Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Mon 01 Sep 2014, 04:09
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
New Pup for the Eeepc based on Puppy 301
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 2 of 29 [422 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, ..., 27, 28, 29 Next
Author Message
dvw86


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 636
Location: Washington State

PostPosted: Sat 02 Feb 2008, 02:19    Post subject:  

Hey the webcam works! Turning it on in the bios was the key. I will make a new iso with a roxapp that will load the video modules and explain that you must have the webcan turned on in the bios. I will try to get permission to include videoview with the iso and have the roxapp launch it. I will also include the newest beta version of Skype if the video works in that as well. Also I will use some of the suggestions posted in this thread. Thanks for all the help.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
dvw86


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 636
Location: Washington State

PostPosted: Sat 02 Feb 2008, 02:25    Post subject:  

Yep, Skype 2 beta works with the webcam. I will have to wait until my days off to make the new iso, but I will post it as soon as I can.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
gary101


Joined: 08 Oct 2006
Posts: 539
Location: Boston, Lincs. UK

PostPosted: Sat 02 Feb 2008, 03:10    Post subject:
Subject description: Re Webcam
 

Hi

I have the webcam working under 2.16 with no problem.

What works for me is to have everything load from /etc.rc.d/rc.local

Copy of mine below:

modprobe v4l2-common
modprobe v4l1-compat
modprobe videodev
modprobe compat-ioctl123
modprobe uvcvideo

@nyu - touchpad scrolling also works, although you have to tap in the page first. Check /etc/x11/xorg.conf for the line in the "Synaptics Mouse" section.

Option VerticalScrollDelta" mine is set to "100"

Hope this helps

Gary
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
darrelljon


Joined: 08 Apr 2007
Posts: 548

PostPosted: Sat 02 Feb 2008, 09:25    Post subject:  

http://www.puppylinux.org/wikka/EeePC
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
JustGreg

Joined: 24 May 2005
Posts: 668
Location: Connecticut USA

PostPosted: Sat 02 Feb 2008, 21:01    Post subject:  
Subject description: Webcam Bios Setting Changes after use of Xandros
 

I know I set the webcam BIOS setting to enable. Somehow after using Xandros, the webcam BIOS setting was disabled. After several tries, I found what worked for me. I set the BIOS webcam to enabled and then used Xandros webcam application. I did a complete power down. Powered up to use Pupeee, checked the webcam with videoview and it worked. I rebooted and started Xandros, check the webcam, it worked then shut it down. Started Pupeee up and webcam was working. So if the webcam stops working, then check the BIOS setting, especially after using Xandros.
_________________
Enjoy life, Just Greg
Live Well, Laugh Often, Love Much

Last edited by JustGreg on Sat 02 Feb 2008, 21:16; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
JustGreg

Joined: 24 May 2005
Posts: 668
Location: Connecticut USA

PostPosted: Sat 02 Feb 2008, 21:15    Post subject:
Subject description: Using the asapm battery monitor in Pupeee
 

Pupeee uses the batmon for showing the battery condition in the system tray. The batmon program is fine. I happen to like the asapm battery monitor that is part of Dingo better. It looks better to me. Here is how I inserted it into Pupeee. At the time, I was doing this, there was no pet. I think a asapm.pet is now available for Puppy 3.01. I am providing the files and information for the use of anyone else..

First one needs to copy the program asapm to /usr/sbin. I have attached a gzip version of asapm for your use.

Second one needs to modify .jwmrc-tray file. The height of the tray needs to be increased from 26 to 32 pixels. The following code needs to replace the batmon code.
Code:
<!-- asapm battery -->
<Swallow name="asapm">
asapm -u 4
</Swallow>


I have attached modified version of .jwmrc-tray (gzip as jwmrc-tray-asapm) for anyone's use. Just "ungzip" the tray file and rename it .jwmrc-tray and replace the existing .jwmrc-tray file.

Hopefully, asapm will be used in the next update. If not then one can use either the .pet or this post.
asapm.gz
Description 
gz

 Download 
Filename  asapm.gz 
Filesize  12.66 KB 
Downloaded  813 Time(s) 
jwmrc-tray-asapm.gz
Description 
gz

 Download 
Filename  jwmrc-tray-asapm.gz 
Filesize  554 Bytes 
Downloaded  801 Time(s) 

_________________
Enjoy life, Just Greg
Live Well, Laugh Often, Love Much
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
JustGreg

Joined: 24 May 2005
Posts: 668
Location: Connecticut USA

PostPosted: Sun 03 Feb 2008, 11:47    Post subject:
Subject description: Still having the BIOS webcam setting changed.
 

I thought that I solved it in the second post above this. The bottom line is after using Xandros, is to check the settings for the devices in the BIOS if you want to use them in Puppy.
_________________
Enjoy life, Just Greg
Live Well, Laugh Often, Love Much
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
dvw86


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 636
Location: Washington State

PostPosted: Sun 03 Feb 2008, 15:41    Post subject:
Subject description: Still having the BIOS webcam setting changed.
 

JustGreg wrote:
I thought that I solved it in the second post above this. The bottom line is after using Xandros, is to check the settings for the devices in the BIOS if you want to use them in Puppy.


Thanks, I'll be sure to make people aware of that when they start the webcam in Pupeee. Also I've been playing with the asapm battery monitor and I have a couple of issues with it. First of all when the JWM tray is taller the menu button looks terrible. Maybe we could find a different graphic for it so it would look better? Secondly, I think that the asapm battery monitor is un-hiding the taskbar every so often. It results in kind of a flicker effect. Have you had this problem too? I wanted to update the iso tomorrow, but I'm still kind of "on the fence" about the battery monitor.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
JustGreg

Joined: 24 May 2005
Posts: 668
Location: Connecticut USA

PostPosted: Sun 03 Feb 2008, 22:05    Post subject:  

I have not noticed any flicking with asapm battery monitoring. However, my eyes are bit older so I may just not have noticed it. dvw86, it is your call. The batmon program does the same functions as asapm. The batmon does it using a simple interface, a plus or minus sign to indicate if charging or not. I just thought asapm looked better. In functionality, they are the same. If I did not know about asapm, batmon would be fine. I got asapm to work and provided the information for you and everyone else's use. dvw86, if you are doing the iso buliding then it is your decision. Which ever one is used, pupeee provides the need function. I hope this helps.
_________________
Enjoy life, Just Greg
Live Well, Laugh Often, Love Much
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
spb37

Joined: 03 Oct 2006
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Sun 03 Feb 2008, 23:36    Post subject: NOP / compiz needed  

Thx for doing this. I have gotten used to beryl on the xandros kde. The "expose" feature is really helpful working with multiple windows. And I am also constantly showing the Eeepc off to friends and nothing blows them away more than the fact it can do vista like graphics not to mention the otherwise useless rotating cube.

So if you get a chance add compiz. I tried Puppy NOP which worked incredibly well compiz wise (but lacks ACPI and wifi). I know some people are put off by eye candy but it is amazing that the eeepc can handle it so well.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
dvw86


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 636
Location: Washington State

PostPosted: Mon 04 Feb 2008, 01:29    Post subject:  

Ouch! It's 200EU to include videoview in the Pupeee iso. I will look for an alternative before the next release.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
raffy

Joined: 25 May 2005
Posts: 4765
Location: Manila

PostPosted: Mon 04 Feb 2008, 03:38    Post subject: online test  

How about a Puppy online test site for the webcam, something like, "Click here to test your webcam"? Just a thought. Smile
_________________
Puppy user since Oct 2004. Want FreeOffice? Get the sfs (English only).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
MyPup

Joined: 06 Oct 2007
Posts: 26

PostPosted: Mon 04 Feb 2008, 06:22    Post subject:  

Thanks for the new pupeee I have an 8g and been trying several versions of puppy and use puppy on other machines. I installed it on an sd card and it booted great I didn't try cam yet but installed conky and some other apps. Seajunky seems to crash on me so i tried firefox (which i prefer) but got errors after a couple of hours surfing the web see here. But I love puppy and the epc as well. I didn't get 800x480 as someone else had mentioned but would sure like to know how its done as this is the biggest draw back to using puppy on the eeepc.
I want to thank all of you for your great work with puppy linux as i have grown to really like it very much. I hope others will try to make a good version for the eeepc as it is really in need of a good linux disto as I am not very fond of the fisherprice xandros version that comes with it. Here are a couple of caps of your version running on my eeepc. Thanks again hope to hear more about your next version and thanks for not having too much bloatware. I will try this on a different sd card to see what happens. Although, I have no idea why it wouldn't let firefox work. As I wanted to use firefox because I like it and for some themed choices that use little screen space which is needed for the e. And thanks for using abiword and all the work that you must have put in on it. I am a total linux noob but a great theme would be thinblack2 which is what i use on my e found here->http://www.gnome-look.org/content/show.php?content=55648 . I like the drop down menu please post a how to sometime I would like to know.
new sd pup.png
 Description   
 Filesize   84.72 KB
 Viewed   4032 Time(s)

new sd pup.png

cap2newpup.png
 Description   
 Filesize   266.66 KB
 Viewed   4033 Time(s)

cap2newpup.png

error.png
 Description   
 Filesize   34.36 KB
 Viewed   3977 Time(s)

error.png

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
big_bass

Joined: 13 Aug 2007
Posts: 1747

PostPosted: Mon 04 Feb 2008, 13:55    Post subject: screen options  

MyPup wrote:
. I didn't get 800x480 as someone else had mentioned but would sure like to know how its done as this is the biggest draw back to using puppy on the eeepc.
.



Hey mypup

you got this info
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=25563

and this script
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?mode=attach&id=7467


now run the script and select
0x015D: 848x480x16 or 0x015F: 848x480x24


P.S you can always send an email too

"preserve vintage puppy versions update them and keep the magic alive "

your IRC friend big_bass
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
dvw86


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 636
Location: Washington State

PostPosted: Mon 04 Feb 2008, 14:16    Post subject:  

If you are using Pupeee then the 800 x480 screen resolution should have worked right away. Also, Seamonkey has been very stable for me in Puppy 301 and Pupeee. I wonder if you don't have some other problem, like a bad download of the iso..
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 2 of 29 [422 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, ..., 27, 28, 29 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0947s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0129s) ][ GZIP on ]