Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Fri 21 Nov 2014, 16:53
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
2.17 Universal Installer feedback needed
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 4 of 5 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 Next
Author Message
edoc


Joined: 07 Aug 2005
Posts: 4384
Location: Southeast Georgia, USA

PostPosted: Wed 01 Aug 2007, 00:03    Post_subject:  

BarryK wrote:
Here's the latest, as used in 2.17.1rc.

Download somewhere, then open a terminal in that directory, then
type this (not the #):
# gunzip puppyinstaller-bk3.gz
# chmod 777 puppyinstaller-bk3
# ./puppyinstaller-bk3


I walked through all of the steps ...
still get the Error 15 here.

_________________
Thanks! David
Home page: http://nevils-station.com
Don't google Search! http://duckduckgo.com
Puppy upup Raring 3992 & Lighthouse64-b602
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
edoc


Joined: 07 Aug 2005
Posts: 4384
Location: Southeast Georgia, USA

PostPosted: Wed 01 Aug 2007, 08:57    Post_subject:  

Which log file should I post so someone can spot where my laptop is
finding and loading 216, please?

I have deleted every reference I can find to 216 and all of the displayed
boot text says it is loading 217 but I still end up in the broken 216.

It is driving me nuts ... and more importantly it is preventing productivity.

_________________
Thanks! David
Home page: http://nevils-station.com
Don't google Search! http://duckduckgo.com
Puppy upup Raring 3992 & Lighthouse64-b602
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Sit Heel Speak


Joined: 30 Mar 2006
Posts: 2595
Location: downwind

PostPosted: Wed 01 Aug 2007, 14:27    Post_subject:  

1. Hooray, puppyinstaller-bk3 ejects the live-DVD!

2. I didn't try the GRUB installation, I just clicked through the "X" close buttons until no more appeared, because I have a pre-existing GRUB installation (Grub4DOS).

2. Umm, but the DVD door is not automatically closed when I reboot.

3. Urk. Unlike with the original PUI from the 2.17 (not .1rc) live-DVD, the full (normal) install from puppyinstaller-bk3 on first disk-boot asks again for locale, puts me through xorgwizard, and needs the NIC and network IP settings reconfigured. In other words, on first disk-boot Puppy isn't reading the pup_save.2fs which I created upon shutting down the initial live-DVD boot. Yes, pup_save.2fs is present in / and its timestamp is correct.

4. On second disk-boot, the locale and xorg settings are not asked for, i.e. pup_save.2fs evidently is being read, but the network IP addresses once again must be reconfigured. The first disk-boot session is not saving them to pup_save.2fs. So, I entered the net stuff again in the Wizard and Seamonkey.

5. On third disk-boot, all ist in ordnung with locale, xorg settings, and network card module and IP addresses.

6. A nit, the "NORMAL" button (option 2) is on the left, the "COEXIST" button (option 1) is on the right. Oy vey! To a native English speaker this looks backward.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Dougal


Joined: 19 Oct 2005
Posts: 2505
Location: Hell more grotesque than any medieval woodcut

PostPosted: Wed 01 Aug 2007, 16:36    Post_subject:  

Joe_DK wrote:
I erased partition hda1 and created a new ext2 on hda1.
hda1,2,3,6 now appears in P.U.I.

I instal a puppy co-exist on hda1, don't install grub.
hda1,2,3,6 shows in P.U.I

I instal GRUB on SUPERBLOCK of hda1.
HDA1 IS now GONE in P.U.I. Only hda2,3,6 shows.


According to the list of changes at the top of my modified installer, that bug was fixed on May 10th. The installer in Puppy is simply not based on my letest version (available on the "Updated Universal Installer" thread).

_________________
What's the ugliest part of your body?
Some say your nose
Some say your toes
But I think it's your mind
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
edoc


Joined: 07 Aug 2005
Posts: 4384
Location: Southeast Georgia, USA

PostPosted: Wed 01 Aug 2007, 16:58    Post_subject:  

Dougal wrote:


According to the list of changes at the top of my modified installer, that bug was fixed on May 10th. The installer in Puppy is simply not based on my letest version (available on the "Updated Universal Installer" thread).


Could you post the thread # or the URL, please?

EDIT: OOOPS! Is it this one?
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=132020#132020

I am among many who are trying to sort out problems we are having
with the 2.17 Frugal update install and am trying to find answers across
multiple threads ... it is challenging to say the least!

_________________
Thanks! David
Home page: http://nevils-station.com
Don't google Search! http://duckduckgo.com
Puppy upup Raring 3992 & Lighthouse64-b602
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7081
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Wed 01 Aug 2007, 23:04    Post_subject:  

Dougal wrote:
Joe_DK wrote:
I erased partition hda1 and created a new ext2 on hda1.
hda1,2,3,6 now appears in P.U.I.

I instal a puppy co-exist on hda1, don't install grub.
hda1,2,3,6 shows in P.U.I

I instal GRUB on SUPERBLOCK of hda1.
HDA1 IS now GONE in P.U.I. Only hda2,3,6 shows.


According to the list of changes at the top of my modified installer, that bug was fixed on May 10th. The installer in Puppy is simply not based on my letest version (available on the "Updated Universal Installer" thread).

Joe_DK posted a message after that, that all his partitions had become visible, using puppyinstaller-bk1.

puppyinstaller-bk1 - puppyinstaller-bk3 are very different from the latest posted by Dougal. I took out the automatic Grub stuff, and put in instructions for manual editing of menu.lst. The auto stuff may come back in the future. There are many other differences.

From all reports so far, puppyinstaller-bk3 is working fine.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7081
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Wed 01 Aug 2007, 23:10    Post_subject:  

Sit Heel Speak wrote:

3. Urk. Unlike with the original PUI from the 2.17 (not .1rc) live-DVD, the full (normal) install from puppyinstaller-bk3 on first disk-boot asks again for locale, puts me through xorgwizard, and needs the NIC and network IP settings reconfigured. In other words, on first disk-boot Puppy isn't reading the pup_save.2fs which I created upon shutting down the initial live-DVD boot. Yes, pup_save.2fs is present in / and its timestamp is correct.

4. On second disk-boot, the locale and xorg settings are not asked for, i.e. pup_save.2fs evidently is being read, but the network IP addresses once again must be reconfigured. The first disk-boot session is not saving them to pup_save.2fs. So, I entered the net stuff again in the Wizard and Seamonkey.

5. On third disk-boot, all ist in ordnung with locale, xorg settings, and network card module and IP addresses.


"Urk. Unlike with the original PUI from the 2.17 (not .1rc) live-DVD"
....Your booting issues have nothing to do with the Universal Installer itself.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Sit Heel Speak


Joined: 30 Mar 2006
Posts: 2595
Location: downwind

PostPosted: Thu 02 Aug 2007, 20:37    Post_subject:  

Ah, I see. This is yet one more reason why I must learn shell scripting. So I can actually hold intelligent conversation with Barry, Dougal, GuestToo, et al...
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7081
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Fri 03 Aug 2007, 07:44    Post_subject:  

Sit Heel Speak,
Your feedback is very useful! I was very tired when I posted that last response. From your tester point of view, your comments are perfectly valid and quite intelligent.
Full install is very neglected. The install itself seems basically okay, but the bootup scripts are seeing something different. I did a test full install, and also got that xorgwizard problem. I didn't test the network or anything else. Regarding the xorg wizard needing to be repeated on second boot, I haven't got a clue why. ...it's no doubt some simple little thing, something is or is not being saved on the first boot.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Sit Heel Speak


Joined: 30 Mar 2006
Posts: 2595
Location: downwind

PostPosted: Fri 03 Aug 2007, 21:36    Post_subject:  

BarryK wrote:
Sit Heel Speak...From your tester point of view, your comments are perfectly valid and quite intelligent...
I was simply declaring war on my own ignorance. It does not sit well with my ego to remain a patient, when I grasp the essentials well enough now to become a doctor.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Sage

Joined: 04 Oct 2005
Posts: 4813
Location: GB

PostPosted: Sat 04 Aug 2007, 03:05    Post_subject:  

Don't worry about it, SHS, there's always plenty of folks much further down the tracks! You can always speak to me in the Queen's English.......
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
jhecht


Joined: 29 Jan 2006
Posts: 142
Location: New York City (Manhattan)

PostPosted: Sat 04 Aug 2007, 23:15    Post_subject:
Sub_title: "Nuther PUI bug
 

This is a description of a (different) consistent bug I found w/the PUI in 2.17.

I had a computer with a 3.4 gig HD set up with Puppy 2.14 on HDA. Only two partitions on HDA, Linux and a swap partition, but two other HD's in the computer as HDB1 and HDD1. Also have a cd-rw drive as HDC1. All the HD's are elderly IDE - no SATA, no SCSI.

Previously, I had partitioned the 3.4 gig drive with a Linux swap partition at the FRONT (beginning) of the drive, followed by an Ext 2 partition for Puppy 2.14.

When I tried to use the PUI, it kept trying to install in the swap partion on HDA1, and did NOT give me the option to go onto HDA2.

This seems consistent - the PUI wants to install on the first partion.

I just wiped the drive, and re-partioned with GParted, putting the swap
partition at the REAR (end) of HDA1, as HDA2. This worked fine, since by reversing the position(s) of the partions, I worked around the PUI's stubborn desire to install on the first partition.

After that, the installation was flawless!

Hope this helps...

_________________
John Hechtman
www.zenarrow.com
jhecht@ix.netcom.com
"Computer help in NYC"
917 628 0192 - cell
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
bobwrit


Joined: 12 Mar 2007
Posts: 286

PostPosted: Tue 14 Aug 2007, 14:54    Post_subject:  

BarryK wrote:
Sit Heel Speak,
Your feedback is very useful! I was very tired when I posted that last response. From your tester point of view, your comments are perfectly valid and quite intelligent.
Full install is very neglected. The install itself seems basically okay, but the bootup scripts are seeing something different. I did a test full install, and also got that xorgwizard problem. I didn't test the network or anything else. Regarding the xorg wizard needing to be repeated on second boot, I haven't got a clue why. ...it's no doubt some simple little thing, something is or is not being saved on the first boot.

the xorg wizard problem your refering to dosn't happen when i install puppy(i only do full HD installs, just one of my prefrences.) but the problem i have (sound, updates, certain partitions) appear.

_________________
I need help with my forum. LINK:http://www.programers.co.nr/
http://www.freewebs.com/programm/iframe.html is my gateway page...
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website YIM 
Sit Heel Speak


Joined: 30 Mar 2006
Posts: 2595
Location: downwind

PostPosted: Tue 14 Aug 2007, 15:05    Post_subject:  

/etc/rc.d/rc.shutdown should not offer to create a pup_save.2fs, in the case where Puppy Universal Installer has just been used to create a "normal" hdd install. If upon shutdown from the live-CD you say yes, create a pup_save, having just finished using PUI to make a "normal" install, the pup_save is placed on the "normal" install partition in /. The unfortunate thing then is, when the "normal" install is subsequently booted-into, the pup_save.2fs therein is indeed mounted; PUPSTATE is even written into it. This may confuse the average dummy (ahem *cough*yours truly*cough*) into believing that the pup_save works in the "normal" install as it does in the "coexist."
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Sit Heel Speak


Joined: 30 Mar 2006
Posts: 2595
Location: downwind

PostPosted: Tue 14 Aug 2007, 16:10    Post_subject:  

Aaaand, a craftsmanship quibble: PUI SANITY CHECK is making reference to pup_save.3fs rather than .2fs.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 4 of 5 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 Next
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0942s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0066s) ][ GZIP on ]