Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Tue 21 Oct 2014, 17:37
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
WakePup2 for Puppy 2.x and greater (NOW WITH more SUPPORT)
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 1 of 7 Posts_count   Goto page: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7 Next
Author Message
John Doe

Joined: 01 Aug 2005
Posts: 1689
Location: Michigan, US

PostPosted: Sun 15 Jul 2007, 00:14    Post_subject:  WakePup2 for Puppy 2.x and greater (NOW WITH more SUPPORT)
Sub_title: testers and feedback wanted
 

If you have a computer that needs a floppy to boot, now is your chance to test (especially if you can't boot it because you need a special boot parameter).

Lots of new menus and fun in there.

Shout out and tell me how it goes.

Get it here:
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=122924#122924

Please post feedback or trouble in this thread so it's easier to keep track of.

Edited_times_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Philh

Joined: 17 May 2006
Posts: 100
Location: England

PostPosted: Mon 16 Jul 2007, 06:32    Post_subject:  

A nice lot of options.
Ive tried cd and idehd, both work for me.
I found a link to some more usb drivers on the Slax site.
They make a few more pens work for me(PNY, Leadtek) on older usb1 ports. I put a selector in config.sys
I changed the characters making the boxes as I had one pc(very old P1) where the display went totally out of sync. Dont know why. Probably never happen again.
Then there was a pc using wakepup to boot on the idehd and I wanted to boot a usb pen, but it always picked up the idehd first.
Same with a new cd always picks idehd first.
So I tried to make a selection in the autoexec.
If you want to add any of this to your wakepup please do.
Im attaching my old files(not incorporating your options), ignore the last part of the autoexec, just experimenting with vmlinuz name and location.
I usually use grub to load a wakepup image so I can boot from usb rather than a floppy.
wpup.tar.gz
Description 
gz

 Download 
Filename  wpup.tar.gz 
Filesize  48.21 KB 
Downloaded  1492 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
John Doe

Joined: 01 Aug 2005
Posts: 1689
Location: Michigan, US

PostPosted: Mon 16 Jul 2007, 19:31    Post_subject:  

Philh wrote:
A nice lot of options.
Ive tried cd and idehd, both work for me.


Thanks.

Philh wrote:
I found a link to some more usb drivers on the Slax site.
They make a few more pens work for me(PNY, Leadtek) on older usb1 ports. I put a selector in config.sys


YES! 1.1 works now! THANKS!!!

Philh wrote:
I changed the characters making the boxes as I had one pc(very old P1) where the display went totally out of sync. Dont know why. Probably never happen again.


hopefully. I'll keep that in mind though. Didn't want to go through all that.

Philh wrote:
Then there was a pc using wakepup to boot on the idehd and I wanted to boot a usb pen, but it always picked up the idehd first.
Same with a new cd always picks idehd first.
So I tried to make a selection in the autoexec.


I worked this out just now. Great idea. It's the first option under custom and it loops you back to the main boot menu so one can just hit "Normal Boot" after that.

Philh wrote:
If you want to add any of this to your wakepup please do.
Im attaching my old files(not incorporating your options)...


They're in there now Smile

If you happen to be that one person that downloaded inbetween the driver and new menu, grab it again. I got all hasty and dropped off a copy before I thought it through all the way.

Thanks again for speaking up.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
jonyo

Joined: 28 Dec 2006
Posts: 2727

PostPosted: Tue 17 Jul 2007, 00:24    Post_subject:  

I'd like to try this, dwld it & finishes as an .img file. Do I just copy that to a floppy? I'm lookin to boot a pup (prob2.14) live cd with it on an old lap that wont boot off the cd. I have win 98 se on it that I'd like to keep, but with only 32 megs of ram that I think I can upgrade to ~ 98 megs.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
John Doe

Joined: 01 Aug 2005
Posts: 1689
Location: Michigan, US

PostPosted: Tue 17 Jul 2007, 00:55    Post_subject:  

you have to write the .img to a floppy.

pop in a floppy with the write protect tab off and do this:

double check first that that is the path to your floppy (and not something else) with mut.
Code:
dd if=wakepup2.img of=/dev/fd0


btw, make sure to leave the write protect tab off because the floppy, when running dos, will actually write a small config file back to itself before launching linld.

32megs is pushing it. you could probably do it with a small swap file. i'm running on 48megs with a 256meg swap file on internal ideHD. going to test 128megs swap also, as I hear that might be better.

was just thinking today, while tinkering, that a "flashdrive swap file wizard" might be the next logical step (been discussed here before and vista does it I think). so one could just plug in a 128 or 256 flash drive, run the wizard and then use it for a booster stick if need be.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
jonyo

Joined: 28 Dec 2006
Posts: 2727

PostPosted: Tue 17 Jul 2007, 01:11    Post_subject:  

any way of doing this in 'doze? (the writing the .img part to a floppy)
Edited_time_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
John Doe

Joined: 01 Aug 2005
Posts: 1689
Location: Michigan, US

PostPosted: Tue 17 Jul 2007, 01:37    Post_subject:  

yes!

you just need rawwritewin.exe

i searched real quick but couldn't find the download site and don't have wine going right now so i just attached it.
rawwritewin-0.7.tar.gz
Description 
gz

 Download 
Filename  rawwritewin-0.7.tar.gz 
Filesize  209.18 KB 
Downloaded  1143 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
jonyo

Joined: 28 Dec 2006
Posts: 2727

PostPosted: Tue 17 Jul 2007, 01:53    Post_subject:  

Woulda thought ~ the bigger the swap file, the better? (with low ram)
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Sage

Joined: 04 Oct 2005
Posts: 4797
Location: GB

PostPosted: Tue 17 Jul 2007, 03:06    Post_subject:  

Quite the opposite! Need to read all the previous advice I've given!
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
jonyo

Joined: 28 Dec 2006
Posts: 2727

PostPosted: Tue 17 Jul 2007, 12:19    Post_subject:  

well i'm aware now that what I assumed is not the case but curious why that is. I have a few old laps that i'm looking to try to see what I can do with in terms of pup, but dunno much about old laps & pup but have read about it a bit.

3 laps are ibm 380 ed with 166 mmx 32 megs of ram, compaq with a 200 cyrix & 32 megs of ram & a dell p150 with 64 megs of ram that I need a power cord for so haven't tried anything with it yet. It always performed the best of the 3. Checked it out & can increase the ram some on 'em but not much.

Tried out the ibm & compaq & somehow managed to get the compaq to boot a live cd once! Rolling Eyes awhile back, think ~ v2.14 but it was way slow & didn't wait to see if it would eventually boot up fully. Haven't gotten a live cd boot since either with the compaq & don't think I ever did with the ibm. Thought it might be a bios problem & looked into those settings on both & even though they seemed to be boot capable by CD, no linux distro I tried 'd boot from the cd. Ended up trying a win 98 disk & both laps booted fine off the cd Shocked so no doubt they're capable of it. The only thing i've read is to be sure to use quality disks of no rewrite type that can make a diff with bootin the linux stuff though the disks I tried all boot up fine on newer rigs.

Tried out a boot wake up floppy i made (outa 2.15) last nite but it doesn't seem to recognize the CD disk drives in either lap.

Understand there are many ways to go about this but dunno much about it so gonna have to do s'more reading..

Here's another thread http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=128777#128777
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Philh

Joined: 17 May 2006
Posts: 100
Location: England

PostPosted: Tue 17 Jul 2007, 17:43    Post_subject:  

John Doe
I dont know if you meant to put optmenu1 at the start before trying the media in the autoexec.
If not, as it is now I think you need a
6 Puppy boot media in Puppy2 boot mode.
You cant get to the custom boot options, its selecting Puppy boot media.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
John Doe

Joined: 01 Aug 2005
Posts: 1689
Location: Michigan, US

PostPosted: Tue 17 Jul 2007, 21:18    Post_subject:  

Philh wrote:
I dont know if you meant to put optmenu1 at the start before trying the media in the autoexec.
If not, as it is now I think you need a
6 Puppy boot media in Puppy2 boot mode.
You cant get to the custom boot options, its selecting Puppy boot media.


ok. I follow you. It was a bad GUI design in retrospect (behaviour that was obvious only to the programmer and not the user).

the way it worked was the user could select custom, pick a different device and then hit custom again and then normal (as it would now be set to the device they wanted) and go on from there. but obviously one has to know this to get it to work correctly and it wasn't explained at all to the user.

so, in short, thanks again!

we have a #6 now instead. much easier to understand.

also dropped in loglevel option which helped out jamesbond recently.

new copy is there, let me know how it goes.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
PaulBx1

Joined: 16 Jun 2006
Posts: 2308
Location: Wyoming, USA

PostPosted: Tue 17 Jul 2007, 22:32    Post_subject:  

John, I gave this a try. First I want to say it's the first time I was able to boot from this PQI flash, which I thought was not usable the last time I tried this. I think the new wakepup2 helped a lot...

I have an old Thinkpad A21m, with a single USB 1.1 port. I also have a belkin pcmcia F5U222 usb 2.0 port card.

OK, first snag I ran into was using dd to copy the image to the floppy. I needed to low-level format the floppy for that to work.

When I put the flash in the 1.1 port, it does boot properly, even though early on I see: "Error: target USB device not found". One other rough edge was right at the beginning, the message about pressing F8 - it stays there too short and one never knows why a trace or skipping autoexec.bat ought to be done. But anyway, it worked! Smile

When I put the same flash in the pcmcia USB 2.0 ports, it gets through the boot to the point where it is executing the init script in /initrd, where it says "Loading kernel modules...", then it hangs. I guess that is not a wakepup2 problem though, is it?
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
PaulBx1

Joined: 16 Jun 2006
Posts: 2308
Location: Wyoming, USA

PostPosted: Tue 17 Jul 2007, 22:53    Post_subject:  

Woops, John, you broke this last version!

I get to the point where it says "ID2 = IStickIntelligentstick installed successfully", and then it gives
Code:
Invalid opcode at 9BE4 11A2 7206 1317 0544 00B4 04B1 0AB5 D6E8 8DB3 283E 8AA6 0644

...if I copied that correctly. Then it hangs.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
John Doe

Joined: 01 Aug 2005
Posts: 1689
Location: Michigan, US

PostPosted: Tue 17 Jul 2007, 23:18    Post_subject:  

PaulBx1 wrote:
John, I gave this a try. First I want to say it's the first time I was able to boot from this PQI flash, which I thought was not usable the last time I tried this. I think the new wakepup2 helped a lot...


you can thank Philh for that one. I completely missed the 1.1USB the first time around.

PaulBx1 wrote:
OK, first snag I ran into was using dd to copy the image to the floppy. I needed to low-level format the floppy for that to work.


i wonder if the wizard in puppy will handle this? i know the universal installer will ask to wipe a partition if it sees stuff there.

PaulBx1 wrote:
When I put the flash in the 1.1 port, it does boot properly, even though early on I see: "Error: target USB device not found".


that error is from the 2.0 driver finding nothing. the 1.1 driver is the block after that one.

btw, I tested on a machine with both 1.1 and 2.0 slots to make sure there was not conflict. booted when flash drive was in either speed slot.

PaulBx1 wrote:
...the message about pressing F8 - it stays there too short and one never knows why a trace or skipping autoexec.bat ought to be done.


basically that drops you out to DOS prompt after hardware drivers are loaded and would just skip all the menus and attempting to load Puppy.

in case one would rather run DOS than Puppy Very Happy

PaulBx1 wrote:
When I put the same flash in the pcmcia USB 2.0 ports, it gets through the boot to the point where it is executing the init script in /initrd, where it says "Loading kernel modules...", then it hangs. I guess that is not a wakepup2 problem though, is it?


I get the exact same behaviour with a USB HUB. Shocked

The DOS drivers see Puppy on the stick, starts to boot it and then Puppy just hangs on "Loading kernel modules..."
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 7 Posts_count   Goto page: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7 Next
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0982s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0059s) ][ GZIP on ]