Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 23 Jul 2014, 02:01
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
2.17 Universal Installer feedback needed
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 5 [61 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 Next
Author Message
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7047
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Thu 26 Jul 2007, 08:26    Post subject:  2.17 Universal Installer feedback needed  

This is a request for feedback only if the Universal Installer does not recognise all the partitions on your hard drive. This has been reported by a few people while testing alphas and betas for v2.17 and also the final release. However, the feedback has been very inconsistent -- one person reported that the same problem existed for v2.16, while a couple of others reported that the Universal Installer in v2.16 recognised all partitions but v2.17 did not. One person reported that after he used GParted to re-format the partitions, the problem went away. I think that the problems were reported with IDE '/dev/hd*' drives, with the usual ext2 and ext3 filesystems.

I have been testing the v2.17 Universal Installer on any PC that I can find, not doing an actual install, but just going far enough to see what partitions it recognises. Guess what, it has been correct every single time. So, how can I fix a problem that does not exist?

The fact that someone used GParted and the problem went away is a clue. My first thought is that there could be a mismatch between the partition ID number and the actual filesystem. So, for people who have this problem, could you please do some tests to look for an inconsistency:

1.
# cat /proc/partitions

2.
# probepart

3.
# fdisk -l

4.
Run 'puppyinstaller' and report what partitions it recognises.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Sage

Joined: 04 Oct 2005
Posts: 4776
Location: GB

PostPosted: Thu 26 Jul 2007, 11:03    Post subject:  

Like you, Barry - no problems here and I use 'Full' installer for everything.
However, there are some caveats. Since a few versions ago it has been necessary to format partitions before installing. I've been asking why the change since version 1? Many distros automate this process as you did previously. There can also be issues occasionally with ext3 - no idea why, seems irreproducible - we had the fs discussion on your blog a few months ago. I favour ext2. There have been discussions here about the maximum no. of partitions allowable, recently, too; most folks won't even approach those numbers. Misses the point somewhat, anyway. I don't recommend duel(sic)-booting - ever; risks losing both systems, esp. if/when there's a mechanical failure. The reality is that ALL HD s WILL fail, eventually. There are so many old HDs lurking out there that are entirely suitable for compact distros that it makes no sense sticking Puppy on anything too large. Ask and they will be given! Just need a main partition, swap partition and one more to store d/l s and data; anything else can be dropped onto a DVD, CD, Zip, flash, w.h.y. Furthermore, why not buy a dozen caddies and luxuriate in distro diarrhea! Saves changing settings, options, preferences and BIOS every time something changes. And when the floods arrive (oh yes - it's raining again in Blighty, as Hungarians die by the hundreds in their heatwave - what's it all about?!) just yank (no AJ - it's l.c. this time) the caddies out and run upstairs with your lifetime's endeavours under your arm(s).
Too many kiddies testing compact distros on their overblown PCs with the g-f stripes - that's the route of the DWIntel cartel....
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Joe_DK

Joined: 22 Jul 2007
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Thu 26 Jul 2007, 16:47    Post subject:  

I have just installed puppylinux 2.17 (final) a few days ago. For some reason I wanted to reinstall puppy Wink (I am new to this). At the first install, all partitions were recognised. At the reinstall (or try to reinstall), the partitions, which the live cd had mounted, were not seen by the universal installer. That means the swap partition and the partition with the pupsave-file on it. I made a Co-exist/frugal install. Deleting the pupsave-file made that partition appear on a second try. By the way I had to manually change the grub menu-list too boot into puppy. It would be nice with an option to rewrite only the mbr as a windows install changes that. I haven't bothered with cat and probepart. I read another user report this behavior on the forum, a few days ago. I don't remember in which connection. I hope this helps.
Jorgen from Denmark. PS. I like Puppy Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Joe_DK

Joined: 22 Jul 2007
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Thu 26 Jul 2007, 17:49    Post subject:  

Just wanted to say that, before a wrote the above reply, I booted with the live cd and ran the universal installer to confirm it didn't see the two partitions(swap and puppy-save) which it had mounted.

I found the the post, I referred too. By the time a read it, I believed it to be the same problem I had seen. But I don't know if that is the case.
A link:
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=19967

garlane wrote:

"...I booted from the 2.17 CD again to try to do a frugall install. However, the install would not proceed because the hda4 partition was unmountable (the CD was using the save_2fs file on the partition). ..."

Jorgen.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Joe_DK

Joined: 22 Jul 2007
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Thu 26 Jul 2007, 17:53    Post subject:  

Sorry, a must be sleepy Wink
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
cthisbear

Joined: 29 Jan 2006
Posts: 3385
Location: Sydney Australia

PostPosted: Thu 26 Jul 2007, 18:23    Post subject:  

Barry.
I wonder if some of these problems occur because of
the settings on the Hard Drives.

Many hardrives come preset at Cable Select out of the factory.
I always take out the drive and change them to Master....
using single HDD of course.
Same with the CD/DVD drives....as long as there are 2 cables...PATA?

The new Asus cheapie...Asus P5GC-MX board...that I
installed recently had the SATA cables set to 1 and 2 on the board,
but strangely showed up main partition C:\ as 3
and D:\ as 1.
However they also were set at cable select.
In this case I did not change this as I was unsure if this would
be OK ...my computer mate who I usually ask couldn't be contacted,
so I went for caution in this instance.
So possibly by doing what I normally do...the drives
would have shown up in Puppy differently.

I also often wonder if some of Puppies woes has anything to do with
Xorg as I always select Xvesa.
This last one is of course way off the wall.

Chris
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7047
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Thu 26 Jul 2007, 21:14    Post subject:  

Joe_DK wrote:
Just wanted to say that, before a wrote the above reply, I booted with the live cd and ran the universal installer to confirm it didn't see the two partitions(swap and puppy-save) which it had mounted.

I found the the post, I referred too. By the time a read it, I believed it to be the same problem I had seen. But I don't know if that is the case.
A link:
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=19967

garlane wrote:

"...I booted from the 2.17 CD again to try to do a frugall install. However, the install would not proceed because the hda4 partition was unmountable (the CD was using the save_2fs file on the partition). ..."

Jorgen.

I do not have this problem. Right now I have hda2 mounted on /mnt/home and it has the pup_sav -- the Uni Installer sees it.
Regarding garlane's comment, that seems to be saying that the Installer does see the hda4 partition but install failed as the partition was mounted -- which is a different problem.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7047
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Thu 26 Jul 2007, 21:16    Post subject:  

I would like for somebody, who has a "missing" partition when run the Uni Installer, to run the tests I posted in the first thread.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Greystar

Joined: 20 Mar 2007
Posts: 26

PostPosted: Thu 26 Jul 2007, 22:16    Post subject:  

I was missing my hda1 on 2.16 when running uni installer ...did your tests and.......(hope it helps).
rxvt.png
 Description   results
 Filesize   5.34 KB
 Viewed   1737 Time(s)

rxvt.png

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Sage

Joined: 04 Oct 2005
Posts: 4776
Location: GB

PostPosted: Thu 26 Jul 2007, 22:30    Post subject:  

Forgot to mention (again, in this context) that there remain problems updating versions for Full installs. This is not new but v2.17 brings its own flavour of upgrade features - I reported that it was necessary to wipe the existing.
I suggested elsewhere that effective and reliable upgrade has to be regarded as a sine qua non. Notwithstanding, this appears to be a substantial and complex operation for the major distros, F7 taking several hours, for example (perhaps not the best example!). Obviously, frugal installs should be simple to update, but multiple partitions - dunno!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7047
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Thu 26 Jul 2007, 23:21    Post subject:  

Greystar, you don't type the '#', that's the prompt.
You misspelled 'partitions'.
The option for fdisk is '-l', that is, the letter 'l' not a numeric '1'.

So, you open a terminal window and just type:
cat /proc/partitions
probepart
fdisk -l

...for each output, drag mouse pointer over to highlight, it will automatically be in the clipboard, ctrl-v to paste somewhere.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Fox7777


Joined: 27 May 2005
Posts: 132
Location: Lacey, WA

PostPosted: Thu 26 Jul 2007, 23:43    Post subject: Re: 2.17 Universal Installer feedback needed
Subject description: Results on 4 partition computer
 

# cat /proc/partitions
major minor #blocks name

7 0 74780 loop0
3 0 20010312 hda
3 1 811251 hda1
3 2 5622750 hda2
3 3 6426000 hda3
3 4 7148925 hda4

# probepart
/dev/hda1|swap|1622502
/dev/hda2|ext3|11245500
/dev/hda3|ext3|12852000
/dev/hda4|ext3|14297850
/dev/hdc|iso9660|0

# fdisk -l

Disk /dev/hda: 20.4 GB, 20490559488 bytes
255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 2491 cylinders
Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes

Device Boot Start End Blocks Id System
/dev/hda1 1 101 811251 82 Linux swap / Solaris
/dev/hda2 * 102 801 5622750 83 Linux
/dev/hda3 802 1601 6426000 83 Linux
/dev/hda4 1602 2491 7148925 83 Linux

On this computer the universal installer recognizes no partitions for install. The drive mounter shows all partitions.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Guest07

Joined: 21 Jul 2007
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Fri 27 Jul 2007, 02:55    Post subject: 2.17 Universal Installer feedback needed  

Thanks Barry !
Now after this:
---
Guest
Friday, July 20, 2007, 11:50 PM
hda1 vfat w. prestine puppy
hda2 ext3 w. full install puppy
hda3 swap
Universal installer in 2.16 vorked O.K. 2.17 did just see hda1.
So could it bee that the seek for puppy stoppet when the first is found ?
---
You wrote this:
---
BarryK
Saturday, July 21, 2007, 04:21 AM
I have posted a puppyinstaller script here for testing:
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=19995
---
So we have this other tread named:
Puppy 2.17Final not recognising all partitions.
Where I posted this:
---
Dear Barry:
Thanks but 21 july did not work - but RazzBear´s did see the partitions though:
sh-3.00# probedisk
/dev/hdc|cdrom|LITE-ON COMBO SOHC-4832K
/dev/hda|disk|ST38410A
sh-3.00# probepart
/dev/hdc|iso9660|0|LITE-ON COMBO SOHC-4832K
/dev/hda1|vfat|13558797|Win95 FAT32 (LBA)
/dev/hda2|ext3|3020220|Linux Ext3FS
/dev/hda3|swap|257040|Linux Swap
sh-3.00# test-eide
/dev/hdc - cdrom - LITE-ON COMBO SOHC-4832K
/dev/hda - disk - ST38410A
sh-3.00# cat /proc/partitions
major minor #blocks name

3 0 8420832 hda
3 1 6779398 hda1 # prestine puppy
3 2 1510110 hda2 # full install puppy
3 3 128520 hda3 # swap
Thanks for your effort - I know it will bee solved.
---
So today here is:
---
# cat /proc/partitions
major minor #blocks name

3 0 8420832 hda
3 1 6779398 hda1
3 2 1510110 hda2
3 3 128520 hda3
#
# probepart
/dev/hda1|vfat|13558796
/dev/hda2|ext3|3020220
/dev/hda3|swap|257040
/dev/hdc|iso9660|0
#
# fdisk -l

Disk /dev/hda: 8622 MB, 8622931968 bytes
255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 1048 cylinders
Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes

Device Boot Start End Blocks Id System
/dev/hda1 * 1 844 6779398+ c W95 FAT32 (LBA)
/dev/hda2 845 1032 1510110 83 Linux
/dev/hda3 1033 1048 128520 82 Linux swap / Solaris
#
---
I don't know if it can solve anything. But looking at all the suggestions I stopped at the ext3 explanation.
Thanks for the PUPPY - it's so nice..
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Joe_DK

Joined: 22 Jul 2007
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Fri 27 Jul 2007, 03:18    Post subject:  

# cat /proc/partitions
major minor #blocks name

7 0 74780 loop0
7 1 262144 loop1
7 3 100252 loop3
3 0 39078144 hda
3 1 1052226 hda1
3 2 12586927 hda2
3 3 12586927 hda3
3 4 1 hda4
3 5 1052226 hda5
3 6 11799711 hda6
# probepart
/dev/hda1|ext2|2104452
/dev/hda2|ntfs|25173854
/dev/hda3|ext2|25173854
/dev/hda4|none|2
/dev/hda5|swap|2104452
/dev/hda6|vfat|23599422
/dev/sda|none|0
/dev/sdb|none|0
/dev/hdb|iso9660|0
# fdisk -l

Disk /dev/hda: 40.0 GB, 40016019456 bytes
255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 4865 cylinders
Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes

Device Boot Start End Blocks Id System
/dev/hda1 1 131 1052226 83 Linux
/dev/hda2 * 132 1698 12586927+ 7 HPFS/NTFS
/dev/hda3 1699 3265 12586927+ 83 Linux
/dev/hda4 3266 4865 12852000 5 Extended
/dev/hda5 3266 3396 1052226 82 Linux swap / Solaris
/dev/hda6 3397 4865 11799711 b W95 FAT32
#

In the puppy universal installer, it says:
" Here is what Puppy has found out about the chosen drive:
hda2: ntfs,size 12.00 GB
hda3: ext2,size 12.00 GB, Puppy version 217 installed
hda6: vfat,size 11.25 GB"

I have this on my partitions:
hda1 : A frugal puppy 2.17 with a puppysave-file
hda2 : Windows
hda3 : A hd-instal of puppy 2.17
hda5 : linux-swap
hda6 : A fat32 for backup
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Joe_DK

Joined: 22 Jul 2007
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Fri 27 Jul 2007, 06:12    Post subject:  

Hi Barry!

I tried to erase the puppy save-file on hda1 and booted from cd. Hda1 was still missing in universal installer, so I guess I remembered wrong in my first post.

Feeling a little bad about this, I have tried reinstalling:

I start with this, as posted above:
/dev/hda1 1 131 1052226 83 Linux
/dev/hda2 * 132 1698 12586927+ 7 HPFS/NTFS
/dev/hda3 1699 3265 12586927+ 83 Linux
/dev/hda4 3266 4865 12852000 5 Extended
/dev/hda5 3266 3396 1052226 82 Linux swap / Solaris
/dev/hda6 3397 4865 11799711 b W95 FAT32

hda2,hda3,hda6 is seen in puppy universal installer (P.U.I.)

I erased partition hda1 and created a new ext2 on hda1.
hda1,2,3,6 now appears in P.U.I.

I instal a puppy co-exist on hda1, don't install grub.
hda1,2,3,6 shows in P.U.I

I instal GRUB on SUPERBLOCK of hda1.
HDA1 IS now GONE in P.U.I. Only hda2,3,6 shows.

I delete partition hda1, create ext2 on hda1
hda1,2,3,6 now appears in P.U.I.

I then instal co-exit puppy on hda1, and then instal GRUB on MBR.
hda1,2,3,6 shows in P.U.I. HDA1 IS NOT GONE.

I don't know what installing grub to the superblock of a partition
changes, but it makes the partition disappear in P.U.I. on my computer.

Hope you can use this.
Jorgen.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 5 [61 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1023s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0071s) ][ GZIP on ]