Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sat 20 Dec 2014, 01:20
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Puppy 3.01 final bugs reports here
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 2 of 12 [171 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, ..., 10, 11, 12 Next
Author Message
Wolf Pup

Joined: 27 Apr 2006
Posts: 637

PostPosted: Mon 15 Oct 2007, 21:05    Post subject:  

dont know if this is a bug, but when puppy 3.01 is installed using full installation to /dev/hda3, both mut and pmount report /dev/hda3 as mountable, but when hda3 is mounted puppy cant reboot and when unmounted freezes? anyway to make /dev/hda3 not seen by both pmount and mut?

also printing desent work in puppy 3.01 anymore using a hp deskjet 3740, maybe a new package is needed?

_________________

Visit The Repository - Helpful and hard-to-find treats for Puppy 3.
Click Here for Puppy Support Chat, + Helpful Links.

Last edited by Wolf Pup on Mon 15 Oct 2007, 23:21; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
vanchutr

Joined: 05 Aug 2006
Posts: 427

PostPosted: Mon 15 Oct 2007, 21:26    Post subject: Same error about "locale"  

Hi Barry,
In Puppy 301 final, I met this error: -- Cannot set LC_ALL to ...
Code:
 
locale: Cannot set LC_ALL to default locale: No such file or directory
LANG=en_US.UTF-8
LC_CTYPE="en_US.UTF-8"
LC_NUMERIC="en_US.UTF-8"
LC_TIME="en_US.UTF-8"
LC_COLLATE="en_US.UTF-8"
LC_MONETARY="en_US.UTF-8"
LC_MESSAGES="en_US.UTF-8"
LC_PAPER="en_US.UTF-8"
LC_NAME="en_US.UTF-8"
LC_ADDRESS="en_US.UTF-8"
LC_TELEPHONE="en_US.UTF-8"
LC_MEASUREMENT="en_US.UTF-8"
LC_IDENTIFICATION="en_US.UTF-8"
LC_ALL=

Please check "set locale" or something in "init..". May be I'm wrong so please, please, ...,please help me. Thankx
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
flagman

Joined: 27 Aug 2007
Posts: 21
Location: Flagstaff, AZ

PostPosted: Mon 15 Oct 2007, 23:22    Post subject: Key bindings do not work in Netsurf
Subject description: Pressing any default keyboard shortcut has not effect
 

I'm afraid I can't say if the keyboard shortcuts in Netsurf worked prior to 3.01 Final, but they do not appear to work now. No response to key combos whatsoever. I've not had any other like problems in 3.01.

Upgrade went smoothly. I am booting from flash into 1GB ram.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Kal

Joined: 05 May 2005
Posts: 624
Location: California, High Desert

PostPosted: Tue 16 Oct 2007, 03:27    Post subject:  

Quote:


kirk

Set a root password and entered it when CUPS asked for it. Works!


Tried it again, with another fresh puppy save file. Password accepted for root, "woofwoof". No go on this computer with HP deskjet 3740 and the drivers installed. Comes up with "/usr/lib/cups/filter/foomatic-rip failed" as the error.

Good Luck, Kal
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
reckrhodes

Joined: 30 May 2007
Posts: 116

PostPosted: Tue 16 Oct 2007, 03:50    Post subject:  

I have two HP Deskjets here. My 640C works fine. But my 3745 will give the same message like what kal shown to us.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tlchost

Joined: 05 Aug 2007
Posts: 1741
Location: Baltimore, Maryland USA

PostPosted: Tue 16 Oct 2007, 03:53    Post subject: Re: Puppy 3.01 final bugs reports here  

LiveCd - this version doesn't recognize the hda-intel that 2,17,1 recognized on a Dell Dimension 5150.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
kirk

Joined: 11 Nov 2005
Posts: 1437
Location: florida

PostPosted: Tue 16 Oct 2007, 08:52    Post subject:  

Booted up 301 this morning, stopped on loading the pup_save file again for about 2 minutes. Guess it's not just the first boot. The hard drive is busy doing something for 2 minutes. Maybe it is doing a fsck, but 2 minutes seems very long for that. Unless it's fscking more that just the pup_save file.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Firefox

Joined: 03 Nov 2006
Posts: 171
Location: UK

PostPosted: Tue 16 Oct 2007, 13:42    Post subject:
Subject description: YAHoooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo!!!!!!!!
 

It WORKS, it WORKS, it WORKS, it WORKS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
My PRINTER after 18 months of trying to get it to work under Puppy has finaly printed
out a TEST PAGE!!!!!!. I`m overjoyed.
The SECRET? installing devx_301.sfs by DesertPuppys instructions so I could install pnm2ppa driver, downloading foomatic-rip and foomatic-gswrapper and putting them in /usr/local/bin,putting PPD driver in /usr/share/cups/model then printed out a test page!
I did not get the foomatic error in previous releases.
My printer is HP710C and the driver can be used for 720c 722c 820cse,820cxi,1000cse,1000cxi.

What a FAB DISTRO
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
linuxcbon

Joined: 09 Aug 2007
Posts: 797

PostPosted: Tue 16 Oct 2007, 14:44    Post subject:  

/var/log/Xorg.0.log
Code:
 (WW) Open ACPI failed (/var/run/acpid.socket) (No such file or directory)
(EE) Failed to load module "glx" (module does not exist, 0)
(WW) RADEON(0): Direct rendering disabled
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Crash


Joined: 09 Dec 2005
Posts: 432
Location: Garland, TX

PostPosted: Wed 17 Oct 2007, 00:47    Post subject:  

Wolf Pup -

I noted the same problem in one of the beta tests, but I guess it got lost in the mix of things:

With a full install on a hard drive, the partition is not locked. ROX thinks you can mount it, which leads to really interesting results. GParted doesn't see the partition locked either.

This is not an issue with a frugal install, only for full install.

These screens show results for a Puppy 3.01 full install booted on hda2 and Puppy 3.01 frugal install booted on hda4:
combo.png
 Description   
 Filesize   37.82 KB
 Viewed   2036 Time(s)

combo.png

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Mic67

Joined: 30 Oct 2006
Posts: 478

PostPosted: Wed 17 Oct 2007, 01:01    Post subject:  

netload network traffic

when using dialup modem does not display the ppp0 just the cancel button.

So this app, can not be used.

This was under Hydrant 3.01a and I figure it is likely in Barrys version.

BTW
Xorg worked where xvesa did not

I think it was the right combination but with xorg in this version with the right card has made a super fast computer - totally impressed.

Excellent work as per usual

Cheers mic67
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
vanchutr

Joined: 05 Aug 2006
Posts: 427

PostPosted: Wed 17 Oct 2007, 01:43    Post subject:  

Puppy 301 frugal install - good: via the isolinux boot loader (loadlin.exe and options.txt)
On my computer P4 - 512MB Ram (Onboard Graphic Card): Xorg don't work - Xorg worked good with Puppy 2.17.1
Xvesa runs well and fast.
Internet connection: good (with Auto DHCP via eth0 - card RTL-8139 Fast Ethernet - module 8139too bus PCI)
Remaster CD works with Barry's script named "remasterpup2c.sh" (an old version) (I don't see the remaster on main menu of Puppy 301)
Thank Puppy team. (Great work)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Sage

Joined: 04 Oct 2005
Posts: 4833
Location: GB

PostPosted: Wed 17 Oct 2007, 03:29    Post subject:  

Additional hurdles seem to have been erected in the Universal Installer?
It should be able to detect which CDdrive contains the boot CD, especially after booting from it?! I missed the new message first time around and got a pile of garbage before I swapped the CD over to the "expected" drive. I suspect that newcomers might also get confused by this message, although in my case case it was my fault - I do these installs on autopilot and don't tend to read everything displayed.
Contrarily, whilst the files (for a FULL install) are being manipulated (decompressed?) by the HD, there is a long period in which there is NO message on-screen. Given the pathetic or non-functioning HD l.e.d. s one finds these days, it could be construed as a lock-up/crash.

Seamonster has got to go! It is now taking upwards of 20s to load on decent HW.

Otherwise, all the stuff I use seems to be working just fine. Thanks.

Last edited by Sage on Wed 17 Oct 2007, 04:44; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Greatnessguru


Joined: 09 Jul 2007
Posts: 104
Location: rural McBain MI USA (near Cadillac MI)

PostPosted: Wed 17 Oct 2007, 03:47    Post subject: SeaMonkey Modern theme... no difference.  

With PL 3.01 I tried changing the SeaMonkey theme to Modern.
Restarted SeaMonkey.
Modern is shown as selected, but the icons look the same as Classic.

I use Modern on my Mac, so I know what they should look like.

Thank you,
Eddie
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Bruce B


Joined: 18 May 2005
Posts: 11131
Location: The Peoples Republic of California

PostPosted: Wed 17 Oct 2007, 03:55    Post subject:  

Crash,

I take it that in the bottom pic, Full is running on hda2?

If so, it seems very odd. Because, I'm running the same version of MUT on 217 and it displays right. I have hda1, hda2 and hda3 mounted.

See pic

Bruce
mut-on-217.png
 Description   
 Filesize   38.37 KB
 Viewed   1902 Time(s)

mut-on-217.png

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 2 of 12 [171 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, ..., 10, 11, 12 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0953s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0115s) ][ GZIP on ]