Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Tue 29 Jul 2014, 03:02
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Unsorted
Tabbed Pmount
Moderators: deshlab, Flash, GuestToo, Ian, JohnMurga, Lobster
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 3 [40 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2, 3 Next
Author Message
Dougal


Joined: 19 Oct 2005
Posts: 2505
Location: Hell more grotesque than any medieval woodcut

PostPosted: Thu 05 Jul 2007, 09:26    Post subject:  Tabbed Pmount
Subject description: for a smaller interface
 

This is pretty much a "proof of concept". I just took the pmount from 2.17-exp1 and squeezed it into tabs, without trying to pretty it up.
I tried to avoid making any other improvements, so any complaints about bad functionality should go to Barry (in my case, the swap partition is declared "unused" -- though it is used -- probably because it's mounted as "/initrd/dev/hda2", rather than "/dev/hda2").

The first version is just everything squeezed into tabs in the original order.
The second version has the tab order reversed (so you start with SATA/USB, then IDE HDs, then swap, cdroms and floppy). Note that the first (left most) tab is the one shown by default.
The third version is like the second, only the cdroms are put into a "cdroms" tab.
pmount3.gz
Description 
gz

 Download 
Filename  pmount3.gz 
Filesize  6.73 KB 
Downloaded  362 Time(s) 
pmount.gz
Description 
gz

 Download 
Filename  pmount.gz 
Filesize  6.3 KB 
Downloaded  307 Time(s) 
tpmount1.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   21.02 KB
 Viewed   1130 Time(s)

tpmount1.jpg

pmount2.gz
Description 
gz

 Download 
Filename  pmount2.gz 
Filesize  6.34 KB 
Downloaded  347 Time(s) 
tpmount2.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   19.78 KB
 Viewed   1178 Time(s)

tpmount2.jpg

tpmount3.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   18.89 KB
 Viewed   1190 Time(s)

tpmount3.jpg


_________________
What's the ugliest part of your body?
Some say your nose
Some say your toes
But I think it's your mind

Last edited by Dougal on Tue 10 Jul 2007, 14:55; edited 4 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7047
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Thu 05 Jul 2007, 10:46    Post subject:  

Yes, I've done some bugfixing since 2.17exp1.

I'll look at your script and see if I can patch in the fixes.

It looks nice with the tabs!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
cb88


Joined: 28 Jan 2007
Posts: 1169
Location: USA

PostPosted: Thu 05 Jul 2007, 11:33    Post subject:  

I like the third one best. With the cd drives in one tab. Since they don't have partitions. Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
vovchik


Joined: 23 Oct 2006
Posts: 1285
Location: Ukraine

PostPosted: Thu 05 Jul 2007, 13:07    Post subject: Pmount bug?
Subject description: hda10 error?
 

Dear Dougal,

As you can see from the attached, the last hda entry (hda1) has been "merged" with hda10 on my machine. The drive contains three ntfs partitions, two vfats, one reiser and one linux swap. Any ideas why this is so?

Apart from that infelicity, I like the new format, since the old one used to fill up my screen.

With kind regards,
vovchik
pmount.png
 Description   
 Filesize   89.39 KB
 Viewed   1140 Time(s)

pmount.png

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Dougal


Joined: 19 Oct 2005
Posts: 2505
Location: Hell more grotesque than any medieval woodcut

PostPosted: Thu 05 Jul 2007, 16:16    Post subject:  

I've updates the third (which is now at the top).
It had a little bug where it wouldn't work on machines with no cdroms.

_________________
What's the ugliest part of your body?
Some say your nose
Some say your toes
But I think it's your mind
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Dougal


Joined: 19 Oct 2005
Posts: 2505
Location: Hell more grotesque than any medieval woodcut

PostPosted: Thu 05 Jul 2007, 16:19    Post subject: Re: Pmount bug?
Subject description: hda10 error?
 

vovchik wrote:
As you can see from the attached, the last hda entry (hda1) has been "merged" with hda10 on my machine. The drive contains three ntfs partitions, two vfats, one reiser and one linux swap. Any ideas why this is so?


Is it only in my version, or also in Barry's from 2.17-exp1? It's probably the result of running grep on something, without a space/delimiter after what you're searching for.
Example:
Code:
probepart | grep 'hda1' | cut -d'|' -f1
will give two partitions, rather than one (it should be "grep 'hda1|'")
_________________
What's the ugliest part of your body?
Some say your nose
Some say your toes
But I think it's your mind
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
vovchik


Joined: 23 Oct 2006
Posts: 1285
Location: Ukraine

PostPosted: Thu 05 Jul 2007, 16:28    Post subject: Haven't tried 2.17 yet
Subject description: It's in this version
 

Dear Dougal,

I don't know whether it's also in Barry's version, since I only tried yours today and haven't yet installed 2.17e. I just tried the new pmount3 and it still shows hda10 (vfat) and home (hda1 -ntfs) lumped together as the last entry - as in the image attached above.

With kind regards,
vovchik
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
WhoDo


Joined: 11 Jul 2006
Posts: 4441
Location: Lake Macquarie NSW Australia

PostPosted: Thu 05 Jul 2007, 18:14    Post subject:  

BarryK wrote:
Yes, I've done some bugfixing since 2.17exp1.

I'll look at your script and see if I can patch in the fixes.

It looks nice with the tabs!

Barry, one of the things that MUT does and Pmount doesn't is to show partitions hidden by Grub (Type: Amoeba). As I use multiple versions of Puppy on one drive, I find it useful to be able to mount alternative partitions, even though I have hidden them at boot.

If you are going to be looking at merging in Dougal's excellent update, would it be possible to see if this problem can be solved as well? TIA.

Warren

_________________
Actions speak louder than words ... and they usually work when words don't!
SIP:whodo@proxy01.sipphone.com; whodo@realsip.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
HairyWill


Joined: 26 May 2006
Posts: 2949
Location: Southampton, UK

PostPosted: Fri 06 Jul 2007, 05:04    Post subject:  

WhoDo wrote:
Barry, one of the things that MUT does and Pmount doesn't is to show partitions hidden by Grub (Type: Amoeba).
reported here
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=115900#115900

_________________
Will
contribute: community website, screenshots, puplets, wiki, rss

Last edited by HairyWill on Sat 07 Jul 2007, 03:04; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Dougal


Joined: 19 Oct 2005
Posts: 2505
Location: Hell more grotesque than any medieval woodcut

PostPosted: Fri 06 Jul 2007, 08:05    Post subject: Re: Haven't tried 2.17 yet
Subject description: It's in this version
 

vovchik wrote:
I just tried the new pmount3 and it still shows hda10 (vfat) and home (hda1 -ntfs) lumped together as the last entry - as in the image attached above.


I didn't touch that when fixing it, I'm leaving it for Barry to deal with.

_________________
What's the ugliest part of your body?
Some say your nose
Some say your toes
But I think it's your mind
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7047
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Fri 06 Jul 2007, 22:23    Post subject:  

Okay, this is the latest pmount, with a fix for the hda1 -- hda10 bug (I think). I haven't had time to apply Dougal's tabbed interface yet.

Note, this pmount is designed to work with the new probepart and probedisk in 2.17exp1, so may not be quite right in earlier puppies.
pmount-217exp2.gz
Description 
gz

 Download 
Filename  pmount-217exp2.gz 
Filesize  6.68 KB 
Downloaded  320 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
vovchik


Joined: 23 Oct 2006
Posts: 1285
Location: Ukraine

PostPosted: Sat 07 Jul 2007, 04:07    Post subject: Seems to work
Subject description: one small bug left
 

Dear Barry,

As you can see from the screenshot, you found the main bug and fixed it. Thanks. The only minor thing left is that the disk capacity for hda1 (home) is shown as "." and not 41 GB - as it the case. You can understand why I think Dougal's tabbed approach is perfect for my installation. If I were to plug in another USB drive or flash, the listing would go off screen...and it's without scrollbars.

With kind regards,
vovchik
pmount1.png
 Description   
 Filesize   101.84 KB
 Viewed   1037 Time(s)

pmount1.png

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Dougal


Joined: 19 Oct 2005
Posts: 2505
Location: Hell more grotesque than any medieval woodcut

PostPosted: Sat 07 Jul 2007, 08:25    Post subject: Re: Seems to work
Subject description: one small bug left
 

vovchik wrote:
If I were to plug in another USB drive or flash, the listing would go off screen...and it's without scrollbars.


Not to mention if you had a floppy and a second cdrom...

_________________
What's the ugliest part of your body?
Some say your nose
Some say your toes
But I think it's your mind
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
vovchik


Joined: 23 Oct 2006
Posts: 1285
Location: Ukraine

PostPosted: Sat 07 Jul 2007, 08:36    Post subject: Where is the floppy, by the way?
Subject description: Floppy missing
 

Thanks Dougal. I do have a floppy - but it's not showing. I didn't notice that until you pointed it out. I do have a DVD RW, and that shows....

With kind regards,
vovchik
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7047
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Sat 07 Jul 2007, 08:47    Post subject:  

Floppy drive not showing? ....aaargh! I just fixed it for someone else.

Oh well, can you test, the same as the other person did....

# grep 'fd0' /var/log/messages
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 3 [40 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2, 3 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Unsorted
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1007s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0176s) ][ GZIP on ]