Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Fri 18 Apr 2014, 21:10
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Unsorted
Battery monitor for Dingo Alpha5
Moderators: deshlab, Flash, GuestToo, Ian, JohnMurga, Lobster
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 2 of 4 [54 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4 Next
Author Message
NathanO

Joined: 22 Feb 2007
Posts: 195
Location: San Antonio, TX

PostPosted: Tue 29 Jan 2008, 20:23    Post subject:  

Have installed it under 3.01. I do not see a file .asapmrc anywhere, yes I have enabled hidden files. Can not find it with Gtkfind or Pfind. It did change the background color for part of my taskbar to the left of the battery monitor.

NathanO
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
NathanO

Joined: 22 Feb 2007
Posts: 195
Location: San Antonio, TX

PostPosted: Tue 29 Jan 2008, 20:27    Post subject:  

One more thing, it made the 'free memory' to thin to read, but hovering over it with cursor show info, so I am not too worried.

NathanO
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
NathanO

Joined: 22 Feb 2007
Posts: 195
Location: San Antonio, TX

PostPosted: Wed 30 Jan 2008, 10:56    Post subject:  

Silly question.

On my tower I have an APC Back-UPS XS 1500. It has a USB connection that Win see's. Is there a program to monitor UPS's that will work for Puppy?

Rather then having to have two different programs, could this one have an option to do so? I am willing to be the tester, but 3.01 compatability would be a help as that is what I will stay with until 4.0x is fully released.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Rickrandom

Joined: 21 Jan 2006
Posts: 195
Location: Bedfordshire, UK

PostPosted: Thu 31 Jan 2008, 11:53    Post subject:  

It's probably my inability to read instructions, but trying Dingo Alpha 6, which has this built in, I get a sort of dark grey on grey, as the attached.

Do I need to run anything, or check any settings, or find out if my laptop contains any particular power management?

Laptop is an NEC i-select:

Processor Intel(R) Celeron(R) M processor 1.50GHz
Memory 765MB (181MB used)

Frugal install on NTFS disk, booting via GRUB.
battmon.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   2.62 KB
 Viewed   1781 Time(s)

battmon.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
kirk

Joined: 11 Nov 2005
Posts: 1365
Location: florida

PostPosted: Thu 31 Jan 2008, 13:41    Post subject:  

Rickrandom,

I don't know if I can help, I didn't write this app, just hacked it down a bit. If you have some time, open a console and type:

# asapm

Another battery monitor should open on your desktop. Copy and paste the terminal output here. (after highlighting something in the rxvt terminal window shift-delete copies to the clip board)

Also, your laptop does actually have the battery installed?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
kirk

Joined: 11 Nov 2005
Posts: 1365
Location: florida

PostPosted: Thu 31 Jan 2008, 13:50    Post subject:  

NathanO,

For 3.01 Brad_chuck made a battery monitor, I think he made it into a dotpup package, search the forum. I made a pet package out of one of his early versions that I've been using up until Dingo (doesn't work in dingo). I'll attach it.
Battery-monitor.pet
Description  Pet package of Brad_chuck's battery monitor. For 3.01 or earlier. Will not work in Dingo.
pet

 Download 
Filename  Battery-monitor.pet 
Filesize  9.36 KB 
Downloaded  929 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
HairyWill


Joined: 26 May 2006
Posts: 2949
Location: Southampton, UK

PostPosted: Thu 31 Jan 2008, 13:56    Post subject:  

I can duplicate this by specifying a non-existent battery.
What do you get for
ls /proc/acpi/battery

try
asapm -bat BAT1
instead or whatever your battery gets listed as

_________________
Will
contribute: community website, screenshots, puplets, wiki, rss
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Rickrandom

Joined: 21 Jan 2006
Posts: 195
Location: Bedfordshire, UK

PostPosted: Thu 31 Jan 2008, 14:00    Post subject:  

Code:
# asapm
        Battery BAT1 is available
asapm: open_apm_device_file: The file does not exist.


The attached file shows that the monitor started as a separate application as you said, not in the tray. I pulled the power cord a few minutes ago, and it now says 97%. So in principle it's doing something.

In the meantime I've been looking at the System Information (pretty funky). It says 66% and is dropping.

I have just restarted JWM and now the tray says 94%.

I'm going to boot Windows (oh the shame) and see what it reckons to the level of charge. Back soon.
battmon2.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   2.52 KB
 Viewed   1756 Time(s)

battmon2.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Rickrandom

Joined: 21 Jan 2006
Posts: 195
Location: Bedfordshire, UK

PostPosted: Thu 31 Jan 2008, 15:14    Post subject:  

Code:
# asapm -bat BAT1
asapm: open_apm_device_file: The file does not exist.
# asapm -bat BAT1
asapm: open_apm_device_file: The file does not exist.
# asapm -bat BAT1
asapm: open_apm_device_file: The file does not exist.
# asapm
asapm: open_apm_device_file: The file does not exist.
# asapm
        Battery BAT1 is available
asapm: open_apm_device_file: The file does not exist.
I typed the 2 different lines several times soon after booting, because after various previous boots and doing other stuff, sometimes it displayed and sometimes it didn't. The last attempt gave a proper display on the separate application and then restarting JWM put it in the tray. Plugging power back in makes the mains cable go red.

So all the pieces seem to be there, but just not joined together in my case.

Perhaps it needs to load something else, which isn't instant, thus the asapm needs to be run a minute or 2 after getting the desktop?

Also bottom of the 88% is chopped off sightly. Maybe it's a function of the screen size I've got, but a 1024x768 must be pretty common?

The value from this matches with that in Windows, so I think the System Information has the wrong maximum capacity.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
kirk

Joined: 11 Nov 2005
Posts: 1365
Location: florida

PostPosted: Thu 31 Jan 2008, 15:41    Post subject:  

So Rickrandom, your saying that it's behavior is intermittent or random ? Laughing But seriously, that makes it difficult. Sometimes when you boot ram only Puppy can't find all of the kernel modules (eg drm modules won't load when ram only), don't know if that could be the problem or maybe a poor acpi implementation for your laptop or some problem with the app. If it's too unstable for you to use, you could try booting with acpi=off apm=on. Asapm supports apm too. This is assuming apm is supported on your laptop and it's safe to use. Safe meaning the fan still works.

Quote:
Also bottom of the 88% is chopped off sightly. Maybe it's a function of the screen size I've got, but a 1024x768 must be pretty common?


In order to see the whole battery monitor, /root/.jwmrc-tray line 2 height="26" should be changed to height="28". I reported this to Barry on the Dingo A6 thread.

Noticed on the Bug thread you were booting grub from ntfs? Is that grub4dos? Also the root=/dev/ram0 is no longer needed.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Rickrandom

Joined: 21 Jan 2006
Posts: 195
Location: Bedfordshire, UK

PostPosted: Thu 31 Jan 2008, 17:38    Post subject:  

Code:
# asapm
asapm: open_apm_device_file: The file does not exist.
# asapm -bat BAT1
asapm: open_apm_device_file: The file does not exist.
# asapm
asapm: open_apm_device_file: The file does not exist.
# asapm
asapm: open_apm_device_file: The file does not exist.
# asapm
asapm: open_apm_device_file: The file does not exist.
# asapm -bat BAT1
        Battery BAT1 is available
asapm: open_apm_device_file: The file does not exist.
#
Just did it several times in a row, and finally it worked Confused

I've adjusted the height, fine now, thanks.

I guess I could delete the root= stuff.

Not sure what GRUB I've got, but files are:
GRUB.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   39.34 KB
 Viewed   1160 Time(s)

GRUB.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7047
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Fri 01 Feb 2008, 04:13    Post subject:  

Puppy 3.02alpha1 just uploaded, has the battery monitor. See my blog.

I haven't fixed the tray height yet, will do it right now.

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
erikson


Joined: 27 Feb 2008
Posts: 735
Location: Ghent, Belgium

PostPosted: Wed 12 Mar 2008, 16:32    Post subject:  

I just installed Dingo-bat.pet on my laptop, running puppy 3.01. (I then restored the original .jwrmc-tray, with height adapted to 28 and with the asapm swallow pasted in).

Works okay.

Kudos to kirk!

_________________
If it ain't broke, don't fix it. --- erikson
hp/compaq nx9030 (1.6GHz/480MB/37.2GB), ADSL, Linksys wireless router
http://www.desonville.net/
Puppy page: http://www.desonville.net/en/joere.puppy.htm

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Dougal


Joined: 19 Oct 2005
Posts: 2505
Location: Hell more grotesque than any medieval woodcut

PostPosted: Sun 23 Mar 2008, 08:03    Post subject:  

I rearranged the layout of the applet a bit, made it smaller and simpler, so it integrates better with different size panels and is more clear.
I'm attaching the source code, in case anyone is interested.
(note that I didn't modify the "embossed" background, so don't try using it that way)

_________________
What's the ugliest part of your body?
Some say your nose
Some say your toes
But I think it's your mind

Last edited by Dougal on Sun 12 Apr 2009, 05:51; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
kirk

Joined: 11 Nov 2005
Posts: 1365
Location: florida

PostPosted: Sun 23 Mar 2008, 17:30    Post subject:  

Thanks Dougal, looks nice. Jwm tray height can be reduced from 28 with this one.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 2 of 4 [54 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Unsorted
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0716s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0059s) ][ GZIP on ]