Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 22 Oct 2014, 18:40
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Dingo alpha6 feedback/bugs
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 3 of 10 [139 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, ..., 8, 9, 10 Next
Author Message
kirk

Joined: 11 Nov 2005
Posts: 1419
Location: florida

PostPosted: Wed 30 Jan 2008, 22:47    Post subject:  

Nice work Barry.

Thanks for putting in the battery monitor. In order to see the whole battery monitor, /root/.jwmrc-tray line 2 height="26" should be changed to height="28".

Also, The File-Sharing (Pcurlftp) Rox app depends on pure-ftpd. I think you said you were going to include it. Anyway pure-ftpd is a pet package available on Pet-get, but the package has a problem. The folder /root/ftpd needs to have its owner changed to ftp and permissions set to 777 or 755.

Some folks said they had problems with bcm43 wireless. My wife's laptop has a bcm43. It didn't get the module loaded. I ended up having to rmmod the b43 and ssb modules and then modprobe the bcm43xx. If I can get some more time with her laptop I'll try to figure out what's going on.

Last edited by kirk on Wed 30 Jan 2008, 23:58; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Flash
Official Dog Handler


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 11119
Location: Arizona USA

PostPosted: Wed 30 Jan 2008, 23:43    Post subject:  

How to make Pcdripper-3.4 work in alpha6? I filled out all the boxes that would let me, but I can't see any way to make it go.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
john biles


Joined: 17 Sep 2006
Posts: 1408
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Thu 31 Jan 2008, 00:23    Post subject:  

Hello Barry k,
In testing on a Compaq Presario 1200 Laptop (Windows ME version) when you click the desktop icon for xine media player, it opens and then crashes.
But if you click on a media file in a folder, xine opens and plays it and doesn't crash?
Anyone else had this problem?

_________________
Legacy OS 2.1 LTS Released! Install me on a new! EXT2 Partition with 500Mb of swap and I'll be happy. Razz
Legacy OS 4 Released! Install to newer legacy hardware / early EeePC's Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
vanchutr

Joined: 05 Aug 2006
Posts: 427

PostPosted: Thu 31 Jan 2008, 02:17    Post subject:  

Fast login internet (with AUTO DHCP)
xine plays well.
Can't mount USB Flash. Pmount did'nt found USB port
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
oli

Joined: 30 Aug 2006
Posts: 194
Location: Germany, Frankfurt

PostPosted: Thu 31 Jan 2008, 03:04    Post subject:  

I run the live cd with the boot option puppy pfix=ram. Testing XOrg hangs up the computer (the screen is totally black) and I had to reboot. Xvesa works fine, but then I cannot use special German characters like äöüß.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
oli

Joined: 30 Aug 2006
Posts: 194
Location: Germany, Frankfurt

PostPosted: Thu 31 Jan 2008, 03:08    Post subject:  

I missed Roaring Penguin to configure my DSL. I use a LAN-connection (no router, no DHCP) with dynamic IP from my ISP. Isn't it possible to configure DSL (pppoe) ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Tui

Joined: 27 Sep 2006
Posts: 380
Location: Wellington New Zealand

PostPosted: Thu 31 Jan 2008, 04:07    Post subject:  

Is this another bug? I have plugged in my webcam into a USB
port and loaded the live cd of the latest version, thro' the motions
to check cam, I noticed that all the LEDS' light up when loading
completed. i.e. there are 3 leds each side of lens.

Having used this cam with MS-WINDOWS, where I can control the
number of leds on and off, I have not been able to get to operate
with any Puppy distros'

I have included a screenshot of vendor details

I also reported this problem with previous versions but have
not had any response

Any help for this problem ?
396a.png
 Description   
 Filesize   43.08 KB
 Viewed   718 Time(s)

396a.png


Last edited by Tui on Thu 31 Jan 2008, 04:53; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Lobster
Official Crustacean


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 15117
Location: Paradox Realm

PostPosted: Thu 31 Jan 2008, 04:22    Post subject:  

I am having difficulty installing .pets
(downloaded from Iblio or other sources)
The only thing that may be complicating this: Is I am running from CD with data saved on USB and have 31MB of memory free (according to the tray applet)

So I would like to know if others are able to install .pets?

The basic situation is .pet starts to expand. Computer freezes completely. Then have to turn off computer (probably a reset button would do but I do not have one) Ctrl + Alt + backspace does not work.

Complete freeze up

_________________
Puppy WIKI
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
divisionmd


Joined: 14 Jul 2007
Posts: 606

PostPosted: Thu 31 Jan 2008, 04:48    Post subject: Puppy 2.17 upgrade to Dingo
Subject description: Puppy 2.17 upgrade to Dingo
 

Hello All!

Dont know if this should be possible or not but tried it anyway -Upgrading Puppy 2.17 to Dingo.

1. It starts "upgrading" process and the text "* please wait.." scrolls out very very very slowly.

2. Then the upgrade starts working but it fails and crashes.

Best regards,
Johan
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger 
Sage

Joined: 04 Oct 2005
Posts: 4797
Location: GB

PostPosted: Thu 31 Jan 2008, 04:59    Post subject:  

Progress of a sort.
In desperation and with considerable reluctance, after reading of rerwin's experiences, I split open a perfectly good 754 system (also SiS chipsets) presently running Vector64-v7.9 to test D396alpha6 one last time. This box is slightly unusual as I have an IDE-to-SATA caddy system fitted. Same old IDE 4.3Gb HD interchanged.
Alleluja! mount can see it as sda1, so can cfdisk /dev/sda, can do a FULL install and then boot up successfully. So far so good - no need for the retro 2.6.23 version.
Return old HD to 748SiS board, fiddle with jumpers, BIOS, cables - nada. The BIOS sees drive OK.
GRUB not detected. Fiddle with GRUB, change all 'h' to 's' and v.v - nogo. The liveCD no longer finds the drive.
Try same drive on VIA and Intel boards of various vintages - nothing!
All other distros succeed in seeing, mounting, writing, installing, etc. on all boards, all drives. P3.01 ditto.

It is unacceptable that a distro only works properly on highly specific systems. This is the sort of thing we saw right back at the beginning with k0.1alpha1 when an IT degree was necessary. All the other developers have managed the hda/sda transition without this hiatus. Where is the problem? If IT folks give me a clue, I'll try anything, but I need specific instructions. At present I have no idea where to look for the fault.

Tui: you've got picture overflow again!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
gray


Joined: 23 Feb 2007
Posts: 313
Location: Adelaide - South Australia

PostPosted: Thu 31 Jan 2008, 05:23    Post subject: boot problem  

I tried alpha6 on my 5 yr old home computer - booted up fine.
Then tried on my new computer at work - no go.
The live cd gets stuck after searching for puppy files with error message 'cant find puppy_396.sfs'.

This system has a sata hard drive and an IDE DVD-ROM and and IDE DVD RW drive. Puppy 301 works OK on this machine.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Tui

Joined: 27 Sep 2006
Posts: 380
Location: Wellington New Zealand

PostPosted: Thu 31 Jan 2008, 07:28    Post subject:  

Hi all,
I just did an upgrade on an Acer Travelmate 4002WLMi
(wide screen) from V2.17 to V396
This upgrade was onto an external USB hard drive and all went
well with it.
The machine uses a German keyboard and here again all went
well.

I like the multimedia player XINE it sure goes well on this machine. I
tested it out using a DVD.

As this machine is on a wireless link this also set up easily,
sad to say I can't get the little antenna down on the tray bottom
right hand side ?

I like the visual antenna better than seeing the two monitors
as this is more positive of a WIFI operation than a LAN connection.

How do I add the antenna in ?

Cheers Tui
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Lobster
Official Crustacean


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 15117
Location: Paradox Realm

PostPosted: Thu 31 Jan 2008, 08:27    Post subject:  

I am beginning to suspect - using intuition
as I don't have sufficient neurons for logic
that my problems with xine are memory related.

I enclose info on my running processes under Dingo
just in case they are of use or interest

Code:
Mem: 338388K used, 177012K free, 0K shrd, 29352K buff, 222848K cached
CPU:   0% usr   0% sys   0% nice  98% idle   0% io   0% irq   0% softirq
Load average: 0.06 0.16 0.09
  PID  PPID USER     STAT   VSZ %MEM %CPU COMMAND
11295 11290 root     S     148m  29%   1% /usr/lib/seamonkey-1.1.6/seamonkey-bin
 3942  3941 root     S <  99676  19%   0% X :0 -br -nolisten tcp
 1825     1 root     S     2772   1%   0% rxvt -font 7x14 -bg #c0c0c0 -fg black -T Top -n Top -e top
 4015  4014 root     S    17104   3%   0% gtkdialog3 --program Vision
 3978     1 root     S    14404   3%   0% /usr/local/apps/ROX-Filer/ROX-Filer -p /root/Choices/ROX-Filer/PuppyPin
 3992     1 root     S     8812   2%   0% blinky -bg #4D525B
 3983  3954 root     S     8592   2%   0% absvolume -bg #4D525B
 3954  3941 root     S     5348   1%   0% jwm
 3145     1 root     S     4636   1%   0% /usr/sbin/cupsd
 3986     1 root     S     3412   1%   0% xload -nolabel -fg red -hl white -bg #4D525B
 3988     1 root     S     3384   1%   0% freememapplet -p 13
 3958  3957 root     S     3068   1%   0% /usr/bin/autocutsel
 3842     1 root     S     2772   1%   0% -sh
 4014  4013 root     S     2704   1%   0% /bin/bash /root/Startup/YAP
11290 11270 root     S     2688   1%   0% /bin/sh /usr/lib/seamonkey-1.1.6/run-mozilla.sh /usr/lib/seamonkey-1.1.6/seamonkey-bin
 3898  3842 root     S     2664   1%   0% /bin/sh /usr/X11R7/bin/xwin
11270  3978 root     S     2656   1%   0% /bin/sh /usr/bin/mozilla
 4013     1 root     S     2640   1%   0% /bin/sh /usr/sbin/delayedrun
 3957  3954 root     S     2632   1%   0% /bin/sh /root/.xinitrc
 1826  1825 root     R     2312   0%   0% top
 3497     1 root     S N   2244   0%   0% /bin/sh /usr/sbin/savepuppyd
 3941  3898 root     S     2224   0%   0% /usr/X11R7/bin/xinit /root/.xinitrc -- -br -nolisten tcp
 3734     1 root     S     2048   0%   0% /sbin/getty 38400 tty2
    1     0 root     S     2044   0%   0% init       
 2652     1 root     S     2044   0%   0% klogd
 2650     1 root     S     2044   0%   0% syslogd -m 0
 3602     1 root     S     1540   0%   0% dhcpcd -I  eth0
 2528  3497 root     S N   1336   0%   0% sleep 4


PS.
Sage made my earlier screen shot smaller
I hope you are having more luck.
I am now going to try Puppy Dingo on a Pentium III
Smile

_________________
Puppy WIKI
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7047
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Thu 31 Jan 2008, 08:42    Post subject:  

I've built alpha6 with the 2.6.21.7 kernel from Puppy 3.01. See my blog announcement.

Hopefully, if you had something working in 3.01, it should still work in this build.

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Sage

Joined: 04 Oct 2005
Posts: 4797
Location: GB

PostPosted: Thu 31 Jan 2008, 09:48    Post subject:  

Arise, Sir Barry! Multitudinous felicitations.

So now we all know - it's the kernel (colonel?!)

Way out of my depth, but I did note massive inconsistencies in 2.6.24/3 nomenclatures. Sometimes I was reading sda, other times hda - often within the same file. Probably some more homework for for those who know what they're doing.

Thanks a $Am.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 3 of 10 [139 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, ..., 8, 9, 10 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0997s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0115s) ][ GZIP on ]