wpa and 2.17 are a no go? problem not a 2.17 issue, sorry

Please post any bugs you have found
Message
Author
laptopnewbee
Posts: 166
Joined: Sun 20 Aug 2006, 03:43

#21 Post by laptopnewbee »

Vettephil wrote: Thanks Laptopnewbee!
thanks for the honor, but i have been working from the advice of others (like tempestuous) who are more knowledgable than i, they deserve the real kudos.

i haven't been posting lately because i have been tied down with work and haven't gotten to work on solving my encryption issues, so if you get wpa working please post the process here.
so much to learn, so late a start.

Vettephil
Posts: 40
Joined: Mon 15 Oct 2007, 17:49

#22 Post by Vettephil »

A quick update to my previous posts:
PCMCIA card has been ordered and should arrive this week.
Haven't tackled WPA yet.
Scripted the connection info/commands for my Netgear Wireless USB adapter which makes connecting a breeze:

Code: Select all

#!/bin/sh
modprobe r8187
sleep 5s
ifconfig wlan0 up
sleep 10s
iwconfig wlan0 essid PWB
iwconfig wlan0 key off
iwconfig wlan0 mode managed
rm /etc/dhcpc/*.pid
dhcpcd -t 30 -h puppypc -d wlan0
ifconfig
iwconfig
Original post with info:
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=22469

Cheers!
-PHIL

laptopnewbee
Posts: 166
Joined: Sun 20 Aug 2006, 03:43

#23 Post by laptopnewbee »

Vettephil wrote: A quick update to my previous posts:
PCMCIA card has been ordered and should arrive this week.
Haven't tackled WPA yet.
when the card comes in you may be able to use it just fine with wpa and the network wizard, i did with my card as stated in my latest post to this thread:
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic. ... 5&start=15

by the way, do you know which chipset it will have?
so much to learn, so late a start.

Vettephil
Posts: 40
Joined: Mon 15 Oct 2007, 17:49

#24 Post by Vettephil »

laptopnewbee wrote:by the way, do you know which chipset it will have?
You'll have to help me out - I don't know how to determine the chipset. The PCMCIA card I bought is a D-Link DWL-G650. I have been able to get it loaded and configured using the NDISWrapper option of Connection Wizard and DHCP.

Last step will be to activate WPA and then re-install the whole setup on my new (used) Dell C600 which I bought to be a dedicated pup. :D

Updates to follow...
-PHIL
Can You Picture A Better World?
http://www.PhotographersWithoutBorders.org

setecio
Posts: 326
Joined: Wed 01 Nov 2006, 12:09
Location: UK

#25 Post by setecio »

Vettephil wrote:
laptopnewbee wrote:by the way, do you know which chipset it will have?
You'll have to help me out - I don't know how to determine the chipset. The PCMCIA card I bought is a D-Link DWL-G650.
-PHIL
This site is good for that :D

http://linux-wless.passys.nl/query_alles.php?

Vettephil
Posts: 40
Joined: Mon 15 Oct 2007, 17:49

#26 Post by Vettephil »

Alas, they have older versions listed, but not my exact model. I'll drop the admin an email and hope that he updates the list.

Thanks for the link!

Vettephil
Posts: 40
Joined: Mon 15 Oct 2007, 17:49

#27 Post by Vettephil »

FINAL UPDATE:
New (used) Dell Latitude C600 P3 / 256 mb RAM / 20 gig HDD / D-Link DWL-G650 PCMCIA wifi card..... Success! Installed from the NDISWrapper as before and I now have wifi with WPA security to my home router. Automatically loads and connects on boot. Puppy 3.00 Retro.

Thanks to all who contributed and offered support!

-PHIL
Can You Picture A Better World?
http://www.PhotographersWithoutBorders.org

JohnRoberts
Posts: 145
Joined: Thu 30 Nov 2006, 00:04
Location: Greece

#28 Post by JohnRoberts »

@ tempestuous & friends:

Regarding Netgear WG111v2 operation on Puppy 2.17.1 (LiveCD), I am trying to comprehend all the necessary steps to make it work from the info found in this post and http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=21442 and taking into account recent developments and patches provided by tempestuous:

> If I got it correct one needs to fix dhcpcd (broken in 2.17.1) with the one found here: http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=21177 (dhcpcd-3.1.4.pet)

>The RTL8180/8187 module to go with the kernel used (uname -r -> 2.6.21.5)
(rtl-wifi-UPDATE-k2.6.21.5.pet
as found here: http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=21442

> The new network setup wizard (network-wizard-Oct07.pet) found here http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=21177

> If other 80211 modules are already present one has to remove them from /lib/modules/2.6.21.5/kernel/net/ieee80211/

>then load the necessary modules by hand

Code: Select all

# modprobe ieee80211_crypt-rtl

# modprobe ieee80211_crypt_wep-rtl

# modprobe ieee80211_crypt_tkip-rtl

# modprobe ieee80211_crypt_ccmp-rtl

# modprobe ieee80211-rtl

# modprobe r8187

# modprobe aes

# modprobe arc4

# modprobe crc32c

# modprobe michael_mic 

# ifconfig wlan0 up
> Is this still necessary (loading all modules by hand), or the new network wizard makes things simpler?

Is it now possible to use the wizard to adjust WPA/WPA2 or one is still required to do it by hand using wpa_supplicant? Instead of the manual way described using:

Code: Select all

rm /var/run/wpa_supplicant/*
wpa_supplicant -i wlan0 -D ipw -c /etc/wpa_supplicant.conf -dd
and then:

Code: Select all

rm /etc/dhcpc/*.pid
dhcpcd -t 30 -h puppypc -d wlan0
what would be the correct way (wizard allowing...)?

If it is necessary to stick with the manual way, can it be scriptable? How many steps (scripts) would it take (say one for loading modules, one for ifconfig/wpa and one for dhcpcd?)?? Or something along the lines of above code from Vettephil?

Code: Select all

#!/bin/sh
modprobe r8187
sleep 5s
ifconfig wlan0 up
sleep 10s
iwconfig wlan0 essid PWB
iwconfig wlan0 key off
iwconfig wlan0 mode managed
rm /etc/dhcpc/*.pid
dhcpcd -t 30 -h puppypc -d wlan0
ifconfig
iwconfig 
Is it possible to concatenate or chainlink the various pets used above as a bigger pet-file?

Many Tks
Help M$ become a Linux distro maintainer...
Force-feed them with Open-Source faster than they can produce patents

tempestuous
Posts: 5464
Joined: Fri 10 Jun 2005, 05:12
Location: Australia

#29 Post by tempestuous »

John Roberts,
In general, the (updated) Network Wizard should take care of everything, but with drivers that are known to be unreliable (such as the Realtek) it's a good idea to run all commands manually to check that things are working. Even if something fails, you will at least know at which point in the process the failure occurred ... for example:
Will the Realtek drivers load, and create an interface?
Will the wifi connection work with no encryption?
Will the wifi connection work with WEP?
Will the wifi connection work with WPA?
Will DHCP succeed?

So following this logic, refer to my wifi HOWTO here
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=22469

You should first load the Realtek modules and see if an interface has been created with "ifconfig -a" and "iwconfig".

If good so far, disable encryption at your router and see if you can establish a connection, using the commands in the first part of the HOWTO.

If successful, you can now take the next step and enable encryption. If you want to use WPA encryption, refer to PART 2 of the HOWTO. Note that the sequence of commands is now quite different, because "iwconfig" is not used at all. Instead, "wpa_supplicant" is used.
One thing I didn't mention in the HOWTO (and will probably update) is to make sure that all encryption-related modules are loaded before attempting an encrypted connection. So -

Code: Select all

modprobe arc4
modprobe crc32c
modprobe aes
modprobe michael_mic
modprobe ecb ## (forum member symx says this is necessary)
Some of these are related to WEP, some to WPA, I'm not sure which is which.

Once you know everything works, you could see if the Wizard works. It may still be necessary to pre-load some of the modules, and you could do this from the startup script /etc/rc.d/rc.local

Personally, I hate Wizards, and I would make a single script that could be run on-demand.
To be really neat, you could link this script to an icon on the desktop.

JohnRoberts
Posts: 145
Joined: Thu 30 Nov 2006, 00:04
Location: Greece

#30 Post by JohnRoberts »

Many (many) thanks...I missed that how-to alltogether. Will go for the manual method.

I did install the 3 pet-s mentioned above (dhcpcd, new network wizard and rtl8187 kernel modules)...I'm writing from the resulting remastered LiveCD.
Tried the wizard after loading the modules but WPA/WPA2 is greyed out, along with a message RTL8187 does not support WPA, so only manual configuration for this one...

I will give it a try once I got an available AP (@ home my DSL connection is through a normal wired router...)
Help M$ become a Linux distro maintainer...
Force-feed them with Open-Source faster than they can produce patents

Post Reply