Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 30 Jul 2014, 07:26
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
installing puppy on a Libretto L1/060tncm with pmcia CDdrive
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 2 [16 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2 Next
Author Message
cookie

Joined: 23 Jul 2007
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Mon 23 Jul 2007, 09:29    Post subject:  installing puppy on a Libretto L1/060tncm with pmcia CDdrive
Subject description: problems installing on Toshiba Libretto L1/060tncm with pmcia CDdrive
 

Hi,

I am really new to Linux basically only having got into it after all this press with the Ubuntu distro. This is related to a project I have with an old Toshiba Libretto L1/060tncm which I want to give to my parents-in-law as their first internet-able computer. I looked around at a few distros but I have settled on puppy as you seem to have the right ethos to match my parents in law, not computer literate, will use dial-up, everything has to work and be really obvious for them.

My problem is that none of the puppy builds I have tried from 2.15 upwards will install from the Libretto external CD-drive (Panasonic KXL-830AN). The kernel will load fine however in later stages after "floppy drivers loading" I think the computer fails to find drivers for the CD-ROm drive and everything stops.

To get around this I have taken the Libretto apart to get at the hard drive and tried to install puppy on the drive using my work computer (typical dell windows stuff) where I know the puppy Live-CD:s works well. All went well with this process until I tried to get puppy to boot from puppy installed hard drive using grub. Grub boots up the Kernel fine but freezes at the "choose your keyboard layout" screen where everything freezes and the keyboard won:t respond.

So any ideas on how I can get an easy to use Linux distro on my Libretto? I would prefer puppy and prefer the latest version 1.27 as my parents in law would enjoy the dial up internet support which is in that version. I also found out that you have a japanese language version of puppy which is handy as my parents in law are japanese.

Sorry for the long post, any help would be great, I really am loosing my enthusiasm for this Linux experiment.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
cookie

Joined: 23 Jul 2007
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Thu 26 Jul 2007, 19:43    Post subject: some progress
Subject description: now using external cd drive and wakepup but now display wont work onLCD display
 

Just an update. I have managed to get around the problem of not being able to use my PCcard external CD-Rom drive by using an exernal USB CD drive and using wakepup from floppy to activate it.

Now my next problem is the display. The libretto has a 1280x600 pixel display however none of the modes in Xorg wizard will give me a proper display. The mouse appears during testing and is working fine although it is confined to a small area on screen and the screen backdrop looks like three squished white boxes (maybe the puppy desktop compacted??) to about an inch wide each.

I tried using Xvesa as well but that fails completely.
I might try installing xubuntu today to see if the graphics driver works there.

Any help with puppy would be gratefully appreciated.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
fr_lf78


Joined: 05 Aug 2007
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Sun 05 Aug 2007, 07:25    Post subject:  

Hi

i have a libretto 110CT with windows 98
i tried puplinux...
but i have a stange display
with low definition (kind of green yellow white..) and hardly readable text
it's a pity since puppy seems to be activated
how to provide a correct display
i red hundreds of pages and command lines
linux wont succeed if so complex Rolling Eyes
it seems all is said as if linux already installed!
the problem is to install it with a proper display at first run...
thanks for any help
fr_lf78 Cool
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Dougal


Joined: 19 Oct 2005
Posts: 2505
Location: Hell more grotesque than any medieval woodcut

PostPosted: Sun 05 Aug 2007, 08:58    Post subject:  

The reason the xorgwizard doesn't offer you 1280x600 is probably that it's not listed as one of the "normal" resolutions of the wizard -- completely arbitrary.

Just go into X, then open /etc/X11/xorg.conf and replace the resolution to 1280x600, then restart X.

_________________
What's the ugliest part of your body?
Some say your nose
Some say your toes
But I think it's your mind
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
fr_lf78


Joined: 05 Aug 2007
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Sun 05 Aug 2007, 12:18    Post subject:  

Smile
Hi,
Thanks for the answer, i did not try the hint because i dont how i can change such parameter and so i try not to brick my libretto

however the good news is i finally connected my libretto to an external screen. then i opened the xorgvideo wizard and through the pannel xorgwizard i started an unexpected reboot and at this occasion for the first time i got the pannel giving the choice between xorg and xvesa i chose the xorg and one of the largest display 1028x768 24 or something like that.
Then i waited and suddenly i saw the pup diplay (seagulls...) giving to my libretto 110CT (1998 stufff) kind of new birth

i hope the puplinux98 will be updated someday with the new releases because i particularily like the last but one release...

Thanks anayway! i will inform you how i (hope to) manage puppy on my libretto
Cool ...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Dougal


Joined: 19 Oct 2005
Posts: 2505
Location: Hell more grotesque than any medieval woodcut

PostPosted: Sun 05 Aug 2007, 16:11    Post subject:  

fr_lf78 wrote:
i did not try the hint because i dont how i can change such parameter and so i try not to brick my libretto


You don't need to be afraid of breaking anything: if it doesn't work, just run "xorgwizard" from the commandline.

_________________
What's the ugliest part of your body?
Some say your nose
Some say your toes
But I think it's your mind
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
JaDy

Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 156
Location: SE PA USA

PostPosted: Mon 06 Aug 2007, 09:33    Post subject:  

I'm the keeper of PupWin98 and PupWinQE at freeVEDA.org.
I intend to release new versions of both with the latest Puppy version.

_________________
Felicitations & Facilitations, Rev. John G. Derrickson
Wrote fast. Goofs happen. Tell me.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
cookie

Joined: 23 Jul 2007
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Thu 09 Aug 2007, 03:09    Post subject:  

Quote:
The reason the xorgwizard doesn't offer you 1280x600 is probably that it's not listed as one of the "normal" resolutions of the wizard -- completely arbitrary.

Just go into X, then open /etc/X11/xorg.conf and replace the resolution to 1280x600, then restart X.


I tried doing this but as I am a beginner I'm not sure if I am doing it right. Anyway I think Xorg wizard does allow you to choose the 1280x600 option but first you have to choose the "Z" options ' in the puppy video wizard when automatic set-up has failed and then it allows you to choose 1280x600x(24 or 16).

I guess the answer may lie in editing the Xorg conf file correctly, and I found a website where someone has edited a similar file for the Libretto
http://www.tsden.org/nemossan/Libretto-L1.html

unfortunately I don't know what I am doing and my random insertion of letters and numbers hasn't worked. Can someone help me get the values I need for the Xorg conf file from this website.

Any help gratefully appreciated.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mcgregor

Joined: 06 May 2007
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Thu 09 Aug 2007, 21:33    Post subject:  

Hi,

0. BACK UP YOUR xorg.conf
1. Open /etc/X11/xorg.conf (or use Xorg wizard)
2. Find Monitor section
3. Edit it:
Section "Monitor"
Identifier "Monitor0"
VendorName "TOSHIBA"
ModelName "5088"
HorizSync 31.5 - 82.0
VertRefresh 40.0 - 150.0
Modeline "1280x600b" 60 1280 1328 1512 1712 600 601 603 625
Modeline "1280x600c" 63.61 1280 1280 1384 1688 600 600 604 628 -hsync -vsync
EndSection

4. Find Device section
5. Edit it:
Section "Device"
Identifier "Card0"
Driver "savage"
VendorName "S3"
BoardName "Savage/IX-MV"
Option "UseBIOS" "on"
BusID "PCI:0:4:0"
EndSection

6. Find Screen section
7. Edit it:
Section "Screen"
Identifier "Screen0"
Device "Card0"
Monitor "Monitor0"
DefaultDepth 16

SubSection "Display"
Depth 16
Modes "1280x600c" "800x600" "640x480"
EndSubSection
EndSection

8. Find DRI section
9. Edit it:
Section "DRI"
Group 0
EndSection

It should work. If something will go wrong, try to replace 1280x600c with 1280x600b in SubSection "Display".

Good luck!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
cookie

Joined: 23 Jul 2007
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Fri 10 Aug 2007, 03:54    Post subject:  

Nope, didn't work unfortunately with c or b. By the way I didn't have a DRI section originally so I made one. But with or without it , I couldn't get X to work.

Could there be something with X on my laptop though. When I finish the test, it suddenly automatically does the test again and the report then reports that the tested display was 800x600. Is there a version of puppy with a significantly different version of X that I could try?

Thanks for the help mcgregor.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mcgregor

Joined: 06 May 2007
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Fri 10 Aug 2007, 09:40    Post subject:  

Crying or Very sad

It works for me...

Can you post your entire xorg.conf file here?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
fr_lf78


Joined: 05 Aug 2007
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Sun 12 Aug 2007, 12:00    Post subject:    

Cool Hi cookie,

you just wrote : "Just an update. I have managed to get around the problem of not being able to use my PCcard external CD-Rom drive by using an exernal USB CD drive and using wakepup from floppy to activate it."

how did you manage that? i have a freecom traveller external pmcia cd reader and up to now i did not manage any bootind with the cd can you explain please?

hope your display problem will be solved... i use 1024x768 and xorg just see the head and head of the puppy Smile but i could not find a right way to display (no kind of displacable screen as in win98...)

bye,
fr
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
fr_lf78


Joined: 05 Aug 2007
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Sun 12 Aug 2007, 12:10    Post subject:  

Cool Hi JaDy

i saw you intended to update puppwin98 to one of the last version. it would be very nice! keep us informed...

i like the 2.15 version a bit complex but once you understood it's very soft and cool

i will wait or try to activate the pcmcia cd to update...

bye
fr Cool ...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
cookie

Joined: 23 Jul 2007
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Sun 12 Aug 2007, 21:58    Post subject:    

Hi fr,

Quote:
you just wrote : "Just an update. I have managed to get around the problem of not being able to use my PCcard external CD-Rom drive by using an exernal USB CD drive and using wakepup from floppy to activate it."

how did you manage that? i have a freecom traveller external pmcia cd reader and up to now i did not manage any bootind with the cd can you explain please?


As far as I know the Wakepup boot floppy will activate any external USB CD drives that you plug into the Libretto, so then I could run puppy from the CD. I stopped using the PCCard cd drive that came with the Libretto completely and use an external CD drive thats available in my office.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
cookie

Joined: 23 Jul 2007
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Mon 13 Aug 2007, 00:38    Post subject:    

Quote:
Can you post your entire xorg.conf file here?


Um, how do I do that exactly?
In the mp I can see the x conf file and edit it but what option do I need to save it to an external media so that I can move it to another computer?
Sorry for being a newbie Sad
Thanks[/img]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 2 [16 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0925s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0085s) ][ GZIP on ]