HardInfo, system information

Core libraries and systems
Message
Author
User avatar
Flash
Official Dog Handler
Posts: 13071
Joined: Wed 04 May 2005, 16:04
Location: Arizona USA

#21 Post by Flash »

I installed it and clicked every choice without any freezes, although the pause while the benchmarks are calculated might be mistaken for one. :)

The info displayed, in the PCI device pane for instance, is sometimes so cryptic as to be useless (to me at any rate.) Perhaps there could be included in each pane a link to a place that tells what the codes mean.

John Doe
Posts: 1681
Joined: Mon 01 Aug 2005, 04:46
Location: Michigan, US

#22 Post by John Doe »

Dougal wrote:I meant the type of quoting/params used.
Maybe

Code: Select all

exec defaulttexteditor "$*"
or something should be used.
thanks Dougal. i tried that in both

/root/Choices/MIME-types/text_html
and
/usr/local/bin/defaultbrowser

i'm toying with mozstart now:

Code: Select all

# mozstart test test.html
test test.html
file://test test.html
Error: Failed to send command: 500 command not parseable
# 
# mozstart test_test.html
test_test.html
file://test_test.html
# 
# mozstart test%25test.html
test%25test.html
file://test%25test.html
#
The variable needs URL encoded. I'm working it out now. Just can't get this perl to pipe into a shell variable:

Code: Select all

echo 'Text to be encoded /*$$[]' | perl -MURI::Escape -lne 'print uri_escape($_)'

John Doe
Posts: 1681
Joined: Mon 01 Aug 2005, 04:46
Location: Michigan, US

#23 Post by John Doe »

got it:

in mozstart change

Code: Select all

COMTAIL="$@"
to

Code: Select all

COMTAIL="`echo "$@" | perl -MURI::Escape -lne 'print uri_escape($_)' | sed 's/%2F/\//g' | sed 's/%3A/\:/g'`"
also @ Barry, double check

/root/Choices/MIME-types/text_html
and
/usr/local/bin/defaultbrowser

i think the first one had "$1" instead of "$@", that will need changed.
Last edited by John Doe on Sun 29 Jul 2007, 01:19, edited 1 time in total.

John Doe
Posts: 1681
Joined: Mon 01 Aug 2005, 04:46
Location: Michigan, US

#24 Post by John Doe »

for anyone that grabbed this right away. i tacked 'sed' on the end, 30 minutes later, for it to "really work".

i get jumpy posting code sometimes :oops:

acidx
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri 27 Jul 2007, 15:36

#25 Post by acidx »

John Doe wrote:1-if a node is selected and it's parent node is collapsed one is unable to switch to another node.
Confirmed here.
John Doe wrote:2-Computer->Operating System->Current Session->Desktop Environment (Specifically the "WindowManager" part)

works under JWM but under ICEWM nothing shows up.
Some window managers won't set their names, so that gdk_x11_screen_get_window_manager_name() will return them. If it's unknown, this function will return "unknown" (which probably happens under IceWM).
Last edited by acidx on Sun 29 Jul 2007, 14:36, edited 1 time in total.

acidx
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri 27 Jul 2007, 15:36

#26 Post by acidx »

Flash wrote:The info displayed, in the PCI device pane for instance, is sometimes so cryptic as to be useless (to me at any rate.) Perhaps there could be included in each pane a link to a place that tells what the codes mean.
This is because lspci in Puppy does not contain the database files (for space reasons), which are required to convert those cryptic numbers to text like "Ethernet Controller" or "FooTek 9182 Plus".

Since lspci allows one to specify the database, I might include one in hardinfo (and make it up datable, as the benchmarks currently are). Or even better, use libpci directly...

User avatar
BarryK
Puppy Master
Posts: 9392
Joined: Mon 09 May 2005, 09:23
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Contact:

#27 Post by BarryK »

scanpci also uses a shared library with the database in it:

# ldd /usr/X11R7/bin/scanpci
linux-gate.so.1 => (0xffffe000)
libscanpci.so => /usr/X11R7/lib/xorg/modules/libscanpci.so (0xb7ecf000)
libm.so.6 => /lib/libm.so.6 (0xb7eaa000)
libc.so.6 => /lib/libc.so.6 (0xb7d9e000)
/lib/ld-linux.so.2 (0xb7f91000)

acidx
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri 27 Jul 2007, 15:36

#28 Post by acidx »

BarryK, the problem with scanpci is that it requires root privileges.

acidx
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri 27 Jul 2007, 15:36

#29 Post by acidx »

John Doe wrote:1-if a node is selected and it's parent node is collapsed one is unable to switch to another node.
Fixed in subversion revision 155.

User avatar
peebee
Posts: 4370
Joined: Sun 21 Sep 2008, 12:31
Location: Worcestershire, UK
Contact:

Hardinfo crashed pc

#30 Post by peebee »

Hardinfo crashes Precise 5.7.1 with kernel 3.9.11pae on my desktop pc with nvidia display if the default driver chosen by xorgwizard is used - nouveau.

Hardinfo also crashes Slacko 5.6.5.2 with kernel 3.10.21

Slacko 5.6 with kernel 3.4.52 does not crash

If the modesetting driver is chosen it doesn't crash
Vendor : NVIDIA Corporation
Renderer : GeForce 7025 / nForce 630a/integrated/SSE2/3DNOW
ImageLxPup = Puppy + LXDE
Main version used daily: LxPupSc; Assembler of UPups, ScPup & ScPup64, LxPup, LxPupSc & LxPupSc64

Post Reply