Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Fri 25 Jul 2014, 23:07
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Puppy 3 series bugs
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 4 [47 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2, 3, 4 Next
Author Message
alienjeff


Joined: 08 Jul 2006
Posts: 2291
Location: Winsted, CT - USA

PostPosted: Fri 01 Feb 2008, 11:07    Post subject:  Puppy 3 series bugs
Subject description: Puppy 3 series bugs
 

Self-explanatory, or one would hope.
_________________
hangout: ##b0rked on irc.freenode.net
diversion: http://alienjeff.net - visit The Fringe
quote: "The foundation of authority is based upon the consent of the people." - Thomas Hooker


Last edited by alienjeff on Fri 07 Mar 2008, 23:31; edited 4 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ttuuxxx


Joined: 05 May 2007
Posts: 10747
Location: Ontario Canada,Sydney Australia

PostPosted: Fri 01 Feb 2008, 11:35    Post subject:  

The Only bug I got is,,,,,,,What took so long?? Smile

ttuuxxx

_________________
http://audio.online-convert.com/ <-- excellent site
http://samples.mplayerhq.hu/A-codecs/ <-- Codec Test Files
http://html5games.com/ <-- excellent HTML5 games Smile

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
pdrito

Joined: 18 Jan 2007
Posts: 50

PostPosted: Fri 01 Feb 2008, 12:06    Post subject: Order, order. Lets put some order. !!  

Hi guys,

Who will do the "oficial list of things To Do" ?.

--------------------------------------------------------

Today I run the very new Puppy-3.02 alpha1 edition.

On my NO Hard Disk PC, I run a multisession CD/DVD:

1.- First boot, all went OK. Setup country, xorg, network connection, internet, etc. Save on multisession CD/DVD disc. ALL OK.
2.- Boot of saved session: All load process went OK.
3.- Problems found:
3.1 Gxine 0.5.11. It freeze after a few minutes, when full screen is working.
The same was on Puppy-3.01 version.
3.2 Gxine 0.5.11 It can't show added subtitles (like srt, sub, txt archives) on an .avi movie.
Gxine 0.49 on Puppy-2.17.1 show all kind of subtitles without any problem and NO freezes.
3.3 zdrv_sfs and pup-save.sfs NO present on / Directory, on my CD/DVD multisession loaded.
On puppy-2.15CE , all xxx.sfs loads normally on / Directory.
This characteristic of Puppy-2.15CE is very importat for loaded new software in the form of XXX.sfs format.

Please put this bugs in consideration for the future Puppy 3.10CE version.

Thanks very much for your work.

pdrito.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tronkel


Joined: 30 Sep 2005
Posts: 1101
Location: Vienna Austria

PostPosted: Fri 01 Feb 2008, 12:32    Post subject:  

This one is a little beaut.

Lets go build it!
Who is up for it?

_________________
Life is too short to spend it in front of a computer
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address 
alienjeff


Joined: 08 Jul 2006
Posts: 2291
Location: Winsted, CT - USA

PostPosted: Fri 01 Feb 2008, 14:51    Post subject:  

@tronkel: Can we test the alpha(s) before we build the CE? Please?

Test base:
HP Pavilion XE736
Celeron 600
256M RAM
Intel i810 mobo video
plain Jane Dell monitor (CRT)
frugal HD install

Bugs:

1) Xorg fails. No config screen. Selecting Xorg dumps to the command prompt.

2) In Xvesa, the highest resolution possible is 800x600x16 (which sucks). Any higher resolution selection b0rks the wizard and dumps you to the command prompt.

3) Cannot find eth0 module. This is the first version of Puppy that I've had problems with the network config. BTW, the wizard scan feature didn't "find" the eepro100 module. Manually selecting that module didn't work, even though it was listed.

These are show stoppers for using v3.02-alpha-1 on this machine.

Concern:

BusyBox free reports 220-some-odd M of RAM used, with ~20M cached/buffered with no apps loaded. This should be considered when advising n00bs as to which versions will run on low-RAM and/or legacy processor machines; as well as HD installation method.

_________________
hangout: ##b0rked on irc.freenode.net
diversion: http://alienjeff.net - visit The Fringe
quote: "The foundation of authority is based upon the consent of the people." - Thomas Hooker

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7047
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Fri 01 Feb 2008, 18:47    Post subject: Re: Order, order. Lets put some order. !!  

pdrito wrote:

3.3 zdrv_sfs and pup-save.sfs NO present on / Directory, on my CD/DVD multisession loaded.
On puppy-2.15CE , all xxx.sfs loads normally on / Directory.
This characteristic of Puppy-2.15CE is very importat for loaded new software in the form of XXX.sfs format.

For multisession CD/DVD you don't have a pup_save.sfs file.
I'm not sure what you're asking about for zdrv_302.sfs. Do you mean that at bootup you want it to copy from CD/DVD into ram, if there is plenty of ram? That is, at '/' in the ram, then be accessed from there. That's not really required though, as far as I can see?

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7047
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Fri 01 Feb 2008, 18:52    Post subject:  

alienjeff wrote:
@tronkel: Can we test the alpha(s) before we build the CE? Please?

Test base:
HP Pavilion XE736
Celeron 600
256M RAM
Intel i810 mobo video
plain Jane Dell monitor (CRT)
frugal HD install

Bugs:

1) Xorg fails. No config screen. Selecting Xorg dumps to the command prompt.

2) In Xvesa, the highest resolution possible is 800x600x16 (which sucks). Any higher resolution selection b0rks the wizard and dumps you to the command prompt.

3) Cannot find eth0 module. This is the first version of Puppy that I've had problems with the network config. BTW, the wizard scan feature didn't "find" the eepro100 module. Manually selecting that module didn't work, even though it was listed.

These are show stoppers for using v3.02-alpha-1 on this machine.

Concern:

BusyBox free reports 220-some-odd M of RAM used, with ~20M cached/buffered with no apps loaded. This should be considered when advising n00bs as to which versions will run on low-RAM and/or legacy processor machines; as well as HD installation method.

Ah, the HP Pavillion again! Is there any difference with running from CD? Don't suppose there would be.
Does '# modprobe eepro100' in a terminal load the module?

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
HairyWill


Joined: 26 May 2006
Posts: 2949
Location: Southampton, UK

PostPosted: Fri 01 Feb 2008, 19:59    Post subject:  

boots ok on my thinkpad x30

Does everybody get a battery monitor or are you detecting laptops?

The time comes up 8 hours in front and I get an Xdialog error when trying to set the time zone. There is no /usr/share/zoneinfo

I really don't like the volume control, Rarsa's was much nicer... OK I see there's no tcl here either. I have a nicer one with a reasonably low footprint, will package.

Edit: I've just seen TkDif so I can't see a good reason for not using Rarsa's mini-volume.

_________________
Will
contribute: community website, screenshots, puplets, wiki, rss
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
prehistoric


Joined: 23 Oct 2007
Posts: 1255

PostPosted: Fri 01 Feb 2008, 20:13    Post subject: tests good on two machines  

I've run quick tests on my Dell D600 laptop, (1400 MHz, 512 MB RAM, ATI mobile Radeon 9000) and succeeded in a frugal install to a USB flash drive. Used the flash drive to boot on a 1 GHz Athlon with 1.25 GB RAM and nVidia GeForce 3 graphics card. No problem there either.

No show stoppers at this location.

prehistoric

Added: I think the HP Pavilion problems above can be traced to the i810 and SDRAM timing. I've seen weird things on these which disappear when I test with faster RAM. Also, seen networking problems which happened there, but not with Intel chips on a PCI card.

Minor problem: /usr/share/timezone missing? Copied from 3.01.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
alienjeff


Joined: 08 Jul 2006
Posts: 2291
Location: Winsted, CT - USA

PostPosted: Fri 01 Feb 2008, 22:29    Post subject:  

BarryK wrote:
Is there any difference with running from CD?

Cannot test as CD burner bit the dust a while ago and haven't replaced it yet.
Quote:
Does '# modprobe eepro100' in a terminal load the module?

Nope. "FATAL: Module eepro100 not found."
prehistoric wrote:
I think the HP Pavilion problems above can be traced to the i810 and SDRAM timing. I've seen weird things on these which disappear when I test with faster RAM. Also, seen networking problems which happened there, but not with Intel chips on a PCI card.

I've run numerous other versions of Puppy, albeit from the 2.xx and later 1.xx families with no problems. IIRC, 3.xx and 4.xx moved up to the latest Xorg, which is when the video problem cropped up.

_________________
hangout: ##b0rked on irc.freenode.net
diversion: http://alienjeff.net - visit The Fringe
quote: "The foundation of authority is based upon the consent of the people." - Thomas Hooker

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Flash
Official Dog Handler


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 10931
Location: Arizona USA

PostPosted: Sat 02 Feb 2008, 01:18    Post subject:  

This thread looks to me like it ought to be a sticky in the Puppy Projects section. Would that be ok with everyone?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
WhoDo


Joined: 11 Jul 2006
Posts: 4441
Location: Lake Macquarie NSW Australia

PostPosted: Sat 02 Feb 2008, 04:14    Post subject:  

Flash wrote:
This thread looks to me like it ought to be a sticky in the Puppy Projects section. Would that be ok with everyone?

Yes, please Flash. It would also be good if we had a Requests for 3.02CE sticky in the same place, at least until we start producing Beta's.

Cheers

_________________
Actions speak louder than words ... and they usually work when words don't!
SIP:whodo@proxy01.sipphone.com; whodo@realsip.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
BlackAdder


Joined: 22 May 2005
Posts: 382

PostPosted: Sat 02 Feb 2008, 04:26    Post subject: Wirelesss Support  

Have tested several wireless adapters all using WEP encryption:
    Atmel-based USB device using the at76_usb module, automatically loaded driver, defined via "Connect" and worked fine.
    Gigabyte PCI adapter based on RT2500 chip using the rt2500 module, automatically loaded driver, defined via "Connect" but would not access the network; showed no SSID. Worked correctly using ndiswrapper.
    Netgear WG511 PCMCIA adapter using the Prism54 module loaded automatically; showed "Not Ready" and would not connect. Worked correctly using ndiswrapper.
    Spirit 802.11b PCMCIA adapter using r8180 module loaded automatically. Defined using "Connect", but reported that module rtl_ieee80211_crypt_wep was missing. Worked correctly using ndiswrapper.
    D-Link DWL-650+ PCMCIA adapter using acx module, worked fine.
    Atheros mini-PCI adapter using ath_pci module, worked fine.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7047
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Sat 02 Feb 2008, 05:51    Post subject:  

HairyWill wrote:
boots ok on my thinkpad x30

Does everybody get a battery monitor or are you detecting laptops?

The time comes up 8 hours in front and I get an Xdialog error when trying to set the time zone. There is no /usr/share/zoneinfo

I really don't like the volume control, Rarsa's was much nicer... OK I see there's no tcl here either. I have a nicer one with a reasonably low footprint, will package.

Edit: I've just seen TkDif so I can't see a good reason for not using Rarsa's mini-volume.

You should only get the battery applet if running Puppy on a laptop.

BUG!!! Yes, /usr/share/zoneinfo is missing. This is due to the backporting from Dingo. I just replaced '0rootfs-skeleton-3.01' package with -0rootfs-skeleton-4.00', but the former has /usr/share/zoneinfo the latter doesn't. The reason for this is that it really belongs in the glibc package so that's where it is in Dingo.

Anyway, you can grab the zoneinfo directory out of the 0rootfs-skeleton-3.01 package. I've just put it into my 3.02 Unleashed, but not uploaded.

3.02alpha1 has all packages, well almost all, packages that are in 3.01 so Tcl/Tk is still there. So yes, you can use rarsa's mini-volume.

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7047
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Sat 02 Feb 2008, 05:58    Post subject:  

alienjeff wrote:
BarryK wrote:
Is there any difference with running from CD?

Cannot test as CD burner bit the dust a while ago and haven't replaced it yet.
Quote:
Does '# modprobe eepro100' in a terminal load the module?

Nope. "FATAL: Module eepro100 not found."
prehistoric wrote:
I think the HP Pavilion problems above can be traced to the i810 and SDRAM timing. I've seen weird things on these which disappear when I test with faster RAM. Also, seen networking problems which happened there, but not with Intel chips on a PCI card.

I've run numerous other versions of Puppy, albeit from the 2.xx and later 1.xx families with no problems. IIRC, 3.xx and 4.xx moved up to the latest Xorg, which is when the video problem cropped up.

The thing to understand about 3.02alpha1 is that it is the same as 3.01. I have updated scripts and added some applications, but all the rest is as before. Same Xorg, same kernel, same modules, same libraries, same everything. The Network Wizard is upgraded.
I just checked on the eepro100:
# modprobe -vn eepro100
insmod /lib/modules/2.6.21.7/kernel/drivers/net/mii.ko
insmod /lib/modules/2.6.21.7/kernel/drivers/net/eepro100.ko
...yep, it's there for me.
If you have a frugal install then it may be an issue with Puppy unable to find the zdrv file, so can't fetch the eepro100 module.

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 4 [47 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2, 3, 4 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1013s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0053s) ][ GZIP on ]