Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Thu 02 Oct 2014, 12:59
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Cutting edge
How i got kde in puppy
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 1 of 1 Posts_count  
Author Message
bombayrockers


Joined: 24 Sep 2005
Posts: 427
Location: Mumbai, India

PostPosted: Tue 18 Oct 2005, 03:44    Post_subject:  How i got kde in puppy  

Razz . yes those who not already seen this can look at the screen shot at
http://www.murga.org/~puppy/viewtopic.php?t=2789&start=30

This is for Experimental puprose only

I just wanted to try kde in puppy. Apart from the eye candy it comes with a few good apps. So I made a kde 3.4.3 installation in puppy using kdebase, kdelibs and aRTS and a few other libs. i have used slackware 10.1 packages. the base installation was working fine for me. how ever when i tried installing other packages such as mutlimedia & network i started getting incompatibily errors. so i have now given up on pursuing it further until barrys Krazy Puppy is released. i have already deleted this installation. following is a vague recollection of what i did

how ever if you want to try these packages are available at

ftp://download.kde.org/pub/kde/stable/3.4.3/contrib/Slackware/10.1/

you will require
arts-1.4.3-i486-1.tgz ~1.5 Mb
kdebase-3.4.3-i486-1.tgz ~25 Mb
kdelibs-3.4.3-i486-1.tgz ~18 Mb

qt 3.3.3 from official slackware packages website

Arrow you will also require

libXf86vm.so.1
libGL.so.1
libXss.so.1
libesd.so.? Question
libvorbis.? Question
libstdc6.pup
libarts? Question
few other depending on what is present / not present on your system

HOW to INSTALL
1. your pup001 file should be 512 Mb (use a fresh pup file)
2. use guitar to open kdebase.tgz
3. extract it to /my-documents/kdebase/
4. delete /kdebase/install and /kdebase/usr folder
5. now we are left with the /kdebase/opt and /kdebase/etc folder
6. problem over here was that every time i booted the /opt folder came up empty. how to work around that problem will be dealt with later in the installation (16).
7. goto /kdebase/opt/kde/lib -> create simlink for all the lib*.so.x.* to lib*.so.x. gointo subfolders and repeat this where ever you find lib*.so.x.*
8. copy /kdebase/etc to /root/.etc (will need rebooting before changes come in to effect)
9. copy /kdebase/opt/kde/bin to /usr
10. copy /kdebase/opt/kde/lib to /usr
11 delete /kdebase/opt/kde/bin and /kdebase/opt/kde/lib
12. delete /kdebase/opt/kde/share/doc
13. copy /kdebase/opt to a new folder /root/opt. delete /my-documents/kdebase
14. repeat the drill with kdelibs and aRTS
15. extract the qt.tzg and only copy the /qt/lib folder to /usr
16. edit the /etc/rc.d/rc.local0 -> add following to the bottom

rmdir /opt
ln -s /root/opt /opt

17. edit .xinitrc ->
exec startkde is replaced with exec xterm
18. reboot
19. type xwin startkde
20. it will start X and an xtrem
21. in the xterm type startkde (this is needed to listen to the background messages)
22. go about solving the lib dependencies listed over Arrow above
23. you might just end up with a working kde installation


[/code]
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message YIM 
dittocookie

Joined: 05 Nov 2007
Posts: 35

PostPosted: Wed 12 Dec 2007, 13:44    Post_subject:  

Is there a puplet that has KDE preinstalled?
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
WhoDo


Joined: 11 Jul 2006
Posts: 4441
Location: Lake Macquarie NSW Australia

PostPosted: Wed 12 Dec 2007, 15:10    Post_subject:  

dittocookie wrote:
Is there a puplet that has KDE preinstalled?

There is a KDE.sfs file that lets you boot into a KDE environment over Puppy. You'd need to search the forum for that as I don't have a link for you.

Hope that helps.

_________________
Actions speak louder than words ... and they usually work when words don't!
SIP:whodo@proxy01.sipphone.com; whodo@realsip.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Caneri

Joined: 04 Sep 2007
Posts: 1580
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Wed 12 Dec 2007, 15:27    Post_subject:
Sub_title: KDE.sfs
 

Try this...it's KDE.sfs

http://www.puppylinux.ca/members/windowmanagers/

I'm not sure if it's the latest....Kirk has done this work.

_________________
Be not afraid to grow slowly, only be afraid of standing still.
Chinese Proverb

Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 Posts_count  
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Cutting edge
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0529s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0065s) ][ GZIP on ]