Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sat 25 Oct 2014, 13:37
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Dragon Puppy
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 2 of 5 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 Next
Author Message
MU


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 13642
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany

PostPosted: Wed 21 Nov 2007, 19:08    Post_subject:  

wow, that screenshot looks fanatastic Exclamation
I only had a black&white version of the dragon before.
Will add the new one to Muppy008.

Congrats for the integration of Xfce and Puppy Smile

Mark
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
D1G1T


Joined: 17 Nov 2007
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Thu 22 Nov 2007, 01:35    Post_subject:  

Lobster wrote:
D1G1T wrote:

About .sfs does they load into RAM after boot or just mount?


They run in RAM Smile


Are you sure because when i copied for ex. oof.sfs to home and reboot. I have open office in puppy but at startup puppy dont say copying oof.sfs to RAM.

Today worked few hours on Dragon puppy.

I have done:
------------------

some menu cleanup

some useless files deleted Dragon puppy is now 107MB, but still working

added xpdf

changed boot screen

changed sound at startup

changed some icons

fixed emblems


So Dragon puppy 2 will be released soon. Maybe i codename it "Junior". Rolling Eyes

If you have ideas, found bugs. Post it. Thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
ICQ 
yim


Joined: 01 Sep 2007
Posts: 167
Location: Blue Ridge Mtns

PostPosted: Fri 23 Nov 2007, 12:58    Post_subject:  

really like dragonpup not bloated as some say, firefox works great, any idea how to get the xvesa wizard to work?

thanks again for dragonpup
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
cb88


Joined: 28 Jan 2007
Posts: 1169
Location: USA

PostPosted: Fri 23 Nov 2007, 15:51    Post_subject:  

About sfs files... pup_xxx.sfs may or may not load to ram depends on if you have enough.... normally 128 for a standard puppy older versions have be lower though

sfs addtions generally do not load to ram(most are too big....i have one that is in the 400mb range) but they are cached to ram....just like any other program...

_________________
Taking Puppy Linux to the limit of perfection. meanwhile try "puppy pfix=duct_tape" kernel parem eater.
X86: Sager NP6110 3630QM 16GB ram, Tyan Thunder 2 2x 300Mhz
Sun: SS2 , LX , SS5 , SS10 , SS20 ,Ultra 1, Ultra 10 , T2000
Mac: Platinum Plus, SE/30
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
ttuuxxx


Joined: 05 May 2007
Posts: 10829
Location: Ontario Canada,Sydney Australia

PostPosted: Sat 24 Nov 2007, 03:12    Post_subject: looks nice  

I haven't tried dragon puppy because i've been too busy with Fire Hydrant, but what you are describing is a puppy fault in puppy 3.0, 3.1 when you remaster with "Dougal enhanced remaster" it basically kills xvesa wizard, and your stuck with the default over large display, alternatively Dragon puppy should be remastered from start using the "Remaster puppy universal cd" the drawback from using that one is that you have to manually move a few applications during the remaster or you loose your defaults like Firefox ad-ons and skins get erased, so you move the Mozilla folder, or pidgin loses the names, rooms etc, so you move the "purple" folder, and if your using icewm which this distro isn't, you have to move the "themes" folder or it reverts back to the default themes. hope this helps
also have you had any problems with Xfce , icewm always has bugs, like the start menu gets all out of order, then i edit the menu and get it looking right and change the theme or install an app and boom its all messed up again, or the pidgin taskbar icon gets clipped, I think future Fire Hydrant releases will be Xfce have fun ttuuxxx www.ttuuxxx.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
technowomble


Joined: 11 Oct 2007
Posts: 76
Location: West Gloucestershire, UK

PostPosted: Sat 24 Nov 2007, 05:08    Post_subject:  

I D/L'd Dragon Puppy last night and had a quick look at it, and it's looking good. I needed to manually select Xorg resolution, but that's a two-click job - and seems to be a Puppy thing with my Dell Latitude CPi laptop - and the background selector opens and works, but doesn't seem to ' take ', although the default wallpaper is cool! Other than that Dragon is the current candidate for ' Puppyfying ' my laptop as soon as I replace my defunct desktop.
I saw somewhere on the Puppy site that Gimp 2.4 is available in Slackware, any chance of it being in the next Dragon? ( My main use for the lappie will be reviewing digital photos and making a ' first cut '. )
One question, a few days ago I had to re-install SAM Linux on the laptop, so I tried a full install of Shard, which - as far as I can see - installed the base Puppy, then when I shut down, as well as asking where I wanted to place .pupsave it asked if I wanted to save the .sfs to HD as well. The resultant set-up did not boot! Actually it started, failed and offered to re-start but failed again at the same point. I suspect that I'm missing something obvious, I've several years experience of linux, but on the ' big distros ', Puppy makes you think a bit more!
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Lobster
Official Crustacean


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 15117
Location: Paradox Realm

PostPosted: Sat 24 Nov 2007, 12:22    Post_subject:  

Quote:
I tried a full install of Shard


I run Shard from CD and only know about that. In fact I usually (as I am now) run the full Linux Tmxxine. Some people install to HD, any problems will be the same as if they installed Puppy NOP to HD and others will know far better why this occurs . . . Confused

_________________
Puppy WIKI
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Béèm


Joined: 21 Nov 2006
Posts: 11782
Location: Brussels IBM Thinkpad R40, 256MB, 20GB, WiFi ipw2100. Frugal Lin'N'Win

PostPosted: Sat 24 Nov 2007, 14:36    Post_subject:  

I installed it as frugal like I did for other Puppy versions.
Added Dragon-1 to the menu list likewise.
Dragon comes at a stop after displaying Search for Puppy files in computer disk drives.
A msg says: /bin/sh: can't access tty; job control turned off
And then there is the command prompt #
Commands like reboot poweroff aren't found.

What goes wrong here?

_________________
Time savers:
Find packages in a snap and install using Puppy Package Manager (Menu).
Consult Wikka
Use peppyy's puppysearch
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
bezeen

Joined: 16 Nov 2007
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Sat 24 Nov 2007, 14:47    Post_subject:  

I tested Dragon on my mediaPC - the grey parts of the icons was too dark for the LCDtv and the projector ;(

and then i mounted my ntfsdrive - pmount started rox - blue on black was impossible to read (why does the mount programs start rox - not thunar?).

I'd also problem with the new ati 7.10 driver - i only get 1080p on my tv (1280x720 only in xorg.conf). I think its ati's drivers problem not xorg/puppy...

But I realy liked it on my surfPC - looked great - tnx for a goodlooking puppy
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
oldog1984


Joined: 13 Feb 2007
Posts: 37
Location: columbus,ohio

PostPosted: Sat 24 Nov 2007, 17:15    Post_subject: looks nice one problem  

looks real nice i downloaded it today only thing is you don't have in networks LinNeighborhood samba client so i can get to my other computer thur the network but it does look VERY NICE THANK YOU Very Happy Very Happy Very Happy Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
ttuuxxx


Joined: 05 May 2007
Posts: 10829
Location: Ontario Canada,Sydney Australia

PostPosted: Sun 25 Nov 2007, 12:31    Post_subject: Re: looks nice one problem  

oldog1984 wrote:
looks real nice i downloaded it today only thing is you don't have in networks LinNeighborhood samba client so i can get to my other computer thur the network but it does look VERY NICE THANK YOU Very Happy Very Happy Very Happy Very Happy

install this http://www.puppylinux.ca/pet2/linneighborhood-0.6.5patched.pet
then it will ask you to install samba and click yes, then everything should work fine Smile I have the same problems with my 4 Fire Hydrant release right now , www.ttuuxxx.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
oldog1984


Joined: 13 Feb 2007
Posts: 37
Location: columbus,ohio

PostPosted: Sun 25 Nov 2007, 12:44    Post_subject:  

ttuuxxx thank you for all your help still working learning . i am just a slow learner.lol Razz Razz
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
D1G1T


Joined: 17 Nov 2007
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Sun 02 Dec 2007, 02:54    Post_subject: New release of Dragon Puppy
Sub_title: Release number 2 ... codename "Junior"
 

Dragon puppy 2 - codename "Junior"

Ok I have finished some modifications on Dragon puppy. As I mentioned before. I have done some clean up added pdf reader. Iso size is now 108 MB Many work to do. Still working on that stupid xvesa script. Maybe in next release wil be fixed.

Bonus:

Added new wallpaper. I hope you will like it.

Added startup sound. So when your Dragon puppy boot every in 10m circle will know.

I have done some work on boot so its now faster.

Fixed emblems and some file asociations.

Screenshot:



Have to go to work again.

I will download .iso today at evening. Good bye guys. At next release. I think about your ideas. Give some more inspiration.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
ICQ 
Béèm


Joined: 21 Nov 2006
Posts: 11782
Location: Brussels IBM Thinkpad R40, 256MB, 20GB, WiFi ipw2100. Frugal Lin'N'Win

PostPosted: Sun 02 Dec 2007, 19:58    Post_subject:  

Béèm wrote:
I installed it as frugal like I did for other Puppy versions.
Added Dragon-1 to the menu list likewise.
Dragon comes at a stop after displaying Search for Puppy files in computer disk drives.
A msg says: /bin/sh: can't access tty; job control turned off
And then there is the command prompt #
Commands like reboot poweroff aren't found.

What goes wrong here?
Ok sorted it out.
See http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=154200#154200
Beware, long thread.

_________________
Time savers:
Find packages in a snap and install using Puppy Package Manager (Menu).
Consult Wikka
Use peppyy's puppysearch
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
oldog1984


Joined: 13 Feb 2007
Posts: 37
Location: columbus,ohio

PostPosted: Sun 09 Dec 2007, 11:28    Post_subject:  

not able to download dragon puppy junior tried it 2 times didnt work any help..thanks maybe a utorrent?
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 2 of 5 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 Next
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0883s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0052s) ][ GZIP on ]