Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 16 Apr 2014, 10:34
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Unsorted
revised Network Wizard + dhcpcd Aug 24 2007
Moderators: deshlab, Flash, GuestToo, Ian, JohnMurga, Lobster
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 3 [39 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2, 3 Next
Author Message
tempestuous

Joined: 10 Jun 2005
Posts: 5139
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Sat 25 Aug 2007, 07:24    Post subject:  revised Network Wizard + dhcpcd Aug 24 2007  

Network Wizard
1. As well as identifying the network interface by name, the wizard now also identifies the brand/model of the device, and whether the interface is LAN or wireless.
2. Support for WPA and WPA2 encryption, and the wizard will only permit these settings if the wifi module in use is compatible.
3. Support for the configuration of the prism2_usb module, which uses unconventional setup commands. And scanning also works with prism2_usb.

Update October 7 2007
- support added for ALL prism2 wifi modules (not just prism2_usb).
- WPA support added for Realtek r8180 and r8187 wifi modules.
- WPA support added for zd1211rw (Zydas) module.

Thanks to Dougal for many scripting revisions, and JustGreg for testing the WPA2 function.
The package is over 100KB because it contains lsusb plus the relatively large configuration file needed by lsusb.
For Puppy versions earlier than 2.17, the "Autoload USB" function requires the additional net-wiz-usb-extras-k2.6.18.1.pet

Puppy v3.00 now contains a revised version of this wizard, with a slightly different main interface, and without the lsusb components.

For Puppy versions earlier than 2.17, the "Autoload USB" function requires the additional net-wiz-usb-extras-k2.6.18.1.pet
network-wizard-Oct07.pet
Description  for Puppy 2.17
pet

 Download 
Filename  network-wizard-Oct07.pet 
Filesize  115.93 KB 
Downloaded  862 Time(s) 
net-wiz-usb-extras-k2.6.18.1.pet
Description  to use new Network Wizard with Puppy versions 2.12 - 2.16
pet

 Download 
Filename  net-wiz-usb-extras-k2.6.18.1.pet 
Filesize  12.12 KB 
Downloaded  903 Time(s) 

Last edited by tempestuous on Sat 06 Oct 2007, 22:25; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tempestuous

Joined: 10 Jun 2005
Posts: 5139
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Sat 25 Aug 2007, 07:27    Post subject:  

dhcpcd in Puppy 2.17.1 (but not 2.17) is BROKEN!
This is a major problem, which I announced as soon as it was identified -
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=133977#133977
but the information seems to have gone largely unnoticed.

Here is the fixed version, which will now save its configuration files to the correct location: /etc/dhcpc/
expected by Puppy's various network setup scripts.
dhcpcd-3.1.4.pet
Description 
pet

 Download 
Filename  dhcpcd-3.1.4.pet 
Filesize  26.55 KB 
Downloaded  1030 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jonyo

Joined: 28 Dec 2006
Posts: 2727

PostPosted: Sat 25 Aug 2007, 21:56    Post subject:  

Will this work in puppy 98? (1.07 based I think)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tempestuous

Joined: 10 Jun 2005
Posts: 5139
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Sun 26 Aug 2007, 01:04    Post subject:  

The Puppy 1.x series contains no third-party wifi drivers, so the Wizard will obviously not be able to set up drivers which are not present.
But the Wizard should work OK with the small number of "standard" wifi drivers, plus all of the ethernet drivers.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jonyo

Joined: 28 Dec 2006
Posts: 2727

PostPosted: Sun 26 Aug 2007, 15:26    Post subject:  

Can the net wiz setup using ndiswrapper in 1x variants?
Last edited by jonyo on Sun 26 Aug 2007, 16:49; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
zigbert


Joined: 29 Mar 2006
Posts: 5561
Location: Valåmoen, Norway

PostPosted: Sun 26 Aug 2007, 16:03    Post subject:  

Thank you

This upgrade made this wizard easy understandable for us not-so-smart-guys.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
tempestuous

Joined: 10 Jun 2005
Posts: 5139
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Mon 27 Aug 2007, 03:11    Post subject:  

jonyo wrote:
Can the net wiz setup using ndiswrapper in 1x variants?

Probably. But I understand that ndiswrapper requires perl as well.
Since you have to go to some effort to install extra packages (perl + Windows driver) it would make more sense to install the correct Linux drivers.
Linux wifi drivers compatible with Puppy versions 1.0.4 - 1.0.9 are here http://dotpups.de/dotpups/Wifi/drivers-for-Puppy-1/

Your Netgear MA401 is supported by the orinoco_cs module or hostap_cs module. The hostap_cs is a better choice, so unload (or blacklist) the orinoco_cs first.
http://dotpups.de/dotpups/Wifi/drivers-for-Puppy-1/hostap-0.4.7.tar.gz
http://dotpups.de/dotpups/Wifi/drivers-for-Puppy-1/hostap_README

Your D-Link DWL-G122 b1 USB is supported by the rt2570 module.
http://dotpups.de/dotpups/Wifi/drivers-for-Puppy-1/ralink-legacy.tar.gz
http://dotpups.de/dotpups/Wifi/drivers-for-Puppy-1/ralink_README
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jonyo

Joined: 28 Dec 2006
Posts: 2727

PostPosted: Mon 27 Aug 2007, 10:23    Post subject:  

Thx mucho. Smile Turns out to be some very timely info. Have pup 98 up & running on this ibm 380 ed lap p150 80 megs ram (booted but hung to an error with 32 megs of ram). Ordered & took ~ 2 wks the get some ram to max it out at 80 megs. Took a chance on that cos the lenovo site sez the lap maxes out at 48 megs but 80 is working out (..makes me wonder if it might take more). Runs pup 98 real good this way & still sortin out the wifi on that (& swap partition).

The other interesting thing is that the lenovo site sez that the lap wont boot from cd & for the most part it doesn't but turns out it does boot off some cds..Gparted for one (but not to a start screen) & win 98..

Some other interesting things is that messin around, turned out that it booted some (not all..tried a bunch) earlier variants of 2x~0-1 pups (with 32 megs) to a start screen (but barely ran..sloow) with a wake floppy but ended up with a cheezy green screen with xvesa (xorg wouldn't work). So was waiting for the additional ram to see what diff that might make. Made all the diff as I can boot to a A-1 start screen with xorg. Smile I was focusing on early variants 2x as they were the only ones that would boot via wake floppy. Tried out a few others that were kicking around 2.13-5-6 & couldn't get a boot (& wonder why Question Rolling Eyes). Ended up trying 2.17 & boom Shocked got a boot so along with win & pup 98, got 2.17 setup live cd & its workin pretty good..considering..so far. Tried to set up a swap partition but some error is coming up that I haven't sorted out.

On to the wifi. Lap has no usb port Sad so going with the netgear MA 401, - 2.17 auto loads orinoco_cs. Scan shows my wifi but as soon as I try auto dhcp (not sure but think I'm on 2.17) in the net wiz..loose the wifi & rutilt wont open..shows errors. So blacklisted that & went with the hostap_cs. After loading, no wifi interface shows up & get - critical error: Can't find any wireless network interface. Code: -3. What to do next?

Edit - Tried out all the win .inf files & none brought up a wifi interface though they loaded. Dunno how to unload them or if that may be a prob here.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Sit Heel Speak


Joined: 30 Mar 2006
Posts: 2595
Location: downwind

PostPosted: Thu 30 Aug 2007, 21:06    Post subject:  

@tempestuous:

Thank you for fixing dhcp in 2.17.1.

Your revised Network Wizard, like rarsa's before it, still does not allow what I want:

I have one internal nic (eth0) going to a dsl "modem."
--the modem is 10.0.0.2 and assigns IP's via dhcp.
--so, I wish to be able to use AutoDHCP on this nic.

I have a second nic (eth1) going to the rest of my internal network, as well as to a separate proxy machine.
--this nic is 192.168.1.7, static.
--its proxy machine is 192.168.1.11.
--the proxy is also this card's gateway and DNS nameserver.
--therefore, for this card, I would like to be able to set gateway and DNS servers independently of eth0, i.e. not to 10.0.0.2 but rather to 192.168.1.11.

Possible?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tempestuous

Joined: 10 Jun 2005
Posts: 5139
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Sat 01 Sep 2007, 06:09    Post subject:  

First, it's not my wizard. The current wizard is still based on rarsa's code, with extensive enhancements by Dougal.
I just coordinated the recent testing and feedback.

I'm not sure if the wizard can accommodate multiple network interfaces. Dougal could probably answer this, but since you obviously know something
about network configuration and commandline usage, I suggest you forget about the wizard (it's just a simplified tool for newbies) and instead run
the necessary commands.
Once it's working, you can create a script which sets up your configuration at each boot up.

The connection to the modem should be quite easy -
Code:
dhcpcd eth0


For your LAN connection I think this is what you need (anyone else feel free to jump in)
First modify /etc/resolv.conf to include ONLY this -

nameserver 192.168.1.11

Now run these commands -
Code:
ifconfig eth1 192.168.1.7 broadcast 192.168.1.255 netmask 255.255.255.0
route add default gw 192.168.1.11 eth1


Now keep in mind that every time the dhcpcd command is run to set up eth0, it will mess up the gateway and DNS addresses set for eth1.
I see that there are some parameters which can avoid this -

-R Prevents dhcpcd from replacing existing /etc/resolv.conf file.
-G [gateway] Prevents dhcpcd from installing default routes provided by DHCP server.

But Puppy's startup script does run dhcpcd, and it will continue to do its own thing (unless you modify it) so it will probably still be necessary to run the eth1 commands each time, and recreate the /etc/resolv.conf file.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jonyo

Joined: 28 Dec 2006
Posts: 2727

PostPosted: Sat 01 Sep 2007, 09:25    Post subject:  

tempestuous wrote:
but since you obviously know something
about network configuration and commandline usage, I suggest you forget about the wizard (it's just a simplified tool for newbies) and instead run
the necessary commands.


I'm not familiar with the commands & if the gui doesn't work I'm quite lost in sorting it out. Can't say I've run across some good info on it pup but I may have missed it. Is it available somewhere?

Best info I've run across thus far are here.
https://help.ubuntu.com/community/WifiDocs/WirelessTroubleShootingGuide
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Sit Heel Speak


Joined: 30 Mar 2006
Posts: 2595
Location: downwind

PostPosted: Sat 01 Sep 2007, 13:47    Post subject:  

tempestuous wrote:
...First, it's not my wizard...
My apologies for the mistaken identity. Thank you rarsa and Dougal!
tempestuous wrote:
Once it's working, you can...
Aha--the fog lifts. For all my alleged prowess, I was unaware of the route command and the existence of what route modifies, namely the kernel's internal routing table--it was mystifying me that there is no configuration file for specifying gateway IP's in /etc, in Puppy. Thereby I was mistakenly assuming that Puppy is mistakenly assuming that the nameserver(s) listed in resolv.conf are also the gateways. Silly me.

So if I catch your drift, at the end of rc.local I can accomplish what I want by inserting this:

Code:
#the below would solve the nameservers problem
echo nameserver 192.168.1.11 > /etc/resolv.conf
echo nameserver 10.0.0.2 >> /etc/resolv.conf
#the below would specify that
#only eth0 uses 10.0.0.2 as its gateway
#and
#only eth1 uses 192.168.1.11 as its gateway
ifconfig eth0 dhcp broadcast 10.0.0.255 netmask 255.0.0.0
route add default gw 10.0.0.2 eth0
ifconfig eth1 192.168.1.7 broadcast 192.168.1.255 netmask 255.255.255.0
route add default gw 192.168.1.11 eth1


Yes? I'll try it on the target computer, just as soon as it finishes the auto-compile under that other distro of kde...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tempestuous

Joined: 10 Jun 2005
Posts: 5139
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Sun 02 Sep 2007, 06:22    Post subject:  

Sit Heel Speak wrote:
ifconfig eth0 dhcp broadcast 10.0.0.255 netmask 255.0.0.0

I don't think that the command you suggested will obtain an IP address, because "dhcp" is not a valid parameter for ifconfig.
For eth0 I think you need to use the dhcpcd command, like this -
Code:
dhcpcd -R -G eth0
route add default gw 10.0.0.2 eth0

I just tested these commands now, they seem to work. Of course, if Puppy automatically runs dhcpcd at bootup, you will first need to kill this process.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tempestuous

Joined: 10 Jun 2005
Posts: 5139
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Sun 02 Sep 2007, 06:29    Post subject:  

Wait, now that I look at it, we're being too complex.
All you should need to do for eth0 is this -
Code:
dhcpcd -R eth0

dhcpcd will configure the IP address and gateway for eth0. The -R is so that it won't overwrite /etc/resolv.conf
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Sit Heel Speak


Joined: 30 Mar 2006
Posts: 2595
Location: downwind

PostPosted: Sun 02 Sep 2007, 14:14    Post subject:  

Thanks again...I may get a chance to try this, twelve hours from now. The kde compile referred-to above stymied me, until I by sheer luck found an old post (not this forum) telling me that, in that other distro, if I have auto-updated python, which happens during the autocompile of kde as a side-effect of the included attempt to update cfg-update...at a certain point I will get an error message telling me that the compiler can't find libxml2...at which point merely recompiling libxml2 doesn't solve the problem--I must first run python-updater...and then remove the zlib USE flag and then redo the compile of cfg-update...and maybe libxml2, I forget, it was 1AM by that point and I could hardly see straight...before resuming the compile of kde...how on Earth does Barry do it...anyway, I've done all that now, and kde finished successfully compiling overnight...but now it is morning, and She Who Must Be Obeyed is busy on that machine...and I must go pay my weekly social calls on my mom and sister...I don't mean to sound like I am in any way disappointed or frustrated with my beautiful, charming, gracious female relatives...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 3 [39 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2, 3 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Unsorted
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0839s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0055s) ][ GZIP on ]