Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Thu 24 Apr 2014, 07:02
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
EZpup-2 ... First Looks!
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 4 of 4 [56 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4
Author Message
Béèm


Joined: 21 Nov 2006
Posts: 11782
Location: Brussels IBM Thinkpad R40, 256MB, 20GB, WiFi ipw2100. Frugal Lin'N'Win

PostPosted: Sun 24 Jun 2007, 12:13    Post subject:  

WhoDo wrote:
Béèm wrote:
WhoDo wrote:
I commented out blinky so it's not anymore on the taskbar, but where is icewm's net monitoring?
How is it activated for the task bar?

Place the following line in /root/.icewm/prefoverride
Code:
#  Show network status on task bar (Linux only)
TaskBarShowNetStatus=1 # 0/1
That didn't work.
I suppose =1 is show.

Béèm wrote:
Also volume and wmpower now creates a little sepate window and not a task bar item.
WhoDo wrote:

wmpower is an icedock applet, and needs icedock enabled in /root/.icewm/startup.

There is also a volume applet for icedock, but I prefer to use Pvolume from the menu. It will start as a full app window, but minimising the window puts on the taskbar as an icon. You could also start it from an icon on the taskbar. See the EZpup Help wiki page for links to the manuals for Icewm and Rox and for tips and tricks for customising EZpup.
Indeed Pvolume has the advantage it contains the mixer as well. Would there be a possibility to start Pvolume and minimize it automatically when the X-server is started?
New Wiki page from today? Smile
Nice.

Béèm wrote:
Freemamapplet has improved and it's a little blue block, but not large enough to display the value. Only two digits are displayed.
WhoDo wrote:

This one is beyond me to resolve. The version of Freememapplet I provided in EZpup-2 was patched for IceWM by MU. Instead I prefer to use the Disk Free icon on the desktop which calls Partview to display free space on the mounted partitions. Alternatively you could run conky on the desktop and have all the stats you could ever want.
I know, but I wanted to inform you about the "progress" when a new version is installed.
I'll try conky as well.

WhoDo wrote:
Hope that helps.

What would be the best way to preserve the peronalized settings of icewm?
Copy the ./icewm directory to a save place before upgrading to a newer version and then copy it back?

_________________
Time savers:
Find packages in a snap and install using Puppy Package Manager (Menu).
Consult Wikka
Use peppyy's puppysearch
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
WhoDo


Joined: 11 Jul 2006
Posts: 4441
Location: Lake Macquarie NSW Australia

PostPosted: Mon 25 Jun 2007, 08:03    Post subject:  

Béèm wrote:
Code:
#  Show network status on task bar (Linux only)
TaskBarShowNetStatus=1 # 0/1
That didn't work.
I suppose =1 is show.

Yes, 1=show. Of course you have to reboot to see any change. You should get a transparent window of similar size to the CPU activity block and in almost the same location.

Béèm wrote:
Indeed Pvolume has the advantage it contains the mixer as well. Would there be a possibility to start Pvolume and minimize it automatically when the X-server is started?

Yes. I think Guesttoo actually posted the process to get it started and minimized automatically. I now regret not keeping a record of that, because it could be added to the wiki. If you search the forum and find it, please let me know.

Béèm wrote:
What would be the best way to preserve the peronalized settings of icewm? Copy the ./icewm directory to a save place before upgrading to a newer version and then copy it back?

You could do that, but you really only need the 5 configuration files that govern Icewm's format: preferences, prefoverride, toolbar, winoptions and menu. To those you could also add keys, if you changed any key assignments, and theme, if you can't remember which theme was current.

To that you could also add a backup copy of /root/Choices/ROX-filer/PuppyPin and /root/.config/rox.sourceforge.net/ROX-Filer/globicons which will protect your desktop layout and the icon associations on the desktop in Rox.

Hope that helps.

_________________
Actions speak louder than words ... and they usually work when words don't!
SIP:whodo@proxy01.sipphone.com; whodo@realsip.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
GuestToo
Puppy Master

Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 4078

PostPosted: Mon 25 Jun 2007, 14:04    Post subject:  

you may be referring to this thread:
How to put mini-volume control in icewm taskbar?
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=11302

also, this is interesting:
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=19248
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
WhoDo


Joined: 11 Jul 2006
Posts: 4441
Location: Lake Macquarie NSW Australia

PostPosted: Tue 26 Jun 2007, 03:13    Post subject:  

GuestToo wrote:
you may be referring to this thread:
How to put mini-volume control in icewm taskbar?
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=11302

Yes, that's the one G2. Thanks. I'll give it a try on my machine and add it to the wiki if it works. Of course there is a simpler alternative. Add the following line to the end of the /root/.icewm/toolbar file
Code:
prog "Volume" mixer pvolume-mixer
It works perfectly well that way for me. Hardly "started minimised" as Béèm requested, but just as good IMHO.

Update: Your solution works fine for me, too, G2. Added to EZpup Help wiki page.

@Béèm: Add the following to the /root/.icewm/winoptions file
Code:
pvolume-mixer.tcl.startMinimized: 1

...and add the following lines to Icewm's startup file
Code:
killall pvolume-mixer.tcl
pvolume-mixer.tcl &


Cheers

_________________
Actions speak louder than words ... and they usually work when words don't!
SIP:whodo@proxy01.sipphone.com; whodo@realsip.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ohyes


Joined: 03 May 2007
Posts: 159
Location: Right Here

PostPosted: Tue 26 Jun 2007, 06:34    Post subject:  

For Info

With Ezpup2 installed:
When Installed devx_216.sfs and rebooted, my Icons changed to a different set not sure which (but not the default). Anyone else had this ?
If I installed devx_216.sfs first and then Ezpup 2 no problem.

Been playing with 2.16 installs, found that when I used previous Ezpup blinky background colour correct after installation.

Cheers
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
kkpity


Joined: 27 Nov 2006
Posts: 112
Location: Brazil

PostPosted: Tue 26 Jun 2007, 07:30    Post subject:  

I'm using EZpup with a CD install (v2.16) + a pendrive.

Using an old icewm I had the remaining size of pup_save.2fs on task bar near the clock.

Is that possible to have this useful info on EZpup?

thanks

kkpity

_________________
Linux user #388359 (http://counter.li.org/)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
WhoDo


Joined: 11 Jul 2006
Posts: 4441
Location: Lake Macquarie NSW Australia

PostPosted: Tue 26 Jun 2007, 08:56    Post subject:  

ohyes wrote:
When Installed devx_216.sfs and rebooted, my Icons changed to a different set not sure which (but not the default). Anyone else had this ?

Yes. I think the sfs bootloader runs a fixPuppyPin script that replaces the file /root/.config/rox.sourceforge.net/ROX-Filer/globicons with a default version. The original lives in /root/Choices/ROX-Filer and is also called globicons.

As an interim workaround, try copying the modified version from /root/.config over to /root/Choices and then use the sfs bootloader. If the operating version in /root/.config is overwritten you can copy the /root/Choices version back over it.

Of course it's only an interim solution. Long term I'm hoping someone can modify fixPuppyPin in a way that doesn't mess with the desktop setup quite so radically. Wink

_________________
Actions speak louder than words ... and they usually work when words don't!
SIP:whodo@proxy01.sipphone.com; whodo@realsip.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
WhoDo


Joined: 11 Jul 2006
Posts: 4441
Location: Lake Macquarie NSW Australia

PostPosted: Tue 26 Jun 2007, 09:02    Post subject:  

kkpity wrote:
Using an old icewm I had the remaining size of pup_save.2fs on task bar near the clock.

Is that possible to have this useful info on EZpup?

What you are referring to is the Freememapplet. You can enable it by uncommenting the following line from IceWM's startup file - Edit startup in the quicklaunch menu:
Code:
killall freememapplet-tray
#sleep 2 && iu_nice -n 19 /root/my-applications/freememapplet_tray_puppy215ce/freememapplet-tray &
Simply remove the # from line 2 above and restart IceWM from the prompt.

Freememapplet is less than successful in later versions of IceWM. That's why I put Disk Free on the desktop. It will actually show space in your pup_save.2fs file as well as the partition AND your ram disk.

Hope that helps.

_________________
Actions speak louder than words ... and they usually work when words don't!
SIP:whodo@proxy01.sipphone.com; whodo@realsip.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
kkpity


Joined: 27 Nov 2006
Posts: 112
Location: Brazil

PostPosted: Tue 26 Jun 2007, 20:24    Post subject:  

Line:
sleep 2 && iu_nice -n 19 /root/my-applications/freememapplet_tray_puppy215ce/freememapplet-tray &

was already uncommented

I've uncommented the following line (some lines above):
sleep 4 && iu_nice -n 25 freememapplet-trayicon &

then restart icewm.

It worked but the icon is very small. It is almost impossible to point the mouse cursor on it.

Other point: I can use Disk Free if it show my pup_save size¸but I couldn't find it.

Thanks for your help

_________________
Linux user #388359 (http://counter.li.org/)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
WhoDo


Joined: 11 Jul 2006
Posts: 4441
Location: Lake Macquarie NSW Australia

PostPosted: Tue 26 Jun 2007, 22:29    Post subject:  

kkpity wrote:
Line:
sleep 2 && iu_nice -n 19 /root/my-applications/freememapplet_tray_puppy215ce/freememapplet-tray &

was already uncommented

Which version of EZpup are you using? Only EZpup-2.1.7 carries the program files for that version of Freememapplet, so maybe you have an earlier version? You can check by looking in /root/my-applications and seeing if freememapplet_tray is there.

kkpity wrote:
I've uncommented the following line (some lines above):
sleep 4 && iu_nice -n 25 freememapplet-trayicon &

then restart icewm.

It worked but the icon is very small. It is almost impossible to point the mouse cursor on it.

Yes, that's the old, unpatched version of freememapplet that really only works well with JWM. The patched version mentioned above is what's required.

kkpity wrote:
Other point: I can use Disk Free if it show my pup_save size¸but I couldn't find it.

After installing EZpup, Disk Free lives on the desktop above the Trash can at the right hand side. If it's not there, you can get it by opening Menu>Utilities>Partview (I think - I'm not at my own system so I can't be certain of that location).

Hope that helps.

_________________
Actions speak louder than words ... and they usually work when words don't!
SIP:whodo@proxy01.sipphone.com; whodo@realsip.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
polle

Joined: 27 Jun 2007
Posts: 11

PostPosted: Mon 02 Jul 2007, 14:26    Post subject:  

maybe I would have asked it in this thread, but if someone canhave a look?:
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=19349
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 4 of 4 [56 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1049s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0286s) ][ GZIP on ]