Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sat 29 Nov 2014, 03:30
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Barebones Puppy-4.00-dingo-alpha4
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 3 [32 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2, 3 Next
Author Message
cthisbear

Joined: 29 Jan 2006
Posts: 3457
Location: Sydney Australia

PostPosted: Wed 26 Dec 2007, 04:53    Post subject:  Barebones Puppy-4.00-dingo-alpha4  

Hooray she works on NTFS.

Just cleaned up my XP install with no hiccups.
Internet working.......but I cannot change the history to zero
in NetSurf .

I did not test sound.
Download....burn CD....boot...delete XP files....browsing the internet
in ten minutes total.
Pull up your socks young Barry....not quick enough.....Ha! ha!

Happy New Year....I hope you enjoy a break soonest.
Regards Chris.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Lobster
Official Crustacean


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 15117
Location: Paradox Realm

PostPosted: Wed 26 Dec 2007, 08:15    Post subject:  


Smile Tried it on my main machine and a laptop. First thing I tried on my main machine (connection DHCP etc - fine) was installing Firefox from the Package Manager. It installed a link in the JWM menu but that link was incorrect and I run it by typing 'Firefox' from the console. The Firefox 2007 files are placed in the Opt directory . . .

On my main machine I only get the option up to 600x800 res (but it should and has gone higher with xvesa) Both the main machine and the laptop went straight in to display - which is great for beginners. The laptop went up to 1028 x768 and I was able to select and use that OK

An interesting thing . . .
If you change the icon set and then without restarting JWM, just move the mouse over the icons they change to the newly selected icons. Suits me - not sure why this happens though . . .

What I would like to try is adding xorg
but there are 3 sets of files in the package manager at iblio.
Which ones do I need?

Is xorgwizard gonna run?

_________________
Puppy WIKI

Last edited by Lobster on Fri 28 Dec 2007, 02:20; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
nic2109

Joined: 01 Jan 2007
Posts: 406
Location: Hayslope, near Middlemarch, Midlands, England

PostPosted: Wed 26 Dec 2007, 09:23    Post subject:
Subject description: morphing icons
 

Lobster wrote:
An interesting thing . . .
If you change the icon set and then without restarting JWM, just move the mouse over the icons they change to the newly selected icons. Suits me - not sure why this happens though ....

Yeah, I noticed (and posted) this in Alpha 3, so it's not specific to the Barebones build.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jediborger

Joined: 03 Sep 2006
Posts: 21

PostPosted: Wed 26 Dec 2007, 14:33    Post subject:  

Changing the JWM theme doesn't change the taskbar color, still orange. Also every time JWM is restarted an extra freememapplet is opened. Other than that I like this "barebones" idea.

Happy Boxing Day!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Firefox

Joined: 03 Nov 2006
Posts: 171
Location: UK

PostPosted: Wed 26 Dec 2007, 22:08    Post subject: Dingo full hard drive install  

Dingo4.00 alpha4
Full Hard Drive Install

1: Could not Install Dingo as a Full Hard Drive setup.
Repeating loop of
login (xxxxx) root login on tty
-sh /tmp/boot_kernel.log read only
touch cannot /tmp/bootint.txt read only file system
/usr/X11R7/bin/xwm read only file system
cat /tmp/...x no such file or directory
grep: /tmp/..x no such file or directory

2:
On poweroff, system did not switch off.

3: When tried with Frugal install and saving to MBR,
I was not able to find /boot to alter Menu.1st so had to use boot grubloader which worked but then saved a second 1Gb pup save file. Why does it ask if I wanted the file saved every time I close down, or is that normal in a frugal install? Also the text still uses hda1.

4: Pup Dial worked ok.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
eccentric

Joined: 05 Jan 2006
Posts: 139
Location: Khon Kaen Thailand.....NOW back in the UK

PostPosted: Thu 27 Dec 2007, 06:21    Post subject: barebones dingo alpha 4
Subject description: PPPoE
 

Seasons greetings to you all.. Is there a version of PPPoE that will function with barebones dingo a. 4 if some one could point me to it with instructions on how to install. as i would like to try this on the internet. Michael an eccentric. ( an eccentric is for life not just Christmas ).. this was sent using 3.01 seamonkey. Rolling Eyes oops it should be a dog is for life.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7084
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Thu 27 Dec 2007, 19:58    Post subject:  

Lobster wrote:
Smile Tried it on my main machine and a laptop. First thing I tried on my main machine (connection DHCP etc - fine) was installing Firefox from the Package Manager. It installed a link in the JWM menu but that link was incorrect and I run it by typing 'Firefox' from the console. The Firefox 2007 files are placed in the Opt directory . .

If I remember rightly, you have to reboot after installing Firefox, for the menu entry to work. I think that PETget does say that a reboot is required if any web browser, library or x server is installed.
Quote:
What I would like to try is adding xorg
but there are 3 sets of files in the package manager at iblio.
Which ones do I need?

The minimum you need for Xorg is the 'xorg_xorg_base-7.3' PET package, but that will only give you the 'vesa' Xorg server. To add extra Xorg servers, also install 'xorg_xorg_servers-7.3' package -- though note, it only has a small number of Xorg servers in it, only ones that I have so far tested. What will happen is, if a Xorg server does not exist for your video hardware, Xorg will fallback to using the generic 'vesa' Xorg server.

Actually, I reckon I'll put those two Xorg packages in the next barebones, as they're not very big and the vast majority of users will prefer Xorg rather than Xvesa. Or, at least I should put in xorg_xorg_base, as the 'vesa' server is better than Xvesa in many ways.

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7084
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Thu 27 Dec 2007, 20:08    Post subject: Re: barebones dingo alpha 4
Subject description: PPPoE
 

eccentric wrote:
Seasons greetings to you all.. Is there a version of PPPoE that will function with barebones dingo a. 4 if some one could point me to it with instructions on how to install. as i would like to try this on the internet. Michael an eccentric. ( an eccentric is for life not just Christmas ).. this was sent using 3.01 seamonkey. Rolling Eyes oops it should be a dog is for life.

I posted something to my blog sometime ago about this. I have left out Roaring Penguin pppoe as the 'ppp' package has a plugin for pppoe and I wanted to develop that. I recall that I posted some links on how to use ppp for pppoe, but noone took up the offer to investigate it.
Here is the blog post:

http://puppylinux.com/blog/?p=11

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
raffy

Joined: 25 May 2005
Posts: 4796
Location: Manila

PostPosted: Thu 27 Dec 2007, 21:36    Post subject: at home with new Compaq laptop  

(Forget about the difficult Compaq PC - John Doe already showed a HOWTO, just update its BIOS.)

Dingo feels at home in a new Compaq Presario laptop with SATA, and USB flash devices happily mount/unmount together with the SATA and DVD-RW drives.

The network devices were automatically detected: the broadcomm wifi as eth0 and the ethernet as eth1. (eth0 for wifi - that's new to me.) No way to test wifi now (no networks available), but in Win$, its lighted button shows that it works, and it is lighted in Dingo barebones.

_________________
Puppy user since Oct 2004. Want FreeOffice? Get the sfs (English only).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Lobster
Official Crustacean


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 15117
Location: Paradox Realm

PostPosted: Fri 28 Dec 2007, 01:33    Post subject:  

BarryK wrote:

Actually, I reckon I'll put those two Xorg packages in the next barebones, as they're not very big and the vast majority of users will prefer Xorg rather than Xvesa. Or, at least I should put in xorg_xorg_base, as the 'vesa' server is better than Xvesa in many ways.


Good news. Smile
Looking forward to a higher res . . .

I tried installing the suggested xorg drivers and then added the 3rd 'development' library, just in case. No luck, even with tweaking.
I am using a Nvidia Geforce 64MB card.

There is a command option (where it says -shadow) in xvesa
which might give me the option to type in 0x011A (which I believe is my higher xvesa res) but not quite sure if there is a prefix?

Netsurf works well enough to post this message from Dingo Alpha 4
Smile

_________________
Puppy WIKI
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7084
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Fri 28 Dec 2007, 01:52    Post subject:  

Lobster, running your normal Puppy, not Dingo, what Xorg server is running? Look in /etc/X11/xorg.conf, at this line:

Driver "intel" #card0driver

...find what is in the quotes.

The 'xorg_xorg_servers' package currently only has:
i710, intel, neomagic, sis, trident and vesa
drivers at /usr/X11R7/lib/xorg/modules/drivers
so the correct driver for your Nvidia chip is not there.

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Lobster
Official Crustacean


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 15117
Location: Paradox Realm

PostPosted: Fri 28 Dec 2007, 02:17    Post subject:  

Code:
   Identifier  "Card0"
   Driver      "nv" #card0driver
   VendorName  "nVidia Corporation"
   BoardName   "NV18 [GeForce4 MX 440 AGP 8x]"
   BusID       "PCI:1:0:0"

_________________
Puppy WIKI
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7084
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Fri 28 Dec 2007, 20:02    Post subject:  

Lobster, would you mind doing a little test.

1. Boot Barebones Dingo alpha4 with "puppy pfix=ram" boot parameter, then
2. choose 'Xvesa' for the video (not Xorg).
3. Place the attached file (gunzip it first) at /usr/X11R7/lib/xorg/modules/drivers/
4. Exit from X, run 'xorgwizard'.

You will probably need to download nv_drv.so.gz' now and place it somewhere local so you can use it after booting Barebones.

Find out if it works with the 'nv' driver. I mostly need to know if that driver will work as-is or whether it needs any other file. You can find out about this by examining the Xorg log file at:
/var/log/Xorg.0.log.
-- it will report if it tried to load something that is missing.
Also, if 'nv' was successfully chosen, then /etc/X11/xorg.conf will have it, as per your previous post.
nv_drv.so.gz
Description 
gz

 Download 
Filename  nv_drv.so.gz 
Filesize  70.96 KB 
Downloaded  324 Time(s) 

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7084
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Fri 28 Dec 2007, 20:29    Post subject:  

Dougal has suggested that 'dmidecode' be used to identify the Classmate and the eeePC.

However, Intel have used a standard BIOS without any product or vendor information, so dmidecode does not return anything that can be used to identify it as a Classmate.

But, what about the eeePC? Raffy, would you mind trying it? I've attached it, run 'gunzip dmidecode', then maybe 'chmod 777 dmidecode', then just './dmidecode'.

Hopefully, in the "System" section it should identify manufacturer/product names. Any text string that has something like "eeePC" in it it would be great.

Also, Dougal mentioned using 'lspci -vv' to identify the eeePC. Raffy, would you also mind posting the result of running that?
dmidecode.gz
Description 
gz

 Download 
Filename  dmidecode.gz 
Filesize  24.4 KB 
Downloaded  336 Time(s) 

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
JustGreg

Joined: 24 May 2005
Posts: 739
Location: Connecticut USA

PostPosted: Fri 28 Dec 2007, 22:02    Post subject:
Subject description: dmidecode results
 

Hi Barry, Happy New Year to all!
Attach is the test results in gzip text file. I used Puppy 2.14R 1.01 with Eee PC Model 4G (701) for the test. Hope this helps.
dmidecode-Eee.txt.gz
Description 
gz

 Download 
Filename  dmidecode-Eee.txt.gz 
Filesize  3.26 KB 
Downloaded  419 Time(s) 

_________________
Enjoy life, Just Greg
Live Well, Laugh Often, Love Much
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 3 [32 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2, 3 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0976s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0080s) ][ GZIP on ]