Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Thu 02 Oct 2014, 12:47
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Hardware » Audio
SoundMax Intergrated Audio Not working
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 1 of 1 Posts_count  
Author Message
pheniox

Joined: 04 Dec 2007
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Tue 04 Dec 2007, 22:56    Post_subject:  SoundMax Intergrated Audio Not working  

Hi all, I'm new to the forum, but have been playing with puppy for a while.

I have had 3 other previous versions of puppy, and now I am using 3.01.

The problem I'm having is I have never been able to get my audio working.

I'm on an older machine Compaq Evo D51S P4.
The windows audio drivers are SoundMax Intergrated Digtal Audio.

They did work when I tried out PCLinux 2007 (Don't go there it sucked)

Any ideas why it doesn't work or if theres a driver for puppy..

Thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
cb88


Joined: 28 Jan 2007
Posts: 1169
Location: USA

PostPosted: Tue 04 Dec 2007, 23:02    Post_subject:  

first open a terminal

type alsawizard and press enter


run through the wizard if still no sound see below

option 2>>>>
while playing a sound file in a loop (use gxine or just click on a wav in /root/puppy-reference/audio)

open a terminal

type alsamixer and press enter

adjust the relevant audio settings (pcm and master but could be others too)

make sure your audio is not muted select and option and press M to mute/unmute

_________________
Taking Puppy Linux to the limit of perfection. meanwhile try "puppy pfix=duct_tape" kernel parem eater.
X86: Sager NP6110 3630QM 16GB ram, Tyan Thunder 2 2x 300Mhz
Sun: SS2 , LX , SS5 , SS10 , SS20 ,Ultra 1, Ultra 10 , T2000
Mac: Platinum Plus, SE/30
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
pheniox

Joined: 04 Dec 2007
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Tue 04 Dec 2007, 23:28    Post_subject:  

Thanks, I'll go try that and let you know how it goes.

Got to boot back into windows to get on the net as I'm on Bigpong 3G Wireless, that was going to be my next question..lol..
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 Posts_count  
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Hardware » Audio
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0428s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0078s) ][ GZIP on ]