Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sat 25 Oct 2014, 23:49
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Puppy 3.01 final bugs reports here
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 1 of 12 Posts_count   Goto page: 1, 2, 3, ..., 10, 11, 12 Next
Author Message
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7048
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Mon 15 Oct 2007, 06:01    Post_subject:  Puppy 3.01 final bugs reports here  

The final is out, see http://www.puppylinux.com/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Henry

Joined: 29 Jul 2006
Posts: 829
Location: Oregon USA

PostPosted: Mon 15 Oct 2007, 11:57    Post_subject:  

EDITED - Reinstalled and seems OK now. Sorry for the alarm.
Edited_times_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
NathanO

Joined: 22 Feb 2007
Posts: 198
Location: San Antonio, TX

PostPosted: Mon 15 Oct 2007, 12:00    Post_subject:  

I am sure this is not a bug, but check my post:

http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=22676

About CUPS.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
DLWood

Joined: 20 Sep 2006
Posts: 38

PostPosted: Mon 15 Oct 2007, 13:00    Post_subject: PETget won't connect to distro sites  

I'm still not able to use the PETget package manager to install packages with any version 3 of Puppy, including 3.01. If I try "nluug" or "gatech" I get a pop-up message that says the site is UNREACHABLE, and asks if I'm connected to the internet -- yes I am; I can browse all day long. If I try to connect to "ibiblio", it just times out and keeps trying w/o success (about every 3 minutes or so).

I just tried it with 2.17 and it works fine with my dsl modem/router setup. Version 3 does not.

Is anyone else having this problem?
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
peterthewolf


Joined: 25 Dec 2005
Posts: 15
Location: Knaresborough UK

PostPosted: Mon 15 Oct 2007, 16:35    Post_subject:  

I am using IBM Laptop i-1100 with 128MB RAM, 10GB HD, Celeron 600
All of these faults are still in 3.01
Reporting them in 3.00 report bugs had no effect
Is there some other procedure I should be using

The wireless problem seems to be that on reboot the automatic profile is loaded and the wireless wizard will not let one delete profiles.

2.16 Works fine using XORG and Linksys WPC54G network adapter

2.17 Works as 2.16 but WPC54G does not work after reboot, I have to reconnect via connect icon

3.00 Beta2 XORG does not work, XVESA does, WPC54G works as in 2.16, a DLINK DWL G122 usb stick also works if I remove WPC54G and use G122 instead. G122 use rt73 module.

3.00 Beta3 XORG does not work but XVESA does. WPC54G works but with 2.17 problems i.e. needs redefining after boot. DWL G122 does not work at all Puppy recognizes the stick but cannot connect.

On both versions of 3.00 on shutdown all the messages appear as junk made up of vertical bars and closing brackets.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Henry

Joined: 29 Jul 2006
Posts: 829
Location: Oregon USA

PostPosted: Mon 15 Oct 2007, 16:40    Post_subject: EDIT: solved  

Once again I spoke too soon - I wrote:

Printing no longer works. A test page is "sent to the printer" but "stops."

True, but all I had to do was reinstall the printers (laserjet 2100 and canon i560) with the new Cups using the prompted "root" and "woofwoof." Too easy!

Edited_time_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Henry

Joined: 29 Jul 2006
Posts: 829
Location: Oregon USA

PostPosted: Mon 15 Oct 2007, 16:59    Post_subject:  

EDITED: Removed.
Edited_times_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
kirk

Joined: 11 Nov 2005
Posts: 1420
Location: florida

PostPosted: Mon 15 Oct 2007, 18:31    Post_subject:  

When booting the first time after making a new pup_save file the boot process stops at:

Loading personal storage file /boot/pup_save-301.2fs.....................

At first I though it just hung, so I tried many different boot settings in grub and moved all the files to the root directory. Finally, I burned a cd and tried that. Same problem. I noticed the hard drive was doing something, so I waited. After about 2 minutes 10 seconds it finished booting. I rebooted, this time it booted up fine, only stopped at the Loading personal storage file part for about 6 seconds.

I made another new pup_save file in the same location. This one booted up fine (fast) too. So I deleted both pup_save files and made another new one. Now it was back to the same 2 minute delay after rebooting.

It's only the first time after the first reboot when no other pup_save files are present.

Also CUPS is asking for a login name and password. I'll play with that some more.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
jcoder24


Joined: 06 May 2005
Posts: 601
Location: Barbados

PostPosted: Mon 15 Oct 2007, 18:46    Post_subject:  

I'm still seeing filesystem errors on boot. This final version appears to be hiding the fsck progress. I assume it's running a fsck at boot since it takes less time after a manual fsck of the save file.

As a test, I booted with my save file then rebooted with pfix=ram. I then ran a fsck on the partition containing the save file and the save file and they both had errors.

Rebooting with the (freshly repaired) save file was faster after the manual fsck. However, rebooting with pfix=ram and manually running fsck once again showed errors in both the partition and the save file.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
jcoder24


Joined: 06 May 2005
Posts: 601
Location: Barbados

PostPosted: Mon 15 Oct 2007, 19:02    Post_subject:  

kirk wrote:
Now it was back to the same 2 minute delay after rebooting.


I'm thinking that what you are seeing is related to what I posted above. You can try booting with pfix=ram, run the following test and let me know what happens.:

Quick check
When booting puppy and using a save file, at the stage of the boot where it loads the save file, see if the word done has dots before and after it, ie .....done......

In depth check
run fsck on your save partition (we'll use hda3 as an example)
# fsck -y /dev/hda3

mount your save partition using mut or pmount or manually
# mount /dev/hda3 /mnt/data

setup a loop device for your save file
# losetup-FULL /dev/loop2 /mnt/data/pup_save.2fs

run filesystem check on save file
# fsck -y /dev/loop2

free up loop device used for testing
# losetup-FULL -d /dev/loop2

umount save partition
#umount /dev/hda3
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Mazzo

Joined: 19 Jul 2005
Posts: 26
Location: UK - Thames Valley

PostPosted: Mon 15 Oct 2007, 19:10    Post_subject:  

I have not been able to get an encrypted pup-save on a usb stick to work.

Each time it requests the password, it will not accept the answer. I thought I might have made a mistake with the original password, so reformatted the usb stick and then did another install, booted and saved again. Still the same problem.

Tried with an unencrypted and it just got lots of read errors.

It could be the memory stick - but it passed a media check (as in via windows)

I used heavy encryption.

Otherwise everything else was fine, including saving multisession cd.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
zygo

Joined: 08 Apr 2006
Posts: 211
Location: UK

PostPosted: Mon 15 Oct 2007, 19:36    Post_subject: zygo  

I'm using v3.01final booted from cd entirely in ram with no boot parameter nor additional storage.

Wow very different from 3.00. I didn't get chance to try 3.01 beta.

cups: printer setup was fine for me in 3.00 using dillo. But in 3.01 doesn't list parallel port for HP (so I chose LPT #1) and in both dillo and netsurf it does not allow me to use my ppd for my hp deskjet plus because the browse button was missing and I couldn't paste into the field. In dillo after selecting hp my printer was not listed even after I moved the ppd from /usr/share/cups/model to /usr/share/ppd and started 'add printer' from the begining. I could browse for the ppd in opera but the password isn't woofwoof lower or upper case!

***Edit: I eventually used the passwd command to set it, tried again and hey presto... But the driver is wrong because the test page starts with printer codes followed by a page of blur!

remastering: copies over some files from root but not all. My new cd did not ask which keyboard and had the right mouse settings in the /root/.xset.sh file but didn't copy the files:
/root/.config/rox.sourceforge.net/ROX-Filer/Options
/root/.jwm/jwmrc-personal
/root/.jwmrc-tray
/root/.Xresources
/root/.config/rox.sourceforge.net/OpenWith/
and others.

Still, you can't make omelettes without breaking eggs. And you make damn fine omelettes Mr Kauler.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
kirk

Joined: 11 Nov 2005
Posts: 1420
Location: florida

PostPosted: Mon 15 Oct 2007, 20:07    Post_subject:  

Quote:
kirk wrote:
Now it was back to the same 2 minute delay after rebooting.


I'm thinking that what you are seeing is related to what I posted above. You can try booting with pfix=ram, run the following test and let me know what happens.:


No, the fsck repairs are because the 2.x/3.x puppies can't quite unmount the file system at shutdown, unless there's something new going on. The file system seems to always be busy, probably because it's part of the / union. You might not have noticed it until the last few versions because of the switch from ext3 to ext2. Ext3 repairs it self any time it's mounted, with out comment.

As far as my boot problem, I should mention that I'm using a SATA hard drive and a 512MB pup_save on a ext3 partition.


Quote:
3.00 Beta2 XORG does not work, XVESA does, WPC54G works as in 2.16, a DLINK DWL G122 usb stick also works if I remove WPC54G and use G122 instead. G122 use rt73 module.


There's a problem with the rt73 and rt2570 Ralink wifi modules. Some of the vendor device numbers over-lap, so the wrong module may get loaded. If that happens you'll want to use the Boot Manager to blacklist the wrong module and add the correct module.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Kal

Joined: 05 May 2005
Posts: 624
Location: California, High Desert

PostPosted: Mon 15 Oct 2007, 20:11    Post_subject:  

Just to verify, I have the same problem as Henry with printing, which did work in Puppy 3.00. It started asking for password as kirk wrote. Also back to the foomatic-rip problem.

This was with a fresh puppy save file or an upgrade.

Went ahead and installed the earlier dotpup and all started working again, correctly.

Good Luck, Kal
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
kirk

Joined: 11 Nov 2005
Posts: 1420
Location: florida

PostPosted: Mon 15 Oct 2007, 20:49    Post_subject:  

Set a root password and entered it when CUPS asked for it. Works!
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 12 Posts_count   Goto page: 1, 2, 3, ..., 10, 11, 12 Next
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0879s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0078s) ][ GZIP on ]