Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Fri 01 Aug 2014, 03:47
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Puppy 3 series bugs
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 2 of 4 [47 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4 Next
Author Message
pdrito

Joined: 18 Jan 2007
Posts: 50

PostPosted: Sat 02 Feb 2008, 09:44    Post subject:  

BarryK,

Sorry, you are right, my mistake.
The files missing on my / Directory should be pup_302.sfs and zdrv_302.sfs.

I think the best way to explain what are talking about is to put 2 captures of my desktop, running Puppy.

1.- Running Puppy-2.15CE
On this capture you can see the zdrv_215.sfs and pup_215.sfs files. Both are loaded automatically by Puppy to / Directory..
Plus the kde-bits_215.sfs file. This one I put on my / Directory, and then save the multisession CD/DVD.
When reboot, I have the 3 sfs files and new software working (k3b on the kde-bits_215.sfs file)

2.- Running Puppy-3.02alpha1

On this capture you can not find any sfs file on my / Directory.
Puppy dont load zdrv_302.sfs or pup_302.sfs on my / Directory, by default..
If I try to put (copy) any sfs file on my / Directory, and save the session to CD/DVD , then after reboot, It will not appears on / Directory.


Hope have make a better explanation.

pdrito.

(Sorry for the img size; Now resized according) Embarassed
puppy.2.15CE.Desktop2.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   221.23 KB
 Viewed   1297 Time(s)

puppy.2.15CE.Desktop2.jpg

puppy.3.02.alpha1.Desktop2.png
 Description   
 Filesize   95.54 KB
 Viewed   1289 Time(s)

puppy.3.02.alpha1.Desktop2.png


Last edited by pdrito on Sat 02 Feb 2008, 17:37; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nic2109

Joined: 01 Jan 2007
Posts: 406
Location: Hayslope, near Middlemarch, Midlands, England

PostPosted: Sat 02 Feb 2008, 10:04    Post subject:
Subject description: Network Wizard Issue
 

One BIG thing (for me) about this release is that it includes WPA encryption, and it works right out of the box.

A minor buglet is that the network connection wizard needs to be re-run each time to load and use the saved profile - it doesn't "remember" to use it. There's no such problem with eth0 wired which is picked up on re-boot just fine.

Nick

Dell Inspiron 9400 / 1Gb RAM / ATi X300 / SATA Disk / Intel PRO/Wireless
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tronkel


Joined: 30 Sep 2005
Posts: 1101
Location: Vienna Austria

PostPosted: Sat 02 Feb 2008, 10:08    Post subject:  

re Alienjeff's ee100pro problem

Barry wrote:

Quote:
f you have a frugal install then it may be an issue with Puppy unable to find the zdrv file, so can't fetch the eepro100 module.


I tried using 302Retro (built but not yet uploaded) on my machine here.
With this version I also lost all the modules including eepro100.

I then copied the zdrv.sfs to '/' on the home partition, (hda1 or whatever)
The module is now accessible and can be loaded.

If you are using a frugal install try this.

You could also find that the video problems are sorted.

If you want to try this along with a retro version of 302 alpha, I should have that uploaded to www.puppylinux.ca/tpp/tronkel shortly. Give it a couple of hours or so.

Let me know how you get on

_________________
Life is too short to spend it in front of a computer
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address 
Sage

Joined: 04 Oct 2005
Posts: 4776
Location: GB

PostPosted: Sat 02 Feb 2008, 12:31    Post subject:  

Jeez - these giant pictures are driving me crazy. And not a moderating moderator in sight to wave the big stick and make the adjustments.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Lobster
Official Crustacean


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 15117
Location: Paradox Realm

PostPosted: Sat 02 Feb 2008, 13:09    Post subject:  

gxine seems all over the place. Some versions of Puppy it works. Then not. It is a complex piece of work but Puppy get's the blame if components fail . . .
_________________
Puppy WIKI

Last edited by Lobster on Mon 04 Feb 2008, 02:50; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Tui

Joined: 27 Sep 2006
Posts: 380
Location: Wellington New Zealand

PostPosted: Sun 03 Feb 2008, 00:16    Post subject:  

Sage, Here is another one for you, get on with your helping us guys!

BarryK
said back on this thread that " this is the same as puppy v3.01,then why this problem in v3.02alpha1 ? This is the first time I have had this problem in the use of this function in all the puppy versions I have tried. - why now?

The latest blog stated changes to the puppy-UNLEASHED with the
adding of some files - I can't find them, where are they ?

Also stated that you had to go thro' and change packages.txt in
the UNLEASHED and "replace on every line --" does that mean
that I have to go thro' and change the files in the 600mb or so I
d/l ed some hours age ? I also note that there has been no update change as to change of "date" Should this not be updated also? - This I thought may also indicate a change has taken place
for someone who may have re -visited the download site.

Please please advise of what I should do !
K2.6.21.7A.png
 Description   
 Filesize   245.24 KB
 Viewed   1168 Time(s)

K2.6.21.7A.png


Last edited by Tui on Sun 03 Feb 2008, 01:26; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
alienjeff


Joined: 08 Jul 2006
Posts: 2291
Location: Winsted, CT - USA

PostPosted: Sun 03 Feb 2008, 01:08    Post subject:  

@tronkel:
Many thanks for all your efforts in providing a v3.02alpha1retro. I downloaded and tested it, yet experience the same problems with the i810 video with Xvesa, Xorg and Xvidtune. The retro does find, load and save the eepro100 module, though!

@nobody in particular:
The handwriting on the wall can still be read as the sun sets. Holding out for i810 compatibility seems futile. The meager HP Pavilion XE736 runs like a champ with v2.12, so it's time to step out of the ring. Good luck with the 3 and 4 series, as well as the divergent CEs.

This is alienjeff reporting live from Winsted, CT. Back to you, Katie.

P.S. @ tui:
Please RESIZE THE SCREENSHOTS, ffs.

_________________
hangout: ##b0rked on irc.freenode.net
diversion: http://alienjeff.net - visit The Fringe
quote: "The foundation of authority is based upon the consent of the people." - Thomas Hooker

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Sage

Joined: 04 Oct 2005
Posts: 4776
Location: GB

PostPosted: Sun 03 Feb 2008, 02:55    Post subject:  

Tui: Do we understand that your oversized pictures are deliberate?
For myself, I use 800x600 on account of poor eyesight, not lack of HW. There are regular visitors here who are a lot older than me, although age is no marker for the misfortune of less than 20/20. Furthermore, there are millions of less fortunate folks using gifted 14" monitors because they are poorer than either you or me. Frankly, you should be ashamed, having been advised of the reality several times. As you'll appreciate, there is no proper moderation on this Forum, just a long-suffering, hard-working benefactor and a sidekick who prefers to take cheap shots rather than accept responsibility for actioning necessary changes and admonishing miscreants. Other boards may be even less tolerant. Please resize your pictures and let's stop this childish behaviour. If you're still having problems with this - ask for help or search out the original thread with definitive advice which seems to elude Hr. Obermeister. Argument between those well-able to defend themselves is par for the course, but try being considerate towards those who may be unable to improve their lot.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Tui

Joined: 27 Sep 2006
Posts: 380
Location: Wellington New Zealand

PostPosted: Sun 03 Feb 2008, 05:17    Post subject:  

Hi Sage it's me again.
Well about the pixs, yes they look big-big and
very big with the res set at 800x600.

I have also found another problems in viewing this thread and other
threads on this the puppy forum. By the way I also could be past
the useby date in age!

I have been making check of res setup on puppylinux i.e. I have
been using 1024x768 this has got the look on my MS-WINDOWS machine of 800x600. and if I use 1024x768 on MS-WINDOWS I need
times 5 reading glasses to view. So what does that mean ! ???!

So apart from having on my set res of 1024x768 a screenshot
that looks oversize to you looks ok to me! But the file size can
be rather big, 400kb or so. reduced size can be a bit more eco on the
server.

I also note that page2 of this thread has the text and my last
screenshot well outside the viewable of screen.

Page1 fits ok! Maybe I should post a shot- ah- not this time

I am using the default browser of puppylinux - seamonkey,
maybe Firefox would be different. I will have to do a d/l and check.

Cheers Tui
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
HairyWill


Joined: 26 May 2006
Posts: 2949
Location: Southampton, UK

PostPosted: Sun 03 Feb 2008, 05:28    Post subject:  

Tui
The timezone stuff is already reported on the previous page. Here is Barry's response
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=171546#171546

_________________
Will
contribute: community website, screenshots, puplets, wiki, rss
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7047
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Sun 03 Feb 2008, 19:11    Post subject:
Subject description: Network Wizard Issue
 

nic2109 wrote:
A minor buglet is that the network connection wizard needs to be re-run each time to load and use the saved profile - it doesn't "remember" to use it. There's no such problem with eth0 wired which is picked up on re-boot just fine.

The guys who are currently maintaining the Network Wizard need to pick that one up. There was rarsa, tempestuous also I think, then pizzasgood had a look at it recently ...so I don't really know who wants to take this one on.

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7047
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Sun 03 Feb 2008, 19:18    Post subject:  

Tui wrote:
The latest blog stated changes to the puppy-UNLEASHED with the
adding of some files - I can't find them, where are they ?

Also stated that you had to go thro' and change packages.txt in
the UNLEASHED and "replace on every line --" does that mean
that I have to go thro' and change the files in the 600mb or so I
d/l ed some hours age ? I also note that there has been no update change as to change of "date" Should this not be updated also? - This I thought may also indicate a change has taken place
for someone who may have re -visited the download site.

Please please advise of what I should do !

My announcement was quite clear, or so I thought. The ibiblio site (3.02alpha1 directory) has a new file 'packages.txt' and a new 'glibc-2.5-1'. Replace the packages.txt that is in the 'puppy-unleashed' directory and put the new glibc package into puppy-unleashed/packages directory. After expanding them of course. The directory 'puppy-unleashed' is what you get after expanding the 'puppy-unleashed-3.02alpha1.tar.gz'.

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
ecomoney


Joined: 25 Nov 2005
Posts: 2183
Location: Lincolnshire, England

PostPosted: Mon 04 Feb 2008, 01:29    Post subject: Pretty Puppy  

First off, Barry THANK YOU for creating easily the best looking puppy so far, this stands head and shoulders above anything yet created in terms of aesthetics.I hope it is a sign of things to come. A look like this will do a lot to attract new users to puppy and getting them to explore linux, and is not something that should be taken as unimportant.

I havnt had chance to test much, the only bug I can find so far is on the cups wizard. Drop down combo boxes dont seem to render proplerly (no down cheveron). Netsurf is a big improvement on dillo, but have you considered the newcomer Skipstone as a browser? Currently the browser window is the application with the longest startup time of any of the apps in puppy, from some tests we were doing skipstone would start in about 1/8th of the time, and still give a very useable browser, both for displaying cups config and help files, and actually surfing the net. It uses the Gecko 1.8 rendering engine (and flash9), so it should be as compatible with most webpages as Seamonkey.

It is a shame about the hardware support as overall this is very promising, Intel 810/815 chipsets are very common and should be support (puppy has had problems for a while with them). Im pleased to report the sound works on my AC97 onboard sound as well (an improvement on previous 3.xx versions). The epp100 network driver is very commonly used for a great many cards and should be included. If this can be tightened up then this will be a very useable distro for not-quite-so-old machines.

_________________
Puppy Linux's Mission

Sorry, my server is down atm!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger 
Béèm


Joined: 21 Nov 2006
Posts: 11782
Location: Brussels IBM Thinkpad R40, 256MB, 20GB, WiFi ipw2100. Frugal Lin'N'Win

PostPosted: Mon 04 Feb 2008, 16:00    Post subject:  

Tui wrote:
Hi Sage it's me again.
Well about the pixs, yes they look big-big and
very big with the res set at 800x600.

I have also found another problems in viewing this thread and other
threads on this the puppy forum. By the way I also could be past
the useby date in age!

I have been making check of res setup on puppylinux i.e. I have
been using 1024x768 this has got the look on my MS-WINDOWS machine of 800x600. and if I use 1024x768 on MS-WINDOWS I need
times 5 reading glasses to view. So what does that mean ! ???!

So apart from having on my set res of 1024x768 a screenshot
that looks oversize to you looks ok to me! But the file size can
be rather big, 400kb or so. reduced size can be a bit more eco on the
server.

I also note that page2 of this thread has the text and my last
screenshot well outside the viewable of screen.

Page1 fits ok! Maybe I should post a shot- ah- not this time

I am using the default browser of puppylinux - seamonkey,
maybe Firefox would be different. I will have to do a d/l and check.

Cheers Tui
Your screenshots are always oversized for me and I hate it.
I only have a 14" screen.
Screenshot which are really 800x600 display perfectly well on my screen.
I didn't understand any thing about your explanation of 800x600 being huge.
So please find a solution.

_________________
Time savers:
Find packages in a snap and install using Puppy Package Manager (Menu).
Consult Wikka
Use peppyy's puppysearch
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Béèm


Joined: 21 Nov 2006
Posts: 11782
Location: Brussels IBM Thinkpad R40, 256MB, 20GB, WiFi ipw2100. Frugal Lin'N'Win

PostPosted: Mon 04 Feb 2008, 16:13    Post subject:  

Tui, I found that the best size to add a picture is 700x525 and not 800x600
I reduced yours to it and now it displays correctly on a 14" screen.
Please take this into consideration.
K2.6.21.7A.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   46.2 KB
 Viewed   849 Time(s)

K2.6.21.7A.jpg


_________________
Time savers:
Find packages in a snap and install using Puppy Package Manager (Menu).
Consult Wikka
Use peppyy's puppysearch
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 2 of 4 [47 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1079s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0118s) ][ GZIP on ]