Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Tue 21 Oct 2014, 17:53
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Dingo alpha6 feedback/bugs
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 4 of 10 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10 Next
Author Message
Tui

Joined: 27 Sep 2006
Posts: 380
Location: Wellington New Zealand

PostPosted: Thu 31 Jan 2008, 09:55    Post_subject:  

Hi BarryK, I am doing ad/l now of version with k2.6.xx.x I
am not sure what it will be, your blog says k2.6.21. , the d/l
site says k2.6.23. ! Am I wrong here?

I will do sum check when complete and do a burn.

Cheers Tui
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
geneven

Joined: 04 Oct 2007
Posts: 87
Location: Agoura Hills, California

PostPosted: Thu 31 Jan 2008, 12:37    Post_subject: Out of town, no bcm43xx report  

I don't have access to my two laptops with bcm43xx on them, so I can't try them with the new (older) kernel. I just have my Nokia N800 handheld computer. I am running the newest Dingo (older kernel ) alpha 6 on a modern Gateway desktop computer, and it looks great. No problems thus far.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Rickrandom

Joined: 21 Jan 2006
Posts: 195
Location: Bedfordshire, UK

PostPosted: Thu 31 Jan 2008, 13:32    Post_subject:  

Frugal install of 2.6.24 alpha6 (files extracted using Isobuster) on NEC laptop with NTFS hard drive, new menulst entry:
Code:
title Puppy Linux 400a6
kernel (hd0,1)/boot/puppy400a6/VMLINUZ pmedia=idehd root=/dev/ram0
initrd (hd0,1)/boot/puppy400a6/INITRD.GZ

with PUP_396 and ZDRV in C:\

Booted, selected 0 for no save file, got red text something like pup_396 not found.

Rebooted different OS, renamed PUP_396 and ZDRV to lower case, and rebooted, selected 0 for no save file, did keyboard and video selection OK, got to desktop, closed and made save file OK.

(Not sure what determines the upper/lower case when creating the files, maybe Isobuster, or maybe it's a setting in the iso.)

Rebooted, selected save file OK, clicked Connect icon, got choice of ath0 and eth0, put in details, autoDHCP, connected to wireless OK, browsing OK.

Up/down keys by trackpad work, never worked on 3.01 and earlier. Makes navigating some web pages much easier.

Tried BBC radio (I'm a Brit), radio sounded OK but then cut off after 1 min 20 sec or so, tried again and cut off after approx same time. Tried open in standalone player, got very broken sound, and same cut off time.

Youtube video worked fine with clip over 3 mins long.

Abiword, Gnumeric, firewall, CD playing, Fotox OK. (Didn't actually check firewall robustness.) Gnumeric sheet tabs had white text on near-white background until selected (so you didn't know the sheet name until selected so hit and miss), but changing the theme solved this.

Ripoff MP3 rippper seemed very slow, but I'd never used it before, maybe operator error.

Pdf viwer started OK and opened files, but just shut down with no warning if down arrow or page down was used. Repeated with same effect several time. Same/similar pdf viewer in Puppy3.01 (didn't actually check which versions) works fine.

Battery monitor seems to be black on dark grey, no actual %, reported in another thread.

In general, seems quite quick, maybe slightly quicker than other Puppies, a bit too orange for my taste (not worked out how to change that as theme doesn't seem to affect it), generally usable, but would be nice to get the main issues sorted.

I'll play some more....
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
plinej

Joined: 13 Aug 2006
Posts: 1522

PostPosted: Thu 31 Jan 2008, 14:33    Post_subject:  

Flash,

All of the options to make pcdripper work are in the [ Click for options ] button at the top of the gui.
pcdripper.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   55.54 KB
 Viewed   1494 Time(s)

pcdripper.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
linuxcbon

Joined: 09 Aug 2007
Posts: 762

PostPosted: Thu 31 Jan 2008, 18:23    Post_subject:  

Continuation :

At startup : "Making the file system usable ... /bin/mount/ : line 91 /etc/mtab : Read-only file system".

pppoe is missing :
ftp://ibiblio.org/pub/linux/distributions/puppylinux/pet_packages-4/rp_pppoe-3.8-patched1.pet
(for using it, do pppoe-setup and pppoe-start).

Is it possible to have windows key work ?
And Num lock ON at start.

Edited_time_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
JustGreg

Joined: 24 May 2005
Posts: 695
Location: Connecticut USA

PostPosted: Thu 31 Jan 2008, 20:12    Post_subject:
Sub_title: Tried Wireless with 2.6.21.7 Kernel
 

On the "stay at home" (ZPC-9000) system, my script using the iwpriv commands works and allows me to connect to my wpa2 network. However, my scrpt using wpa_supplicant fails due to lack of RALINK driver support. Trying the network wizard, if also fails. From the appearance of the "blinky" network lights, I suspect it also has wpa_supplicant problem. The wpa_supplicant version is 0.6.0.

On the Eee PC, I have no luck with the ath_pci driver. There is no creation of ath0 interface. The interesting thing is I can turn on or off the card with
Function F2 key, but, still no interface. I have used Raffy's breezy and can connect.

I still get the "unsafe /tmp permissions" error with syslinux on USB installations.

I think going back to the older kernel is not solution. The problem is the kernel modules for the wireless hardware. Having a wpa_supplicant that supports the RALINK and wifi drivers would help. I think the ath0 problem may be a module dependency issue. I will check my notes, I seem to have encounter this with ath_pci driver before.

_________________
Enjoy life, Just Greg
Live Well, Laugh Often, Love Much
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Tui

Joined: 27 Sep 2006
Posts: 380
Location: Wellington New Zealand

PostPosted: Thu 31 Jan 2008, 21:21    Post_subject:  

Hi all,
yes I did the d/l, checksum, and burn cd. The developers
blog said the linkback was to the puppy version with kernel
K 2.6.21.7 but I found the linkback was to the version with the
kernel K2.6.23.12 ! So still no forward or back as the case maybe.

Cheers Tui
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
kirk

Joined: 11 Nov 2005
Posts: 1419
Location: florida

PostPosted: Thu 31 Jan 2008, 22:54    Post_subject:  

I didn't mention this before, but Dingo is looking very good. Seems quite fast.

I've tried it on 2 laptops and 4 desktops (3 with ide, 1 with ide & sata) without problems, except for the bcm43xx on my wife's laptop. That's nothing new though. It's been hit or miss with the bcm43xx for a while. That wireless card has two different kernel modules it could use and two different sets of firmware depending on how old the card is.

The rt2x00 drivers for Ralink have been buggy for quite a while, perhaps now that they're main-lined they'll improve. The legacy Ralink drivers are quite stable.

Probably by the time Dingo gets to beta 2.6.24.1 will be out with a truck load of fixes. Keep pressing foward!

Thanks for your work.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Flash
Official Dog Handler


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 11118
Location: Arizona USA

PostPosted: Thu 31 Jan 2008, 23:34    Post_subject:  

Plinej, thanks. I could swear I clicked on that button but if I did I somehow missed what the menu was telling me. Embarassed
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
tempestuous

Joined: 10 Jun 2005
Posts: 5271
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Thu 31 Jan 2008, 23:44    Post_subject:
Sub_title: Tried Wireless with 2.6.21.7 Kernel
 

JustGreg wrote:
my scrpt using wpa_supplicant fails due to lack of RALINK driver support.

Barry, I recommend reverting to the older 0.5.8 version of wpa_supplicant, patched for Ralink support. I compiled and packaged this version during Puppy4's early stages -
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=151956#151956
wpa-supplicant-0.6.0 was supposed to support Ralink out of the box, but it clearly doesn't work.

JustGreg wrote:
On the Eee PC, I have no luck with the ath_pci driver.

That's to be expected. The standard ath_pci driver does not support the particular Atheros chipset in the Eee.
Once Puppy4 is finalised we will need to compile the special patched version of the ath_pci driver for you ... but this driver will need to be installed as an add-on, because it breaks compatibility with other Atheros wifi devices.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Tui

Joined: 27 Sep 2006
Posts: 380
Location: Wellington New Zealand

PostPosted: Fri 01 Feb 2008, 03:02    Post_subject:  

Hi all,
I have just gone to the site called at BarryK blog
and noticed that the kernel k2.6.21.7 has now been uploaded,
it was not there a few hours ago. I don't know who did the upload?

I have now gone thro' the motion of d/l, checksum and burned cd.

Can't see any change except sda xx is now hda xx and it still
has missing the items I reported on other threads.


So now I have the three versions of kernels with the same puppy
theme. All is well at the moment.

Cheers Tui
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7047
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Fri 01 Feb 2008, 04:49    Post_subject:  

kirk wrote:
Thanks for putting in the battery monitor. In order to see the whole battery monitor, /root/.jwmrc-tray line 2 height="26" should be changed to height="28".

Also, The File-Sharing (Pcurlftp) Rox app depends on pure-ftpd. I think you said you were going to include it. Anyway pure-ftpd is a pet package available on Pet-get, but the package has a problem. The folder /root/ftpd needs to have its owner changed to ftp and permissions set to 777 or 755.

Some folks said they had problems with bcm43 wireless. My wife's laptop has a bcm43. It didn't get the module loaded. I ended up having to rmmod the b43 and ssb modules and then modprobe the bcm43xx. If I can get some more time with her laptop I'll try to figure out what's going on.

I have fixed the tray height.
I changed /root/ftpd owner to 'ftp'.
I have now included pure_ftpd.
Note, the PET package is named 'file_sharing-curlftpfs-mpscan-0.1-0.9.1-0.1.0'.

The fixes did not make it into the alpha6 build with 2.6.21.7 kernel nor the 3.02alpha1.

Yes, weird about the bcm43xx.

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Béèm


Joined: 21 Nov 2006
Posts: 11782
Location: Brussels IBM Thinkpad R40, 256MB, 20GB, WiFi ipw2100. Frugal Lin'N'Win

PostPosted: Fri 01 Feb 2008, 06:43    Post_subject:
Sub_title: Not able to go to my website with gFTP
 

This annoys me a lot.
A password field lenght issue.
See: http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=170856#170856

I would appreciate a solution.

_________________
Time savers:
Find packages in a snap and install using Puppy Package Manager (Menu).
Consult Wikka
Use peppyy's puppysearch
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7047
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Fri 01 Feb 2008, 08:18    Post_subject:
Sub_title: Not able to go to my website with gFTP
 

Béèm wrote:
This annoys me a lot.
A password field lenght issue.
See: http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=170856#170856

I would appreciate a solution.

I've used gFTP for years, never run into a problem with password size.
I think, from memory, the biggest password I have used is 10 characters.
The problem is more likely to be the ftp server at the other end.

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Béèm


Joined: 21 Nov 2006
Posts: 11782
Location: Brussels IBM Thinkpad R40, 256MB, 20GB, WiFi ipw2100. Frugal Lin'N'Win

PostPosted: Fri 01 Feb 2008, 08:36    Post_subject:
Sub_title: Not able to go to my website with gFTP
 

BarryK wrote:
Béèm wrote:
This annoys me a lot.
A password field lenght issue.
See: http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=170856#170856

I would appreciate a solution.

I've used gFTP for years, never run into a problem with password size.
I think, from memory, the biggest password I have used is 10 characters.
The problem is more likely to be the ftp server at the other end.
The problem is I can't enter a password bigger then 7 characters in the gui field of gFTP. No problem to enter a userid bigger then 7 characters.

It's not a question of a problem at the server end as I can go to it with FileZilla in Windows without a problem.

EDIT
I tried in 3.01 with gFTP at 2.0.18, same problem.
As I had FileZilla in 3.01 installed also I tried and I have no problem to connect to my website.
So definitely a problem in gFTP.

_________________
Time savers:
Find packages in a snap and install using Puppy Package Manager (Menu).
Consult Wikka
Use peppyy's puppysearch
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 4 of 10 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10 Next
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1084s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0180s) ][ GZIP on ]