Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 16 Apr 2014, 18:46
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Puppy Dingo 392 testing, bug reporting
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 7 of 9 [129 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9 Next
Author Message
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7047
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Sun 02 Dec 2007, 02:21    Post subject:  

PaulBx1 wrote:

OK, I'm all for serving Windows refugees. However, it seems non-functional. I tried an "ls" command and nothing happened. I tried to check the "run as root" box and got the error, "Failed to execute child process "gksu", No such file..."

8 ) The windows only resize from the side or bottom edges. You can't grab the top edge to resize them. Don't know if a universal problem; saw that in epdfview and pfind..

For the 'ls' command, you have to tick the "run in terminal" checkbox.
"Run as root" checkbox needs to be removed.

8.
This is a limitation of the latest JWM. Joe has been criticised for that, perhaps the next version will restore it. I'm wondering where Joe is... I joined his mail list, posted a bug report, no replay from Joe. I'm very keen to get the MPlayer bug fixed, but it's a matter of whenever Joe feels inclined, after all, it's open source and something he does in his spare time.

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
zygo

Joined: 08 Apr 2006
Posts: 208
Location: UK

PostPosted: Sun 02 Dec 2007, 17:06    Post subject:  

Dial up
pupdial gives
The PPP daemon has died: A modem hung up the phone (exit code = 16)
I remember looking at the man page for pppd and getting lost. I don't know what the cause is but this is like the behaviour of 3beta. So I tried the 3beta remedies

modprobe -vn crc-ccitt
returns
insmod /lib/modules/2.6.21.7/kernel/lib/crc-ccitt.ko

modprobe -vn zlib-deflate
returns
insmod /lib/modules/2.6.21.7/kernel/lib/zlib_deflate/zlib_deflate.ko

I seem to remember a blank line being the responses in 3beta that got dialup working. Anyway it doesn't work in 4alpha2. I've just read an online man page for modprobe; the n option prevents actual insertion so how did it cure 3beta?? (By the way insmod returns Segmentation fault as it does in 3.01. I thought the response might be a hint to insert the module.)

When I first open pupdial there was no 'init string 2' so I clicked probe. The resulting string is slightly different from the wvdial.conf I have from previous versions. In 4alpha2 the penultimate item is missing: S11=55

The old wvdial.conf doesn't work either in 4alpha2.

GnomePPP gives
The PPP daemon has died: pppd options error (exit code = 2)

MPlayer won't play an audio CD
There's no menu item. I changed the CD-ROM drive setting in preferences to /dev/hdd and I changed all the items in the 'CD/DVD drive wizard' to /dev/hdd. MPlayer still didn't have a play CD menu item even after it was restarted. However, the play VCD option spins up the correct drive before reporting that there's no stream. When I reopened the 'CD/DVD drive wizard' all the drives were set back to /dev/hdc.

The disc is branded 'compact disc digital audio' and even when its in hdc (from where puppy booted) there's no way to play it. There's a menu.conf file but it bears no relation to the actual menu. If this parrat is sleeping I don't know how to wake it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Jnoble

Joined: 05 Aug 2007
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Sun 02 Dec 2007, 21:49    Post subject: Dialup
Subject description: fix for connection problem
 

Zygo,
check /etc/ppp/chap-secrets. It should have ( username * password *) Same for Pap-Serects. I don't know what needs fixing but adding this info will make it connect.
Jim
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
plinej

Joined: 13 Aug 2006
Posts: 1522

PostPosted: Sun 02 Dec 2007, 22:07    Post subject:  

zygo,

I don't see a way to play audio cds from the mplayer gui either but it can supposedly play them from the cli. I can do it but it's really choppy.

This will play the whole CD from track 1:
mplayer -cdrom-device /dev/cdrom cdda://

This will play only the track 3:
mplayer -cdrom-device /dev/cdrom cdda://3

This will play from track 3 to track 7:
mplayer -cdrom-device /dev/cdrom cdda://3-7

I also tried the cli player cdda-player which appears to play but I get no sound.

Last edited by plinej on Sun 02 Dec 2007, 22:19; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
plinej

Joined: 13 Aug 2006
Posts: 1522

PostPosted: Sun 02 Dec 2007, 22:14    Post subject:  

Barry,

Why is there,

/usr/bin/cdparanoia
&
/usr/bin/cd-paranoia

They're not symlinks.

It looks like cd-paranoia was compiled in T2 per the version output.
Anyways, the version used needs to be named cdparanoia.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
veronicathecow


Joined: 21 Oct 2006
Posts: 530

PostPosted: Mon 03 Dec 2007, 05:24    Post subject:  

Hi Barry, a couple of things, did you need any free RAM ( I asked in the developers log but perhaps you missed it. I was wondering if it would help with compiling times.)
Secondly. I have had no luck with my D201GLY2 motherboard with Puppy (Any version, I have tried 6 from 2.14 to Dingo A2) but it works fine in PCLinux. (Apart from having to use Vesa)
Pardon my ignorance but would it be down to a newer Kernel in PCLinux and if so, any chance a Dingo could be made with the very latest Kernel)?
as always many thanks for your work.
Tony
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7047
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Mon 03 Dec 2007, 06:34    Post subject:  

plinej wrote:
Barry,

Why is there,

/usr/bin/cdparanoia
&
/usr/bin/cd-paranoia

They're not symlinks.

It looks like cd-paranoia was compiled in T2 per the version output.
Anyways, the version used needs to be named cdparanoia.

They're two different packages:
cdparanoia-III-alpha9.8/usr/bin/cdparanoia
libcdio-0.78.2/usr/bin/cd-paranoia

although a quick look at the man files indicates they do the same thing.
Note, libcdio pkg has other interesting utilities.

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
PaulBx1

Joined: 16 Jun 2006
Posts: 2308
Location: Wyoming, USA

PostPosted: Mon 03 Dec 2007, 11:56    Post subject:  

Quote:
For the 'ls' command, you have to tick the "run in terminal" checkbox.
"Run as root" checkbox needs to be removed.


Yes, that works.

I wonder how hard it would be to eliminate those checkboxes from the gExec window, and simply run it the one way it does work? Make it idiot-proof. Is there any point in retaining them?

I might take a look at that...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rerwin


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 1463
Location: Maine, USA

PostPosted: Mon 03 Dec 2007, 14:47    Post subject: Modem testing - Intel modem not detected
Subject description: Also, Gnomeppp misbehavior
 

In respone to Barry's request:
Quote:
Dialup, yes, please test. alpha2 has Gnome-PPP as well as PupDial.

1. Although my PCTel, Lucent, and Smartlink PCI modems are detected and support connections, my Intel536ep modem is not detected at all in 4.00aplha2. It is detected in 3.01. I do not know what to do next; so please direct me if you need some debugging from me.

2. PupDial worked flawlessly in connecting all but the Intel modem. However, GnomePPP is uncooperative:
a. I used the "setup" option to detect the modem (SmartLink, in this case) as /dev/ttySL0.
b. I entered the ISP phone number in the number list. I did not disturb the init-string part.
c. In the connection dialog, I entered my login ID and password and left the "save password" box unchecked.
d. The phone-number drop-down field did not respond; so I could not select the number I had already entered. But I typed the number in the field and pressed "connect" (and then "log").
e. The log stopped at the message: "Please enter password (or empty password to stop". So the password I entered did not get passed.
f. I then selected/checked the "save password" option, then Quit and restarted GnomePPP. The phone number remained in its field. With all fields set, I pressed "connect".
g. Per the log, it then connected (at 48000) but failed to provide the login ID when prompted (by the ISP). It passed nothing for three attempts, then the connect string (with phone number) on the fourth try. It then timed out waiting for a password.

In summary:
1. Intel modems not detected.
2. GnomePPP phone number list not working.
3. Electing to not save the password prevents its use in the connection process.
4. After connection with "save password" checked, login ID not used in communicating with the ISP.

Here is the log of the last attempt:
Code:
--> WvDial: Internet dialer version 1.53
--> Initializing modem.
--> Sending: ATZ
ATZ
OK
--> Sending: ATQ0 V1 E1 S0=0 &C1 &D2 +FCLASS=0
ATQ0 V1 E1 S0=0 &C1 &D2 +FCLASS=0
OK
--> Modem initialized.
--> Sending: ATM1L3DT253-4201
--> Waiting for carrier.
ATM1L3DT253-4201
CONNECT 48000
--> Carrier detected.  Waiting for prompt.
--> Connected, but carrier signal lost!  Retrying...
--> Sending: ATM1L3DT253-4201
--> Waiting for carrier.
Level 3 Comm nas13.2ma1 UQKT2
Username:/login:/Login:
Username:/login:/Login:
Username:/login:/Login:
Username:/login:/Login:ATM1L3DT253-4201
Password:
--> Timed out while dialing.  Trying again.
--> Maximum Attempts Exceeded..Aborting!!
--> Disconnecting at Mon Dec  3 11:49:18 2007

I hope this is useful; I am ready to help with debugging both issues.
Richard
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tempestuous

Joined: 10 Jun 2005
Posts: 5139
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Mon 03 Dec 2007, 23:06    Post subject:  

veronicathecow wrote:
I have had no luck with my D201GLY2 motherboard with Puppy

Forum member Vaklin now has Xorg working properly with the D201GLY in Puppy 3.01 using a slightly different SiS Xorg driver -
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=155924#155924

Even though you have the version "2" of this motherboard, the solution may be the same.

veronicathecow wrote:
would it be down to a newer Kernel in PCLinux

Maybe, but that's far from assured. New kernels can bring as many problems as fixes.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
zygo

Joined: 08 Apr 2006
Posts: 208
Location: UK

PostPosted: Tue 04 Dec 2007, 10:48    Post subject:  

Thanks Jnoble. I checked /etc/ppp/chap-secrets in 301 and found they contained the literal username and password separated by a 3 character sequence (tab, asterix and tab) followed by a blank line. dialup now works with pupdial.

plinej, mplayer and cdda-player are just as you reported. I think cdp is quirky but it does play a cd without hogging resources and shows it's progress: times, track numbers etc.

EDIT1: Changed cpd to cdp

Last edited by zygo on Mon 10 Dec 2007, 18:34; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Béèm


Joined: 21 Nov 2006
Posts: 11782
Location: Brussels IBM Thinkpad R40, 256MB, 20GB, WiFi ipw2100. Frugal Lin'N'Win

PostPosted: Tue 04 Dec 2007, 20:49    Post subject: Support for 1394
Subject description: 4.01 alpha 2
 

I don't see the ohci1394, ieee1394 and eth1394 modules, which I need to connect to my other PC.

Can those of 3.01 be used or is there an incompatibility?

_________________
Time savers:
Find packages in a snap and install using Puppy Package Manager (Menu).
Consult Wikka
Use peppyy's puppysearch
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Béèm


Joined: 21 Nov 2006
Posts: 11782
Location: Brussels IBM Thinkpad R40, 256MB, 20GB, WiFi ipw2100. Frugal Lin'N'Win

PostPosted: Tue 04 Dec 2007, 20:54    Post subject: Laptop with ipw2100 and WEP doesn't get connected.
Subject description: 4.01 alpha 2
 

My laptop with ipw2100 wireless interface does see my access point, but I need WEP to connect to it and obtain an IP.
Altho I give the correct WEP key a live network isn't found.
(same for Pwireless scanner)

I find also unprotected access points.
I can obtain an IP of one of these and connect to the internet.

So it looks like a WEP issue.

_________________
Time savers:
Find packages in a snap and install using Puppy Package Manager (Menu).
Consult Wikka
Use peppyy's puppysearch
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
veronicathecow


Joined: 21 Oct 2006
Posts: 530

PostPosted: Wed 05 Dec 2007, 15:36    Post subject:  

Hi tempestuous, thanks for tip, sadly however so little works on this new board with Puppy and as I suffer with RSI I have had to stick to PCLinux which seems to make it all work (Apart from having to use the Xvesa)
I will probably try again in 6 months.
Cheers
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
raffy

Joined: 25 May 2005
Posts: 4752
Location: Manila

PostPosted: Wed 05 Dec 2007, 18:17    Post subject: probepart  

Here's the result of probepart on Compaq Presario PC (with SATA, firewire):
Code:
# probepart
/dev/sda1|vfat|10506446
/dev/sda2|ntfs|144793844
/dev/sda3|swap|1060290
/dev/sdg1|none|511968
/dev/sdh1|none|1003486
/dev/sdb|none|0
/dev/sdc|none|0
/dev/sdd|none|0
/dev/sde|none|0
/dev/sdf|none|0
/dev/hdc|iso9660|0

Things of note:
- the capacities displayed are 2x the actual capacities (ie, sdg1 is actually a 256-MB USB drive).
- I cannot do a manual mount of partitions g1 and h1.
- in version 2.13 where MUT succeeds, probepart shows:
Code:

sh-3.00# probepart
libcfdisk: unable to open /dev/sdb
libcfdisk: unable to open /dev/sdc
libcfdisk: unable to open /dev/sdd
libcfdisk: unable to open /dev/sde
libcfdisk: unable to open /dev/sdf
libcfdisk: unable to open /dev/sdg
libcfdisk: unable to open /dev/sdh
/dev/hdc|iso9660|0|HL-DT-ST DVDRAM GSA-H10N
/dev/sda1|vfat|10506447|Win95 FAT32 (LBA)
/dev/sda2|ntfs|144793845|OS/2 HPFS or NTFS
/dev/sda3|swap|1060290|Linux Swap
sh-3.00#
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 7 of 9 [129 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0992s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0100s) ][ GZIP on ]