Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Thu 24 Jul 2014, 16:12
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Cutting edge
CUPS in Hand (2.17 experimental feedback)
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 6 of 6 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6
Author Message
wingruntled

Joined: 20 Feb 2007
Posts: 287
Location: Great Lakes

PostPosted: Sat 07 Jul 2007, 14:02    Post_subject:  

Hi
I'm having a problem with the dialup apps in 2.17. I can connect with my pci LTmodem and stay connected but!
I can connect with GKdial but GK reports that there is no modem and I can't dis-connect with it.
Pupdial will allow me to dis-connect but not dialup. I get the following error from pupdial when I try to dialup:
--> WvDial: Internet dialer version 1.41
--> Cannot open /dev/Modem = ttyLT0: No such file or directory

I tried to edit Wvdial.conf so the modem is dev/ttyLT0 and it works but only till I reboot and then I'm back where I started.
Now what?

edited to add: I'm running 2.17 on a full HD install.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
John Doe

Joined: 01 Aug 2005
Posts: 1689
Location: Michigan, US

PostPosted: Sun 08 Jul 2007, 03:46    Post_subject:  

BarryK wrote:
John Doe wrote:
Tried out an internal SD reader on my neighbor's laptop. Pmount saw it but gave an error on mount but DID mount ok.

I'm very curious, what error did you get, and how did you get it? -- I mean, did you run pmount from a teminal window and get the error on stderr?


Sorry, should have just kept quit on that one. I couldn't reproduce it. From memory it was one of those error dialogs like one gets when mounting an ntfs partion that was uncleanly unmount. Although the part in question was fat32.

Further internal SD reader testing...

I've got access to two machine..

A-neighbors laptop (Compaq Presario V2000) [leaves tomorrow on business for a week]
B-dad's desktop (will get info tomorrow)

A-pmount sees it mut doesn't
B-pmount and mut see it

will try save file and booting tomorrow or Monday.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
John Doe

Joined: 01 Aug 2005
Posts: 1689
Location: Michigan, US

PostPosted: Sun 08 Jul 2007, 03:46    Post_subject:  

Dougal wrote:
John Doe wrote:
Machine in the kitchen had serial modem autodetected and set up successfully.


Machine in the kitchen? Have you been following the coffee HOWTO?


Smile That looks like something I'd do.

Although the BEST way to make coffee (in my opinion) would be much more difficult to automate.

Making coffee is a complex art and requires lots of love. It's been my experience that most people probably never really get a chance to reach the pinicle of understanding about what goes into making the best cup of coffee. I will now attempt to spread the word.

1-Good dried beans stored in the fridge or freezer (further discussion required).

2-Grind your beans in burr blender (not blades) set on medium. The blades heat the oils and destroy them. The medium setting is to keep the grounds from slipping through the screen in step 3 (*see step 3).

3-Put the grounds in a french press and add boiling water.

4-Work on Puppy Linux for 10 minutes.

5-PRESS!!!! (not with that much force, we're just excited about drinking the coffee)

6-Pour into mug and flavor to taste (cream and sweatner if desired). Note the oil floating on the surface, prior to flavoring. This is an indication that you are about to really realize the full potential (flavor and strength) of the coffee. If you see no oil, try different beans or review the previous steps.

7-Enjoy.

8-optional: add stimulants and repeat. can keep puppy work going for hours.

*disclaimer. size of french press will determine output of coffee. the bigger the better.

*warning. coffee contains hundreds of carcinagens. drink tea instead.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7047
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Sun 08 Jul 2007, 07:56    Post_subject:  

wingruntled wrote:
Hi
I'm having a problem with the dialup apps in 2.17. I can connect with my pci LTmodem and stay connected but!
I can connect with GKdial but GK reports that there is no modem and I can't dis-connect with it.
Pupdial will allow me to dis-connect but not dialup. I get the following error from pupdial when I try to dialup:
--> WvDial: Internet dialer version 1.41
--> Cannot open /dev/Modem = ttyLT0: No such file or directory

I tried to edit Wvdial.conf so the modem is dev/ttyLT0 and it works but only till I reboot and then I'm back where I started.
Now what?

edited to add: I'm running 2.17 on a full HD install.

Yes, that's a bug, fixed for 2.17alpha, due out very soon. Some other modem-detection-related bugs fixed, so for everybody reading this, wait for 2.17alpha!
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
vanchutr

Joined: 05 Aug 2006
Posts: 427

PostPosted: Tue 10 Jul 2007, 02:28    Post_subject: CUPS in Puppy 217 alpha  

I successf. added the Samsung ML1610 (USB port):
1. Copy the Samsung-ML-1610-gdi.ppd to /usr/share/cups/model
2. Run CUPS: System -> CUPS mange printing - Add printer
3. Print a test page: Good!

PS: If you didn't have a default printer and you go directly to `Setup -> Printer wizard ->...' May be you will get trouble!

Thank Barry and all puppians
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
ATinyMouse

Joined: 14 Jul 2007
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Sun 15 Jul 2007, 00:31    Post_subject:  2.17 Works Great on my 770E!!  

Hi Barry,
Brand new puppy user here. I recently started the search for a small Linux distro to power my Thinkpad 770E. After reading good things about puppy I grabbed a copy of 2.16. Unfortunately, it would hang at boot during puppyserialdetect. After a bit of Googling I ran across your developer page about the alpha release of 2.17, so I grabbed a copy of it. I'm happy to say it fixed my boot problem! Puppyserialdetect runs immediately and I was able to get to X without issue. Unfortunately, I have no internal modem to test out for you, which was mentioned would be helpful on the developer page.

Now I can't wait for the final release of 2.17.... Wink

Jason
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7047
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Sun 15 Jul 2007, 04:43    Post_subject: Re: CUPS in Puppy 217 alpha  

vanchutr wrote:
I successf. added the Samsung ML1610 (USB port):
1. Copy the Samsung-ML-1610-gdi.ppd to /usr/share/cups/model
2. Run CUPS: System -> CUPS mange printing - Add printer
3. Print a test page: Good!

PS: If you didn't have a default printer and you go directly to `Setup -> Printer wizard ->...' May be you will get trouble!

Thank Barry and all puppians

vanchutr, post the ppd file, I'll put it into Puppy permanently.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 6 of 6 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Cutting edge
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0655s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0054s) ][ GZIP on ]