Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Thu 19 Jul 2018, 04:01
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
ChurchPup
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 3 of 17 [243 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, ..., 15, 16, 17 Next
Author Message
edoc


Joined: 07 Aug 2005
Posts: 4722
Location: Southeast Georgia, USA

PostPosted: Sat 22 Dec 2007, 13:49    Post subject: Minimum RAM for ChurchPup?  

I looked on the ChurchPup site and there is lots of good info there but I didn't see specs as to minimum hardware, especially RAM.

My Panasonic Toughbook CF-28 currently only has 256M
of RAM and I am getting insufficient memory errors when
I try to load it.

FireHydrant FH_JWM3.01_c loads and runs OK.

I have a 2G Linux Swap on the 30G HDD

Could it be something other than RAM?

_________________
Thanks! David
Home page: http://nevils-station.com
Don't google Search! http://duckduckgo.com
TahrPup64 & Lighthouse64-b602 & JL64-603
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
ttuuxxx


Joined: 05 May 2007
Posts: 11193
Location: Ontario Canada,Sydney Australia

PostPosted: Sat 22 Dec 2007, 14:08    Post subject: Re: Minimum RAM for ChurchPup?  

edoc wrote:
I looked on the ChurchPup site and there is lots of good info there but I didn't see specs as to minimum hardware, especially RAM.

My Panasonic Toughbook CF-28 currently only has 256M
of RAM and I am getting insufficient memory errors when
I try to load it.

FireHydrant FH_JWM3.01_c loads and runs OK.

I have a 2G Linux Swap on the 30G HDD

Could it be something other than RAM?

Hi I'm Glad FireHydrant FH_JWM3.01_c loads and runs OK. but ChurchPup is about 3 times bigger, If i was you i would do a full install, Because ChurchPup is larger than your Ram you have installed.And that I would think is your main issue. Well atleast I hope Smile
ttuuxxx

_________________
http://audio.online-convert.com/ <-- excellent site
http://samples.mplayerhq.hu/A-codecs/ <-- Codec Test Files
http://html5games.com/ <-- excellent HTML5 games Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
PrairieDog


Joined: 15 Oct 2006
Posts: 82
Location: Wichita Kansas USA

PostPosted: Sat 22 Dec 2007, 14:24    Post subject: Minimum RAM for ChurchPup?  

Hi Doc,
I would recommend 512 megs of ram for good performance but Churchpup has been known to run on 384 megs if a swap partition is available. I'm sure the errors are entirely caused by low ram. Any chance you could squeeze another 128 megs in the Toughbook?

BTW I completed a download of http://www.elmirachristianacademy.com/ChurchPup_releases/ChurchPup_RC1.iso md5sum was good. I used wget -c http://www.elmirachristianacademy.com/ChurchPup_releases/ChurchPup_RC1.iso in a terminal to download it.

Mark
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Subito Piano


Joined: 27 May 2007
Posts: 629
Location: UPSTATE New York

PostPosted: Sat 22 Dec 2007, 14:45    Post subject:  

384 RAM & 1 GB swap here and it runs fine. Seems it should run on less than that, albeit slowly.

Gimme specs and anything else and i'll be happy to post on the main website.

Last edited by Subito Piano on Sat 22 Dec 2007, 21:06; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
edoc


Joined: 07 Aug 2005
Posts: 4722
Location: Southeast Georgia, USA

PostPosted: Sat 22 Dec 2007, 20:16    Post subject:  

I did successfully download (wget -c) and burn a good CD (, thanks!

I need to revisit the notebooks forum and write down the compatible RAM and order some.

The CF-28 is technically limited to 512M RAM but like many Panasonic computers many versions were able to recognize more than that - I am hoping that mine is one of them!

Right now it has 256M RAM and 2G swap and for some reason I cannot get ChurchPup to use the Linux Swap.

Just initiated a Full Install from a Frugal install of FireHydrant, had a little trouble with the X setup (probably a CF-28 thing) but did a cold restart and ChurchPup came up beautifully!

Nicely laid-out and real clean. Will report more as I poke around and try to break things! It's a "gift" !?! Wink

_________________
Thanks! David
Home page: http://nevils-station.com
Don't google Search! http://duckduckgo.com
TahrPup64 & Lighthouse64-b602 & JL64-603
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
edoc


Joined: 07 Aug 2005
Posts: 4722
Location: Southeast Georgia, USA

PostPosted: Sat 22 Dec 2007, 21:40    Post subject:  

Still liking what I see!

Some Questions:

1. I am very unhappy with several corporate policies of Google and thus avoid using them whenever possible. How might I alter the default Google search engine and replace it with Clusty.com, please?

2. Also, is it possible to replace the Bibleserver Toolbar selections KJV/TNIV/NIRV/NIV with the NeXt Bible?

3. If I copy /.mozilla from my other laptop over to the one on which I just loaded ChurchPup will FireFox and ThunderBird use the E-mail folders and archived messages and address book and bookmarks, etc. or will it just make a big mess?

_________________
Thanks! David
Home page: http://nevils-station.com
Don't google Search! http://duckduckgo.com
TahrPup64 & Lighthouse64-b602 & JL64-603
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Subito Piano


Joined: 27 May 2007
Posts: 629
Location: UPSTATE New York

PostPosted: Sun 23 Dec 2007, 00:01    Post subject:  

If you have Windoze installed somewhere ( i DON'T) you can go to www.crucial.com and download a nice little program that will look at your computer and tell you what you need.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
PrairieDog


Joined: 15 Oct 2006
Posts: 82
Location: Wichita Kansas USA

PostPosted: Sun 23 Dec 2007, 09:00    Post subject:  

edoc wrote:

1. I am very unhappy with several corporate policies of Google and thus avoid using them whenever possible. How might I alter the default Google search engine and replace it with Clusty.com, please?


Good Morning, Doc,
I just now installed the Clusty search plugin from http://clusty.com/toolbar/mozilla.
Then I opened firefox typed about:config into the url bar and hit enter.
Then typed search into the filter bar and double clicked on browser.search.defaultengine.name and changed the string value from Google to Clusty. That's it. The pic may explain things better.

edoc wrote:

2. Also, is it possible to replace the Bibleserver Toolbar selections KJV/TNIV/NIRV/NIV with the NeXt Bible?


I don't think so Doc. A better brain than mine could make a Next Nible toolbar,but as far as I know the Bibleserver toolbar only searches bibleserver.com.

edoc wrote:

3. If I copy /.mozilla from my other laptop over to the one on which I just loaded ChurchPup will FireFox and ThunderBird use the E-mail folders and archived messages and address book and bookmarks, etc. or will it just make a big mess?

I have tested this procedure on my work computer and It worked. If in doubt I'd recommend backing up the .mozilla folders from both machines just in case I only dreamed it. (Hey,it could happen)

See you all in Church!

Mark
about-config.png
 Description   
 Filesize   168.7 KB
 Viewed   777 Time(s)

about-config.png

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
edoc


Joined: 07 Aug 2005
Posts: 4722
Location: Southeast Georgia, USA

PostPosted: Sun 23 Dec 2007, 16:22    Post subject:  

PrairieDog wrote:

I just now installed the Clusty search plugin from http://clusty.com/toolbar/mozilla.
Then I opened firefox typed about:config into the url bar and hit enter.
Then typed search into the filter bar and double clicked on browser.search.defaultengine.name and changed the string value from Google to Clusty.


On extra step here, had to close and re-open FireFox to see the change.
Just a wee bit happier here now. Wink

edoc wrote:

3. If I copy /.mozilla from my other laptop over to the one on which I just loaded ChurchPup will FireFox and ThunderBird use the E-mail folders and archived messages and address book and bookmarks, etc. or will it just make a big mess?

PrairieDog wrote:

I have tested this procedure on my work computer and It worked. If in doubt I'd recommend backing up the .mozilla folders from both machines just in case I only dreamed it. (Hey,it could happen)Mark


Almost everything copied to my USB stick except for the following, anything critical
there?

Copying /root/.mozilla/plugins/libjavaplugin_oji.so as /mnt/sdc1/.mozilla/plugins/libjavaplugin_oji.so
ERROR: Operation not permitted
Copying /root/.mozilla/plugins/nphelix.xpt as /mnt/sdc1/.mozilla/plugins/nphelix.xpt
ERROR: Operation not permitted
Copying /root/.mozilla/plugins/nphelix.so as /mnt/sdc1/.mozilla/plugins/nphelix.so
ERROR: Operation not permitted
Copying /root/.mozilla/plugins/libflashplayer.so as /mnt/sdc1/.mozilla/plugins/libflashplayer.so
ERROR: Operation not permitted
Copying /root/.mozilla/plugins/flashplayer.xpt as /mnt/sdc1/.mozilla/plugins/flashplayer.xpt
ERROR: Operation not permitted
Copying /root/.mozilla/default/r3y1skkw.slt/abook.mab as /mnt/sdc1/.mozilla/default/r3y1skkw.slt/abook.mab
cp: failed to preserve ownership for `/mnt/sdc1/.mozilla/default/r3y1skkw.slt/abook.mab': Operation not permitted
Failed to copy '/root/.mozilla/default/r3y1skkw.slt/abook.mab'
Copying /root/.mozilla/default/r3y1skkw.slt/lock as /mnt/sdc1/.mozilla/default/r3y1skkw.slt/lock
ERROR: Operation not permitted


WDYT?

_________________
Thanks! David
Home page: http://nevils-station.com
Don't google Search! http://duckduckgo.com
TahrPup64 & Lighthouse64-b602 & JL64-603
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
PrairieDog


Joined: 15 Oct 2006
Posts: 82
Location: Wichita Kansas USA

PostPosted: Sun 23 Dec 2007, 20:18    Post subject: RE: anything critical there?  

Well yes actually, I think abook.mab is a mozilla address book file.
I also recognize a java plugin and I think a realplayer plugin.

Not sure what the problem is ,but I usually right-click on .mozilla and copy to a different name like mozillabackup so there are two directories with identical contents but different names. I've never gotten errors when doing it that way.

I've been kind of busy today, but things have slowed down so I'll reproduce what I did at work and report back with details ASAP.

Be patient therefore, brethren

Mark
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
edoc


Joined: 07 Aug 2005
Posts: 4722
Location: Southeast Georgia, USA

PostPosted: Sun 23 Dec 2007, 21:54    Post subject:  

My dumb-pill Sad I forgot to *close* Seamonkey before trying to copy the folder. Many of the errors were due to the files being in use.

I closed Seamonkey then did the *copy* and these are the only errors:

sdc1/.mozillabackup/plugins/libflashplayer.so
ERROR: Operation not permitted
Copying /root/.mozillabackup/plugins/nphelix.so as /mnt/sdc1/.mozillabackup/plugins/nphelix.so
ERROR: Operation not permitted
Copying /root/.mozillabackup/plugins/nphelix.xpt as /mnt/sdc1/.mozillabackup/plugins/nphelix.xpt
ERROR: Operation not permitted
Copying /root/.mozillabackup/plugins/libjavaplugin_oji.so as /mnt/sdc1/.mozillabackup/plugins/libjavaplugin_oji.so
ERROR: Operation not permitted

I just copied the /root/.mozillabackup folder to ChurchPup on my other computer then renamed it /root/.mozilla and opened Firefox and then Thunderbird. Neither recognized the new folder - Firefox even loaded an update which wiped out the change of default search engine I made from Google to Clusty.

Apparently the split Firefox/Thunderbird concept versus the integrated Seamonkey concept means some folder duplication and independence.

Firefox has it's own "default" folder for Bookmarks, etc. under /root/.mozilla/firefox and Thunderbird has it's under /root/.thunderbird.

I *may* be able to split up the contents of my /root/.mozilla folder and stuff them into the appropriate Firefox and Thinderbird folders - but I'd sure rather read here from someone who did it before and can save me hours of "gotcha's"! Been there, done that, have the lost hair and time to show for it!

_________________
Thanks! David
Home page: http://nevils-station.com
Don't google Search! http://duckduckgo.com
TahrPup64 & Lighthouse64-b602 & JL64-603
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
PrairieDog


Joined: 15 Oct 2006
Posts: 82
Location: Wichita Kansas USA

PostPosted: Sun 23 Dec 2007, 22:10    Post subject: Importing settings from Seamonkey  

Hello again Doc, (edit)BTW I wrote this before I read your last post

Well this is one of those times where the concepts of Grace and Forgiveness really come in handy Embarassed I neglected to take into account you were transferring emails and settings from TeenPup. So I booted up TeenPup and found you have to skip copying the /root/.mozilla/plugins folder. It won't work in ChurchPup.

To Transfer all emails and settings I copied the /root/.mozilla/default folder from TeenPup to the /root/.mozilla folder in ChurchPup and let it overwrite the existing"default" folder. Then I deleted the /root/.thunderbird directory which causes Thunderbird ask if you want to import settings when you first start it up. You can then import settings. This also makes the Thunderbird theme switch back to default instead of the Bible T-bird theme but that's easy to switch back by going to tools>Add-ons>themes in Thunderbird.

If you have any errors making a copy of the "default" folder from TeenPup you could always compress it to a .tar.gz or a .zip and just uncompress it to /root/.mozilla.That should eliminate the errors.

I hope in the end all this makes sense and actually helps Doc.

Hoping you all have a truly Blessed Christmas. We're having a candle light service and Birthday Party for Jesus tomorrow night at 6:00 pm and you're all invited Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
edoc


Joined: 07 Aug 2005
Posts: 4722
Location: Southeast Georgia, USA

PostPosted: Sun 23 Dec 2007, 23:52    Post subject:  

PrarieDog you are amazingly helpful!

Did as you instructed and all appears well with Thunderbird for E-mail.

Firefox also successfully imported my Bookmarks.

I am impressed and delighted!

A blessed CHRIST-mas Eve and CHRIST-mas day of celebration of the birth of Christ to all!

_________________
Thanks! David
Home page: http://nevils-station.com
Don't google Search! http://duckduckgo.com
TahrPup64 & Lighthouse64-b602 & JL64-603
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
KF6SNJ

Joined: 19 Jun 2007
Posts: 698
Location: Distressed States of Amerika

PostPosted: Tue 25 Dec 2007, 23:23    Post subject:  

Alright. I admit that I am still using ChurchPup 3.01 Beta. However, I did notice something new when I went and reinstalled ChurchPup. My off-market VuPoint digital camera, a piece of junk that I lost the disc for some years ago, is working perfectly with the digital camera package that ChurchPup came with. I am quite surprised and impressed.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Yahoo Messenger 
edoc


Joined: 07 Aug 2005
Posts: 4722
Location: Southeast Georgia, USA

PostPosted: Wed 26 Dec 2007, 23:47    Post subject: ChurchPup RC1 Is Challenging Me!  

I've spent many long hours and am at the end of my geek-creativity to get ChurchPup working on my two laptops.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Panasonic Toughbook CF-28 256M RAM 1.92G Swap - ChurchPup_RC1 installed Full HDD (I opened another version based on Featherweight then started the ChurchPup install).

Problem: When I try to increase the personal storage file I get this error:

Sorry, Puppy is not currently using a personal persistent
storage file. If this is the first time that you booted
Puppy, say from a live-CD, you are currently running
totally in RAM and you will be asked to create a personal
storage file when you end the session (shutdown the PC or
reboot). Note, the file will be named pup_save.2fs and
will be created in a place that you nominate.
If you have installed Puppy to hard drive, or installed
such that personal storage is an entire partition, then
you will not have a pup_save.2fs file either.
Press OK to exit...


This laptop may be confused because I have a pup_save file and pup_301.sfs and zdrv_301.sfs in /mnt/hda1, I also have vmlinuz in /mnt/hda1/boot, also is this menu.lst correct for a Full HDD install?

Code:
title ChurchPup Puppy Linux 301 Full HDD (on /dev/hda1)
  rootnoverify (hd0,0)
  kernel /boot/vmlinuz root=/dev/hda1 ro vga=normal pmedia=idehd psubdir=puppy301
  initrd /initrd.gz


Also, I cannot Reboot this laptop - it merely restarts X-server.
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Z500 Laptop 1G RAM 1.92G Swap - ChurchPup_RC1 installed Frugal

Problem: ChurchPup is not creating a pup_save file -- because when I try to reboot it does not do so correctly - it merely does a X-server restart. I cannot run a shutdown either - I have to power-down the laptop.

When I try to access my E-mail I receive an error that first says I need to empty trash to make room, than that I lack permission to write to the mailbox folder (or something like that), then I get a disk full error. There is 67.5G free space on the HDD! I tried to increase the personal storage file but cannot do that because there isn't a pup_save file.

Here is my Grub file:

Code:
 title ChurchPup Puppy Linux 301 frugal
  rootnoverify (hd0,0)
  kernel /puppy301/vmlinuz pmedia=idehd psubdir=puppy301
  initrd /puppy301/initrd.gz


In case it is relevant, I did observe the following in Xproc - FS:

Filesystem 1k-blocks Used Available Use%
Mounted on
tmpfs 1521640 32368 1489272 2%
/initrd/pup_rw
tmpfs 363432 362432 1000 100%
/initrd/mnt/tmpfs
/dev/loop0 362112 362112 0 100%
/initrd/pup_ro2
unionfs 1521640 32368 1489272 2% /
shmfs 164136 0 164136 0%
/dev/shm
/dev/hda1 74975260 436924 70729728 1%
/mnt/hda1


This is from Advanced:
EXT2-fs warning: mounting unchecked fs, running e2fsck is recommended

I also observed this in Advanced:
unionfs: error creating directory tree for rename, bindex = 1, err = -30

I really like this distro and really want to get it working on my two laptops and our desktop.

Any ideas, please?

_________________
Thanks! David
Home page: http://nevils-station.com
Don't google Search! http://duckduckgo.com
TahrPup64 & Lighthouse64-b602 & JL64-603
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 3 of 17 [243 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, ..., 15, 16, 17 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1537s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0222s) ][ GZIP on ]