Java for puppy ?

News, happenings
Message
Author
User avatar
JohnMurga
Site Admin
Posts: 555
Joined: Wed 04 May 2005, 04:26
Location: Far to the east
Contact:

Java for puppy ?

#1 Post by JohnMurga »

Hey

Here is a snapshot of a Java development environment for Puppy.

http://www.murga.org/~puppy/viewtopic.p ... 4&start=45

It contains the following :
  • Cairo (for enabling some of the advanced 2D features in Swing)
    Jikes (as a replacement for the Java compiler/JDK)
    GNU classpath (the Java run-time libraries)
    JamVM (a fairly slow but TINY Java VM).
    java (a java laucher script I wrote that launches JamVM using Cairo
I have to admit that having been involved with ClassPath in the past I was very skeptical, but having managed to run and use Tomcat and Eclipse without any problems and JEdit 4.2 (a very SWING intensive app) with a fewer issues than I was expecting I was impressed.

JanVM is a little slow, but can't be beaten for size ... When SableVM gets updated I may re-create this package with that and see how they compare.

What does this mean for you ?

This means that you should be able to run many Java programs in Puppy and develop while avoiding the Java Trap (http://www.gnu.org/philosophy/java-trap.html).

The snapshot can be found at :

http://www.murga.org/_puppy/JamJikesCairo.tar.gz

To install just "cd /" and then "tar -zxvf JamJikesCairo.tar.gz".

To run just type "java" ;-)
To compile use "jikes" ...

Things like Tomcat and Ant require some configuration to use Jikes as the default compiler... ALL components have been built from scratch, and I believe I can shave maybe about a 1Mb off the current package size (6Mb).

Enjoy

Cheers
JohnM

User avatar
edoc
Posts: 4729
Joined: Sun 07 Aug 2005, 20:16
Location: Southeast Georgia, USA
Contact:

Re: Java for puppy ?

#2 Post by edoc »

JohnMurga wrote:Here is a snapshot of a Java development environment for Puppy.
Has this been tested in 1.0.5rc or 1.0.4 or both, please?

Thanks! doc
[b]Thanks! David[/b]
[i]Home page: [/i][url]http://nevils-station.com[/url]
[i]Don't google[/i] [b]Search![/b] [url]http://duckduckgo.com[/url]
TahrPup64 & Lighthouse64-b602 & JL64-603

User avatar
JohnMurga
Site Admin
Posts: 555
Joined: Wed 04 May 2005, 04:26
Location: Far to the east
Contact:

Re: Java for puppy ?

#3 Post by JohnMurga »

edoc wrote:
JohnMurga wrote:Here is a snapshot of a Java development environment for Puppy.
Has this been tested in 1.0.5rc or 1.0.4 or both, please?

Thanks! doc
Both ... Screen in original topic is from 1.0.5 but this on is is from 1.0.4.

Additionally, if you want to run Tomcat 5.5 out-of-the-box just :
  • mkdir /usr/local/classpath/bin
    cp /usr/local/bin/java /usr/local/classpath/bin
    export JAVA_HOME=/usr/local/classpath
    Then untar the Tomcat5.5 package and the Tomcat5.5-compat to the same dir.
    Go to the tomcat bin directory and type "./catalina.sh start"
    Et voila!
All the examples I tried (including the JSP2 ones), worked without a hitch.

Cheers
JohnM
Attachments
tomcat.PNG
(67.96 KiB) Downloaded 6487 times

raffy
Posts: 4798
Joined: Wed 25 May 2005, 12:20
Location: Manila

Client Only

#4 Post by raffy »

For a client (user) only install, are all the files needed?

(Pardon the Java newbie question :) )

User avatar
JohnMurga
Site Admin
Posts: 555
Joined: Wed 04 May 2005, 04:26
Location: Far to the east
Contact:

Re: Client Only

#5 Post by JohnMurga »

raffy wrote:For a client (user) only install, are all the files needed?

(Pardon the Java newbie question :) )
Jikes is the only thing you don't really need unless you are compiling, but it is pretty small, so it is work including to make the package complete.

Cheers
JohnM

User avatar
rarsa
Posts: 3053
Joined: Sun 29 May 2005, 20:30
Location: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
Contact:

#6 Post by rarsa »

Hi John,

Thanks for the puppyfied java package.

I'm trying to configure Opera to use the jamjikescairo version that you posted.

The problem is that Opera is expecting a folder containing .. and I quote
The path you are looking for is the directory of your Java installation containing the files libjava.so and libawt.so.
Your package does not include those files, should I create a symlink to somewhere?

User avatar
JohnMurga
Site Admin
Posts: 555
Joined: Wed 04 May 2005, 04:26
Location: Far to the east
Contact:

#7 Post by JohnMurga »

rarsa wrote:Hi John,

Thanks for the puppyfied java package.

I'm trying to configure Opera to use the jamjikescairo version that you posted.

The problem is that Opera is expecting a folder containing .. and I quote
The path you are looking for is the directory of your Java installation containing the files libjava.so and libawt.so.
Your package does not include those files, should I create a symlink to somewhere?
As I mentioned in the thread above, I believe that the only ClassPath driven VM to offer a Java plug-in is GCJ.

JanVM will allow you to run the applet viewer but won't work as a plugin.

Sorry.

Cheers
JohnM

User avatar
rarsa
Posts: 3053
Joined: Sun 29 May 2005, 20:30
Location: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
Contact:

#8 Post by rarsa »

Yes, I read about the plugin, but Opera does not use the plug-in, It uses the JRE.

http://www.opera.com/support/search/sup ... ?index=459

User avatar
JohnMurga
Site Admin
Posts: 555
Joined: Wed 04 May 2005, 04:26
Location: Far to the east
Contact:

#9 Post by JohnMurga »

rarsa wrote:Yes, I read about the plugin, but Opera does not use the plug-in, It uses the JRE.

http://www.opera.com/support/search/sup ... ?index=459
My apollogies ... I didn't know that ...

Interesting that works with the IBM JDK too.

I'll have to look into this.

Cheers
JohnM

User avatar
Lobster
Official Crustacean
Posts: 15522
Joined: Wed 04 May 2005, 06:06
Location: Paradox Realm
Contact:

#10 Post by Lobster »

I downloaded the
JamJikesCairo.tar.gz and stuck it in the / (top directory)
and untared - as you suggest :) - many thanks

. . .then I used jikes hello.java to compile a text file

Code: Select all

class myfirstjavaprog
{  
        public static void main(String args[])
        {
           System.out.println("Hello World!");
        }
}
but managed to get the following error message
*** Semantic Error: You need to modify your classpath, sourcepath,
bootclasspath, and/or extdirs setup. Jikes could not find package "java.lang" in:
I am not really sure what that means . . .
Is there any hope for me?

How exciting - compiling a tiny java in tiny Puppy . . . well trying to . . .

:)
Puppy Raspup 8.2Final 8)
Puppy Links Page http://www.smokey01.com/bruceb/puppy.html :D

User avatar
rarsa
Posts: 3053
Joined: Sun 29 May 2005, 20:30
Location: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
Contact:

#11 Post by rarsa »

You need to either set the CLASS_PATH environment variable or pass the -cp parameter to the compiler

Class path should poing to the class libraries required by your application.

PeterSieg
Posts: 363
Joined: Wed 04 May 2005, 16:06
Location: Germany, 37603
Contact:

Java runs, but can not compile..?

#12 Post by PeterSieg »

Hi John. First MANY thanks for the java you put together!!!

I grapped some old java app from me and gave them a test run.
The java apps were compiled using windows jdk 1.0.2 - so VERY old :)
But they do run! within Puppy 1.0.5rc and usr_devx.sfs (needed?)!! Great!
I think, they will not run with just 128MB Ram (got an error message in qemu... vm out of memory - increased memory to 256 = ok).

However, I tried also to compile my simple java apps with jikes:
*** Semantic Error: You need to modify your classpath, sourcepath,
bootclasspath, and/or extdirs setup. Jikes could not find package "java.lang" in:
I tried to give various -cp / -classpath or -bootclasspath like:
-bootclasspath /usr/local/classpath
-bootclasspath /usr/local/classpath/
-bootclasspath /usr/local/classpath/lib/classpath
-bootclasspath /usr/local/classpath/lib/classpath/

nothing worked..? Could you please help here..?
What do I have to set to make compiling java apps working?

Many thanks!

Peter Sieg
Have fun :)

PeterSieg
Posts: 363
Joined: Wed 04 May 2005, 16:06
Location: Germany, 37603
Contact:

Java runs in 196MB memory...

#13 Post by PeterSieg »

Just reduced to 196MB in qemu and java still runs.. so don't need 256MB :)

I tried again jikes with -cp '<path>' but still same error message..
I also copied my sample java app into:
/usr/local/classpath/lib/classpath
(where the libjavalang.so is found)
and issued:
#jikes <myapp>.java
in here, but still same error messages..?

PS
Have fun :)

PeterSieg
Posts: 363
Joined: Wed 04 May 2005, 16:06
Location: Germany, 37603
Contact:

Greetings from vmware...

#14 Post by PeterSieg »

Writing this from inside vmware Puppy 1.0.5rc using just 160MB simulated ram and java
still runs fine :) Internet access through simulated NIC, using NAT and our company windows 2000 workstation (haha..)

I was also looking for an 'appletviewer' executable/link/script, but couldn't find one..?

PS
Have fun :)

User avatar
JohnMurga
Site Admin
Posts: 555
Joined: Wed 04 May 2005, 04:26
Location: Far to the east
Contact:

#15 Post by JohnMurga »

Sorry ... Been to Miami for the weekend ... <g>

I'll look into the jikes problems this evening, but it worked OK for me.

usr_devx.sfs is NOT needed.

Cheers
JohnM

PeterSieg
Posts: 363
Joined: Wed 04 May 2005, 16:06
Location: Germany, 37603
Contact:

Any news on the issues found..?

#16 Post by PeterSieg »

Any news on the issues found..?

Sorry, can't wait to get jikes+appletviewer going.. 8)

PS
Have fun :)

kamranzaidi
Posts: 14
Joined: Sat 01 Oct 2005, 04:07
Location: Chicago.IL.US
Contact:

#17 Post by kamranzaidi »

just wondering did someone installed eclipse (what version) on puppy, and jre being used for eclipse?

PeterSieg
Posts: 363
Joined: Wed 04 May 2005, 16:06
Location: Germany, 37603
Contact:

Any news on free Java for Puppy? Jikes problem?

#18 Post by PeterSieg »

Hi John. I assume you are busy with a new incarnation of a 50m opera+perl
puplet :lol: ..?

Any news on free Java for Puppy? Jikes problem?
I really would like to get compiling java apps in Puppy working...

Thanks, Peter
Have fun :)

User avatar
JohnMurga
Site Admin
Posts: 555
Joined: Wed 04 May 2005, 04:26
Location: Far to the east
Contact:

Re: Any news on free Java for Puppy? Jikes problem?

#19 Post by JohnMurga »

Hi,
PeterSieg wrote:Hi John. I assume you are busy with a new incarnation of a 50m opera+perl
puplet :lol: ..?

Any news on free Java for Puppy? Jikes problem?
I really would like to get compiling java apps in Puppy working...

Thanks, Peter
Yes, sorry ... I had surgery, it was supposed to be routine but there where slight complications so I have been completely out of action for a while.

Currently I am catching up on work ... But this is all on my list :-(

Liked your web-site BTW ;-)

Cheers
JohnM

PeterSieg
Posts: 363
Joined: Wed 04 May 2005, 16:06
Location: Germany, 37603
Contact:

Hope everything ist good now - take your time...

#20 Post by PeterSieg »

Hi John,

hope everything ist good now - take your time...
The health is one of the most important things!

PS
Have fun :)

Post Reply