Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Tue 16 Sep 2014, 17:42
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Dingo 4 alpha3 Bugs/probs
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 8 [120 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2, 3, ..., 6, 7, 8 Next
Author Message
Firefox

Joined: 03 Nov 2006
Posts: 171
Location: UK

PostPosted: Fri 14 Dec 2007, 13:44    Post subject:  Dingo 4 alpha3 Bugs/probs  

Dingo 4.00 alpha3 - bugs/problems

Full hd install- Test

1: Gparted does not do a complete survey of hd and active ports, had to use another disc to setup HD.

2: System refuses to shutdown from CD and after apparant installation.

3:Puppy Universal installer will not recognise my hd as IDE - every other puppy does!!!
Had to use sata, which seemed to work.

4:First boot from HD install. VFS Cannot open root device "sda1" or unknown-block (8,1).
kernel panic not syncing: Unable to mount rootfs on unknown-block(8,1)

5: With hda1, my flash ram stick in USB port is usually reported as sda1 so helping me diferentiate the folders for copying and saving but with everything sda or sr for cd`s this is now confusing.

6:No filesystem could mount root, tried reiserfs , ext3,ext2 , minix, msdos,vfat,iso9660.

7: Gparted running from pup301 CD (pfix=ram) reports:-
hard drive /dev/hda1 ext2
/dev/hda2 linux-swap
rather than sda1 & sda2 as Dingo made it.

8: Changed boot menu 1st from sda1 to hda1 to reflect my usual boot scheme.

9:Rebooted and got VFS cannot open drive "hda1" or unknown-block (0,0)
Please append correct "root=" boot option
available partitions
0800 39022680 sda driver: sd
0801 38547936 sda1
0802 1048575 sr0 driver :sr
kernel panic - not syncing: VFS: unable to mount root fs on unknown-block (0,0)

So no go on Full hard drive install.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
twointo1

Joined: 08 May 2007
Posts: 39

PostPosted: Fri 14 Dec 2007, 14:10    Post subject:  

In Gparted, every action on my sda - remove partition, format, add boot flag - the application exited.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
veronicathecow


Joined: 21 Oct 2006
Posts: 533

PostPosted: Fri 14 Dec 2007, 16:24    Post subject:  

Hi Firefox, if you check the developer blog you will see that all drives are now treated as SATA due to a Kernel change (I suppose unification of drivers or something)
Hope this helps
Tony
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
veronicathecow


Joined: 21 Oct 2006
Posts: 533

PostPosted: Fri 14 Dec 2007, 17:41    Post subject:  

Lots of things now working but on reboot cannot connect to the internet even though it says DHCP okay. (Using manual Frugall Install)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7047
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Fri 14 Dec 2007, 17:49    Post subject:  

Firefox, yes, most of your comments show that you ave not properly read the Developer Blog first, which is absolutely essential when testing an 'alpha' release.
Your 'hda' drive is now 'sda' and all references to 'hda' are no longer valid, including anything in the GRUB 'menu.lst' file.

Regarding it being "confusing" not having 'hda', that's the way it is. The major distros have gone over to this system and eventually all will, except for those stuck on the 2.4 kernel.
It actually has advantages, being the uniformity of naming the internal drives -- what is really confusing is mixed IDE and SATA drives and the different hd and sd names can cause problems, for example with GRUB.

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
JustGreg

Joined: 24 May 2005
Posts: 668
Location: Connecticut USA

PostPosted: Fri 14 Dec 2007, 17:54    Post subject:
Subject description: Compact Flash Install Problem; VFAT format
 

Universal Installer did not install "ldlinux.sys". This causes a boot error. This appears to be caused by the lack of "mcopy" which causes a broken pipe. The workaround is to use Puppy 3.01 to first install a copy of itself. After completing the Puppy 3.01 installation, just delete the Puppy 3.01 files and copy , vmlinuz, intrid.gz, pup_393.sfs, and zdriv_393.sfs to the device. Alternately, one can find ldlinux.sys in another install and copy it to the device, without doing a complete installed. Device boot and Dingo alpha 3 started.

My wireless drive module is RT73 is missing. I sure this will be fixed with time.

At startup, it was reported the file system was uncheck and need e2fsck to be used. This is similar to problem reported for Puppy 3.01.

_________________
Enjoy life, Just Greg
Live Well, Laugh Often, Love Much
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ArnaudN

Joined: 29 Apr 2007
Posts: 71
Location: France

PostPosted: Fri 14 Dec 2007, 18:28    Post subject:  

Hi everyone,

Here's my small contribution to the status of Dingo 4 alpha 3 (This is my first boot and I have not yet tried to save the context or make an install) :

- I'm very happy to say that wifi with the chipset bcm43xxx works well. I'm currently writing from there. Cool

- The resolution found "out of the box" for my laptop (xorg) is 1024x748 instead of 1480x800 as it should be.

- Concerning PCMCIA, the SDCard in my card reader is still not found.

- Local swf games are very fluid.

.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Béèm


Joined: 21 Nov 2006
Posts: 11782
Location: Brussels IBM Thinkpad R40, 256MB, 20GB, WiFi ipw2100. Frugal Lin'N'Win

PostPosted: Fri 14 Dec 2007, 20:09    Post subject:
Subject description: Can't connect to internet with WEP and ipw2100
 

I have a ipw2100 wireless device
Setting up via Network wizard
The correct driver loads.
I scan and my AP is found.
Gave the WEP key.
Tested the interface
msg: no live network is found.

I scan again and select an unprotected AP
Tested the interface ok.
Got a IP
Can connect to internet.

Same problem as with alpha 2 (392)

BTW: nice the SeaMonkey at 1.1.6 with the spell checking. (need it Wink )

_________________
Time savers:
Find packages in a snap and install using Puppy Package Manager (Menu).
Consult Wikka
Use peppyy's puppysearch
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Billcnz

Joined: 30 Jun 2006
Posts: 215
Location: Wellington New Zealand

PostPosted: Fri 14 Dec 2007, 21:12    Post subject:  

Hi Barry,
tested latest Dingo on old and new hardware:
my old Toshiba laptop needed it's usual xorg tweaks (no surprise).
Also it's sound module wasn't loaded so had to modprobe snd_es1968 but after that sound works. PCMCIA network card works (after loading 8139too driver, same as for previous Puppies). Gxine gui is hanging after it's wizard closes on this laptop so have to issue a killall gxine from terminal.

New Laptop (HP nc6400) has a better report with everything working pretty much straight away. I notice on both laptops gxine wizard can't find the cdrom even though the link to /dev/sr0 is already set.

Bill
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
floborg


Joined: 25 Oct 2007
Posts: 194
Location: Fort Worth, TX

PostPosted: Sat 15 Dec 2007, 00:36    Post subject:  

Ran it in VirtualBox on my work machine (Core 2 Duo 2.13 GHz, 2 GB). When I typed "cat /proc/cpuinfo" in the console, I only saw one core listed.

Also, after using the JWM configuration tool to change the theme, the Menu button and some tray items remain yellow. This happened in 3.92 as well.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Sage

Joined: 04 Oct 2005
Posts: 4784
Location: GB

PostPosted: Sat 15 Dec 2007, 00:51    Post subject:  

Already reported all this on blog. The new nomenclature can be made to work in other distros. Thanks for the tip Greg, but this one is just too broken to test further and have deleted till next time.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
raffy

Joined: 25 May 2005
Posts: 4765
Location: Manila

PostPosted: Sat 15 Dec 2007, 04:02    Post subject: responsive printing  

Testing on AMD PC (Pentium 4 grade) with HP 1300N printer:

Pluses

- very responsive printing! first time I've experienced this quick response: click the print button and the printer hums almost immediately.

- consumes only about 80MB RAM (it must have detected less than 128 MB RAM and mounted the CD), despite the large swap partition in the PC, that is.

Minuses:

- pmount's mounting/unmounting USB drive can take ages - I tried 2 USB drives and in the second USB mounting, pmount virtually disappeared and the CPU usage steadily climbed, so I had to killall pmount. Later, I restarted pmount and was able to unmount one USB after the another; pmount disappeared for about 3 minutes, then reappeared.

- volume control box would not disappear when opened.

- freememapplet would not enable viewing of partitions when clicked (OK, just a wish that it works the usual way Smile )

_________________
Puppy user since Oct 2004. Want FreeOffice? Get the sfs (English only).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
geneven

Joined: 04 Oct 2007
Posts: 87
Location: Agoura Hills, California

PostPosted: Sat 15 Dec 2007, 04:21    Post subject: Crash on serial detect line -- solved  

I was the one who reported with Puppy 3.01 that I froze on one computer during cd bootup on the long serialdetect line.

With Dingo, I don't crash! In fact, this is the first time I've had puppy running on this Fry's crummy amd 64-bit clone which is my main desktop computer, running Linux Mint and lately the marvelous but inconsistent Geubuntu. (I joined the Puppy cult just as 3.01 was released, so I am unknown to most of you.) I normally run Puppy on a Compaq Presario laptop and a Dell D800 Latitude, both with Windows XP as their main operating system but mostly running Linux on a CD or USB Flash thing these days.

I never got my official beta tester's membership card, but I am a compulsive tester and installer.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nic2109

Joined: 01 Jan 2007
Posts: 406
Location: Hayslope, near Middlemarch, Midlands, England

PostPosted: Sat 15 Dec 2007, 06:08    Post subject:  

ArnaudN wrote:
The resolution found "out of the box" for my laptop (xorg) is 1024x748 instead of 1480x800 as it should be.


Do you have a seperate Graphics card (especially an ATi)? If so it probably needs a special driver to cater for "odd" resolutions. It happens to me every time until the (usually proprietory) driver has been compiled and a .pet assembled - usually by Kirk or one of the other specialists. Until then it's 1024 x 768 whatever xorg.conf says!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
HairyWill


Joined: 26 May 2006
Posts: 2949
Location: Southampton, UK

PostPosted: Sat 15 Dec 2007, 08:20    Post subject:
Subject description: Can't connect to internet with WEP and ipw2100
 

Béèm wrote:
I have a ipw2100 wireless device

thats interesting, my ipw2200 is now working with wep. What do you get for lsmod | grep ieee, heres mine
Code:
# lsmod | grep ieee
ieee80211_crypt_wep     5760  1
ieee80211              35016  1 ipw2200
ieee80211_crypt         6528  2 ieee80211_crypt_wep,ieee80211
if it isn't loaded already are you able to
Code:
modprobe ieee80211_crypt_wep

_________________
Will
contribute: community website, screenshots, puplets, wiki, rss
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 8 [120 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2, 3, ..., 6, 7, 8 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0914s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0067s) ][ GZIP on ]