Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Mon 24 Nov 2014, 01:30
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Puppy Dingo 392 testing, bug reporting
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 8 of 9 [129 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 6, 7, 8, 9 Next
Author Message
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7082
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Thu 06 Dec 2007, 01:06    Post subject:  

veronicathecow wrote:
Hi tempestuous, thanks for tip, sadly however so little works on this new board with Puppy and as I suffer with RSI I have had to stick to PCLinux which seems to make it all work (Apart from having to use the Xvesa)
I will probably try again in 6 months.
Cheers

I am going to experiment with Dingo and the 2.6.24 kernel -- as soon as it is released -- it's currently at 2.6.24.rc4.

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7082
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Thu 06 Dec 2007, 01:22    Post subject: Re: probepart  

raffy wrote:
Here's the result of probepart on Compaq Presario PC (with SATA, firewire):
Code:
# probepart
/dev/sda1|vfat|10506446
/dev/sda2|ntfs|144793844
/dev/sda3|swap|1060290
/dev/sdg1|none|511968
/dev/sdh1|none|1003486
/dev/sdb|none|0
/dev/sdc|none|0
/dev/sdd|none|0
/dev/sde|none|0
/dev/sdf|none|0
/dev/hdc|iso9660|0

Things of note:
- the capacities displayed are 2x the actual capacities (ie, sdg1 is actually a 256-MB USB drive).
- I cannot do a manual mount of partitions g1 and h1.


The sizes are in 512 byte blocks. You need the '-k' and '-m' parameters for KB and MB units.

So what are the filesystems of sdg1 and sdh1 actually?

The filesystem type of the the partitions is determined by a utility application written by Jesse, the same as he uses in MUT. So, if probepart returns a f.s. type of "none", so to will MUT.
The utility is '/usr/lib/mut/bin/guess_fstype' and although I don't have MUT in Dingo, I have retained this utility, as PET package 'guess_fs-29dec2007'. Ditto, probepart in Puppy 3.01 also uses guess_fstype.

My guess is that if you do have some filesystems in those partitions, it is either not a fat/ntfs or normal Linux partition (ext2, ext3, reiserfs), or is somehow misconfigured.
You might want to check with 'guess_fstype' directly. I can't recall exactly, but I think that probepart has some screening and will return 'none' for any f.s.'s that cannot be mounted by Puppy.

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
raffy

Joined: 25 May 2005
Posts: 4796
Location: Manila

PostPosted: Thu 06 Dec 2007, 03:05    Post subject: fstype  

The fstype is VFAT in USB, and the USB drives are working very reliably, and are being used to boot Puppy in other machines.

There must be some distinction here. MUT can mount these USB partitions even if probepart cant see them; please refer to the 2.13 info above. MUT has a lot of your own changes, too, so surely one or a few line/s in there could help solve this problem.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
HairyWill


Joined: 26 May 2006
Posts: 2949
Location: Southampton, UK

PostPosted: Thu 06 Dec 2007, 05:42    Post subject:  

Béèm wrote:
My laptop with ipw2100 wireless interface does see my access point, but I need WEP to connect to it and obtain an IP.
Altho I give the correct WEP key a live network isn't found.
(same for Pwireless scanner)

I find also unprotected access points.
I can obtain an IP of one of these and connect to the internet.

So it looks like a WEP issue.
Beem I'm confused, you said here
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=157498#157498
that it was working properly.

I have compared the zdrv file from 3.01 with 3.92 and noticed things missing from 3.92 that might be important specifically
zdrv-301/lib/modules/2.6.21.7/kernel/net/ieee80211/ieee80211_crypt_ccmp.ko
zdrv-301/lib/modules/2.6.21.7/kernel/net/ieee80211/ieee80211_crypt_tkip.ko
zdrv-301/lib/modules/2.6.21.7/kernel/net/ieee80211/ieee80211_crypt_wep.ko

this might be the reason why modprobe ieee80211_crypt_wep fails


I'm not sure if it is relevant but 3.01 loads a module
00:1f.3 0C0500 8086:2483 <i801_smbus>
this is not loaded in 3.01

Any ideas anyone?

_________________
Will
contribute: community website, screenshots, puplets, wiki, rss
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7082
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Sat 08 Dec 2007, 20:20    Post subject: Re: fstype  

raffy wrote:
The fstype is VFAT in USB, and the USB drives are working very reliably, and are being used to boot Puppy in other machines.

There must be some distinction here. MUT can mount these USB partitions even if probepart cant see them; please refer to the 2.13 info above. MUT has a lot of your own changes, too, so surely one or a few line/s in there could help solve this problem.

raffy, can you please test guess_fstype:
# /usr/lib/mut/bin/guess_fstype /dev/sdg1
# /usr/lib/mut/bin/guess_fstype /dev/sdh1
and let me know what it returns.

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7082
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Sat 08 Dec 2007, 20:45    Post subject:  

HairyWill wrote:
Béèm wrote:
My laptop with ipw2100 wireless interface does see my access point, but I need WEP to connect to it and obtain an IP.
Altho I give the correct WEP key a live network isn't found.
(same for Pwireless scanner)

I find also unprotected access points.
I can obtain an IP of one of these and connect to the internet.

So it looks like a WEP issue.
Beem I'm confused, you said here
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=157498#157498
that it was working properly.

I have compared the zdrv file from 3.01 with 3.92 and noticed things missing from 3.92 that might be important specifically
zdrv-301/lib/modules/2.6.21.7/kernel/net/ieee80211/ieee80211_crypt_ccmp.ko
zdrv-301/lib/modules/2.6.21.7/kernel/net/ieee80211/ieee80211_crypt_tkip.ko
zdrv-301/lib/modules/2.6.21.7/kernel/net/ieee80211/ieee80211_crypt_wep.ko

this might be the reason why modprobe ieee80211_crypt_wep fails


I'm not sure if it is relevant but 3.01 loads a module
00:1f.3 0C0500 8086:2483 <i801_smbus>
this is not loaded in 3.01

Any ideas anyone?

The fault is that Dingo alpha1 and alpha2 have a cutdown zrdv file, which has been cutdown a bit too much. All of kernel/net/ieee80211 directory is missing. I've fixed that, for alpha3.

I also screened out too much from the sound modules. I had removed all the oss and alsa-isa modules, but that is probably going to far. My thinking is that Puppy should only be supporting computers with a PCI but, not any pre-PCI computers, but maybe that is too harsh. So, I have restored all the alsa ISA-bus modules, but have still left out the old oss modules.

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Béèm


Joined: 21 Nov 2006
Posts: 11782
Location: Brussels IBM Thinkpad R40, 256MB, 20GB, WiFi ipw2100. Frugal Lin'N'Win

PostPosted: Sat 08 Dec 2007, 20:56    Post subject:  

@HairyWill,
When I wrote that post you referenced the issue was about 3.90, which works ok with WEP.
When I tried 3.92 I had the problem with WEP, but can connect to unprotected access points.
Also when the issue is about 3.01 I say the my connection works with WEP.
So when I answer a post it's always considering the given context.

Well seeing the post of Barry, I'll wait the alpha 3 then.

_________________
Time savers:
Find packages in a snap and install using Puppy Package Manager (Menu).
Consult Wikka
Use peppyy's puppysearch
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
PaulBx1

Joined: 16 Jun 2006
Posts: 2308
Location: Wyoming, USA

PostPosted: Sun 09 Dec 2007, 16:56    Post subject:  

Barry, I wonder why zdrv should be cut down at all? I thought the whole point of zdrv was to separate it from the part of Puppy that's loaded into memory, thus allowing it to fill up with all sorts of drivers and better support the hardware (while not consuming memory or affecting performance). In other words, it was supposed to balloon out.

The only drawback I can see is downloading time on a big file.

Perhaps you can have 2 zdrv files, one for more common hardware and an extra one for old ISA stuff, oddball drivers and whatnot. That way those stuck with old hardware still can get their drivers, or if too much is inadvertently cut out of the first zdrv, it's still available in the second. In fact it makes it easier for you to get aggressive cutting stuff out of the first because it's not a disaster if you go too far with that.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nic2109

Joined: 01 Jan 2007
Posts: 406
Location: Hayslope, near Middlemarch, Midlands, England

PostPosted: Sun 09 Dec 2007, 19:34    Post subject:  

BarryK wrote:


I also screened out too much from the sound modules. I had removed all the oss and alsa-isa modules, but that is probably going to far. My thinking is that Puppy should only be supporting computers with a PCI but, not any pre-PCI computers, but maybe that is too harsh. So, I have restored all the alsa ISA-bus modules, but have still left out the old oss modules.


Will this get hda-intel devices working in Puppy? Looking in the Forum for help these seem particularly troublesome - it's never really worked for me, hence the Forum searching!

By way of comparison ubuntu produces sound to knock your socks off from the same PC, so I had a grep around in the output from modprobe on both. Dingo returns :-

Code:

/lib/modules/2.6.21.7/kernel/sound/pci/hda/snd-hda-intel.ko


and ububtu 6.06 returns this :

Code:

/lib/modules/2.6.15-29-386/kernel/sound/pci/hda/snd-hda-intel.ko
/lib/modules/2.6.15-29-386/kernel/sound/pci/hda/snd-hda-codec.ko


Is the absence of the codec in Dingo (and Puppy 3.01) significant?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
raffy

Joined: 25 May 2005
Posts: 4796
Location: Manila

PostPosted: Sun 09 Dec 2007, 19:41    Post subject: guess_fstype  

Quote:
can you please test guess_fstype
Result: unknown

2.13 MUT's guess_fstype in /usr/lib/mut/bin produces the same result: unknown. But for some reason, MUT sees it in the GUI.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7082
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Sun 09 Dec 2007, 20:28    Post subject:  

PaulBx1 wrote:
Barry, I wonder why zdrv should be cut down at all? I thought the whole point of zdrv was to separate it from the part of Puppy that's loaded into memory, thus allowing it to fill up with all sorts of drivers and better support the hardware (while not consuming memory or affecting performance). In other words, it was supposed to balloon out.

The only drawback I can see is downloading time on a big file.

Perhaps you can have 2 zdrv files, one for more common hardware and an extra one for old ISA stuff, oddball drivers and whatnot. That way those stuck with old hardware still can get their drivers, or if too much is inadvertently cut out of the first zdrv, it's still available in the second. In fact it makes it easier for you to get aggressive cutting stuff out of the first because it's not a disaster if you go too far with that.

There's a lot of modules in the full zdrv that are very unlikely to be needed, and I'm aiming for Puppy to meet the needs of 99% of users. That extra 1% will be able to obtain the full zdrv file.

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
jonyo

Joined: 28 Dec 2006
Posts: 2727

PostPosted: Sun 09 Dec 2007, 20:35    Post subject:  

BarryK wrote:
[and I'm aiming for Puppy to meet the needs of 99% of users.


Good to hear. Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7082
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Sun 09 Dec 2007, 20:36    Post subject:  

nic2109 wrote:
BarryK wrote:


I also screened out too much from the sound modules. I had removed all the oss and alsa-isa modules, but that is probably going to far. My thinking is that Puppy should only be supporting computers with a PCI but, not any pre-PCI computers, but maybe that is too harsh. So, I have restored all the alsa ISA-bus modules, but have still left out the old oss modules.


Will this get hda-intel devices working in Puppy? Looking in the Forum for help these seem particularly troublesome - it's never really worked for me, hence the Forum searching!

By way of comparison ubuntu produces sound to knock your socks off from the same PC, so I had a grep around in the output from modprobe on both. Dingo returns :-

Code:

/lib/modules/2.6.21.7/kernel/sound/pci/hda/snd-hda-intel.ko


and ububtu 6.06 returns this :

Code:

/lib/modules/2.6.15-29-386/kernel/sound/pci/hda/snd-hda-intel.ko
/lib/modules/2.6.15-29-386/kernel/sound/pci/hda/snd-hda-codec.ko


Is the absence of the codec in Dingo (and Puppy 3.01) significant?

ALSA, as used in Puppy, does not have the snd-hda-codec.ko module. So, I have no idea what it is.

My laptop uses snd-hda-intel.ko and it works. Prior to Puppy3 it did not work, so the upgrade of ALSA fixed it. Dingo will be having another upgrade of ALSA soon.

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7082
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Sun 09 Dec 2007, 20:41    Post subject: Re: guess_fstype  

raffy wrote:
Quote:
can you please test guess_fstype
Result: unknown

2.13 MUT's guess_fstype in /usr/lib/mut/bin produces the same result: unknown. But for some reason, MUT sees it in the GUI.

Ok, we have something weird. Do you have an email address for Jesse? -- I don't think he has been to the forum for awhile. We could tell him about this problem with guess_fstype and can he please fix it. But, I wonder what he did in MUT? -- he must have some fallback method of determining the f.s.

Well, how about this:
# fdisk -l
...could you try this, let me know if this reports correct f.s.
If this reports the correct f.s. then no need to contact Jesse, I can use that as fallback in pmount.

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7082
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Sun 09 Dec 2007, 20:53    Post subject:  

raffy, while you're at it, do this too:
# disktype /dev/sdg1

I'm reluctant to use 'disktype' as a fallback, as it does a complete probe which is slow. But, I guess if we only do it when guess_fstype returns 'unknown' then it's not too bad.

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 8 of 9 [129 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 6, 7, 8, 9 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1238s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0127s) ][ GZIP on ]