Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Mon 01 Sep 2014, 17:29
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Grafpup website issues
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 2 [16 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2 Next
Author Message
Nathan F


Joined: 08 Jun 2005
Posts: 1760
Location: Wadsworth, OH (occasionally home)

PostPosted: Fri 25 May 2007, 12:52    Post subject:  Grafpup website issues  

The main website grafpup.com is currently down because of some confusion about where the dns records have gone to, but any and all files can still be downloaded from grafpup.org. I plan to get something more substantial up at grafpup.org very soon, at which time that will be the "official" Grafpup website.

Also, due to my desire to spen less time on website administration and more on coding and my family, I have had a new forum set up on linuxquestions for Grafpup, which will now be the official Grafpup support forum.
http://www.linuxquestions.org/questions/forumdisplay.php?f=77

I haven't had a place to announce it because of the website issues, but rc1 is now imminent. I was going to go straight from beta to release but there have been more changes than I intended.

Nathan

_________________
Bring on the locusts ...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger 
jcagle

Joined: 29 Sep 2005
Posts: 634

PostPosted: Sat 26 May 2007, 00:03    Post subject:  

Did you get my message about the problem I was having with the hard drive install?

I should mention, Grafpup 2 beta wasn't installing GRUB correctly either.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message AIM Address 
jcagle

Joined: 29 Sep 2005
Posts: 634

PostPosted: Sat 26 May 2007, 00:16    Post subject:  

Oh, also I checked the partition, and it did indeed put a FAT filesystem on the partition when I told the installation program I wanted ext3.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message AIM Address 
Nathan F


Joined: 08 Jun 2005
Posts: 1760
Location: Wadsworth, OH (occasionally home)

PostPosted: Sat 26 May 2007, 00:56    Post subject:  

Sorry, Joey. I did get the message but I've been busy much of the day trying to get the website straightened out a bit. We do now have a fairly complete site up at grafpup.org, and the old one is up on my backup server which should now be reolving grafpup.com. But grafpup.org is where things will probably stay (although I will probably keep the domain grafpup.com).

There have been several people who had problems with hard drive installations. I think in most cases they had sata hard drives, which were confusing the installer because it thought they were flash drives. That could explain why it wanted to format it to fat. I have just yesterday finished modifying Dougal's latest version of the Puppy installer to cope with the differences in Grafpup (and to say that it is installing Grafpup, not Puppy) and what I have will be out with rc1 shortly.

Hey wait, rc1 is already on the server but I haven't announced it yet! I better get to it...

Nathan

_________________
Bring on the locusts ...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger 
jcagle

Joined: 29 Sep 2005
Posts: 634

PostPosted: Sun 27 May 2007, 01:46    Post subject:  

My hard drive is ATA, not SATA. So that can't be it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message AIM Address 
msumner

Joined: 04 Jan 2007
Posts: 205
Location: Lincolnshire, England.

PostPosted: Sun 27 May 2007, 03:19    Post subject:  

Hi Nathan, the website is looking good. Cant post comments though, as I get URL not found.
Mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jcagle

Joined: 29 Sep 2005
Posts: 634

PostPosted: Sun 27 May 2007, 08:23    Post subject:  

Downloading RC1 now, will let you know if I have problems installing this to the hard drive.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message AIM Address 
Nathan F


Joined: 08 Jun 2005
Posts: 1760
Location: Wadsworth, OH (occasionally home)

PostPosted: Sun 27 May 2007, 11:40    Post subject:  

Quote:
My hard drive is ATA, not SATA. So that can't be it.

SATA is merely one kind of ATA, the other being PATA. Anyway, yes that can be the problem. I think it should work for you in rc1.

Quote:
Cant post comments though, as I get URL not found

Ah, a side effect of moving the database tables to the new server, which is configured a little differently. I had to go back to the old style url's, which don't rely on mod_rewrite. Anyway, you should be able to post comments now.

The whole move was kind of nightmarish, truthfully. I only have access to one database on the new server, and grafpup.com was using five. So I had to inser all the tables into one database. BUt it's working (or at least most of it is).

Nathan

_________________
Bring on the locusts ...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger 
jcagle

Joined: 29 Sep 2005
Posts: 634

PostPosted: Sun 27 May 2007, 22:35    Post subject:  

Isn't SATA a newer type though? Mine is the older type. It's the type that was around before I ever even heard of SATA.

I select ATA (not SATA) and it detects it just fine. It just formats it with the wrong filesystem.

I have most of the ISO downloaded. I'm on dial-up so it takes a little time, and it evidently disconnected while I was away today, during the download process.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message AIM Address 
jcagle

Joined: 29 Sep 2005
Posts: 634

PostPosted: Mon 28 May 2007, 11:00    Post subject:  

This isn't working for me Nathan.

First, I do a normal install with RC1. It still wants to coexist instead.

I try running GParted. It doesn't work right. It won't take care of formatting the filesystem.

Quote:

mkfs.ext3 /dev/hda1
sh: nice: command not found


In fact, I tried making other partitions with other filesystems. That was a no-go as well.

Well, I ran cfdisk to do the partitions instead. Reboot, and then try to install it, hoping the installation will take care of formatting anyway. Get this wonderful message...

Quote:
Error: could not mount hda1. Exiting.


I really like Grafpup Beta 2, but the installation is not so great. I've got a PATA hard drive, so I guess it should be working fine. But it's not.

I'm kind of wanting the old installation back. It was all text, but it worked...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message AIM Address 
jcagle

Joined: 29 Sep 2005
Posts: 634

PostPosted: Mon 28 May 2007, 11:04    Post subject:  

ok...decided to run mkfs from the command line...it appears to have worked. Now trying the installation...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message AIM Address 
jcagle

Joined: 29 Sep 2005
Posts: 634

PostPosted: Mon 28 May 2007, 11:15    Post subject:  

OK, I finally got RC1 installed.

My summary:
installation fails to do a normal install when previous version is already installed, even if you want to overwrite the previous version. You must format the hard drive, which requires going to the command line, because this installation does not attempt to format the hard drive, at least on my computer, for some reason.

I will probably try installing this on the computer my brother gave me too, but I've got to get ready for work.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message AIM Address 
jcagle

Joined: 29 Sep 2005
Posts: 634

PostPosted: Mon 28 May 2007, 11:39    Post subject:  

I should also add that if I want to have two partitions on the drive, the only partition that will show up when I want to install is hda2, so what if I wanted to install to hda1? I ended up having to delete hda2 in order for it to offer me hda1.

Also, kind of a similar thing happening with pmount. Apparently, there is a partition on my external hard drive that is normally inaccessable (I may have unintentionally created this a while back, as I was doing some experiments with installing Linux to it, haha). Well, with Pmount, this partition that is normally inaccessable is the only one that is acessable on the drive. I have to run MUT instead. It works fine. Fortunately, you're keeping MUT in there, so that's good.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message AIM Address 
Nathan F


Joined: 08 Jun 2005
Posts: 1760
Location: Wadsworth, OH (occasionally home)

PostPosted: Mon 28 May 2007, 16:31    Post subject:  

The problem with gparted should hopefully be fixable just by adding the "nice" utility. This is part of the coreutils package and is only 43K so I just added it to the development tree. I'll attach it in gzip form here, so you can just drop it in /usr/bin and decompress it "gunzip nice.gz, then make sure it is executable).

I'll do some more testing with the installer but remember this one is not my baby. I'm kind of lost in the code as it is right now, all I really did was change the variables that are different between Puppy and Grafpup and also change the names from Puppy to Grafpup. There is a thread specifically for the installer somewhere on this forum, and these issues probably aught to be brought up there.

The mystery partition could possibly mean an error in the partition table? Not sure just yet.

Nathan

_________________
Bring on the locusts ...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger 
jcagle

Joined: 29 Sep 2005
Posts: 634

PostPosted: Mon 28 May 2007, 22:44    Post subject:  

It very well could be an error in the partition table. As I mentioned, I played around with Linux on it, and messing with the partitions was part of the process, haha.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message AIM Address 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 2 [16 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0919s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0234s) ][ GZIP on ]