Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sat 29 Nov 2014, 04:39
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Unsorted
gCAD3D: a 3D CAD program
Moderators: deshlab, Flash, GuestToo, Ian, JohnMurga, Lobster
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 2 of 6 [81 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6 Next
Author Message
vanchutr

Joined: 05 Aug 2006
Posts: 427

PostPosted: Mon 24 Sep 2007, 04:44    Post subject:  

is this strange. I use the ldd command. In console I see this:
Code:

# ldd /usr/local/3DCC/3DCC
/usr/bin/ldd: line 102: lddlibc4: command not found
        not a dynamic executable

(I'd installed the MU-3DCC package)
Any comment?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
muggins

Joined: 20 Jan 2006
Posts: 6690
Location: lisbon

PostPosted: Mon 24 Sep 2007, 06:59    Post subject:  

3DCC is an executable script & ldd gives library dependencies for compiled elf executables. so the output you're seeing is what you would get for a script. (if you compress an elf executable with upx & run ldd on it you'll also get this response, so you would need to upx -d the executable to decompress it, before doing ldd.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
vanchutr

Joined: 05 Aug 2006
Posts: 427

PostPosted: Mon 24 Sep 2007, 08:15    Post subject:  

Thank for your hint but:
Code:

# upx -d 3DCC
                       Ultimate Packer for eXecutables
  Copyright (C) 1996,1997,1998,1999,2000,2001,2002,2003,2004,2005,2006,2007
UPX 3.01        Markus Oberhumer, Laszlo Molnar & John Reiser   Jul 31st 2007

        File size         Ratio      Format      Name
   --------------------   ------   -----------   -----------
upx: 3DCC: NotPackedException: not packed by UPX

Unpacked 0 files.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
muggins

Joined: 20 Jan 2006
Posts: 6690
Location: lisbon

PostPosted: Mon 24 Sep 2007, 18:42    Post subject:  

hi vanchutr,

no what i'm saying is that ldd won't give you library dependencies for elf executables which have been compressed with upx, or executable bash scripts. 3DCC is the latter case.

in any case, if you've installed 3DCC, when you run it & try the test example, do you have acceleration supported for your graphics?

also, with installing gCAD3D, i noticed that when it throws up the error of missing libGLU.so.1, if you ignore the error & click on continue, it still installs to /root/gCAD3D. The problem then is that it won't run unless you have openGL support installed for your graphics.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
vanchutr

Joined: 05 Aug 2006
Posts: 427

PostPosted: Mon 24 Sep 2007, 19:52    Post subject:  

Umh, I knew. Thank you muggins; you'd given many instructions. Thank agin
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
puppyoutsider

Joined: 25 Sep 2007
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Tue 25 Sep 2007, 15:20    Post subject: gCAD3D
Subject description: installing problems
 

Hello,

I also tried installing gCAD3D, which looked very promissing.
First I got the same errors as vanchutr mentioned; the missing libGL* and libGLU* stuff. After following the suggestions of muggins, I was able to install the program. It indicates, that I can start it by clicking on the icon on the desktop.
In the first place I got no icon on the desktop. Starting from the directory /root/gCAD3D gives no result. No error are mentioned, simply nothing happens.
Any ideas?
Thanks in advance
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
muggins

Joined: 20 Jan 2006
Posts: 6690
Location: lisbon

PostPosted: Tue 25 Sep 2007, 17:30    Post subject:  

somehow i was lucky when i first installed it & everything worked straight away. the critical thing is, do you have a working openGL graphics setup?

to test that all library requirements are met do, (if installed to /root):

ldd /root/gCAD3D/gCAD3D

on my second try at installation, i've met all the library requirements but, because i don't have a working openGL setup, if i do:

/root/gCAD3D/gCAD3D

then i get an error, telling me that openGL isn't working. i'll need to search the forum & go back over threads on openGL to work out it's intricacies. it doesn't just seem to be a simple matter of installing a .pup or .pet, as mu's 3DCC package tells you that if openGL-A doesn't work, try openGL-B. anyway, that'll have to wait as i'm off to work.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
puppyoutsider

Joined: 25 Sep 2007
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Wed 26 Sep 2007, 15:21    Post subject: gCAD3D
Subject description: Not starting
 

Hello muggins,

I tried the following:
ldd /root/gCAD3D/gCAD3D
The result is the same as you reported on 6th Sept., except the last library libz.so.1, which is not reported in my list. No errors are reported. As I understood, the command ldd gives the libraries where the executable depends on. Out of that the numbers inside the brackets are different from your list.
After /root/gCAD3D/gCAD3D I got the follwing list:

/+++++++++++++ Start xa 2
0|/root/gCAD3D/gCAD3D|
0|/root/gCAD3D/gCAD3D|
OS_Init_ |/root/gCAD3D/gCAD3D|
basedir = |/root/gCAD3D/|
AP_dir_open=|/root/gCAD3D/dat/|
AP_lang=|nl|
AP_browser=|mozilla|
UTX_memFind1 40 2
ex UTX_memFind1 found 19
AP_printer=|lpr -l -PCUPS-PDF|
Modelname=|unknown.apt|
AP_dir_save=|/root/gCAD3D/dat/|
AP_DllLst_write
UI_win_main 90
GUI_init || 0
GUI_Window |GCAD3D|99|
GUI_WinTit |GCAD3D|
UI_menCB |Iact|
UI_menCB |Bar1|
UI_menCB |Bar2|

=================================================
UI_butCB |VWR|

=================================================
UI_butCB |MAN|
charSet 0 |ANSI_X3.4-1968|
ascent=10 descent=3
UI_Ed_ln_sizY = 13
UI_GR_Init
gtk_gl_area_new OK
button_press_event=612
ex UI_GR_WinInit
GUI_Tx_Win
DemoPostProc.so
DemoPlugin_Resolv.so
DemoPlugin_Hili.so
DemoPlugin_Dialog.so
DemoPlugin_Create.so
DemoKondensatorplatte.so
Demo_Decode_Obj.so
DemoAssy1.so
GUI_Pix /root/gCAD3D/xa/xa_logo.xpm
nach GUI_Pix
The program '<unknown>' received an X Window System error.
This probably reflects a bug in the program.
The error was 'BadMatch'.
(Details: serial 388 error_code 8 request_code 156 minor_code 5)
(Note to programmers: normally, X errors are reported asynchronously;
that is, you will receive the error a while after causing it.
To debug your program, run it with the --sync command line option
to change this behaviour. You can the get a meaningful backtrace
from your debugger if you break on the gdk_x_error() function.)

Most of the messages doesn't mean very much to me, but don't look very dramaticly. Except " <unknown>:30480 ...." and the error about the X Windows System.
Can this error been caused by the puppy version;
I use puppy-2.17-seamonkey-fulldrivers.iso

Any ideas about the errors reported?
Thanks in advance
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
muggins

Joined: 20 Jan 2006
Posts: 6690
Location: lisbon

PostPosted: Thu 27 Sep 2007, 05:44    Post subject:  

puppyoutsider,

i'm in the dark as much as you are as to why it won't work. it's still working on my main 2.16 partition, but i've no idea what the elusive steps are to get it working. i'll have another crack at it on the weekend to see if i can nut out some definite install requirements, but don't have time at the moment.

but do you know if you have a working openGL setup? can you see the rotating GLX gears?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
puppyoutsider

Joined: 25 Sep 2007
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Thu 27 Sep 2007, 14:53    Post subject: gCAD3D
Subject description: OpenGL
 

Hi muggins,

I understand that you ran inside the same problem.
Because I am very new in puppy linux (in fact new in Linux), I try to find solutions in this forum, because I couldn't find them anywhere else.
To test the OpenGL setup, I ran the 3D-Demo from 3DCC. I see three turning wireframe balls (quit slow 4.55 FPS in full screen). I use a ATI Radeon 9000 with 128Mb, but I think OpenGL works.
In the PETget package manager I can see I have installed OpenGL and X11R7-OpenGL and the 3DCC package.
I hope this is the right way to test the OpenGL setup. If not, please advise.
In the meanwhile I will try further.

Thanks anyway.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
puppyoutsider

Joined: 25 Sep 2007
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Sat 29 Sep 2007, 13:40    Post subject: gCAD3D
Subject description: installation
 

Hi,

I tried installation of gCAD3D on Puppy-2.16 and now I was able to get it run.
After starting Puppy-2.16 I started to setup the OpenGL. I saw in the 3DCC that special drivers where in for ATI Radeon 9000 card. I installed these and the 3D-Demo was much faster as I mentioned last week (now 50 fps in full-screen).
I re-installed gCAD3D. First I checked dependencies with "ldd gCAD3D-1.100-Linux-x86". Than I did "ldconfig" and after giving the permissions to execute the installer-file, everything ran smoothly. After it I could start the program.
Conclusion is just as muggins suggested, the OpenGL system for the videocard, which seems to be rather critical. May be the same route will function an 2.17, but I have not tried this.

Anyway, thanks for all help nd suggestions.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
muggins

Joined: 20 Jan 2006
Posts: 6690
Location: lisbon

PostPosted: Sat 29 Sep 2007, 18:06    Post subject:  

puppyoutsider,

now you've triggered a distant memory in my brain! i think that with the install that works I have installed the specific drivers for the graphics card + openGL.

anyway, good that you managed to get it working. i'm not really a CAD person, so was it worth the effort?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
puppyoutsider

Joined: 25 Sep 2007
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Mon 01 Oct 2007, 04:26    Post subject: gCAD3D  

Hi muggins,

I am trying to setup a system under Linux, which can do the things I used to do under MS-Windows. These are
- texteditting
- spreadsheet
- C/C++ programming
- electronic design
- CAD (2D and 3D)

One of the programs I use often is Alibre Design, a 3D CAD program. which functions good. After modelling a 3D-design, it is possible to generate 2D-drawings. I will investigate if these can also be done with gCAD3D, but after I was succesfull to install this, I have not tried it yet. Later this week, I hope I can inform you about my ideas about it later this week.

I do not really understand if you were succesfull to install the package again. For me the drivers for the graphics card were crucial.
My opinion so far is, that installing programs under Linux is less trivial than in MS-Windows. Mostly you need a package special made for the distribution you need and even than it is tricky to install them. However, I didn't have had any problems with PET- and Dotpup-packages.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
muggins

Joined: 20 Jan 2006
Posts: 6690
Location: lisbon

PostPosted: Mon 01 Oct 2007, 04:48    Post subject:  

i don't have any need for a CAD program. the only reason i posted the link to gCAD3D was i was aware of previous posts querying the lack of CAD programs for puppy.

but out of curiousity today i successfully duplicated my initial install, (with pup2,16), to a pristine pup2.17 partition. with gCAD3D the critical factor is having a working 3D openGL display.

so i used mu's 3DCC program, and this time followed all the steps, and upon rebooting, gCAD3D worked.

if you're looking for electronics &/or CAD programs, do a forum search for:

qucs, xcircuit, qcad, sagcad.

if you've got the relevant devx for your pupversion, the latest development version of tkgate compiles & install easily, but at 7M+ is too big to upload to the forum. also tclspice.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
puppyoutsider

Joined: 25 Sep 2007
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Tue 02 Oct 2007, 15:19    Post subject: gCAD3D
Subject description: functioning under Puppy
 

Hello,

After I have been succesful to install gCAD3D under Puppy-2.16, I have a problem to use it.
I can open example models and they can be rotated in 3D; great.
When I like to start a model, I understand from the manual, that I have to enter CAD or MAN modus. As soon as I click on one of these radio-buttons in the taskbar, the complete program disappears. In VWR modus all work fine. I noticed, that VWR, 3D and Shade texts in the taskbar are blue.
Does anyone know the reason for this. As a check I installed the package under Win2k, where this functions well (I don't like to use this program in MS environment).
Evey hint or suggestion will be welcome.

Thanks in advance.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 2 of 6 [81 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Unsorted
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0885s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0049s) ][ GZIP on ]