Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 30 Jul 2014, 15:38
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Unsorted
EZpup-2.1.7R2 now available!
Moderators: deshlab, Flash, GuestToo, Ian, JohnMurga, Lobster
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 2 of 3 [40 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3 Next
Author Message
WhoDo


Joined: 11 Jul 2006
Posts: 4441
Location: Lake Macquarie NSW Australia

PostPosted: Thu 02 Aug 2007, 19:41    Post subject:  

Wolf Pup wrote:
EZpup-2.1.7R2 doesn't work with 2.16, just a blank desktop appears, and theres no wallpaper on background.

EDIT:
EZpup works now by adding
Code:
rox -p=/root/Choices/ROX-Filer/PuppyPin
to /usr/sbin/delayedrun

Interesting!?!? I've tested EZpup-2.1.7R2 with both 2.16 and 2.17 (not 2.17.1, yet) and it works fine on a Pentium M 1.73GHz laptop and a Celeron 1GHz desktop through several test installs and removals. Maybe this is only a problem with really fast machines? I'll consider adding your fix to the next version, just in case.

Thanks.

_________________
Actions speak louder than words ... and they usually work when words don't!
SIP:whodo@proxy01.sipphone.com; whodo@realsip.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Lobster
Official Crustacean


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 15117
Location: Paradox Realm

PostPosted: Fri 03 Aug 2007, 00:04    Post subject:  

Quote:
not 2.17.1, yet


Embarassed Not tested? Embarassed

Nobody tells me Rolling Eyes
I am using it in Prism (based on 2.17.1rc) Very Happy

Once running looks OK
http://tmxxine.com/Wikka/wikka.php?wakka=RainbowPrism

_________________
Puppy WIKI
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
WhoDo


Joined: 11 Jul 2006
Posts: 4441
Location: Lake Macquarie NSW Australia

PostPosted: Fri 03 Aug 2007, 02:52    Post subject:  

Lobster wrote:
Quote:
not 2.17.1, yet


Embarassed Not tested? Embarassed

Nobody tells me Rolling Eyes
I am using it in Prism (based on 2.17.1rc) Very Happy

I guess that's why it's called the "bleeding edge"! Razz You're alright because your time machine (Tmxxine) can go back and correct any mistakes before they happen, can't it? Cool

_________________
Actions speak louder than words ... and they usually work when words don't!
SIP:whodo@proxy01.sipphone.com; whodo@realsip.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
moebigsley

Joined: 10 Aug 2007
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Fri 10 Aug 2007, 15:45    Post subject: It was working...  

Well, I had puppy 2.16 and EZpup working great. However, I am a sucker for the latest and greatest and so I backed everything up and upgraded to 2.17.1

More accurately, I wiped my drive and installed 2.17.1 fresh.

I downloaded the EZpup-2.1.7R2 pet package and attempted to install it.

However, I am confronted with the following error:

The EZpup-2.1.7R2-2.pet package has been downloaded to /root/.packages,
however there is not enough room to uncompress and install it.
The free space is 59525 blocks but it is estimated you will
need 149240 blocks temporarily for the expansion and install.

Note: If you are using a pup_save.3fs personal storage file,
it can be made bigger -- see Utilities menu.

This script will now delete the package and exit...

This is a fresh 2.17.1 install on a 1GB usb drive. Other Pet packages seem to work without an error. This machine has 512 MB ram and I am using a 256 MB pup_save. There are gobs of free space and plenty of free ram.

I appreciate any advice you can give. The stock puppy is a little hard on the eyes.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
WhoDo


Joined: 11 Jul 2006
Posts: 4441
Location: Lake Macquarie NSW Australia

PostPosted: Fri 10 Aug 2007, 19:02    Post subject: Re: It was working...  

moebigsley wrote:
This is a fresh 2.17.1 install on a 1GB usb drive. Other Pet packages seem to work without an error. This machine has 512 MB ram and I am using a 256 MB pup_save. There are gobs of free space and plenty of free ram.

I appreciate any advice you can give. The stock puppy is a little hard on the eyes.

Although only 15Mb in dotpet format, EZpup can expand to over 70Mb or more. 256Mb pup_save sounds a little tight to me, since the expansion will take place in your similarly sized ram drive and could need 140Mb or more.

If you have a hard drive, you could use pet2tgz to expand the dotpet and then simply extract it to where you want. It won't register with PETget but it will expand that way. Don't forget to reboot though.

Hope that helps

_________________
Actions speak louder than words ... and they usually work when words don't!
SIP:whodo@proxy01.sipphone.com; whodo@realsip.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
moebigsley

Joined: 10 Aug 2007
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Mon 13 Aug 2007, 09:20    Post subject:  

I have tried with a 512 MB save file and the results are the same.

Does anyone have any other suggestions? I may have to forego the package this time around.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Sit Heel Speak


Joined: 30 Mar 2006
Posts: 2595
Location: downwind

PostPosted: Mon 13 Aug 2007, 21:10    Post subject:  

moebigsley wrote:
Does anyone have any other suggestions?
(deleted by poster. See BlackAdder's advice, below)

Looks good, WhoDo. I have it going in 2.17-1, full normal hdd install.

Is there any convenient way to place freememapplet on the taskbar?

Last edited by Sit Heel Speak on Tue 14 Aug 2007, 11:34; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
WhoDo


Joined: 11 Jul 2006
Posts: 4441
Location: Lake Macquarie NSW Australia

PostPosted: Tue 14 Aug 2007, 04:52    Post subject:  

Sit Heel Speak wrote:
Is there any convenient way to place freememapplet on the taskbar?

Yep. Edit the startup file from the quicklaunch menu and uncomment the line pointing to "freememapplet-tray" which is located in /root/my-applications.

_________________
Actions speak louder than words ... and they usually work when words don't!
SIP:whodo@proxy01.sipphone.com; whodo@realsip.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
BlackAdder


Joined: 22 May 2005
Posts: 382

PostPosted: Tue 14 Aug 2007, 05:42    Post subject: Petget bad space calculation  

See this topic. The hack works for me, maybe I should try to create a more elegant solution some time.

http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?search_id=1705074565&t=19710
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Sit Heel Speak


Joined: 30 Mar 2006
Posts: 2595
Location: downwind

PostPosted: Tue 14 Aug 2007, 13:48    Post subject:  

Question to the cognoscenti: is not the subdir /tmp in fact a ramdisk, and, since so, would it not solve moebigsley's problem to simply copy the EZpup .pet to /tmp and unpack it from there--especially if he has a swap partition?

***EDITED it turns out that, as of 2.17-1, /tmp is *not* a ramdisk, so this wouldn't work.

This may change in a future version of Puppy...

Last edited by Sit Heel Speak on Fri 17 Aug 2007, 01:47; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bobwrit


Joined: 12 Mar 2007
Posts: 286

PostPosted: Tue 14 Aug 2007, 14:17    Post subject:  

i installed the dotpet in 2.16.18 and all the themes installed just fine but the program i keep on seeing from other's puppy's dosen't apeer(when veiwin the installed pakages, there isn't and executables i think. it's a long list so i didn't look at it all yet.) any way of executing the program after the pet is installed?
_________________
I need help with my forum. LINK:http://www.programers.co.nr/
http://www.freewebs.com/programm/iframe.html is my gateway page...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Yahoo Messenger 
WhoDo


Joined: 11 Jul 2006
Posts: 4441
Location: Lake Macquarie NSW Australia

PostPosted: Tue 14 Aug 2007, 22:21    Post subject:  

bobwrit wrote:
i installed the dotpet in 2.16.18 and all the themes installed just fine but the program i keep on seeing from other's puppy's dosen't apeer(when veiwin the installed pakages, there isn't and executables i think. it's a long list so i didn't look at it all yet.) any way of executing the program after the pet is installed?

More info, please Bob. Which "program" do you mean?

_________________
Actions speak louder than words ... and they usually work when words don't!
SIP:whodo@proxy01.sipphone.com; whodo@realsip.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mattst8ler

Joined: 23 May 2007
Posts: 49
Location: Bedford, Texas

PostPosted: Mon 20 Aug 2007, 21:31    Post subject: Re: EZpup-2.1.7r2
Subject description: Having problems.
 

mattst8ler wrote:
3. The Blinky taskbar icon retains a white background instead of one that matches the taskbar itself.

Yep, mine does that now too. Don't know why because the settings haven't been changed. I have resorted to replacing
Code:
-bg ""
with
Code:
-bg "#389389"
in the preferences file at /root/.icewm/preferences[/quote]

I've been workin with this for a while now and cannot find an entry for -bg in /root/.icewm/preferences file. Any other possibilities for changing the background color of blinky to match the taskbar?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Botanic


Joined: 05 Sep 2007
Posts: 241
Location: Toulouse, France

PostPosted: Wed 05 Sep 2007, 17:17    Post subject:  

hello ! just to mention an error in EZpup-2.1.7R2
the "draw" icon for Inkscape is replaced by the OpenOffice "Draw" Icon
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Botanic


Joined: 05 Sep 2007
Posts: 241
Location: Toulouse, France

PostPosted: Wed 05 Sep 2007, 17:39    Post subject:  

aïïïïï i wanted to try to change my cursor, result: my desktop has disappear! only the tray is left, and i can't get my desktop back !!
(not a big problem for me, i remastered Puppy not long ago, i'll just delete my current pupsave)

anyway i'd like to mention something: i'm scared at how people use graphical items from Windows(R); show some respect ! Smile

surprise to see blinky INSIDE the tray!! Very Happy Very Happy that is step 1 of 3; let's hope in the next version we can have freememapplet and mini-volume !
cheers

EDIT: thank you Wolf Pup for your tip for fixing the desktop, i didn't read this thread entirely.
freememapplet appears now in my tray after i uncommented the 2 lines in the startup file...
now what to do for having mini-volume in the tray too?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 2 of 3 [40 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Unsorted
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0885s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0055s) ][ GZIP on ]