Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 01 Oct 2014, 18:56
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Tecra/Protege stops booting at Xvesa and Xorg (SOLVED)
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 5 of 12 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, ..., 10, 11, 12 Next
Author Message
Dougal


Joined: 19 Oct 2005
Posts: 2505
Location: Hell more grotesque than any medieval woodcut

PostPosted: Sat 24 Nov 2007, 09:43    Post_subject: Re: Satellite 1805 S203  

DaveR wrote:
I'm not sure how a file other than xorg.conf0 could be used since there seems to be no other xorg.(anything) file in /etc/X11. Looking at it, there does seem to be a path supplied however the Load "type1" and Load "freetype" occur before the FontPath is specified - is that the right order?

Just to check again:
puppy pfix=ram,nox
# __ appears
Xorg -probeonly - gives the same mess as yesterday.

I think what it does might be to use a config file that it generates -- like the xorg.conf.new that you're left with when you run "Xorg -configure". In any case, xorg.conf0 will not be used, since it has the wrong name.

_________________
What's the ugliest part of your body?
Some say your nose
Some say your toes
But I think it's your mind
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
rerwin


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 1518
Location: Maine, USA

PostPosted: Sun 25 Nov 2007, 13:50    Post_subject:  

DaveR, If you aren't burned out, let's try another -probeonly experiment. This time, change the debug script at the point it configures. Change line 327 ("Xorg -configure > /tmp/xorgprobe.txt 2>&1") to
Xorg -probeonly > /tmp/xorgprobe.txt 2>&1

And also cause the script to stop afterward by inserting at line 330:
return 111

Then we should see the "probing" line, then "Returned from probing", then a prompt. There you can view the log(s) and xorgprobe.txt and do whatever it is that captures them. If nothing looks unusual, then the hang must be occurring during the generation of the conf file.
Richard
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
DaveR

Joined: 30 May 2007
Posts: 28

PostPosted: Sun 25 Nov 2007, 18:05    Post_subject: Satellite 1805 S203  

Ok I'm confused - what debug script?

Could you give me a bit more detail of what files I'm fooling around with - what files I have to load that aren't on the CD ...

Dave
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
rerwin


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 1518
Location: Maine, USA

PostPosted: Sun 25 Nov 2007, 20:00    Post_subject:  

DaveR, sorry to be vague. It's the same file you edited last week, xorgwizard2d. And run it as before.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
DaveR

Joined: 30 May 2007
Posts: 28

PostPosted: Mon 26 Nov 2007, 16:48    Post_subject: Satellite 1805 S203  

We seem to be getting somewhere but I don't know where!

The "probing..." line appeared
The window offering the choice of Xorg or VESA appeared - choose Xorg
some other lines appeared - not error messages
Apparently it wasn't able to figure out the video so it offered a list of reoslutions - choose 1024x768
Apparently it wasn't able to figure out the screen so it offered a list - chose 1024x768 x 24
Several lines of text appeared suggesting that I run xwin (I think)

So that looks as you expected it to. Now for the messages - I made a tar ball of the /tmp folder and /etc/X11/xorg* files. I have attached it and hope that you will be able to gain something from this exercise! What next???
26nov.tar.gz
Description 
gz

 Download 
Filename  26nov.tar.gz 
Filesize  7.57 KB 
Downloaded  359 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Dougal


Joined: 19 Oct 2005
Posts: 2505
Location: Hell more grotesque than any medieval woodcut

PostPosted: Tue 27 Nov 2007, 15:19    Post_subject:  

It seems to me like the problem is that Xorg has a problem detecting the screen and thus crashes -- without generating the xorg.conf.new that it should:
Code:
Fatal server error:
no screens found


This is just a wild guess, but maybe the following lines in ddcprobe.txt give us a hint:
Code:
monitorname: TOSHIBA Inte
monitorname: rnal 1024x76
monitorname: 8 Panel

...it seems like one line of text that gets split into three -- maybe that confuses Xorg?

_________________
What's the ugliest part of your body?
Some say your nose
Some say your toes
But I think it's your mind
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
DaveR

Joined: 30 May 2007
Posts: 28

PostPosted: Tue 27 Nov 2007, 21:27    Post_subject: Satellite 1805 S203  

Notice also that probe didn't have a lot of luck with the pointing device either - mine has the built-in eraser pointer between the G H & B keys and a Logitech Trackman Marble in the PS2 port.

There is a thread in the How-To's suggesting that any working xorg.conf for this computer be inserted in /etc/X11. That was supposed to solve all the problems - but it didn't - it kept being renamed. Since I have a working Xubuntu install on this machine I have a good xorg.conf file. Can you guys think of any way that idea could be made to work?
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Dougal


Joined: 19 Oct 2005
Posts: 2505
Location: Hell more grotesque than any medieval woodcut

PostPosted: Wed 28 Nov 2007, 07:48    Post_subject: Re: Satellite 1805 S203  

DaveR wrote:
There is a thread in the How-To's suggesting that any working xorg.conf for this computer be inserted in /etc/X11. That was supposed to solve all the problems - but it didn't - it kept being renamed.

You need to add a profile line at the end.
Look at the xorgwizard code (or the equivalent in /usr/X11R7/xwin) that gets the name of the screen and card from ddcprobe.txt, then add the appropriate line at the end of xorg.conf.

_________________
What's the ugliest part of your body?
Some say your nose
Some say your toes
But I think it's your mind
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
DaveR

Joined: 30 May 2007
Posts: 28

PostPosted: Fri 30 Nov 2007, 18:32    Post_subject: Satellite 1805  

I simply don't understand the code of xorgwizard so I can't find what you're suggesting that I add.

What language is that anyway?

Dave
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Dougal


Joined: 19 Oct 2005
Posts: 2505
Location: Hell more grotesque than any medieval woodcut

PostPosted: Sun 02 Dec 2007, 08:26    Post_subject: Re: Satellite 1805  

DaveR wrote:
What language is that anyway?

It's shell scripting.

What you need to add is quite trivial: there's a part where the card and screen info are found (try searching for "oem:" in one of the lines, where a parameter such as CARD or something is set). Then they are joined together as CARDPROFILE or something and added to the end of the config file (if you look at a proper config file it will be in the line before last, starting with a "#").

_________________
What's the ugliest part of your body?
Some say your nose
Some say your toes
But I think it's your mind
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
rerwin


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 1518
Location: Maine, USA

PostPosted: Sun 02 Dec 2007, 18:30    Post_subject: Tecra/Portege fix ready for Puppy?  

Dougal,
Thanks for helping DaveR with his Toshiba Satellite problem that goes beyond my capability to solve.

I would like to submit my fix for the Tecra/Portege xorgwizard hangup to Barry for 4.00alpha3, but seek your permission to do so. I consider you the person responsible for the wizard and do not want to seem to bypass you with this. If you are planning an update that includes this, then I will not compete with that.

Here are my updated instructions for modifying the alpha2 version of xorgwizard, leaving out the string for DaveR's Satellite:

1. Replace line 743 (FINALCHOICES="`cat /tmp/finalchoices.txt`") with:
Code:
FINALCHOICES="`cat /tmp/finalchoices.txt | sort --field-separator=x --numeric-sort`"   #rerwin
to sort the generated option list numerically. (Not part of the fix, but desirable.)

2. Insert after line 560 (fi):
Code:
fi   #rerwin


3. Insert after line 473 (esac):
Code:

#For some Tecra and Portege laptops (and any others generating an "edidfail" line in ddcprobe output), avoid an Xvesa hang by skipping "listmodes" and letting the user choose the appropriate video mode.   #rerwin begin
if grep -q -F 'edidfail
oem: MagicGraph 256 AV 44K PRELIMINARY
oem: Trident Cyber 8820' /tmp/ddcprobe.txt;then
 HORIZSYNC=""
 VERTREFRESH=""
else   #rerwin end


4. Indent all lines starting with the new line 483, to the new line 568, to indicate that they are in the "else" part.

5. Convert (or remove) the 4 "rerwin" comments to appropriate modification annotation (4.00?).

I know that the cleaner coding of this would be to preset the sync & refresh variables beforehand and reverse the test to avoid an else clause; that would allow removal of several other instances of setting them to null (but I am unsure how to reverse the test and want to avoid code "cleanup" risk).

BTW, I have tested with 4.00alpha2 and the xorg 7.3-full .pet, which continues to hang in the same way; so this fix is still
appropriate for it.

Richard
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Dougal


Joined: 19 Oct 2005
Posts: 2505
Location: Hell more grotesque than any medieval woodcut

PostPosted: Mon 03 Dec 2007, 09:49    Post_subject: Re: Tecra/Portege fix ready for Puppy?  

rerwin wrote:
I would like to submit my fix for the Tecra/Portege xorgwizard hangup to Barry for 4.00alpha3, but seek your permission to do so. I consider you the person responsible for the wizard and do not want to seem to bypass you with this.

I haven't been associated with the script Barry uses for quite a while... you should just send Barry the fix.

_________________
What's the ugliest part of your body?
Some say your nose
Some say your toes
But I think it's your mind
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7047
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Mon 03 Dec 2007, 17:55    Post_subject:  

Thanks for that. I have applied the fix, but have removed the 'edidfail' line from the grep.
_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7047
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Mon 03 Dec 2007, 18:12    Post_subject:  

I've just scanned back through the thread. It seems that you just want to avoid running 'Xvesa -listmodes' for those particular hardware. Okay, but I'll implement it differently in the code.
_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
DaveR

Joined: 30 May 2007
Posts: 28

PostPosted: Mon 03 Dec 2007, 20:15    Post_subject: Satellite 1805 S203  

I still can't figure out what you want Dougal. What you seem to want is that this line appear as the last line in xorg.conf:
#PuppyHardwareProfile=Trident_CYBER_8620TOS5082

Given that I hand made an xorg.conf stealing much of the listing from Xubuntu's xorg.conf. Here 'tis:
#Special base config file used in Puppy Linux.

# **********************************************************************
# Module section -- this section is used to specify
# which dynamically loadable modules to load.
# **********************************************************************
#
Section "Module"

# This loads the DBE extension module.

Load "dbe" # Double buffer extension

# This loads the miscellaneous extensions module, and disables
# initialisation of the XFree86-DGA extension within that module.
SubSection "extmod"
Option "omit xfree86-dga" # don't initialise the DGA extension
EndSubSection

# This loads the font modules
Load "type1"
Load "freetype"

# This loads the GLX module
Load "glx"

# This loads xtrap extension, used by xrandr
Load "xtrap"

EndSection

# **********************************************************************
# Files section. This allows default font and rgb paths to be set
# **********************************************************************

Section "Files"

# The location of the RGB database. Note, this is the name of the
# file minus the extension (like ".txt" or ".db"). There is normally
# no need to change the default.

RgbPath "/usr/X11R7/lib/X11/rgb"

# Multiple FontPath entries are allowed (which are concatenated together),
# as well as specifying multiple comma-separated entries in one FontPath
# command (or a combination of both methods)

FontPath "/usr/X11R7/lib/X11/fonts/misc/"
FontPath "/usr/X11R7/lib/X11/fonts/Type1/"
FontPath "/usr/X11R7/lib/X11/fonts/TTF/"

EndSection

# **********************************************************************
# Server flags section.
# **********************************************************************

Section "ServerFlags"

# Uncomment this to disable the <Crtl><Alt><Fn> VT switch sequence
# (where n is 1 through 12). This allows clients to receive these key
# events.

# Option "DontVTSwitch"

# Enables mode switching with xrandr
# There is a report that this can cause Xorg not to work on some
# video hardware, so default is commented-out...
# but i want to use it in xorgwizard so leave on...

Option "RandR" "on"

EndSection

# added by DOR from Xubuntu

Section "InputDevice"
Identifier "Generic Keyboard"
Driver "kbd"
Option "CoreKeyboard"
Option "XkbRules" "xorg"
Option "XkbModel" "pc105"
Option "XkbLayout" "us"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
Identifier "Configured Mouse"
Driver "mouse"
Option "CorePointer"
Option "Device" "/dev/input/mice"
Option "Protocol" "ImPS/2"
Option "ZAxisMapping" "4 5"
Option "Emulate3Buttons" "true"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
Identifier "Synaptics Touchpad"
Driver "synaptics"
Option "SendCoreEvents" "true"
Option "Device" "/dev/psaux"
Option "Protocol" "auto-dev"
Option "HorizScrollDelta" "0"
EndSection

Section "Device"
Identifier "Trident Microsystems CyberBlade/i1"
Driver "trident"
BusID "PCI:1:0:0"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
Identifier "Generic Monitor"
Option "DPMS"
HorizSync 28-51
VertRefresh 43-60
EndSection

Section "Screen"
Identifier "Default Screen"
Device "Trident Microsystems CyberBlade/i1"
Monitor "Generic Monitor"
DefaultDepth 24
SubSection "Display"
Depth 1
Modes "1024x768"
EndSubSection
SubSection "Display"
Depth 4
Modes "1024x768"
EndSubSection
SubSection "Display"
Depth 8
Modes "1024x768"
EndSubSection
SubSection "Display"
Depth 15
Modes "1024x768"
EndSubSection
SubSection "Display"
Depth 16
Modes "1024x768"
EndSubSection
SubSection "Display"
Depth 24
Modes "1024x768"
EndSubSection
EndSection

Section "ServerLayout"
Identifier "Default Layout"
Screen "Default Screen"
InputDevice "Generic Keyboard"
InputDevice "Configured Mouse"
InputDevice "stylus" "SendCoreEvents"
InputDevice "cursor" "SendCoreEvents"
InputDevice "eraser" "SendCoreEvents"
InputDevice "Synaptics Touchpad"
EndSection

#everything past here is auto-generated by Puppy's Xorg Wizard...


# Section "Screen"
# Identifier "Screen0"
# Device "Card0"
# Monitor "Monitor0"
# DefaultDepth 24
# Subsection "Display"
# Depth 24
# Modes "1024x768"
# EndSubsection
# EndSection

#PuppyHardwareProfile=Trident_CYBER_8620TOS5082

I copy that to /etc/X11/xorg.conf and xorg.conf.Trident_CYBER_8620TOS5082

I copy xorgwizard2 to /usr/sbin

If I run xorgwizard2 OR xwin the system locks up as it has before.

My question is - why can't the (whatever) program accept the xorg.conf as it is rather than reinventing the wheel? Basically this just isn't worth continuing - I give up! BTW IIR Slackware and Knoppix didn't run on this machine either.

But I do thank all of you for trying.

Dave
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 5 of 12 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, ..., 10, 11, 12 Next
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1061s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0081s) ][ GZIP on ]