Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 16 Apr 2014, 16:00
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Puppy 2.16 install problem(s)
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 6 [82 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6 Next
Author Message
bobn9lvu


Joined: 11 Jul 2006
Posts: 173

PostPosted: Tue 15 May 2007, 20:04    Post subject:  Puppy 2.16 install problem(s)  

I installed Puppy both ways, Full HD, and Frugal install...

With a frugal install, the Grub menu.lst has the wrong boot parameters to boot into ram.

I had to rewrite the menu.
From;
title Puppy Linux 2.16 (on /dev/hdc1)
root (hd0,0)
kernel /vmlinuz root=/dev/hdc1 ro vga=normal

NOTE, I changed the vmlinuz path from the original which was ( /boot/vmlinuz)
and incorrect, as file does not exist. It is at ( /boot/puppy216/vmlinuz),
TO (/vmlinuz) as there was a copy here as well,
and I deleted the /boot/puppy216/vmlinuz file + residing dir..

I then rewrote the entry;

title Puppy Linux 2.16 (on /dev/hdc1)
root (hd0,0)
kernel /vmlinuz root=/dev/ram0 loglevel=3 PMEDIA=idehd ro vga=normal
initrd /initrd.gz

and made sure there was a copy of the initrd file in the root dir of hdc1


Guess what, IT WORKS!!! BUT I still cannot get OO to display,
even though it is in the correct dir (/mnt/home) and I used the util,
rebooted, and ran fixmenus from consol...

With FULL install I cannot get the Nvidia display to work under xorg unless,
I test the mode, then select generic driver...
The sound and ethernet must be manually forced to configure,
even though under live cd boot ALL is found automagically... Shocked

Also the sfs installer unpacks all the files to the root dir " not good " Shocked




Bob

_________________
Puppy Linux - Lift your leg at Redmond. Razz Twisted Evil Razz
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
WhoDo


Joined: 11 Jul 2006
Posts: 4441
Location: Lake Macquarie NSW Australia

PostPosted: Tue 15 May 2007, 20:38    Post subject: Re: Puppy 2.16 install problem(s)  

bobn9lvu wrote:
Also the sfs installer unpacks all the files to the root dir " not good " Shocked

I have had this problem with the sfs installer before, too. I don't know why it does that occasionally, but that is why you can't run Open Office. It sounds like the installer for the FULL install to hard drive has tried to run on your Frugal install or something.

With a Frugal install you shouldn't need to run any installer - just reboot, run fixmenus and refresh your window manager.

Hope that helps

_________________
Actions speak louder than words ... and they usually work when words don't!
SIP:whodo@proxy01.sipphone.com; whodo@realsip.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Kal

Joined: 05 May 2005
Posts: 623
Location: California, High Desert

PostPosted: Tue 15 May 2007, 20:39    Post subject:  

Thanks, Bob

Works for me on boot up.

Good Luck, Kal
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7047
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Tue 15 May 2007, 21:17    Post subject:  

Quote:
Guess what, IT WORKS!!! BUT I still cannot get OO to display,
even though it is in the correct dir (/mnt/home) and I used the util,
rebooted, and ran fixmenus from consol...

You do not need to run fixmenus in 2.16.
When you ran the SFS Boot Manager, did you untick the checkbox, the one that says it will ignore your choices if left ticked?

Note, I have only tested my OO SFS on ibiblio, I cannot say anything about any other OO SFS file.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
bobn9lvu


Joined: 11 Jul 2006
Posts: 173

PostPosted: Tue 15 May 2007, 21:26    Post subject:  

Ok, I did select OO, and unchecked the box (for 2.16 sfs only), rebooted, and nothing shows up.....
Will RE dl from your site, and re-try...

Bob

BTW do you know why the hardware recognition problems that are happening on a full hd install,
but does work, and finds all hardware on a frugal install, and cd live boot???

UPDATE::::
I could ONLY get the OO icons to display on the menus after I manually
ran an OO application, and went through the pre-setup/registration in OO.
Now all icons are SHOWING in the menus... Rolling Eyes Go Figure Exclamation Exclamation

_________________
Puppy Linux - Lift your leg at Redmond. Razz Twisted Evil Razz

Last edited by bobn9lvu on Tue 15 May 2007, 21:51; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Newcrest

Joined: 03 Mar 2007
Posts: 203

PostPosted: Tue 15 May 2007, 21:42    Post subject:  

I am unable to boot 216 as well. I am running a frugal install on an external usb HDD.
It says searching for Puppy and goes through all available disk partitions including the correct one. It then says it cannot find Puppy on "usbhd" boot media and PDEV1=

I tried specifying PDEV1=SDB1 but did not help. Also I have found that PDEV1 does not seem to work in 215CE either. Even though I have it specified, it still gets ignored and a search of HD partitions takes place. However, 215 continues on and boots.

Thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7047
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Tue 15 May 2007, 23:17    Post subject:  

Newcrest wrote:
I am unable to boot 216 as well. I am running a frugal install on an external usb HDD.
It says searching for Puppy and goes through all available disk partitions including the correct one. It then says it cannot find Puppy on "usbhd" boot media and PDEV1=

I tried specifying PDEV1=SDB1 but did not help. Also I have found that PDEV1 does not seem to work in 215CE either. Even though I have it specified, it still gets ignored and a search of HD partitions takes place. However, 215 continues on and boots.

Thanks.

Do not put 'sdb1' in capitals.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Newcrest

Joined: 03 Mar 2007
Posts: 203

PostPosted: Tue 15 May 2007, 23:31    Post subject:  

BarryK wrote:
Newcrest wrote:
I am unable to boot 216 as well. I am running a frugal install on an external usb HDD.
It says searching for Puppy and goes through all available disk partitions including the correct one. It then says it cannot find Puppy on "usbhd" boot media and PDEV1=

I tried specifying PDEV1=SDB1 but did not help. Also I have found that PDEV1 does not seem to work in 215CE either. Even though I have it specified, it still gets ignored and a search of HD partitions takes place. However, 215 continues on and boots.

Thanks.

Do not put 'sdb1' in capitals.


Sorry, I only used capitals in the forum post. I have it correct in the boot parameters: PDEV1=sdb1

Any advice as to why 216 does not boot?
ERROR: cannot find Puppy on 'usbhd' boot media.
PUPMODE=1 PDEV1=

Puppy 214 and 215ce boot ok with the same parameters.
Are there any parameters that need to be changed for 216? I tried looking but could not find any mention to use something different.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7047
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Wed 16 May 2007, 02:05    Post subject:  

For frugal and full internal hd install fix, see this post:
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=116711#116711
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
stroom

Joined: 18 Feb 2007
Posts: 10
Location: France

PostPosted: Thu 17 May 2007, 12:22    Post subject: manual frugal install 216 fails  

Newcrest wrote: "I am unable to boot 216 as well. I am running a frugal install on an external usb HDD.
It says searching for Puppy and goes through all available disk partitions including the correct one. It then says it cannot find Puppy on "usbhd" boot media and PDEV1= "

I have exactly same problem as newcrest with manual frugal install.
puppy214 works fine, puppy216 doesn't with similar grub entries:

title Puppy Linux 2.16 (frugal on /dev/hda4)
root (hd0,3)
kernel /puppy216/vmlinuz root=/dev/ram0 PMEDIA=idehd ro vga=normal
initrd /puppy216/initrd.gz

title Puppy Linux 2.14 (frugal on /dev/hda4)
root (hd0,3)
kernel /puppy214/vmlinuz root=/dev/ram0 PMEDIA=idehd ro vga=normal
initrd /puppy214/initrd.gz

sfs files are in /
vmlinuz and initrd.gz in the respective /puppy21x directories

Since I have installed ubuntu on the same partition I cannot put the vmlinuz in /

Any idea to solve this?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
HairyWill


Joined: 26 May 2006
Posts: 2949
Location: Southampton, UK

PostPosted: Thu 17 May 2007, 12:38    Post subject:  

try the kernel parameter
Code:
psubdir=/puppy216
as described here
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=115560#115560

_________________
Will
contribute: community website, screenshots, puplets, wiki, rss
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
stroom

Joined: 18 Feb 2007
Posts: 10
Location: France

PostPosted: Thu 17 May 2007, 16:24    Post subject:  

HairyWill wrote:
try the kernel parameter
Code:
psubdir=/puppy216
as described here
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=115560#115560


That did the trick, thanks.
I had read the post but since the files in the subdirectory (kernel and initrd) were found and running, and it appeared that it could not find the pup_216.sfs file which is in the /, I did not expect this to be the problem
Anyway, this was not needed in puppy214. Is this a feature or a bug?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
veronicathecow


Joined: 21 Oct 2006
Posts: 530

PostPosted: Thu 17 May 2007, 17:20    Post subject:  

Hi, I've installed 2.16 (Final) via a hand built frugal (the installer failed to give a correct grub entry) I renamed the 2.15 sfs for OO and others (pgs and also web) but no joy in getting any .sfs extra goodies to load even though the I choose them from the sfs installer (It only showed up on the second reboot) (I unticked the load all box)
Cheers
Tony
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
veronicathecow


Joined: 21 Oct 2006
Posts: 530

PostPosted: Thu 17 May 2007, 17:38    Post subject:  

Hi also I have timed Puppy boot at 1m 2secs (PClinux takes 1m 5sec)
Of that it takes 15 seconds for post on my machine. From Checking version update to the end of Rclocal takes 22 seconds. If backgrounding can be sorted for those items then the actual booting of Puppy would drop from 47 seconds to 25!.
Must get back to work!

P.S. Puppy frugal still loads apps so much faster (Approx twice speed of Pclinux)
Cheers
Tony
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bobn9lvu


Joined: 11 Jul 2006
Posts: 173

PostPosted: Thu 17 May 2007, 17:52    Post subject:  

Run any OO ap manually, and fill out the registration pre-install ect., exit the program, and reboot windows manager, your menu items will be there...

Bob

_________________
Puppy Linux - Lift your leg at Redmond. Razz Twisted Evil Razz
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 6 [82 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0751s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0049s) ][ GZIP on ]