Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Tue 16 Sep 2014, 05:30
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Unsorted
slapt-get/glapt for puppy 3.00
Moderators: deshlab, Flash, GuestToo, Ian, JohnMurga, Lobster
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 2 of 6 [80 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6 Next
Author Message
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7047
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Sun 23 Sep 2007, 09:10    Post subject:  

Yes, I should try to get the package names in packages.txt to match slackware names exactly. The naming partly shows its T2 heritage.

What happens if in future versions of Puppy the packages.txt 'on' choices differ -- will the Gslapt system pick this up?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
kirk

Joined: 11 Nov 2005
Posts: 1405
Location: florida

PostPosted: Sun 23 Sep 2007, 15:16    Post subject:  

Quote:
What happens if in future versions of Puppy the packages.txt 'on' choices differ -- will the Gslapt system pick this up?


Yes, the pinstall.sh script uses whatever is in /root/.packages/packages.txt.

The pinstall.sh script populates /var/log/packages with a list from /tmp/ps-packages.txt and then populates /var/log/packages with puppy's package.txt.

I just made another updated to the gslapt package. Had too many duplicates before. The list found in my pet package /tmp/ps-packages contains 83 package names that fall into one of these categories:

1) Seems to be in puppy but not in puppy's package list.

2) In puppy's package list but by a slightly different name.

3) A package we don't want installed because it might make puppy sick.

The ps-packages.txt list may need to changed in the future due to more or less compatibility with slack.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
kirk

Joined: 11 Nov 2005
Posts: 1405
Location: florida

PostPosted: Sun 23 Sep 2007, 15:22    Post subject:  

oops
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
kirk

Joined: 11 Nov 2005
Posts: 1405
Location: florida

PostPosted: Wed 03 Oct 2007, 15:53    Post subject:  

Fixed some problems with the package list. Updated attachment on original post.

Note: After installing this package /var/log/packages is populated with many empty files that (hopefully) represent what puppy has installed. Gslapt/slapt-get reads this directory when it starts up. So if you want to tweak something, such as making Gslapt/slapt-get think a package is already installed, Just add a blank file with the appropriate name. If you find a dependency that gets installed and messes everything up, let me know.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
friedsonjm

Joined: 10 Mar 2007
Posts: 208

PostPosted: Wed 03 Oct 2007, 16:27    Post subject: Re: slapt-get/glapt for puppy 3.00
Subject description: Slackware package manager for Puppy 3.00
 

kirk wrote:

After you install the package, restart JWM, connect to the internet and go to Menu - Setup - Gslapt. Then click update to get a new list of available packages.


Did all that - but 'Gslapt' does not show up. How do I start 'manually?'

EDIT: I did get it to run from the command line GSLAPT.

jm
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
kirk

Joined: 11 Nov 2005
Posts: 1405
Location: florida

PostPosted: Wed 03 Oct 2007, 18:26    Post subject:  

Maybe you didn't hold your mouth right when you installed it. Very Happy

Seriously, I just booted up ram only, downloaded the package and installed it. Restarted JWM, and there it is. I don't know JM. If a reboot doesn't fix it, let me know what kind of boot setup your using (livecd / frugal hard drive / Full hard drive / Flash / Multi-session cd-dvd).

You could also try removing the package with Petget and reinstalling it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
friedsonjm

Joined: 10 Mar 2007
Posts: 208

PostPosted: Wed 03 Oct 2007, 22:34    Post subject:  

This was under QEMU, so maybe that was it? Will try again! jf

EDIT: Confirmed, works fine off of a bootable USB thumb drive, apparently menu updating issue is QEMU related.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Leon

Joined: 22 Jun 2005
Posts: 228
Location: Slovenia

PostPosted: Sat 06 Oct 2007, 16:22    Post subject: Re: slapt-get/glapt for puppy 3.00
Subject description: Slackware package manager for Puppy 3.00
 

kirk wrote:
After you install the package, restart JWM, connect to the internet and go to Menu - Setup - Gslapt. Then click update to get a new list of available packages.

Done that and tried it with installing Bluefish 1.7. It works perfectly.
Many thanks.
Leon
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
msumner

Joined: 04 Jan 2007
Posts: 205
Location: Lincolnshire, England.

PostPosted: Sun 07 Oct 2007, 06:31    Post subject:  

kirk wrote:

Yes, if we can get some folks with high-speed connections to play with it, we'll get it worked out.


Hi kirk, I intend to do a fair bit of downloading to try kde and some kde apps.

I have gslapt working but have to run from the terminal. No entry in menu.

Also I have to update each time as when it opens, it only shows my downloaded packages.

I get this msg:
# gslapt
Failed to open package_data
package_data: No such file or directory
Perhaps you want to run --update?

(gslapt1:7043): Pango-WARNING **: Invalid UTF-8 string passed to pango_layout_set_text()

(gslapt1:7043): Pango-WARNING **: Invalid UTF-8 string passed to pango_layout_set_text()

(gslapt1:7043): Pango-WARNING **: Invalid UTF-8 string passed to pango_layout_set_text()

(gslapt1:7043): Pango-WARNING **: Invalid UTF-8 string passed to pango_layout_set_text()

(gslapt1:7043): Pango-WARNING **: Invalid UTF-8 string passed to pango_layout_set_text()

Also, I do not know how to start kde. I have downloaded kdebase and kdelibs.
Menu/shutdown/change window manager does not work.

Cheers, Mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
GrumpyWolfe


Joined: 26 Nov 2006
Posts: 496

PostPosted: Sun 07 Oct 2007, 07:26    Post subject: Cool
Subject description: have it running
 

Hi all

I stop running puppy for awhile now back and have it installed in this dell notebook hd install and running good. installed this gslapt and used it to install firefox 2.0.0.7 run great. So good job on this little program.

edit: ok installed and runs but not menu entry even after reboot. Can not get it to pick up the gxine plug in.

_________________
Live and Let Live

Acer Aspire One N450 1.66GHz

MyWolfe at Sourceforge
MyWolfe Blog
MyWolfe Groups
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
kirk

Joined: 11 Nov 2005
Posts: 1405
Location: florida

PostPosted: Mon 08 Oct 2007, 12:53    Post subject:  

msumner,

Don't know why the Gslapt menu entry is not working for you, might try reinstalling.

As far a KDE goes, I'm working on a package right now. I've got KDE & K3b packgage that's less than 50MB (compressed). Still need to work out some kinks. Probably possible to make a puppy iso at about 100mb with kde & k3b, would have to drop Seamonkey package, but KDE has Konqueror and would have to rebuild the kernel with lzma compression (or use 2.17's kernel). And to start KDE exit X and try "xwin startkde" to get jwm to work again you'll have to do "xwin jwm".


GrumpyWolfe,

I think Barry has the menu compatibilty problem on his list of things to do.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
edoc


Joined: 07 Aug 2005
Posts: 4368
Location: Southeast Georgia, USA

PostPosted: Mon 08 Oct 2007, 19:00    Post subject:
Subject description: gslapt errors and instructions?
 

I am seeing the same Pango errors as Mike when I execute gslapt
from Console.

The gslapt window does open but it is unclear how one uses it.

I pointed to /tmp and selected UPDATE and it was active for a while
then presented a ton of files/folders.

I had the tuxtype2.1 Slackware tgz downloaded in /tmp as well as
unpacked but gslapt didn't seem to notice and tuxtype does not show
up in the long list in the gslapt window.

???

_________________
Thanks! David
Home page: http://nevils-station.com
Don't google Search! http://duckduckgo.com
Puppy upup Raring 3992 & Lighthouse64-b602
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
msumner

Joined: 04 Jan 2007
Posts: 205
Location: Lincolnshire, England.

PostPosted: Tue 09 Oct 2007, 04:05    Post subject:  

Thanks kirk, I reinstalled gslapt and it has now appeared in the menu.

Starting kde, I get:

Could not start kstartupconfig
Check your installation.

Googling this revealed people with problems related to /user/home directories. As my flash install puppy 3 does not have a home directory, I am a bit stumped.

Someone suggested trying kdeinit, so I did, but this could not find libqt-mt.so.

Your kde package sounds interesting, so I will keep an eye on this thread if you want testers.
Cheers, Mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Kal

Joined: 05 May 2005
Posts: 624
Location: California, High Desert

PostPosted: Wed 10 Oct 2007, 16:55    Post subject: KDE 3.5.7 on Puppy 3.00  

I have 90% operational.

Has anyone else gotten KDE 3.5.7 to work on Puppy 3.00? Would sure like to compare notes.

I cannot get any KDE apps to compile with it and must use Puppy 2.17, with KDE 3.5.5 to compile. Most all non-KDE apps do work with the devx on Puppy 3.00.

This seems to be the only main downside, I have encountered. Have been using it from the day Pup 3 came out.

I used most all Slackware packages to install, except for using qt 3.3.8 from Puppy package manager, and PC Linux's library, "libkdecore.so.4.2.0" to overwrite the non functional one with slackware.

1. Have devx_300.sfs installed.

2. First commented out with # line 114 thru 118 in /etc/profile.

3. Installed these packages from: http://packages.slackware.it/

Packages used are from Slackware Packages except as noted:

arts-1.5.7-i486-1 (slackware-12.0/slackware/a)

kdelibs-3.5.7-i486-3_slack12.0 (slackware-12.0/patches)

kdebase-3.5.7-i486-3_slack12.0 (slackware-12.0/patches)

qt-3.3.8 (puppy package manager)

Libraries used: (files install to /usr/lib)

libesd.so.0.2.38 + links +.la (slackware-12.0/slackware/l ) (installed esound-0.2.38-i486-1.tgz, this lib is in it)

libfam.so.0.0.0 +links +.la (slackware-12.0/(slackware/l) (installed gamin-0.1.8-i486-2.tgz, this lib is in it)

libkdecore.so.4.2.0 overwrite with new one (from PC Linux OS 2007, or Mepis 7 beta in their /usr/lib) (the one with slackware would not work for me).

4. From command prompt, type: xwin startkde to get it going at first.

Kal

PS: Installed Gslapt, and then install Kaffeine, then Gslapt during the dependence checks went ahead and reinstalled my kdelibs again. It replaced the libkdecore back to slackware and add some other packages, that went to fast to recall all. The bottom line is, Puppy seems to compile some KDE apps now, which may not be needed with Gslapt. Will start at square one with Gslapt and do farther testing. Looks like a nice program Kirk.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Kal

Joined: 05 May 2005
Posts: 624
Location: California, High Desert

PostPosted: Thu 11 Oct 2007, 12:58    Post subject:  

kirk

Are the folder in /var/slapt-get/games, multimedia, network, patches, slackware with the downloaded category names, suppose to be full slackware install packages kep there?

I noticed a much higher usage of space being used on the save file, that's why I started looking. It seems both good and bad, are they required to stay there?

On KDE still have to change "libkdecore" with another. I was hoping. I may have had a bad download.

Kal
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 2 of 6 [80 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Unsorted
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0883s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0053s) ][ GZIP on ]