Pbackup 3.1.9-1

Miscellaneous tools
Message
Author
User avatar
zigbert
Posts: 6621
Joined: Wed 29 Mar 2006, 18:13
Location: Valåmoen, Norway
Contact:

#161 Post by zigbert »

PaulBx1
I've made an experiment that maybe will solve your request. It's very easy to permit files (not only directories) in the field 'Save from'. Change the line number 1602 in /usr/local/pbackup/pbackup from:

Code: Select all

	13)	CHOOSEDIR="true"; TITLE="$LOC121"; DIR=/; chooser
to:

Code: Select all

	13)	CHOOSEDIR="false"; TITLE="$LOC121"; DIR=/; chooser
Now you can choose to backup only the file /initrd/mnt/dev_save/pup_save.2fs. (or any other file or dir.)
You have to choose 'Full backup' to pass the date-check.
Note that files in 'Save from' will crash a sync. I have made an errorcheck for the next release.

Are you pleased, or still a helping pain. :wink:

Sigmund

PaulBx1
Posts: 2312
Joined: Sat 17 Jun 2006, 03:11
Location: Wyoming, USA

#162 Post by PaulBx1 »

OK, let me see if I understand. After I make this change, every time I back up I am supposed to run pbackup first, with "backup recent files" and from initrd/mnt/dev_save, then run pbackup again with "full backup" from /initrd/mnt/dev_save/pup_save.2fs?

I am still in pain. :) It would be easier to simply run pbackup with "backup recent files", then manually copy the pup_save into the incremental save_set just created. That way the pbackup stage remains a one-button backup.

Maybe I have not understood what you are suggesting.

User avatar
zigbert
Posts: 6621
Joined: Wed 29 Mar 2006, 18:13
Location: Valåmoen, Norway
Contact:

#163 Post by zigbert »

No no, this is easy. - Only one button. :wink:

I have made a predefined job that will follow next release - Puppy_System_Recovery.
After the codehack of line 1602. Do as follow:

Step 1: Choose 'Full Backup'.
Step 2: Include only /initrd/mnt/dev_save/pup_save.2fs in 'Save from'.
Step 3: Save Job (if you want to give it another name than 'Default').
Step 4: Backup.

Next run it is a real "One-Button-Backup".

Sigmund

User avatar
zigbert
Posts: 6621
Joined: Wed 29 Mar 2006, 18:13
Location: Valåmoen, Norway
Contact:

#164 Post by zigbert »

Did I misunderstand? Do you have other files in dev_save directory that you want to save. Are these ordinary files which changes fileattributes, or are they sfs filesystems or similar. If so, they should be included in the full backup.

Sigmund

User avatar
Gekko
Posts: 443
Joined: Sat 22 Jul 2006, 09:57
Location: Sydney, New South Wales

#165 Post by Gekko »

zigbert wrote:Gekko
The only available commandline option is -q (quiet), which Pbackup uses for scheduled backups.

Sigmund
So you're saying I could set a backup in the GUI, then call the backup to start via the command line?

User avatar
zigbert
Posts: 6621
Joined: Wed 29 Mar 2006, 18:13
Location: Valåmoen, Norway
Contact:

#166 Post by zigbert »

Gekko
Yes you can.
And, it's the only way to chain several ( max 8 ) backups.

Code: Select all

pbackup -q "job1" "job2" 
But remember to test the backup in gui first. I could be some warnings that should have been turned off.

User avatar
Gekko
Posts: 443
Joined: Sat 22 Jul 2006, 09:57
Location: Sydney, New South Wales

#167 Post by Gekko »

Alright, I wont be using this for quite some time, but I'll keep it in mind. Does it have a config file in which it stores backup profiles? If so, upload a sample to www.pastebin.ca or somewhere for me to analyze, I could write a command line script to set up pbackup :) (Please note "could," I have been very busy of late, I even have a Puppy To-Do list on my PDA with about 20 things on it, 3 high priority)

User avatar
zigbert
Posts: 6621
Joined: Wed 29 Mar 2006, 18:13
Location: Valåmoen, Norway
Contact:

#168 Post by zigbert »

Gekko wrote:Does it have a config file in which it stores backup profiles? If so, upload a sample to www.pastebin.ca or somewhere for me to analyze
You already got one on your computer. Each backup job has a config-file, and there is a default one. But, they are not made for reading, they are made for execution. Look at /root/.pbackup/profiles/default.

Sigmund

User avatar
Gekko
Posts: 443
Joined: Sat 22 Jul 2006, 09:57
Location: Sydney, New South Wales

#169 Post by Gekko »

I haven't got pbackup installed you see, could you just paste one please?

User avatar
zigbert
Posts: 6621
Joined: Wed 29 Mar 2006, 18:13
Location: Valåmoen, Norway
Contact:

#170 Post by zigbert »

This is my file /root/.pbackup/Pbackup_default

Code: Select all

#Pbackup - profile


#[MAIN SETTINGS]
CHKINCREMENTAL=true
CHKFULLBACKUP=false
CHKMIR=false
INCLUDE="/root/my-documents/|"
SAVEMODE=CD
BCKDEV="/dev/hdc"
BCKDATE_FROM=01/01/1970

#[BACKUP]
CHKREC=true
CHKSYMLN=false
CHKMULTISESSION=false
CHKCOMPRESS=false
CHKJOLIET=false
EXCLUDE_BACKUP=""
FIND_NAME="*"
MNTPNT="/mnt/cdrom/"
TMPDIR="/tmp/"

#[SYNC]
CHKMIRSYMLN=false
CHKMIRATTRIBUTES=true
CHKMIRUPDATESYM=false
CHK_WRITEHIST=true
CHKTRASH=true
CHKLEADING_PATH=true
SYNCACTION=1
EXCLUDE_MIRROR=""
TRASHDIR="/tmp/pbackupTRASH/"

#[JOBS]
LASTSUCCESS=---
LASTRUNTXT="11.Jun 18:13"
LASTSTATUS="Error"
SCHEDULE="---"

#[MISC]
CHKAUTOMOUNT=false
WARN_FS=true
WARN_LEADPATH=true
WARN_MOUNT=true

PaulBx1
Posts: 2312
Joined: Sat 17 Jun 2006, 03:11
Location: Wyoming, USA

#171 Post by PaulBx1 »

Did I misunderstand? Do you have other files in dev_save directory that you want to save. Are these ordinary files which changes fileattributes, or are they sfs filesystems or similar. If so, they should be included in the full backup.
I have ordinary files in subdirectories of dev_save that I am changing, AND I have the content of my pup_save which is on dev_save that also is changing.

If I understand you correctly, I must have two jobs. One, to back up the pup_save by itself, the other to back up the other files on dev_save that are changing. Each of those will be a one-button backup. Is that the plan?

In other words, what I really have is a two-button backup. :wink:

User avatar
zigbert
Posts: 6621
Joined: Wed 29 Mar 2006, 18:13
Location: Valåmoen, Norway
Contact:

#172 Post by zigbert »

PaulBx1
I'm afraid thats the truth. BUT, you can chain several jobs in one operation. This is not possible in GUI (yet), but with command pbackup -q "job1" "job2".

Well, well. One button here, one button there...

Sigmund

User avatar
zigbert
Posts: 6621
Joined: Wed 29 Mar 2006, 18:13
Location: Valåmoen, Norway
Contact:

#173 Post by zigbert »

New stable release. See main post.

User avatar
zigbert
Posts: 6621
Joined: Wed 29 Mar 2006, 18:13
Location: Valåmoen, Norway
Contact:

#174 Post by zigbert »

Bugfix release.
Download from main post.

Bugfix: choosing HD-path for backup target.

User avatar
zigbert
Posts: 6621
Joined: Wed 29 Mar 2006, 18:13
Location: Valåmoen, Norway
Contact:

#175 Post by zigbert »

Bugfix release.
Download from main post.

Minor bugfixes.

PaulBx1
Posts: 2312
Joined: Sat 17 Jun 2006, 03:11
Location: Wyoming, USA

#176 Post by PaulBx1 »

Sigmund, have you given up on the changelog (2nd post in this thread)? Last one done was 2.4.0. I usually like looking at those to see if I need to upgrade or not.

Also, I don't know if you mentioned it earlier (the thread is getting pretty long) but for upgrades, do we just write over the previous version, or should we remove the earlier version first?

User avatar
zigbert
Posts: 6621
Joined: Wed 29 Mar 2006, 18:13
Location: Valåmoen, Norway
Contact:

#177 Post by zigbert »

PaulBx1
:oops: I'll update the changelog

Update: Just install the new pet package. The only thing you'll loose is the job called 'default'. It will be overwritten by a fresh one.

When 2.50 arrive, you'll be able to combine jobs. Let's try to keep it a 'one-button-backup' :)

Sigmund[/b]

User avatar
zigbert
Posts: 6621
Joined: Wed 29 Mar 2006, 18:13
Location: Valåmoen, Norway
Contact:

#178 Post by zigbert »

Version 2.4.4 is uploaded. See main post.

User avatar
zigbert
Posts: 6621
Joined: Wed 29 Mar 2006, 18:13
Location: Valåmoen, Norway
Contact:

#179 Post by zigbert »

Version 2.5.0 is uploaded. See main post.

User avatar
veronicathecow
Posts: 559
Joined: Sat 21 Oct 2006, 09:41

#180 Post by veronicathecow »

Hi Zigbert, gone but not totally forgotten, missing puppy speed and tools like yours!
Will be trying 2.17 beta soon. PC linux works very well but is slooooow compared to Puppy.
Probably will boot to puppy for most and then PClinux for what Puppy can't
Thanks for all the hard work
Tony

Post Reply