Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sat 26 Jul 2014, 11:34
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Taking the Puppy out for a walk » Puppy Power
Puppy on a 10 euro PC (32 Mb RAM and a 2 Gb HD)
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [3 Posts]  
Author Message
MunkieNL

Joined: 26 Sep 2007
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Wed 26 Sep 2007, 10:02    Post subject:  Puppy on a 10 euro PC (32 Mb RAM and a 2 Gb HD)
Subject description: Just a report on my experience
 

Hi all! I haven't been looking at Linux for a long while. Just scored an old Compaq 233MMX with 32 Mb RAM and a 2 Gb HD for 10 euro. I've got 160 Mb RAM in it now and 3 HD's and various CDr's Laughing
I got XP SP2 on a 2 Gb GD. It works but starting progs is slooow. Vector Linux on a 2.5 Gb old Bigfoot, it's not what i would call a " compact" Linux distro with 2 Gb installed but it works. Very stable and professional package but alas a bit much for this old machine.
On to the live CD's. DSL wins here because of the faster bootup, the lesser prompts and the auto network setup. DSL keeps spinning that CDr drive all the time though which can get on your nerves. Puppy runs completely from memory, impressive on this old thing!
Puppy installed on a tiny 1.2 Gb HD. Now this is fun. Once installed just 1 prompt for GRUB, that's it. I got Firefox 2 and Open Office running, amazing on a 10 year old PC Shocked A shame Dillo isn't being developed anymore, lightning fast browser but a bit primitive anno 2007.
I must admit Linux has come a long way since Slackware. It's so easy to get started nowadays, any experienced PC user can do it. And it's all for free Wink
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Bruce B


Joined: 18 May 2005
Posts: 11080
Location: The Peoples Republic of California

PostPosted: Wed 26 Sep 2007, 15:38    Post subject:  

Welcome!

* I'm surprised to read that DSL doesn't release the CD Disc, is this with the 160MB RAM?

* About Vector Linux, they keep old versions also, 4.3 or maybe even 4.0 might make a better 'fit', you could update some important apps like the browsers.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
puppy233

Joined: 31 May 2010
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Mon 31 May 2010, 18:21    Post subject: About the DSL spinup  

I have looked into why DSL continues to have the disc spinning after boot-up. I have read that with 128 MB of RAM, it can load completely into RAM. However, there is a boot command (cheat code) that must be used to do this. I believe this code is 'toram' (no quotes).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [3 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Taking the Puppy out for a walk » Puppy Power
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0418s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0040s) ][ GZIP on ]