swf from the wayback machine and it kept retrying indefinetly - but the file was in fact downloaded once I tired of watching the download reconnects. Is this maybe to do with wayback machine
http://www.archive.org/web/web.php

_________________
Puppy WIKI
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Sit Heel Speak


Joined: 30 Mar 2006
Posts: 2595
Location: downwind

PostPosted: Tue 12 Feb 2008, 03:28    Post_subject:  

rerwin wrote:
pwget: Changes "cut and paste" to "copy and paste".
xorgwizard: Corrects "Trident CYBER" entries, adding line for 8620.
Adds PreferredMode option to xorg.conf monitor section for RandR accomodation.
grubconfig: Changes "hd*" to "sd*" and removes hd* from table (for use with kernel 2.6.24+ only).

Thanks Richard, these are timely fixes. I noticed xorgwizard in Lobster's tmxxine 'Vision' was missing the 8620 line, and grub wasn't being written as sd*.

Monday night now, puppy-3.96-seamonkey-k2.6.24.iso is still giving (made 7 tries so far) the same incorrect md5sum ***Edited, succeeded later, see below***

Edited_time_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
WhoDo


Joined: 11 Jul 2006
Posts: 4441
Location: Lake Macquarie NSW Australia

PostPosted: Tue 12 Feb 2008, 04:04    Post_subject:  

Sit Heel Speak wrote:
Monday night now, puppy-3.96-seamonkey-k2.6.24.iso is still giving (made 7 tries so far) the same incorrect md5sum as I showed above.

Is anyone else downloading it OK, i.e. is there something wrong at perhaps my ISP?

Something right "off the wall" for you to try, SHS. Download to a DIFFERENT directory. Why? Just in case the download isn't actually overwriting the first faulty download but simply "replacing it", errors and all. I know, I know. It shouldn't happen that way, but what have you got to lose? Wink

Cheers

_________________
Actions speak louder than words ... and they usually work when words don't!
SIP:whodo@proxy01.sipphone.com; whodo@realsip.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Sit Heel Speak


Joined: 30 Mar 2006
Posts: 2595
Location: downwind

PostPosted: Tue 12 Feb 2008, 04:26    Post_subject:  

WhoDo wrote:
Download to a DIFFERENT directory...

Thanks for the tip, but, been doing that. On three different partitions. All 7 times, I got the same incorrect md5sum. Next I'll try downloading it from a Win98 machine.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 6 of 10 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10 Next
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1164s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0182s) ][ GZIP on ]