Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Tue 30 Sep 2014, 12:15
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Dingo 4 alpha3 Bugs/probs
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 4 of 8 [120 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8 Next
Author Message
ARAN

Joined: 21 Oct 2005
Posts: 113

PostPosted: Sun 16 Dec 2007, 09:20    Post subject: Re: Bug Report Dingo 4  

BarryK wrote:

If you restart 'cupsd' then it scans all ppd files in /usr/share/cups/model, I know, mine works.


It looks like that this problem was related to a unionfs problem that i had in this moment.
Actually i can download and save every PPD file to the path and the
files are showed for selection in CUPS.

BarryK wrote:

Is this a new bug, or have you had the ppd file working on older puppies?


The LexmarkX125 has worked with no problems till yet.
Recognisation and Configuration of the Printer in Cups is very easy.
Still at the Moment i cant print something with Dingo Puppy 4 A3 on LexmarkX125
Everything looks in Cups correct. All settings are right and all paths are also right.
If i try to print the "Testpage" from Cups nothing happens.
Not even a Print Job is showed ?

It would be great if somebody could tell me some Cups Terminal Commands to proove the status of the printer so i can easy find out where the problem is !
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
GrumpyWolfe


Joined: 26 Nov 2006
Posts: 496

PostPosted: Sun 16 Dec 2007, 09:22    Post subject: Gset
Subject description: does not save settings
 

Hi All

I am running puppylinux 4a3 frugle install usb thumb drive. I always turn off DPMS with the thumb drive setting but for some reason it is not keeping the setting when I click on the apply button it just goes away no error messages but does not save the setting.

_________________
Live and Let Live

Acer Aspire One N450 1.66GHz

MyWolfe at Sourceforge
MyWolfe Blog
MyWolfe Groups
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
ttuuxxx


Joined: 05 May 2007
Posts: 10757
Location: Ontario Canada,Sydney Australia

PostPosted: Sun 16 Dec 2007, 11:02    Post subject: Re: gxine  

BarryK wrote:
ttuuxxx wrote:
"gxine" ,Ok I still have no clue why this application even made it into the alpha 3, Please Just understand, Gxine and puppy just don't work! But xine does, very well. So why not just drop Gxine and replace it with Xine, I do it everytime I make a new Fire Hydrant and I always get a "thank you for doing that." from people. Other than that great stuff guys.
ttuuxxx

You mean the Xine-UI? Does it handle full-screen ok?
I seem to recall, when I tested it awhile back, the GUI window had a crappy font -- have you been able to make that look nicer, with say the DejaVue font? -- I'm just going from memory, but I think that I didn't see any way to change the default font.


Yes Barry last night I watch a movie with Xine-UI fullscreen and it ran perfectly, Not a flaw, It was a divx movie, also I used it to watch a dvd 2 days ago. I use puppy/FH tv-out on my video card to my tv all the time, I've also been able to use VLC and Mplayer full screen. But when I tried Puppy 3.01 with Gxine it didn't work full screen. Thats why I always change it to Xine-UI.
Tell you the truth I never really looked at the font size, but now that you mentioned it they are very small, I'll have to get back to you on it.
ttuuxxx

Plus On another note I ripped apart the latest Slackware Distro last night and uploaded all the "Lib's" to http://www.puppylinux.ca/ttuuxxx/Libs/ Very slow upload about 8hrs for 900MB. I did this because when I try to make pet packages, A lot of the time I'm missing Libs and I spend hours trying to find them, So this way we'll all have a place to find the ones missing. It should save tons of time. I still have about another 3hrs left until the upload is finished. around 2000 files.

Hope This helps, ttuuxxx

_________________
http://audio.online-convert.com/ <-- excellent site
http://samples.mplayerhq.hu/A-codecs/ <-- Codec Test Files
http://html5games.com/ <-- excellent HTML5 games Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
twointo1

Joined: 08 May 2007
Posts: 39

PostPosted: Sun 16 Dec 2007, 11:55    Post subject:  

I can't seem to find where lsusb is now. It's always been in the menu, but in puppy 4 it's gone and you can't get it through the terminal(that hasn't changed).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
alienjeff


Joined: 08 Jul 2006
Posts: 2291
Location: Winsted, CT - USA

PostPosted: Sun 16 Dec 2007, 12:04    Post subject:  

HP Pavilion 600 MHz Celeron - 256M RAM - mobo video i810 feeding a very vanilla Dell CRT monitor

xvesa - maximum resolution 800x600, only two other choices, both lower resolution. Screen flicker is painful: epileptics beware.

xorg - distorted pincushion video. Am able to adjust to reasonably acceptable (but not perfect) deflection with xvidtune, however xvidtune, besides being torturously unintuitive with its poorly designed GUI, doesn't save the changed settings.

The predominant color used and the default background image are going to problematic for aging baby-boomers with any history of serious experimentation with lysergic acid diethylamide. Dabblers should fare better ...

_________________
hangout: ##b0rked on irc.freenode.net
diversion: http://alienjeff.net - visit The Fringe
quote: "The foundation of authority is based upon the consent of the people." - Thomas Hooker

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
JustGreg

Joined: 24 May 2005
Posts: 682
Location: Connecticut USA

PostPosted: Sun 16 Dec 2007, 12:18    Post subject:  

Nice to hear from the Nutmeg State Nabob of Negativity or is it Connecticut Cranky Curmudgeon, Very Happy

alienjeff wrote:
HP Pavilion 600 MHz Celeron - 256M RAM - mobo video i810 feeding a very vanilla Dell CRT monitor

The predominant color used and the default background image are going to problematic for aging baby-boomers with any history of serious experimentation with lysergic acid diethylamide. Dabblers should fare better ...


This can easily be fixed using the wallpaper setter, theme setter, and icon setter to a different visual display. This will leave some yellow in the jwm tray. I think a good forum search will turn up something to change this.

_________________
Enjoy life, Just Greg
Live Well, Laugh Often, Love Much
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ARAN

Joined: 21 Oct 2005
Posts: 113

PostPosted: Sun 16 Dec 2007, 14:21    Post subject:  

Is it normal that in Cups the USB Printer is recognised verywell but in the "Puppy Hardware-Interface Information Wizard" nothing is showed about the connected Printer Device on USB?
http://s3.directupload.net/images/071216/23eg4ckv.png
My USB Mouse is also connected to USB but not showed as a device.
Is this related more to the Wizard or is this more a Puppy BUG ?

Quote:
usblp0: USB Bidirectional printer dev 3 if 0 alt 0 proto 2 vid 0x043D pid 0x006D
usbcore: registered new interface driver usblp
parport_pc 00:09: reported by Plug and Play ACPI
parport0: PC-style at 0x378 (0x778), irq 7 [PCSPP,TRISTATE]
lp0: using parport0 (interrupt-driven).
lp0: console ready

Quote:
input: Logitech USB-PS/2 Optical Mouse as /class/input/input2
input: USB HID v1.10 Mouse [Logitech USB-PS/2 Optical Mouse] on usb-0000:00:10.1 -1
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
floborg


Joined: 25 Oct 2007
Posts: 194
Location: Fort Worth, TX

PostPosted: Sun 16 Dec 2007, 22:07    Post subject: Re: gxine  

ttuuxxx wrote:

Plus On another note I ripped apart the latest Slackware Distro last night and uploaded all the "Lib's" to http://www.puppylinux.ca/ttuuxxx/Libs/ Very slow upload about 8hrs for 900MB. I did this because when I try to make pet packages, A lot of the time I'm missing Libs and I spend hours trying to find them, So this way we'll all have a place to find the ones missing. It should save tons of time. I still have about another 3hrs left until the upload is finished. around 2000 files.

Hope This helps, ttuuxxx


Dude! No more missing dependencies (?).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Tui

Joined: 27 Sep 2006
Posts: 380
Location: Wellington New Zealand

PostPosted: Sun 16 Dec 2007, 22:33    Post subject: Gxine 0.4.xx
Subject description: Time to dump - find something better ?
 

I have just D/L'd the latest version I think, of Dingo 393 -- rc4-- full zdrv.
I have tried to use this prog (gxine) over a large number of versions of
Puppy, and they have all seem to have had something missing.
It just seems to be such a dud!

Can anyone offer something better or should I turn to MS for a solution?

This latest effort does produce a full screen but now has a new problem,
see my screenshot.

The rectangular block- What's that doing here ?
badblock.png
 Description   
 Filesize   161.38 KB
 Viewed   722 Time(s)

badblock.png

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
kirk

Joined: 11 Nov 2005
Posts: 1410
Location: florida

PostPosted: Sun 16 Dec 2007, 22:44    Post subject:  

Just tried alpha3, seems quite fast. My dvd drive has DMA working without me having to boot with combined_mode=libata. Nice! Fonts look sharp.

The clock is wrong. To fix it I changed the symlink /etc/localtime to a link from /usr/share/zoneinfo/Etc/GMT-0 to /etc/localtime. That's probably how it should be set if most people have their BIOS clock set to local time.



Quote:
But when I tried Puppy 3.01 with Gxine it didn't work full screen.


For later versions of Gxine to get full screen you have to maximize the Gxine window and then hit ctrl-f. If you hit ctrl-f without having the window maximized it just flickers.


I haven't had problems with Gxine 0.5.11 in Puppy 3.01 so I tried compiling it in Alpha 4. It errors with:

Quote:
gtkvideo.o: In function `gtk_video_get_fullscreen_geometry':
gtkvideo.cSad.text+0x100b): undefined reference to `XineramaIsActive'
gtkvideo.cSad.text+0x1039): undefined reference to `XineramaQueryScreens'
noskin_window.o: In function `xevent_filter_cb':
noskin_window.cSad.text+0x1044): undefined reference to `XineramaIsActive'
collect2: ld returned 1 exit status
make[1]: *** [gxine] Error 1
make[1]: Leaving directory `/root/my-documents/gxine-0.5.11/src'
make: *** [all-recursive] Error 1
#


I downloaded 0.4.9, it builds fine in alpha3. Maybe a problem with Gxine 0.5.11 and Xorg 7.3 ?

Also, the Desktop Icon switcher works nice. Used it to change to Stardust. The Stardust Icons look very sharp.

Looking forward to the T2-build-package for Dingo!

Thanks Barry.

EDIT: Installed the missing Xorg libs. But when Xorg would start radeon.ko and drm.ko wouldn't load. Tried modprobe radeon, but got module not found. So I copied the drm and radeon modules from the zdrv, restarted X and both modules loaded.

Still have problems with DRI. Logs look good. And games that need DRI run, but the video is scrambled. In alpha2 I installed the fglrx driver to fix it. (which includes it's own libGL) Maybe a problem with libGL or maybe my radeon X300 isn't supported anymore by the Xorg drivers? Anyone get DRI working in Dingo?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7047
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Mon 17 Dec 2007, 06:56    Post subject:  

kirk wrote:
The clock is wrong. To fix it I changed the symlink /etc/localtime to a link from /usr/share/zoneinfo/Etc/GMT-0 to /etc/localtime. That's probably how it should be set if most people have their BIOS clock set to local time.

/etc/localtime should be a symlink to the appropriate file in /usr/share/zoneinfo, which is done by the "set timezone" entry in the "System" menu. The default is GMT+8 which is the timezone for Western Australia.

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
pupmate

Joined: 12 Oct 2007
Posts: 17

PostPosted: Mon 17 Dec 2007, 07:09    Post subject: Dingo 4 alpha 3 bugs/probs
Subject description: Wireless networking
 

Module ath-pci appears to be missing, so can't get wireless networking going. Otherwise looks good so far on my Acer 2423WXMI laptop.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ttuuxxx


Joined: 05 May 2007
Posts: 10757
Location: Ontario Canada,Sydney Australia

PostPosted: Mon 17 Dec 2007, 08:39    Post subject: Re: gxine  

floborg wrote:
ttuuxxx wrote:

Plus On another note I ripped apart the latest Slackware Distro last night and uploaded all the "Lib's" to http://www.puppylinux.ca/ttuuxxx/Libs/ Very slow upload about 8hrs for 900MB. I did this because when I try to make pet packages, A lot of the time I'm missing Libs and I spend hours trying to find them, So this way we'll all have a place to find the ones missing. It should save tons of time. I still have about another 3hrs left until the upload is finished. around 2000 files.

Hope This helps, ttuuxxx


Dude! No more missing dependencies (?).


Well pretty much have all the latest slackware ones posted, I also installed every option when installing slackware on the hard drive then booted puppy up to rip'em out and peazip them, If you go to my page just right click then select "Save Link As" and then it downloads. http://www.puppylinux.ca/ttuuxxx/Libs/ <----Libs
Its already helped a few people out already:)
ttuuxxx

_________________
http://audio.online-convert.com/ <-- excellent site
http://samples.mplayerhq.hu/A-codecs/ <-- Codec Test Files
http://html5games.com/ <-- excellent HTML5 games Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Dougal


Joined: 19 Oct 2005
Posts: 2505
Location: Hell more grotesque than any medieval woodcut

PostPosted: Mon 17 Dec 2007, 09:01    Post subject:  

kirk wrote:
I haven't had problems with Gxine 0.5.11 in Puppy 3.01 so I tried compiling it in Alpha 4. It errors with:

Quote:
gtkvideo.o: In function `gtk_video_get_fullscreen_geometry':
gtkvideo.cSad.text+0x100b): undefined reference to `XineramaIsActive'
gtkvideo.cSad.text+0x1039): undefined reference to `XineramaQueryScreens'
noskin_window.o: In function `xevent_filter_cb':
noskin_window.cSad.text+0x1044): undefined reference to `XineramaIsActive'
collect2: ld returned 1 exit status
make[1]: *** [gxine] Error 1
make[1]: Leaving directory `/root/my-documents/gxine-0.5.11/src'
make: *** [all-recursive] Error 1
#

You should link /usr/X11R7/lib/libXinerama.so into /usr/lib

_________________
What's the ugliest part of your body?
Some say your nose
Some say your toes
But I think it's your mind
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Dougal


Joined: 19 Oct 2005
Posts: 2505
Location: Hell more grotesque than any medieval woodcut

PostPosted: Mon 17 Dec 2007, 09:05    Post subject: Re: Dingo 4 alpha 3 bugs/probs
Subject description: Wireless networking
 

pupmate wrote:
Module ath-pci appears to be missing, so can't get wireless networking going. Otherwise looks good so far on my Acer 2423WXMI laptop.

From Barry's release notes:
Quote:
no third party drivers compiled

Might explain it.

_________________
What's the ugliest part of your body?
Some say your nose
Some say your toes
But I think it's your mind
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 4 of 8 [120 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1114s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0057s) ][ GZIP on ]