Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sun 21 Sep 2014, 22:15
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » HOWTO ( Solutions )
HowTo Install VMware Player (vmplayer)
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 1 of 3 Posts_count   Goto page: 1, 2, 3 Next
Author Message
jcoder24


Joined: 06 May 2005
Posts: 601
Location: Barbados

PostPosted: Wed 26 Dec 2007, 10:53    Post_subject:  HowTo Install VMware Player (vmplayer)
Sub_title: installation script for vmware player
 

HowTo Updated 20080327

Script Updated 20071228
Script now includes the wrapper for vmware player 1.0.x in the dotpet package.
Script can now create the dotpet package without rerunning the installer. See below.
Fixed location of generated dotpet package created during installation.
Changed archive from .gz to .tar.gz

Prerequisites:
Make sure you have the development and kernel-source add-ons loaded. If you are using the retro version of Puppy3 you will need to use the 216 or 217 add-ons renamed to 301 -- See here for more info. You can get the required addons from either ftp or http sites.

For assistance installing the addons visit http://puppylinux.org/wikka/Puppy215sfsExpansionPacks

Important!!
For puppy3 (or puplets based on it) install a functioning
insmod first, a copy is available here.

To install VMware Player:
0. Download VMware Player x.y.z for Linux (.tar) to a partition that has ~190M free space
1. Download the attached vminstall.tar.gz to the same location
2. Extract vminstall.tar.gz
3. Run ./vminstall.sh VMware-player-VERSION-BUILD.i386.tar.gz
4. Answer the questions presented by the vmware player installation script as desired (or you could just hit enter for every thing)
5. Answer yes/no to creating a dotpet package from the installed files. If you answer "No", you can create the dotpet later using
./vminstall.sh -p vmware-player-version". Eg ./vminstall.sh -p 2.0.2.


To get full screen in the guest OS
You have to install vmware tools in the guest OS. To obtain the tools you will need to:

1. Download a version of vmware workstation or vmware server (preferably server as it's smaller and free)
2. Extract the files and copy out the iso file for your guest OS eg windows.iso, linux.iso
3. Set the iso as (one of) your cdrom(s) and boot the guest OS
4. Once the guest OS is booted navigate to the cdrom and run the installation program


Things to note
Which version works
VMware Player 1.0.x
- works in puppy2 but not puppy3

VMware Player 2.0.x
- works in puppy2 and puppy3
- gives me a BSOD for windows guest OSes in puppy2 but works fine in puppy3
this may specific to my machine or maybe due to the version of xorg/gtk/kernel

This script was tested in puppyNOP 301r2 and puppy301.

Dotpet Package
The dotpet package created via the installer is not an unleashed package but rather more like a tgz2pet-converted slackware package. This was the quickest and least space-consuming to create. To covert it to a unleahsed dotpet use the following:

Code:
pkg="VMwarePlayer-2.0.2"
pet2tgz $pkg.pet; tar xfz $pkg.tar.gz; cd $pkg; tar xvfz $pkg.tar.gz; rm $pkg.tar.gz; cd ..; dir2pet $pkg


When installing the VMwarePlayer dotpet, it will display a number of missing dependencies which is safe to ignore.

After installing the dotpet, you must either run /etc/init.d/vmware start from the console or restart, puppy before you can run vmplayer.

Reinstalling VMware Player
Will back up installed files as /path-to-file/filename.old.x so if you re-run the installer you should delete these backed-up files to save space.


What this script does
It automates the process of:[/b]
* Patching VMware Player v 1.0.x http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=140321#140321
* Patching VMware Player v 2.0.x http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=117262#117262
* Creating the /etc/rcX.d directories
* Fixing the menu icon for vmware
* Removing unneeded precompiled modules that take up ~120M of space
* Creates wrapper/launcher script for VMware Player 1.0.x that forces it to use the VMware-packaged gtk
* Optionally creates a dotpet package from the installed files
* Creates vmkill; a script to kill vmware in a pinch if it starts to hog the cpu

Useful Links
The download link for vmware player is http://www.vmware.com/download/player/download.html

To automate creating vmx config files for your vmware player visit http://www.easyvmx.com/. You can try starting with the Super Simple

For help manually create a vmx config files for your vmware player visit http://sanbarrow.com/vmx.html

To manually convert an existing installation to a vmdk image http://www.robertpeaslee.com

For advanced users only - that's why there is no description.
vminstall.tar.gz
Description 
gz

 Download 
Filename  vminstall.tar.gz 
Filesize  2.29 KB 
Downloaded  1195 Time(s) 

Edited_times_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
jcoder24


Joined: 06 May 2005
Posts: 601
Location: Barbados

PostPosted: Thu 27 Dec 2007, 13:45    Post_subject:  

Updated see above.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
mzucker

Joined: 18 Oct 2007
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Tue 26 Feb 2008, 19:07    Post_subject:  

Thanks for this post. This is just what I've been looking for!
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
titanreign

Joined: 19 Jan 2007
Posts: 56

PostPosted: Fri 07 Mar 2008, 03:52    Post_subject: Attempt to remove filter function...
Sub_title: VMware Player error
 

Hi all, as always, thank you to the ones who provide this wonderful OS, and the packages to use with it.

I have installed vmplayer as per the instructions above.
The install appears to go with no problems, but when trying to run vmplayer, I get the error:
Code:
sh-3.00# vmplayer
process 3831: Attempt to remove filter function 0xb602d3a0 user data 0x82cdc88, but no such filter has been added
  D-Bus not built with -rdynamic so unable to print a backtrace


I'm using wNOP v0.2 found here: (props to Tombh on that, awesome job man)
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=24871
I used the 301 development and kernel-source add-ons from here:
http://distro.ibiblio.org/pub/linux/distributions/puppylinux/sfs_modules-3/
And download the vmplayer from:
http://download3.vmware.com/software/vmplayer/VMware-player-2.0.2-59824.i386.tar.gz

The only variation I took from the instructions was not installing insmod because when running it in a terminal, I get:
Code:
sh-3.00# insmod
Usage: insmod filename [args]

So I assume it is already installed, correct?

I've googled for an hour or so now, to no avail. No results come up for the specific error code above, and by widening the search to:
Code:
vmplayer Attempt to remove filter function

I get some hits, that refer mostly to kernel issues.
http://www.google.com/search?hl=en&safe=off&q=vmplayer+Attempt+to+remove+filter+function&btnG=Search

But like I said, none of them were the same error code I received.
Does anyone have any suggestions, or has anyone encountered this before?
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message YIM 
jcoder24


Joined: 06 May 2005
Posts: 601
Location: Barbados

PostPosted: Wed 19 Mar 2008, 12:42    Post_subject: Re: Attempt to remove filter function...
Sub_title: VMware Player error
 

titanreign wrote:
Code:
sh-3.00# vmplayer
process 3831: Attempt to remove filter function 0xb602d3a0 user data 0x82cdc88, but no such filter has been added
  D-Bus not built with -rdynamic so unable to print a backtrace


Try running killall dbus-daemon in a console window and then run vmplayer again. I would have to google and see what causes it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
jonyo

Joined: 28 Dec 2006
Posts: 2727

PostPosted: Wed 19 Mar 2008, 15:01    Post_subject:  

mzucker wrote:
Thanks for this post. This is just what I've been looking for!
Me too.. Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
vezuve


Joined: 24 Jan 2008
Posts: 1289

PostPosted: Mon 24 Mar 2008, 19:29    Post_subject:  

Hello,
<Translation on-line>
Good initiative, me which follows a beginner on “puppy linux”, I have much difficulty has to include/understand with all the many links.
If I chose the “puppy linux” it is before very avoiding a maximum the line of order.
User of VMware under Windows, it is necessary that I can also use it in the “puppy linux”.
I have to download a version “VMware player” with the extension “RPM” which does not seem to have posed problem of installation as the picture indicates it.



But now, I do not know how to carry out “VM player” because it does not appear in the list of the menu.
You have an idea to make it start

@+
<texte original-Original text>
Hello,
Bonne initiative, moi qui suit un débutant sur "toutou linux", j'ai beaucoup de difficulté a comprendre avec toute les nombreux liens.
Si j'ai choisis le "toutou linux" c'est avant tout pour éviter un maximum la ligne de commande.
Utilisateur de VMware sous windows, il faut que je puisse aussi l'utiliser dans le "toutou linux".
J'ai télécharger une version "VMware player" avec l'extension "RPM" qui ne semble pas avoir posé de problème d'installation comme l'indique l'image.

Mais maintenant, je ne sais pas comment exécuter "VM player" car il n'apparaît pas dans le la liste du menu.
Avez-vous une idée pour le faire démarrer.

@+
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
jcoder24


Joined: 06 May 2005
Posts: 601
Location: Barbados

PostPosted: Thu 27 Mar 2008, 10:32    Post_subject:  

If you have all the requirements you only need the vminstall.tar.gz and the tar file from the vmplayer site, all other links can be ignored.

I have updated the HOWTO to try to show this. Try following it again starting from the To install VMware Player: performing steps 0 to 6. Also what version of puppy are you using?
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
vezuve


Joined: 24 Jan 2008
Posts: 1289

PostPosted: Thu 27 Mar 2008, 16:15    Post_subject:  

<Translation on-line>
Hello,
I have the version Toutou linux 03-01.1 in ISO picture.
As currently “VMplayer” is installed with this version, I will test your solution with another installation of “doggie linux”. For the version “VMplayer” that I downloaded, it is the last the “2.0.3-80004.i386.tar.gz”
Concerning version RPM that I tried to install would have a solution.

@+

<texte original-Original text>
Hello,
J'ai la version Toutou linux 03-01.1 en image ISO.
Comme actuellement "VMplayer" est installé avec cette version, je vais essayer ta solution avec une autre installation de "toutou linux".
Pour la version "VMplayer" que j'ai téléchargé, c'est la dernière la "2.0.3-80004.i386.tar.gz"
Concernant la version RPM que j'ai essayé d'installer aurait une solution.

@+
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
vezuve


Joined: 24 Jan 2008
Posts: 1289

PostPosted: Thu 27 Mar 2008, 16:35    Post_subject:  

Hello,
As does show it the picture I followed the instructions, but the order is refused ? ?

Comme le montre l'image j'ai suivis les instructions, mais la commande est refusée ? ?

@+
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
jcoder24


Joined: 06 May 2005
Posts: 601
Location: Barbados

PostPosted: Thu 27 Mar 2008, 19:37    Post_subject:  

My apologies, it should be:
./vminstall.sh VMware-player-VERSION-BUILD.i386.tar.gz

The RPM version may probably work but I would have to test it to provide assistance or modify the installer.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
jcoder24


Joined: 06 May 2005
Posts: 601
Location: Barbados

PostPosted: Fri 28 Mar 2008, 09:34    Post_subject:  

I've done some initial testing of the RPM. It fails complaining about missing files.

One of these files /etc/vmware/locations is a key file and vmplayer will not work without it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
vezuve


Joined: 24 Jan 2008
Posts: 1289

PostPosted: Sat 29 Mar 2008, 13:31    Post_subject:  

Hello,
I have again traversed your different known VM and I think that solution is very close, except that for me it is not obvious in all that is known as and this is why you should read again your various interventions according to the list attached, hope of it that that will finally make it possible to make function VM.
For my part I will remake an installation on a new system to see whether I can collect new information.

J'ai a nouveau parcouru tes différents su la VM et je pense que la solution est toute proche, sauf que pour moi c'est pas évident dans tout ce qui est [dit et c'est pourquoi tu devrait relire tes différentes interventions selon la liste ci-joint, en espèrent que cela permettra enfin de faire fonctionner la VM.
Pour ma part je vais refaire une installation sur un nouveau système pour voir si je peux récolter de nouvelles informations.

@+


Lien des différent post: / Links of different the post:
Does VMWare Player (vmplayer) stil work in puppy? (YES)
VMware Player (vmplayer) 1.0.4 for testing
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
vezuve


Joined: 24 Jan 2008
Posts: 1289

PostPosted: Sat 29 Mar 2008, 17:21    Post_subject:    

Hello,
Characteristic of PC AMD 64X2 4200+ 2.2GHz 532 Mb of RAM hard Disk of 4Go with a partition of 3.2 Go in ext2 and one of 0.8 Go in swap linux. “Toutou-linux french” 03.01.1 Kernel 2.6.21.7 installed in “FULL”

I made research on the site of “vmware” or I found a guide. On the basis of this guide, I have remakes the installation, but as shows it the pictures, certain function his step accepted, I thus adapted without really knowing if that is correct, however I think that with this you will be able to correct and found a solution.

Caractéristique du PC AMD 64X2 4200+ 2.2GHz 532 Mb de RAM
Disque dur de 4Go avec une partition de 3.2 Go en ext2 et une de 0.8 Go en swap linux.
"Toutou-linux français" 03.01.1 Kernel 2.6.21.7 installé en "FULL"

J'ai fait des recherches sur le site de "vmware" ou j'ai trouvé un guide.
Sur la base de ce guide, j'ai refait l'installation, mais comme le montre les images, certaine fonction ne son pas acceptée, j'ai donc adapté sans savoir réellement si cela est correct, toutefois je pense qu'avec ceci tu pourra corriger et trouvé une solution.


Excerpt from the manual wrote:

6 To use the RPM installer:
a Run RPM specifying the installation file:
rpm -Uhv VMware-<xxxx>.rpm
VMware-<xxxx>.rpm is the installation file. (In the filename
representing the version and build numbers.)
b Run the configuration program from the command line:
vmware-config.pl
7 At the vmware-config.pl prompts, accept the default values.


6 To use the RPM installer:



7 At the vmware-config.pl



@+
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
jcoder24


Joined: 06 May 2005
Posts: 601
Location: Barbados

PostPosted: Sun 30 Mar 2008, 09:25    Post_subject:  

The version of rpm in puppy is a limited version and WILL NOT perform all the functions of the full RPM.

I assume that the file "/etc/vmware/locations" is supposed to be created during the RPM installation process as it is not packaged in the VMwarePlayer RPM. As mentioned before, the RPM version WILL NOT WORK since it is missing that file.

Béèm wrote:
Moi, j'ai l'impression que quand on te donne un conseil, que tu ne rapporte pas clairement si cela a réussi et dans la cas négative, quel son les messages d'erreur.

Did you run ./vminstall.sh VMware-player-2.0.3-80004.i386.tar.gz ?? If so, what happened? You may need to run it twice since the first run is likely to fail due to the attempted RPM installation.

It would be best if you delete the files installed by the rpm before running the vminstall.sh.

Code:
rm -rf /usr/bin/vmnet* /usr/bin/vmware* /usr/bin/vmplayer /usr/bin/vm-support /usr/lib/vmware /usr/share/doc/vmware /etc/xdg/menus/applications-merged/vmware-ace-vms.menu /etc/vmware



Please note
This HOWTO is for the tar.gz version and I WILL NOT be supporting the RPM version or any further questions related to it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 3 Posts_count   Goto page: 1, 2, 3 Next
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » House Training » HOWTO ( Solutions )
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1124s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0077s) ][ GZIP on ]