Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Fri 01 Aug 2014, 06:16
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Unsorted
Improved RemoteDesktopClient GUI - Feb 28, 2007
Moderators: deshlab, Flash, GuestToo, Ian, JohnMurga, Lobster
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 3 of 5 [75 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 Next
Author Message
WhoDo


Joined: 11 Jul 2006
Posts: 4441
Location: Lake Macquarie NSW Australia

PostPosted: Fri 09 Mar 2007, 17:05    Post subject:  

rarsa wrote:
This version should be solid as a rock. (yes, it is a challenge to see if you find bugs)

Just call me The Wrecker! Razz

Found a bug with v2.15-2 running under Puppy 2.15CE. When I start the application I get TWO windows, one with the GUI and one empty one. If I close either then both get closed.

Looked in the /usr/local/remotedesktopclient folder and found the following:

1. If I click remotedesktopclient.tcl then I get the two windows
2. If I click on remotedesktopclientGUI.tcl then I only get the empty one

Also found that I can no longer save and retrieve my profile settings after saving them.

Hope that helps.

Cheers
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rarsa


Joined: 29 May 2005
Posts: 3053
Location: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada

PostPosted: Sat 10 Mar 2007, 00:25    Post subject:  

WhoDo wrote:
Found a bug with v2.15-2 running under Puppy 2.15CE.
You found a bug in Puppy 2.15CE thanks to my beautifyl and solid Remote desktop client? Woow, you are lucky...

I'm guessing that the reason is that in 2.15CE you associated the .tcl extension with wish instead of associating it with tclsh.

If you execute wish, you are forcing a tk window even if Gnocl applications do not use tk.

Thats something to fix in Puppy 2.15CE... Gotcha!

My challenge is still standing Wink

Good luck.

_________________
http://rarsa.blogspot.com Covering my eclectic thoughts
http://www.kwlug.org/blog/48 Covering my Linux How-to
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
WhoDo


Joined: 11 Jul 2006
Posts: 4441
Location: Lake Macquarie NSW Australia

PostPosted: Sat 10 Mar 2007, 01:43    Post subject:  

rarsa wrote:
I'm guessing that the reason is that in 2.15CE you associated the .tcl extension with wish instead of associating it with tclsh.

Hmmmm....that still makes ME the Wrecker! Razz

I'll fix for the next Beta.

Cheers.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rarsa


Joined: 29 May 2005
Posts: 3053
Location: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada

PostPosted: Sat 10 Mar 2007, 01:48    Post subject:  

WhoDo wrote:
I'll fix for the next Beta.
Be carefull how you fix it.

Some tcl programs may be implicitly expecting to be run from wish instead of explicitly requiring the tk package.

If you find a program that do not start after changing to tclsh, then add the "package require Tk" line near the top.

_________________
http://rarsa.blogspot.com Covering my eclectic thoughts
http://www.kwlug.org/blog/48 Covering my Linux How-to
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
WhoDo


Joined: 11 Jul 2006
Posts: 4441
Location: Lake Macquarie NSW Australia

PostPosted: Sat 10 Mar 2007, 02:20    Post subject:  

rarsa wrote:
If you find a program that do not start after changing to tclsh, then add the "package require Tk" line near the top.

Don't mean to seem obtuse, but can you explain this bit to me, please mate? I've fixed the wish/tclsh call for the next Beta, but knowing my luck it WILL break something and I'd like to know what to do when that happens. Thanks again, mate.

Cheers
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rarsa


Joined: 29 May 2005
Posts: 3053
Location: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada

PostPosted: Sat 10 Mar 2007, 13:15    Post subject:  

I don't know how the rox MIME association works so I am just speaking in general terms.

When you execute with wish, the Tk libraries are included implicitly as they are included by wish.

Some developers rely on executing the program from wish or use a 'trick' in which the script is started as bash which then executes wish. They have something like the following at the top of the script
Code:
#!/bin/sh -
# the next line restarts using wish \
exec wish "$0" "$@"

When you execute the script from bash, it gets to the third line and executes wish passing as parameters the same script name and parameters.

Once in wish, the same script is interpreted as tcl code, where the backslash in the comment line previous to "exec wish" makes the comment continue to the next line, so the "exec wish" line is interpreted as a comment, and the rest of the script is executed.

So, if you have a script that expects to be executed by wish and you execute it with tclsh, the Tk libraries may not be included and the program won't run. The solution is to add the following line near the top:
Code:
package require Tk
to explicitly include the libraries.
_________________
http://rarsa.blogspot.com Covering my eclectic thoughts
http://www.kwlug.org/blog/48 Covering my Linux How-to
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
WhoDo


Joined: 11 Jul 2006
Posts: 4441
Location: Lake Macquarie NSW Australia

PostPosted: Sat 10 Mar 2007, 17:40    Post subject:  

rarsa wrote:
The solution is to add the following line near the top:
Code:
package require Tk
to explicitly include the libraries.

Aha! Got it now. Thanks, rarsa. Much appreciated. Wink
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Wilsonb

Joined: 03 Jul 2007
Posts: 57

PostPosted: Wed 19 Dec 2007, 20:21    Post subject: Puppy being the Host.. for Remote desktop
Subject description: Is there a way to have Puppy host remote desktop?
 

2 Questions...

1.)Does this updated RemoteDesktopClient Gui come built in Puppy 3.01?
Where is the repository for the latest?


2.)Im actually trying to do the opposite.
I was wondering if it was possible to HOST Puppy?

I would like to access Puppy via Windows Remote desktop pref.
I know how to host a Windows box and give permissions, but not sure on the Linux puppy side..

I would like to use Puppy on a Notebook as a picture frame and access it via Remote desktop..

Thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
HairyWill


Joined: 26 May 2006
Posts: 2949
Location: Southampton, UK

PostPosted: Wed 19 Dec 2007, 20:58    Post subject:  

remote desktop isn't going to do you any good

vnc would do the trick
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=1144

you need to install the vncserver on the picture frame

search the forum for vncserver

if you are happy on the commandline you could just install the sshd server
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=1106

_________________
Will
contribute: community website, screenshots, puplets, wiki, rss
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Wilsonb

Joined: 03 Jul 2007
Posts: 57

PostPosted: Thu 20 Dec 2007, 03:23    Post subject:  

Thank you so much...

Finally got it figured out and working..


For some stupid reason, the internal HD wouldn't boot, had to format with ex2 and install grub. Now, it prompts me to select the Grub menu to point to the hd1. Would like to make it go strait in without having to press enter.

#timeout 30
color light-gray/blue black/light-gray
# End GRUB global section
# Linux bootable partition config begins
title Puppy Linux (on /dev/hda1)
rootnoverify (hd0,0)
kernel /vmlinuz pmedia=idehd
initrd /initrd.gz
# Linux bootable partition config ends

_______________________________
Also, would like to make the VNCserver startup 1 display session automaticly.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
HairyWill


Joined: 26 May 2006
Posts: 2949
Location: Southampton, UK

PostPosted: Thu 20 Dec 2007, 05:30    Post subject:  

remove the # symbol in front of
#timeout 30

_________________
Will
contribute: community website, screenshots, puplets, wiki, rss
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Wilsonb

Joined: 03 Jul 2007
Posts: 57

PostPosted: Thu 20 Dec 2007, 16:21    Post subject:  

Is there a way to keep a live-cd from using the saved file on the HD?

I would like to resize the original partition, but when booting with a live-cd it takes hold of the save file and I can not un-mount the HD. Locked..
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
HairyWill


Joined: 26 May 2006
Posts: 2949
Location: Southampton, UK

PostPosted: Thu 20 Dec 2007, 16:37    Post subject:  

at the 5 second pause type
puppy pfix=ram

_________________
Will
contribute: community website, screenshots, puplets, wiki, rss
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Wilsonb

Joined: 03 Jul 2007
Posts: 57

PostPosted: Thu 20 Dec 2007, 18:08    Post subject:  

Hairy,

Thank you so much for your feedback...
I was playing with the tightVNC server and thought it was the coolest thing..


I will post and ask how to incorporate the service automatically.

so when the puppy system boots up, I will have access to it without intervention.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Wilsonb

Joined: 03 Jul 2007
Posts: 57

PostPosted: Fri 21 Dec 2007, 21:42    Post subject:  

Stupid quick question.....

I have been using the TightVNC, and was wondering if there was a way to select the initial display.


Meaning, I want to make changes on the actual display. Can it display and let you VNC the actual current screen?

Also, trying to find a GOOD slide show app.
Will be making a picture frame
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 3 of 5 [75 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Unsorted
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0825s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0075s) ][ GZIP on ]