Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sun 21 Sep 2014, 12:22
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Puppy 3.00BETA bug reports here
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 6 of 8 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8 Next
Author Message
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7047
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Sat 22 Sep 2007, 08:43    Post_subject:  

Those who have been testing Internet dialup with 3.00beta (and failed), could please try this. Before starting PupDial or whatever dialup program you wish to use, open a terminal and type this:
# modprobe -vn crc-ccitt
# modprobe -vn zlib-deflate
...then try dialing the Internet.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
zygo

Joined: 08 Apr 2006
Posts: 211
Location: UK

PostPosted: Sat 22 Sep 2007, 09:34    Post_subject: zygo  

It works Barry. I'm posting this with NetSurf.
Cheers.

pbtw NetSurf doesn't like cursor control keys!
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
zygo

Joined: 08 Apr 2006
Posts: 211
Location: UK

PostPosted: Sat 22 Sep 2007, 10:03    Post_subject: zygo  

The xnetload gui shows only the cancel button. I had to start it from the command line:

xnetload -if ppp0

pppd is not listed in kp.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
2byte

Joined: 09 Oct 2006
Posts: 357

PostPosted: Sat 22 Sep 2007, 10:20    Post_subject:  

I have a 2.17 frugal install with no pup_save file where everything gets saved directly to the partition. Trying to upgrade with the 3.00 beta fails. I copied the necessary 4 files to / and rebooted. It all went well until just before it was time to get an IP address with DHCP. Then the screen went black and froze. No prompt was visible. Rebooted and got to the point where a red text message appeared saying that the previous boot failed, or was not shut down properly (something like that) and advised to type xorgwizard or xwin. The next line appeared, without my typing anything, about trying to get an IP address from DHCP and it froze again. I gave up for now.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Philh

Joined: 17 May 2006
Posts: 99
Location: England

PostPosted: Sat 22 Sep 2007, 12:49    Post_subject:  

Dial up
# modprobe -vn crc-ccitt
# modprobe -vn zlib-deflate
...then try dialing the Internet.

Works for me using pupdial
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7047
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Sat 22 Sep 2007, 18:41    Post_subject: Re: zygo  

zygo wrote:
The xnetload gui shows only the cancel button. I had to start it from the command line:

xnetload -if ppp0

pppd is not listed in kp.

I have wound gray's improved KP back from v0.3 to v0.2, which shows the full list of processes. I have also wound back 'ps' to the Busybox applet only, to save space. Will be in beta2.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
kirk

Joined: 11 Nov 2005
Posts: 1409
Location: florida

PostPosted: Sat 22 Sep 2007, 23:33    Post_subject:  

Used the Universial installer to install to flash. It asked where to find the puppy files, so I pointed it to /mnt/home. It said they could not be found and exited. So I ran the universial install again, this time it didn't ask where to find the files and tried to copy (all?) the .sfs files from /mnt/home until the flash drive filled up. It copied the pup_217.sfs and zdrv_217.sfs along with the 2.21 files. It's only a 256mb flash stick.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Wolf Pup

Joined: 27 Apr 2006
Posts: 637

PostPosted: Sun 23 Sep 2007, 01:04    Post_subject:  

barry, i got puppy from ftp://ibiblio.org/pub/linux/distributions/puppylinux/test/puppy-3.00beta/isolinux-builds instead of the iso md5sum not the same as in the one you have posted on there. dialup now does not freeze the computer, but even with or without the
Code:
modprobe -vn crc-ccitt
modprobe -vn zlib-deflate
i still get this from pupdial
Code:
--> WvDial: Internet dialer version 1.41
--> Initializing modem.
--> Sending: ATZ
ATZ
OK
--> Sending: ATQ0V1E1S0=0&C1&D2S11=55+FCLASS=0
ATQ0V1E1S0=0&C1&D2S11=55+FCLASS=0
OK
--> Modem initialized.
--> Sending: ATDT 2882000
--> Waiting for carrier.
ATDT 2882000
CONNECT 41333 V42bis
--> Carrier detected.  Waiting for prompt.
NO CARRIER
--> Don't know what to do!  Starting pppd and hoping for the best.
--> Starting pppd at Sat Sep 22 23:51:43 2007


and this when the carrier check box is selected

Code:
--> WvDial: Internet dialer version 1.41
--> Initializing modem.
--> Sending: ATZ
ATZ
OK
--> Sending: ATQ0V1E1S0=0&C1&D2S11=55+FCLASS=0
ATQ0V1E1S0=0&C1&D2S11=55+FCLASS=0
OK
--> Modem initialized.
--> Sending: ATDT 2882000
--> Waiting for carrier.
ATDT 2882000
CONNECT 40000 V42bis
--> Carrier detected.  Waiting for prompt.
Returning not ok!!
--> Disconnecting at Sun Sep 23 13:10:44 2007


this is on a lucent winmodem.

_________________

Visit The Repository - Helpful and hard-to-find treats for Puppy 3.
Click Here for Puppy Support Chat, + Helpful Links.

Edited_times_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
zygo

Joined: 08 Apr 2006
Posts: 211
Location: UK

PostPosted: Sun 23 Sep 2007, 07:57    Post_subject: zygo  

I'm using Opera 9.22. I've enabled showdesktop in rox - it seems to be working. You've done something to make the clipboard work without glipper. I know this is a beta puppy but I'll point these out just in case.

-Ash and Busybox help files are missing.

-Text is sometimes faint and has missing bits (verticals on the right). File sizes in rox is an example. I'm using xvesa. Though I do like the shiny look.

Thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
dgi

Joined: 20 Sep 2007
Posts: 8
Location: San Francisco, CA

PostPosted: Sun 23 Sep 2007, 10:19    Post_subject:  

dgi wrote:
Hi. I've finally decided to try Puppy for the first time, jumping in with both feet. The machine is a Toshiba Satellite 105CS made in 1996, maxed out to 40MB RAM. Since there is no CD drive, and no PCI bus for a USB host, I thought I'd manually install the contents of the CD onto the HD. I felt that the only real choice for a filesystem on the HD is the lightning-fast JFS, but I found Puppy 2.17 missing it from its kernel, so I figured I should get involved in broadening Puppy3's horizons. Of course, the 3.00beta doesn't have JFS in the kernel nor initrd either, so I can't boot Puppy yet. Please build a second beta with JFS support included. Thank you.
I just looked at this:
http://puptrix.org/sources/kernel-2.6.21.5-pup217/DOTconfig-K2.6.21.5-23JUN07-9.20pm
I see that the JFS module is already built. BarryK, will the 3.00beta2 initramfs have this module, and if not, why not? Also, I'm going to try using the CD with an external SCSI CD drive via WakePup2. For that, the i82365 and aha152x_cs modules will also need to be in the initramfs, which is just as simple, since they are also already being built. Sound might be an add-on PET package later, once Puppy gets a 2.6.22 kernel.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
PaulBx1

Joined: 16 Jun 2006
Posts: 2308
Location: Wyoming, USA

PostPosted: Sun 23 Sep 2007, 11:46    Post_subject:  

OK I have further modified the revised Partview found on this thread (extended the filter of the df command):
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=133087#133087

When booting off CD it looks like this:



I have eliminated the ramdisk that was /initrd/mnt/tmpfs because I figure most users aren't interested and it's always at 99% anyway. I also added information about what the remaining ramdisk is, in this case /tmp. If booting from flash it will say "ramdisk:pup_rw".

Hope Barry can get this into the new beta.

BTW I too am wondering what shmfs is for. What is going to use it? I have found via google that it is sometimes used as swap (although the logic fails me since it is in memory - or is it?) If it's on a drive and used for swap we need to be able to defeat it, for those of us using encryption...

John Doe, I guess my problem with the wakepup first screen (and maybe others) is that it is a bit too terse in the question. Instead of "Puppy boot device" (or however that goes), maybe it should say "Please specify the device where Puppy resides", or "Please specify the Puppy boot device". But mostly getting rid of that timeout would probably be enough to give people time to figure it out.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Wolf Pup

Joined: 27 Apr 2006
Posts: 637

PostPosted: Sun 23 Sep 2007, 21:01    Post_subject:  

Very Happy now both gkdial and pupdial work
gkdial works after modprobing the two modules
pupdial works by modprobing the two modules, then adding "Stupid Mode = 1" to /etc/wvdial.conf, but stupid mode gets over written when changing any of pupdial settings, could stupid mode be added to pupdial as a option?

gxine is freezing sometimes when playing mp3 files, and in pidgin only way to hear sounds is to add wavplay %s to sound method in sound tab.

_________________

Visit The Repository - Helpful and hard-to-find treats for Puppy 3.
Click Here for Puppy Support Chat, + Helpful Links.

Edited_time_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
veronicathecow


Joined: 21 Oct 2006
Posts: 533

PostPosted: Mon 24 Sep 2007, 03:15    Post_subject:  

Hi Barry, just done some checking. (Both installs frugal with manual copying of files) and no user save file) Sound was working fine in 2.17.1. but nothing in, no sound modules loaded I think V3.xx

Xorg I can get 1024*768 but not 1440*900

My Network card was correctly identified as skge and worked fine in 2.17.1 but in 3.xx it did not recognise I even had a card

Cheers
Tony
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
HairyWill


Joined: 26 May 2006
Posts: 2949
Location: Southampton, UK

PostPosted: Mon 24 Sep 2007, 05:49    Post_subject:  

Lobster wrote:
The bubbles game is much faster running.

gadzooks you're right!

More seriously.
I've only just got around to testing this and my manual frugal install is still not picking up the modules out of the zdrv on first boot. Once I've created a pup_save it works fine. I'm not sure if it has any relevance but I have several pup_saves present already so I'm choosing option 0 to ignore existing pup_saves.

_________________
Will
contribute: community website, screenshots, puplets, wiki, rss
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
HairyWill


Joined: 26 May 2006
Posts: 2949
Location: Southampton, UK

PostPosted: Mon 24 Sep 2007, 07:38    Post_subject:  

I was just testing out zigberts converted jwm configurator and found a problem with the standard puppy jwm themes.

For most of the themes the <traystyle> tag includes a <height> tag. This is invalid for jwm 2.

The lines with these declarations need to be removed otherwise the tray configurator will not work.

_________________
Will
contribute: community website, screenshots, puplets, wiki, rss
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 6 of 8 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8 Next
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0894s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0059s) ][ GZIP on ]