Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sun 23 Nov 2014, 02:25
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Puppy 3.00BETA bug reports here
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 7 of 8 [117 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8 Next
Author Message
HairyWill


Joined: 26 May 2006
Posts: 2949
Location: Southampton, UK

PostPosted: Tue 25 Sep 2007, 05:32    Post subject:  

man is set open the wikipedia page for the word of the command if it can't find the relevant info in /usr/share/doc
This currently means all busybox commands are pointed at wikipedia and the URL is calculated wrong
when I type
man man
I get
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Man (warning gratuitous nudity)
when it should be
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Man_(Unix)
note the upper M is not important as wikipedia will convert from lowercase

It is an interesting idea though I personally find the wikipedia pages less helpful than proper man pages. There is also the issue of the differences in switches available for full commands and for busybox ones, at least if you are pointing at busybox users will be aware of the difference.

Barry I still don't understand why the format
file:///usr/share/doc/busybox.htm#item_awk
file:///usr/share/doc/busybox.htm#item_rm
doesn't work for you, I've just tested it again in Netsurf.

Note to anybody else trying to test, /usr/share/doc/busybox.htm is not included in 3.00 beta.

Barry, I'm intrigued that you don't host proper man pages yourself if you want to do it this way. I would have thought that the bandwidth wouldn't be too excessive. If it does become a problem then you can post a small holding page with a dotpup patch to point it somewhere else the next time the person uses man. Whatever happens the problem could be solved in the next release.

_________________
Will
contribute: community website, screenshots, puplets, wiki, rss
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7082
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Tue 25 Sep 2007, 08:36    Post subject:  

Wikipaedia is just temporary. I wanted to use:
http://linux.die.net/man/
but NetSurf does not display it properly -- I have informed the NetSurf developers about this, so hopefully it will be fixed for pup 3.01. Well, can't guarantee I'll stay with NetSurf anyway.

Note, the die.net site has a wider range of man pages than other online man pages that I checked out.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
kirk

Joined: 11 Nov 2005
Posts: 1436
Location: florida

PostPosted: Tue 25 Sep 2007, 17:40    Post subject:  

Gnumeric in 3.00beta is missing most of it's functions. Only has 3. Not much use like that. Gnumeric in puppy 2.17 must have over 100.

Just click the f(x) button and then click on all functions to see the list.

Edit: /usr/lib/gnumeric/1.6.3/plugins is missing most of files.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
PaulBx1

Joined: 16 Jun 2006
Posts: 2308
Location: Wyoming, USA

PostPosted: Tue 25 Sep 2007, 21:45    Post subject:  

Woops, that's not good! Smile Good catch, kirk.

linux.die.net is a great man page resource, my favorite. Excellent place to point to, Barry. I ran their ifconfig man page through the W3C validator and it showed 6 errors. Rolling Eyes So part of the problem might be with them.

I tried Dillo on those pages and much of the pretty formatting was gone, but the text was fine.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
dgi

Joined: 20 Sep 2007
Posts: 8
Location: San Francisco, CA

PostPosted: Wed 26 Sep 2007, 04:36    Post subject:  

dgi wrote:
dgi wrote:
Hi. I've finally decided to try Puppy for the first time, jumping in with both feet. The machine is a Toshiba Satellite 105CS made in 1996, maxed out to 40MB RAM. Since there is no CD drive, and no PCI bus for a USB host, I thought I'd manually install the contents of the CD onto the HD. I felt that the only real choice for a filesystem on the HD is the lightning-fast JFS, but I found Puppy 2.17 missing it from its kernel, so I figured I should get involved in broadening Puppy3's horizons. Of course, the 3.00beta doesn't have JFS in the kernel nor initrd either, so I can't boot Puppy yet. Please build a second beta with JFS support included. Thank you.
I just looked at this:
http://puptrix.org/sources/kernel-2.6.21.5-pup217/DOTconfig-K2.6.21.5-23JUN07-9.20pm
I see that the JFS module is already built. BarryK, will the 3.00beta2 initramfs have this module, and if not, why not? Also, I'm going to try using the CD with an external SCSI CD drive via WakePup2. For that, the i82365 and aha152x_cs modules will also need to be in the initramfs, which is just as simple, since they are also already being built. Sound might be an add-on PET package later, once Puppy gets a 2.6.22 kernel.
If anybody else wants to try, take a look at:
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=143017#143017
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7082
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Wed 26 Sep 2007, 07:07    Post subject:  

kirk wrote:
Gnumeric in 3.00beta is missing most of it's functions. Only has 3. Not much use like that. Gnumeric in puppy 2.17 must have over 100.

Just click the f(x) button and then click on all functions to see the list.

Edit: /usr/lib/gnumeric/1.6.3/plugins is missing most of files.

...er, yes, the plugins package wasn't included, has to be installed separately.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
vimwick

Joined: 26 Sep 2007
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Wed 26 Sep 2007, 14:40    Post subject: puppy3  

compaq evo 600c laptop

also getting the 'Making the filesystem usable... failed'

with

ISO 9660 Extensions: RRIP_1991A
ISO 9660 Extensions: RRIP_1991A

60 second timeout

multisesson doesn't work in either 2.17 or 3
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
vimwick

Joined: 26 Sep 2007
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Wed 26 Sep 2007, 14:59    Post subject:  

compaq deskpro en 1ghz 256mb

also getting the 'Making the filesystem usable... failed'

with

ISO 9660 Extensions: RRIP_1991A
ISO 9660 Extensions: RRIP_1991A

60 second timeout

multisesson doesn't work in either 2.17 or 3
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
vimwick

Joined: 26 Sep 2007
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Wed 26 Sep 2007, 15:18    Post subject: puppy3  

dell dimension 600mhz 128mb

no 'Making the filesystem usable... failed' error

but

multisesson doesn't work in either 2.17 or 3

ps, thanks for the great distro. appreciate all the hard work. hope this helps...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
vimwick

Joined: 26 Sep 2007
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Wed 26 Sep 2007, 16:00    Post subject:  

dell inspiron 1100 2.3ghz 256mb

also getting the 'Making the filesystem usable... failed'

with

ISO 9660 Extensions: RRIP_1991A
ISO 9660 Extensions: RRIP_1991A

60 second timeout

multisesson doesn't work in either 2.17 or 3

i'm seeing a trend Wink
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
richwa4sxz

Joined: 17 Sep 2007
Posts: 7
Location: Fort Walton Beach, Florida

PostPosted: Wed 26 Sep 2007, 20:41    Post subject: still no sounds
Subject description: Beta 3 2.22 question
 

Greetings,
Using Toshiba A135-S4427 laptop I am still not getting any sound from the HDA-Intel (built in) sound card. It uses a Realtek AC861 chip set
Alsa config finds the card, runs but no sound. Was wondering if the new alsa rc2 made it into this beta. Also still not finding my Audigy2 ZS pcmcia sound card at all. Added the snd-emu10k1 driver but still no go on the pcmcia sound card recognition. Maybe something I have overlooked.

On the positive side, everything else works hardware wise, and no problems with booting or file system.

Last release that I had working sound on the HDA-intel was 2.14.

Looks good so far. Thanks for your continuing support of the project.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
klhrevolutionist


Joined: 08 Jun 2005
Posts: 1124

PostPosted: Wed 26 Sep 2007, 22:18    Post subject:  

puppy3 beta-2 (Bugs and what not)

Xvesa wizard: Still must press test instead of okay
NetSurf: works, but cannot visit any webpages
hd-install: upon rebooting a couple times will not allow into X

_________________
Heaven is on the way, until then let's get the truth out!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nyu


Joined: 14 Mar 2006
Posts: 110
Location: good earth

PostPosted: Wed 26 Sep 2007, 23:06    Post subject:  

I am using 800X600X16 screen mode. The desktop is too big
to fit in my screen. Some application windows are too big as well.

Thanks for this great distro. Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Henry

Joined: 29 Jul 2006
Posts: 829
Location: Oregon USA

PostPosted: Thu 27 Sep 2007, 00:16    Post subject: 3beta2 Problems (Edited again to simplify)  

I know there have been great strides in development, and am very pleased that we will have good package handling. However I have been using the new "tiny" (233M iso) installed fluxbox version of PCLOS and it's (rpm) repository seems superior to Slackware. For instance one fetches a Thunderbird version with or without Enigmail in a selected language, and that's it. It installs 8 files, no fiddling with finding the extension and separately installing Gnupg. But hopefully a sparser Puppy with Gslapt will work equally well. I mention this as it seems impossible to use GPG in Seamonkey 1.12 in a pristine Puppy 3beta. Seamonkey closes immediately, as it did previously in 1.08.

I also tried to upgrade my 2.17.1 config., which I have done without problem from 2.13 through 2.17.1. Some programs do not run, most notably the whole Seamonkey suite. The files from both 108 and 112 remain there in /usr/lib/seamonkey but I can run neither. Maybe because folders have changed (or whatever) but it's not realistic for me (or many users) to sort that out. Some sort of adaptation is needed for this, as upgrades are important to the user who has tailored his system over time.

But if I download Seamonkey 1.14 from the Mozilla site and manually install it (into /opt/seamonkey, in this case) it works fine, even in a ver. 3 upgrade.

Henry

Last edited by Henry on Sun 30 Sep 2007, 00:42; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
veronicathecow


Joined: 21 Oct 2006
Posts: 535

PostPosted: Thu 27 Sep 2007, 05:14    Post subject:  

Hi Barry, hope you are not to worn out. Wanted you to know definite improvement in running Puppy on my machine, many many thanks.
Sound now works
Ethernet now recognised, and connect to the net perfectly
Will try other stuff later.
Cheers
Tony
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 7 of 8 [117 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0918s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0096s) ][ GZIP on ]