Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sun 23 Nov 2014, 08:36
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Puppy Dingo 392 testing, bug reporting
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 3 of 9 [129 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9 Next
Author Message
raffy

Joined: 25 May 2005
Posts: 4796
Location: Manila

PostPosted: Tue 27 Nov 2007, 19:56    Post subject: drag n drop  

Just to clarify, I drag and drop video files to the mplayer desktop icon, so it's the file linked to by the desktop icon that does the work.

I also remember that based on previous discussions, the options below are needed to minimize messages in /tmp:
Code:
/usr/local/bin/gmplayer -msglevel all=-1 &

_________________
Puppy user since Oct 2004. Want FreeOffice? Get the sfs (English only).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
HairyWill


Joined: 26 May 2006
Posts: 2949
Location: Southampton, UK

PostPosted: Tue 27 Nov 2007, 20:10    Post subject:  

I still can't load the module ieee80211_crypt_wep so no wep on my ipw2200. Does this mean that no-one has working wep.

Unencrypted wireless works fine, I've never tried playing with any stronger encryption.

Since Barry built the iso, pnethood has become much more solid.

_________________
Will
contribute: community website, screenshots, puplets, wiki, rss
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
NathanO

Joined: 22 Feb 2007
Posts: 198
Location: San Antonio, TX

PostPosted: Tue 27 Nov 2007, 21:06    Post subject:  

3.92 works good on my tower, xversa will work.

Had problems with xversa on my HP zv9000 laptop, it would not give me an option that would work with the built in LCD.

Xorg in 3.01 works on both.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7082
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Tue 27 Nov 2007, 21:16    Post subject: Re: petget and not enough disk space  

lluamco wrote:
This concerns Dingo 392 and also previous puppy versions.

Sometimes, when installing a pet package using the petget manager, a window warns that there is not enough space left on the disk. And often, there is enough space! I think that the reason is that the the units measuring the free space of the disk and the units of the estimated needed space are NOT the same. In fact, checking the output of the "stat" program, it can be seen that they are given in blocks of sizes 4096 and 512, respectively.
There is thus a factor 8 among them. Thus the required estimated space in petget is overestimated by this factor 8.
I suggest to change the line:

EXPNEEDB=`expr $EXPFILEB \* 3` #bz2 can expand up to x3, need twice temp space. v3.01 changed 5 to 3.

to

EXPNEEDB=$(($(($EXPFREEB*3))/Cool)

Hope it helps.
Lluis

Yes, but it shouldn't matter what the block size is, as the comparisons are relative:
Code:
  EXPFREEB=`stat --filesystem --format=%f /` #no. free blocks.
  EXPFILEB=`stat --format=%b $APKGNAMEEX` #no. blocks.
  EXPNEEDB=`expr $EXPFILEB \* 2` #bz2 can expand up to x3, need twice temp space. v3.01 changed 5 to 3. v3.92 changed to 2.
  #note, probably better to do like this: EXPNEEDB=$($(($EXPFREEB*3)))
  if [ $EXPNEEDB -gt $EXPFREEB ];then

Anyway, I've changed it down again, from *3 to *2.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7082
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Tue 27 Nov 2007, 21:24    Post subject:  

plinej wrote:
After changing to the Stardust theme shouldn't all the yellow be gone in the taskbar? I rarely use jwm so I'm not sure what I need to do to get it to change with the theme.

You must have used the JWM theme changer as well as the GTK theme changer. Yes, that would be a bug in the JWM theme that you have chosen, someone would have to fix that.
You can find the JWM configuration PET package on ibiblio, ...er no, I'll post it here as I have recently fixed something in it. Attached.
jwmconfig-4nov07.tar.gz
Description 
gz

 Download 
Filename  jwmconfig-4nov07.tar.gz 
Filesize  25.48 KB 
Downloaded  286 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Tom Raft

Joined: 03 Nov 2007
Posts: 26

PostPosted: Wed 28 Nov 2007, 03:02    Post subject: Puppy Dingo 392 testing, bug reporting
Subject description: As in alpha 1 wireless network doesn't work after reboot.
 

I use the network wizard, all is recognised and works fine. But after reboot, connection failed. Blinky shows one symbol with activity for wifi, but no second symbol like before for my wireless card. But the options window of blinky shows me that there are three network possibilities: wifi, ethernet and ath0 (my MSI pcmcia wireless card with atheros chipset).

When I run the network wizard again, I see that the profile of my wireless card exists but i have to choose it manually and resume the network wizard with configuration of dhcp. After that I can connect to the internet.

I use frugal install on a six year old dell d400 laptop with 128mb ram, 512 mb pupsave file on a 6 GB hdd, no cd or dvd drive. From version 2.14 up to version 3.01 there are no problems.

I hope you could understand my not so technical description and bad englisch. Sometimes I don't know the right terms and vocabulary.

Tom
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
lluamco

Joined: 16 Mar 2007
Posts: 207
Location: Banyoles, Spain

PostPosted: Wed 28 Nov 2007, 05:40    Post subject: Re: petget and not enough disk space  

BarryK wrote:

Yes, but it shouldn't matter what the block size is, as the comparisons are relative:
Code:
  EXPFREEB=`stat --filesystem --format=%f /` #no. free blocks.
  EXPFILEB=`stat --format=%b $APKGNAMEEX` #no. blocks.
  EXPNEEDB=`expr $EXPFILEB \* 2` #bz2 can expand up to x3, need twice temp space. v3.01 changed 5 to 3. v3.92 changed to 2.
  #note, probably better to do like this: EXPNEEDB=$($(($EXPFREEB*3)))
  if [ $EXPNEEDB -gt $EXPFREEB ];then

Anyway, I've changed it down again, from *3 to *2.


Barry,
my point was trying to stress that the comparisons are not fair, since the block size of the filesystem is 4096, and the block size for files is 512. This can be checked using

Code:

 stat --filesystem --format=%f' blocks of size '%S /

which in my system results in 4521177 blocks of size 4096

and
Code:

 stat --format=%b' blocks of size '%B somefile

which in turn results, for this particular file, 216 blocks of size 512


So my point is that the same block-unit size must be used for the comparison, and this can be afforded dividing EXPNEEDB by 8.
Code:

EXPNEEDB=$(($(($EXPFREEB*3))/8))


(please note double parenthesis in the above expression)
Lluis
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Raman


Joined: 01 Sep 2005
Posts: 86
Location: A Place Where Cows Are Sacred

PostPosted: Wed 28 Nov 2007, 06:05    Post subject: Pmount does not mount USB DVD burners, but MUT does (3.01)
Subject description: Pmount in Dingo 392 (alpha 1 & alpha 2) does not mount USB burner
 

In Puppy 3.01 I have observed that MUT will recognize and mount drives when Pmount does not. Which is to say, MUT seems to be bulletproof in Puppy 3.01, whereas Pmount in Puppy 3.01 is not. Why is that? Why is MUT always able to recognize and mount drives of any sort -- especially USB mass storage devices (DVD/CDrom, external HD, flash, and so forth), while Pmount sometimes does ... but not always.

Is a puzzle. A puzzle which only deepens when using both Puppy 4 alpha's.

Because MUT is not present in both alpha Puppy 4's and Pmount seems to be deficient in recognizing and mounting USB devices, I cannot recognize or mount any of my USB devices with Puppy 4 Pmount. Puppy 4 Pmount will not mount my current USB DVD/CDrom burners or USB external hard drives or my assorted USB flash drives. I have to use Puppy 3 or Puppy 3.01 (or earlier Puppy releases) to have MUT mount these otherwise bug-free and entirely effective USB DVD/CDrom burners, external USB HD's, and USB flash drives. Only MUT in Puppy 3 and earlier will reliably recognize USB drives of whatever sort, whereas Pmount is flaky, USB-wise. What does MUT have that Pmount does not have? Why does Pmount not recognize USB drives but the earlier Puppy releases with MUT will recognize ALL USB drives of whatever sort, and do so all the time?

Would it be a burden to include MUT in Puppy 4? If not, would it be a burden to fix the obvious USB bug in Pmount? Given that USB devices are so common and critical?

Parenthetically, let me note that alpha 2 will actually recognize and enable my many RS232 serial modems, whereas alpha 1 would not.

Hail Puppy!

Raman

Last edited by Raman on Wed 28 Nov 2007, 16:27; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
fwilt1

Joined: 11 Nov 2007
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Wed 28 Nov 2007, 07:46    Post subject: some bugs
Subject description: application issues
 

I am using dingo 392 running in ram from cd, on pentium 4 with 5112 of memory.

Impressed with ease of connecting to cable, liked the auto save, and the disappearance of having to nominate file size etc on first use.

On initial boot the screen had icons superimposed on each other, this ok on subsequent boots

On trying to load email client the desktop shows the program for about half a second then it disappears.

Contacts won't load

calendar claims
Another copy of OSMO is already running or it has been stopped uncleanly (in this case please remove '/root/.osmo/pid' file and try again).

Calc has similar fault to email, and the edit icon has a same issue., and I found after hitting initial OK in JWM the same problem
Cups found our epson cx5700F, which is a first.

So in brief hardware detection is great, but application loading seems to have a fault.
hope this helps
jim
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
linuxcbon

Joined: 09 Aug 2007
Posts: 792

PostPosted: Wed 28 Nov 2007, 17:58    Post subject:  

Hardinfo : /usr/lib/libz.so missing , it's when you choose benchmarks->CPU ZLib

When booting from cd with pfix=ram, it loads pup_392.sfs and copying to ram is long with disk activity.

With live cd, AutoDHCP, when not saving param, all is ok except DNS param set to 0.0.0.0

GTK xset : Bell : doesnt bell.

Set global font size : X has to be restarted ?

The icon called "play" is for mplayer ? I though it was for games :-p

How is the Trash used or set up ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7082
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Wed 28 Nov 2007, 18:27    Post subject: Re: petget and not enough disk space  

lluamco wrote:
BarryK wrote:

Yes, but it shouldn't matter what the block size is, as the comparisons are relative:
Code:
  EXPFREEB=`stat --filesystem --format=%f /` #no. free blocks.
  EXPFILEB=`stat --format=%b $APKGNAMEEX` #no. blocks.
  EXPNEEDB=`expr $EXPFILEB \* 2` #bz2 can expand up to x3, need twice temp space. v3.01 changed 5 to 3. v3.92 changed to 2.
  #note, probably better to do like this: EXPNEEDB=$($(($EXPFREEB*3)))
  if [ $EXPNEEDB -gt $EXPFREEB ];then

Anyway, I've changed it down again, from *3 to *2.


Barry,
my point was trying to stress that the comparisons are not fair, since the block size of the filesystem is 4096, and the block size for files is 512. This can be checked using

Code:

 stat --filesystem --format=%f' blocks of size '%S /

which in my system results in 4521177 blocks of size 4096

and
Code:

 stat --format=%b' blocks of size '%B somefile

which in turn results, for this particular file, 216 blocks of size 512


So my point is that the same block-unit size must be used for the comparison, and this can be afforded dividing EXPNEEDB by 8.
Code:

EXPNEEDB=$(($(($EXPFREEB*3))/8))


(please note double parenthesis in the above expression)
Lluis

Oh, I see. Well, I'll have to rewrite that bit of code. You can't assume 4096 either, it could be 1024 as in my case with a ext2 f.s.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7082
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Wed 28 Nov 2007, 18:29    Post subject: Re: Pmount does not mount USB DVD burners, but MUT does (3.0
Subject description: Pmount in Dingo 392 (alpha 1 & alpha 2) does not mount USB burner
 

Raman wrote:
In Puppy 3.01 I have observed that MUT will recognize and mount drives when Pmount does not. Which is to say, MUT seems to be bulletproof in Puppy 3.01, whereas Pmount in Puppy 3.01 is not. Why is that? Why is MUT always able to recognize and mount drives of any sort -- especially USB mass storage devices (DVD/CDrom, external HD, flash, and so forth), while Pmount sometimes does ... but not always.

Is a puzzle. A puzzle which only deepens when using both Puppy 4 alpha's.

Because MUT is not present in both alpha Puppy 4's and Pmount seems to be deficient in recognizing and mounting USB devices, I cannot recognize or mount any of my USB devices with Puppy 4 Pmount. Puppy 4 Pmount will not mount my current USB DVD/CDrom burners or USB external hard drives or my assorted USB flash drives. I have to use Puppy 3 or Puppy 3.01 (or earlier Puppy releases) to have MUT mount these otherwise bug-free and entirely effective USB DVD/CDrom burners, external USB HD's, and USB flash drives. Only MUT in Puppy 3 and earlier will reliably recognize USB drives of whatever sort, whereas Pmount is flaky, USB-wise. What does MUT have that Pmount does not have? Why does Pmount not recognize USB drives but the earlier Puppy releases with MUT will recognize ALL USB drives of whatever sort, and do so all the time?

Would it be a burden to include MUT in Puppy 4? If not, would it be a burden to fix the obvious USB bug in Pmount? Given that USB devices are so common and critical?

Parenthetically, let me note that alpha 2 will actually recognize and enable my many RS232 serial modems, whereas alpha 1 would not.

Hail Puppy!

Raman

Raman,
Can you please open a rxvt terminal and run:
# probepart
...let me know if that correctly detects everything.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7082
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Wed 28 Nov 2007, 18:33    Post subject: Re: some bugs
Subject description: application issues
 

fwilt1 wrote:
I am using dingo 392 running in ram from cd, on pentium 4 with 5112 of memory.

Impressed with ease of connecting to cable, liked the auto save, and the disappearance of having to nominate file size etc on first use.

On initial boot the screen had icons superimposed on each other, this ok on subsequent boots

On trying to load email client the desktop shows the program for about half a second then it disappears.

Contacts won't load

calendar claims
Another copy of OSMO is already running or it has been stopped uncleanly (in this case please remove '/root/.osmo/pid' file and try again).

Calc has similar fault to email, and the edit icon has a same issue., and I found after hitting initial OK in JWM the same problem
Cups found our epson cx5700F, which is a first.

So in brief hardware detection is great, but application loading seems to have a fault.
hope this helps
jim

The fact that you have a 'contacts' desktop icon means that you have upgraded an existing pup_save file, which is expressly warned against in the release announcement on my blog. This early alpha is not ready for that, and your pup_save file is stuffed up.
Please read the instructions first.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7082
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Wed 28 Nov 2007, 18:42    Post subject:  

linuxcbon wrote:
Hardinfo : /usr/lib/libz.so missing , it's when you choose benchmarks->CPU ZLib

The icon called "play" is for mplayer ? I though it was for games :-p

I just tested 'CPU Zlib', it works and I don't have a /usr/lib/libz.so. ...but, what I do have is /lib/libz.so as I have the 'devx' file loaded. So, I need to put that into puppy when the devx file is not loaded. done.

'play', ah yes... what is needed is a verb, a "doing word" that means to play a video file Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
cthisbear

Joined: 29 Jan 2006
Posts: 3453
Location: Sydney Australia

PostPosted: Wed 28 Nov 2007, 18:53    Post subject:  

Raman:
" May I be permitted to _mount_ the modest proposal that MUT be included in Puppy 4? "

Vote now?

http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=23801

Chris
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 3 of 9 [129 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1365s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0262s) ][ GZIP on ]