Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Mon 01 Sep 2014, 16:05
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Puppy 3.00 bug reports here
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 2 of 9 [129 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, ..., 7, 8, 9 Next
Author Message
flagman

Joined: 27 Aug 2007
Posts: 21
Location: Flagstaff, AZ

PostPosted: Wed 03 Oct 2007, 14:53    Post subject: Seamonkey 1.1.2 extension installs fail
Subject description: Subject description: Extension install fails with "unexpected error -201"
 

I attempted to install Noscript and Mouse Gesture extensions to Seamonkey 1.1.2. Both download and then fail with error 201.

Same behavior under betas 2 and 3

I've yet to identify this error code, so I can't be sure who or what's at fault. Both these extensions installed and worked under 2.17 (Seamonkey 1.0.8.

I pulled down and installed Seamonkey 1.1.4 to /usr/lib/seamonkey, modified a few links and it works well.

Extensions install perfectly under 1.1.4.

Hope this helps.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
linuxcbon

Joined: 09 Aug 2007
Posts: 754

PostPosted: Wed 03 Oct 2007, 15:40    Post subject:  

BUG 1
I got 2.17 installed on old laptop. I try to boot from cd with 3.0 with pfix=ram.... Couldnt boot : error messages :

/tmp/bootinit.log
Code:

mount: /dev/hdc is write-protected, mounting read-only
mount: mounting /dev/loop0 on /pup_ro2 failed


kernel log
Code:
end_request: I/O error, dev hdc, sector 160100
Buffer I/O error on device hdc, logical block 40025
SQUASHFS error: sb_bread failed reading block 0x133c0
SQUASHFS error: unabe to read uid/gid table

Pausing for 60 seconds...
Setup the Unionfs layered filesystem...
Perform a 'switch_root' to the new Unionfs filesystem...Kernel panic - not syncing: Attempted to kill init!


BUG 2
with ALSA sound Wizard :
it searches for sound cards.
no PnP or PCI card found, thats normal.
Code:
probes ISA cards.
starting snd-opl3sa2

/usr/sbin/alsactl no sound card found
amixer mixer attach default


in /etc/modprob.conf I got :
Code:
# --- BEGIN: Generated by ALSACONF, do not edit. ---
# --- ALSACONF verion 1.0.8 ---
alias snd-card-0 snd-opl3sa2
alias sound-slot-0 snd-opl3sa2
options snd-opl3sa2 fm_port=-1 midi_port=-1 port=0x370 wss_port=0x530 isapnp=0 dma1=1 dma2=0 irq=5
# --- END: Generated by ALSACONF, do not edit. ---

Last edited by linuxcbon on Sun 07 Oct 2007, 16:44; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
linuxcbon

Joined: 09 Aug 2007
Posts: 754

PostPosted: Wed 03 Oct 2007, 15:56    Post subject:  

file:///usr/share/doc/home.htm is not updated Wink
Developer News is old address.
Puppy discussion forums too.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ArnaudN

Joined: 29 Apr 2007
Posts: 71
Location: France

PostPosted: Wed 03 Oct 2007, 16:24    Post subject:  

Hi everyone,

Two problems I have seen:

My laptop has a bcm43xx wifi chipset.
It is well recognized, but after having entered my WEP key and successfully checked the network, there is no way to get an IP adress with DHCP...

Another problem: I usually play with swf games on my local hard drive. I specially have a kind of reference "curveball.swf" which is a highly dynamic ping pong game. This game is very fluid with puppy 2.16 but is rather jerky with 3.00 final (it already was in beta2 but I could not report it): The animation gets slow 1 second about every 5 seconds which makes the game rather hard to play Wink

ArnaudN
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
iandel

Joined: 28 Sep 2005
Posts: 30
Location: USA

PostPosted: Wed 03 Oct 2007, 17:16    Post subject:  

G'day,

I like the 3.00 release except for three things.

1. It doesn't detect eth0 or eth1 on one computer (Desktop with asus m/board) or eth0 on the other (Gateway laptop) or load the modules (or drivers or whatever they are in the wizard for network). These worked fine previoulsy (2.14).

2. My USB mouse didn't get detected on the desktop. Even when I dropped out of X and tried to select the mouse in xorgwizard it kept drpping back to PS2. So I have to use an old M$ ps2 mouse. Crying or Very sad

3. The available disk space thingy in the bottom right hand corner states that I have no disk space, when there is over 40gig left.

I reloaded 2.14 on another partition and have internet access as it was before, with both eth0 and eth1 detected.

Apart from these bits not working I like the upgrade. Help.

EDIT...
All these things work fine when booting from the CD with pfix=ram,clean. They don't work after it is installed on the hrad drive.

Last edited by iandel on Wed 03 Oct 2007, 22:58; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
RPM

Joined: 24 Aug 2006
Posts: 18
Location: Atlanta, GA

PostPosted: Wed 03 Oct 2007, 17:29    Post subject: USB Flash  

Thanks AJ
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Lobster
Official Crustacean


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 15117
Location: Paradox Realm

PostPosted: Wed 03 Oct 2007, 17:49    Post subject:  

In the new Seamonkey, using the wiki, the 'quick icons' do not appear. Confused This also happens with Opera.

In Opera the trick was to make Opera act as if it was Netscape. I could not find a similar trick in Seamonkey 1.1.2
Is this solved by updating to 1.1.4?
Is there a solution?

Smile

_________________
Puppy WIKI

Last edited by Lobster on Mon 08 Oct 2007, 00:22; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
kkpity


Joined: 27 Nov 2006
Posts: 112
Location: Brazil

PostPosted: Wed 03 Oct 2007, 18:37    Post subject:  

I'm having same error reported on this thread:

/bin/sh:can't access tty;job control turned off

What I did?

I've burned a CD with puppy 3.00 (md5sum ok)

At same CD, I've burned openoffice2.0.0 and devx3.00.sfs (md5sum ok)

When booting with the CD, the above message appears.

Any suggestion?

thanks

kkpity

_________________
Linux user #388359 (http://counter.li.org/)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Lobster
Official Crustacean


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 15117
Location: Paradox Realm

PostPosted: Wed 03 Oct 2007, 18:58    Post subject:  

I have tried to use Dougals remaster on Puppy 3 Beta 1, Beta 2 and Final

No joy Confused

Is the remaster incompatibe with 3?
Should I try Puppy remaster instead (anyone try that - I think it requires burning to a CD-R and is much simpler? Anyone try it in P3 (Puppy3)?

It is possible that there is a conflict with Ezpup and P3 and Dougal's remaster?
It is also possible that I have insufficient ram (512MB) and need a Linux swap file?

Update:
Someone has managed to use Douglas remaster to create "Fire Hydrant" based on Puppy 3"
By using the 'simple' option in Dougals remaster, I too was able to create a remaster of Puppy 3 Smile

Smile

_________________
Puppy WIKI

Last edited by Lobster on Mon 08 Oct 2007, 00:26; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Lobster
Official Crustacean


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 15117
Location: Paradox Realm

PostPosted: Wed 03 Oct 2007, 19:06    Post subject:  



Also happening (same code error) with extensions

_________________
Puppy WIKI
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
JustGreg

Joined: 24 May 2005
Posts: 668
Location: Connecticut USA

PostPosted: Wed 03 Oct 2007, 19:31    Post subject:  

I do not know if this should be called a bug, but I did correct the problem.
I loaded Puppy 3.00 on the long suffering USB hard drive, which I do all experiments on. On boot, I found Puppy 3.00 did not recognize my WIFI USB device. Since I recently used the USB hard drive to do some testing of Puppy 2.17 and WPA protection schemes, I knew the WFI did work. Puppy 3.00 on USB hard drive was not detecting the WIFI USB device and loading the proper module. I tried booting with just the CDROM copy of Puppy 3.00. No problems were encountered. The WIFI networking was there with the proper module for the USB WIFI device

This gave me an idea. I tried booting with the CDROM and with the USB hard drive and WIFI device attached. The CDROM Puppy 3.00 did detect the save file on the USB hard drive and the WIFI device. The proper module was load and WIFI worked fine. Using the connection wizard, I set up for the WIFI networking to be started at boot. Rebooted to save the configuration to the USB device. Removed the CDROM and the USB hard drive booted correctly with the WIFI setup.

The use of the CDROM and USB save device (flash or hard drive) may be a "work around" until the resident wizards correct the USB device detection problem.

_________________
Enjoy life, Just Greg
Live Well, Laugh Often, Love Much
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
kkpity


Joined: 27 Nov 2006
Posts: 112
Location: Brazil

PostPosted: Wed 03 Oct 2007, 19:54    Post subject:  

I've fixed the error:
/bin/sh:can't access tty;job control turned off

...removing devx300.sfs and openoffice2.0.0.sfs from the CD.

I think the devx300.sfs was the responsible for the bug, but I'm not sure.

Hope this info help others.

kkpity

_________________
Linux user #388359 (http://counter.li.org/)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Wellesfargo

Joined: 21 May 2007
Posts: 7
Location: Kyle, Saskatchewan Canada

PostPosted: Wed 03 Oct 2007, 20:38    Post subject: bcm43xx wifi chipset.
Subject description: not getting ipaddress.
 

ArnaudN wrote:
Hi everyone,

Two problems I have seen:

My laptop has a bcm43xx wifi chipset.
It is well recognized, but after having entered my WEP key and successfully checked the network, there is no way to get an IP adress with DHCP...

ArnaudN


I have a Dell laptop with the same wireless chipset. I found that the rc.network script had to be slightly modified. I changed all the lines with ipconfig down and changed them to ipconfig up. I discovered this trouble with Puppy 2.17. The bcm43xx chipset was not coming back online quickly enough to dhcp an ip address.

Sorry I can't help with your second problem.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Flash
Official Dog Handler


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 11031
Location: Arizona USA

PostPosted: Wed 03 Oct 2007, 22:39    Post subject:  

I tried to report this bug in Barry's Developers blog for beta 2 but it wouldn't let me so I reported it in this forum instead. Perhaps I was too late for 3.00. Anyway it does the same thing. To wit: multisession Puppy saves as it should when it shuts down, but not using the "Save" icon on the desktop. When the "Save" icon is clicked an rxvt window opens but nothing else happens. Puppy just sits there, with a rxvt window open that shows nothing but a blinking cursor.
_________________
Puppy Help 101 - an interactive tutorial for Lupu 5.25
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
cb88


Joined: 28 Jan 2007
Posts: 1169
Location: USA

PostPosted: Wed 03 Oct 2007, 22:49    Post subject:  

ok i am running 3.00 in pfix=ram on my laptop 64mb ram so basically it is just ignore in my pupsaves and it is resonably fast from cd

dial up is sort of working same as in 2.17.1

in 3.00 i have to depmod then modprobe ltmodem then modprobe ltserial or else it doesn't detect my modem at all
it is detected as /dev/ttyS_ESSO i am getting 26 to 36 kbs
would be nice it this were fixed in 3.01 along with the grub issues (booting puppy from frugal on fat32 with grub in a separate ext2 partition) also could a command line script be made that outputs hardware configuration to a connected drive say the hard drive FD or flash drive just a thought

_________________
Taking Puppy Linux to the limit of perfection. meanwhile try "puppy pfix=duct_tape" kernel parem eater.
X86: Sager NP6110 3630QM 16GB ram, Tyan Thunder 2 2x 300Mhz
Sun: SS2 , LX , SS5 , SS10 , SS20 ,Ultra 1, Ultra 10 , T2000
Mac: Platinum Plus, SE/30
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 2 of 9 [129 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, ..., 7, 8, 9 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0953s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0102s) ][ GZIP on ]