Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 01 Oct 2014, 12:55
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » HOWTO ( Solutions )
Step by Step: Installing Puppy Linux to Your Hard Drive
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 2 of 5 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 Next
Author Message
Mechsus


Joined: 06 Aug 2005
Posts: 15

PostPosted: Mon 08 Aug 2005, 11:44    Post_subject:  

Lobster wrote:
Have placed the info here (but it needs cleaning up and formatting) volunteers welcome


How do you do that? Does the Wikka need special privileges to access the data?

There's a couple of points I forgot to include - and remembered on a later Puppy install.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Bancobusto


Joined: 13 Jun 2005
Posts: 168
Location: Vancouver Island

PostPosted: Mon 08 Aug 2005, 14:05    Post_subject:  

Mechsus, I think that this will explain it to you better then I could http://www.murga.org/%7Epuppy/viewtopic.php?t=661&highlight=wiki
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
danleff


Joined: 08 May 2005
Posts: 294
Location: Albany, NY

PostPosted: Tue 09 Aug 2005, 19:56    Post_subject:  

Mechsus, I edited (formatting) the page this am, but there is a little bit yet to go.

Let me know if I can assist in any way.

P.S. Looks like someone finished it. Looks pretty good.

_________________
I love it when a plan comes together

--Hannibal Smith
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
budden

Joined: 25 Aug 2005
Posts: 26

PostPosted: Thu 25 Aug 2005, 01:04    Post_subject: It works!  

The step-by-step here works pretty much as advertised.


Nits. The canned script in the Puppy menu was not working -- somehow it wouldn't adapt to my particular situation. So I rooted around and found this.
- I used DR-DOS for the first partition rather than MS-DOS (because that's what I have on the dusty shelf). No particular diff, but seems that we ought to be able to garage-sale that stuff and do without entirely?
- the disk scrubbing is hygiene but not necessary to the install. I skipped because I didn't have the app.
- GRUB worked exactly as advertised. Read the edits to menu.lst to the mirror -- could use a slight editing for clarity (like what do you do with the 3 lines that are there already?). I cp'd a bak file first.



Hardware. I inherited a 1999-vintage Sony Vaio Picturebook PCG-C1X (the price was right). PCMCIA CDROM and USB floppy. And a 4G hda. The strange part about the hardware is that this is a dinky laptop, with a 1024x480 screen. It will work with 1024x762 but the bottom is chopped off...

Several other Linux installs hang because they boot the kernel but forget the PCMCIA interface somewhere in the boot process and can't get back to the CD to do any real installation. The one exception to that was Fedora Core 3 which did install to completion. But on reboot it promptly forgot about the PCMCIA CD interface ... (Core 4 hangs somewhere in bootup).

Puppy was one of the exceptions --it booted reliably from the CD, keep the PCMCIA interface intact and has low graphics overhead (GNOME, on the other hand, is very slow on older machines like this with comparatively low graphics RAM).

_________________
Rex Buddenberg
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Bruce B


Joined: 18 May 2005
Posts: 11109
Location: The Peoples Republic of California

PostPosted: Mon 29 Aug 2005, 17:54    Post_subject:  

Mechsus wrote:

I attempted to install Puppy with only an MS-DOS partition and without installing MS-DOS 6.22 - but couldn't crack it - although there must be a method (?).


I tried to understand why you installed MS-DOS. I don't see any reason for it other than that you want to have a dual booting - Puppy/MS-DOS system. But this does not seem to be the reason you install MS-DOS.

Yesterday, I did some expermenting installing Puppy on a spare HD. The results of which indicate that it doesn't make any difference of you nuke the hd or install on a pre-partitioned HD, which I presume you know this. Except the nuking is as someone wrote, hygenic. But I've seen cases where nuking the drive is the only thing that gets it working right again.

If the HD is partioned you can delete the partitions by booting Puppy CD and using cfdisk or fdisk to delete the partitions.

Suppose we start off with a drive that has either been nuked or the partitions deleted with Linux fdisk or cfdisk.

The basic procedure is insert the Puppy CD and boot the computer.

Puppy won't install the pup001 file on this type of drive because there are no partitions.

After answering the keyboard, mouse and vide mode questions you will be running Puppy in RAM with no partitions mounted, because there are none.

You can then use fdisk or cfdisk to make a primary Linux partition (hex 83)

Then start the Puppy hard drive setup program. It will recognize hda1 and install on it if you tell it to install on /dev/hda1. The installation process will create the ext2 file system.

When it comes time to decide to install GRUB go ahead and do it. I usually install it to the MBR.

After the installation process is completed, mount hda1, and edit /boot/grub/menu.lst to verify that it has the commands as you wish.

Then reboot.

-------------------

As for my own use, I prefer to have MS-DOS and Linux. I use the GRUB for DOS as my boot manager.

I also think Puppy's GRUB script needs work, because I've never been able to install GRUB to the MBR on hda, IF I have other drives attached. If hda is the only drive then it has installed on hda.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
edoc


Joined: 07 Aug 2005
Posts: 4377
Location: Southeast Georgia, USA

PostPosted: Wed 07 Sep 2005, 17:53    Post_subject:  

I am trying to install Puppy on a laptop with no FDD.

It appears that something is amiss with the linux partitioning (no M$ product has every sullied that HDD) as Puppy keeps complaining that it cannot set up on hda1 or hda2.

How does one install without the use of a FDD?

I can boot Puppy from CD using the ISO but don't see an app in Puppy that will repartition my 40GB HDD.

Thanks! doc

_________________
Thanks! David
Home page: http://nevils-station.com
Don't google Search! http://duckduckgo.com
Puppy upup Raring 3992 & Lighthouse64-b602
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
raffy

Joined: 25 May 2005
Posts: 4765
Location: Manila

PostPosted: Wed 07 Sep 2005, 19:55    Post_subject: WinXP?  

WinXP partitions can't be written on yet by Puppy, and if it isn't WinXP, you have to press 2 (v.1.03) or 3 (v.1.04) at boot time so Puppy will not use the existing partitions.

You can still install Puppy to WinXP, just explore the link below:

The repartitioning is "cfdisk" while in console (rxvt). If the hard disk is loaded with WinXP, your best bet is delete first the entire partition and create new ones, and hope Puppy will save the changes... Or hope that you wont lose data there...

_________________
Puppy user since Oct 2004. Want FreeOffice? Get the sfs (English only).
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
HernanL
Guest


PostPosted: Wed 07 Sep 2005, 19:58    Post_subject: Re: Step by Step: Installing Puppy Linux to Your Hard Drive  

[quote="Mechsus"]Step by Step: Installing Puppy Linux to Your Hard Drive
2. Darik's Boot and Nuke(DBN) on a Floppy.

Where is it?

Thank you

Hernán
Back to top
edoc


Joined: 07 Aug 2005
Posts: 4377
Location: Southeast Georgia, USA

PostPosted: Wed 07 Sep 2005, 20:00    Post_subject: Re: Step by Step: Installing Puppy Linux to Your Hard Drive  

[quote="HernanL"]
Mechsus wrote:
Step by Step: Installing Puppy Linux to Your Hard Drive
2. Darik's Boot and Nuke(DBN) on a Floppy.
Where is it? Thank you Hernán


http://www.murga.org/%7Epuppy/viewtopic.php?t=1598&highlight=installing+puppy+linux+hard+drive

HTH ... doc

_________________
Thanks! David
Home page: http://nevils-station.com
Don't google Search! http://duckduckgo.com
Puppy upup Raring 3992 & Lighthouse64-b602
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
edoc


Joined: 07 Aug 2005
Posts: 4377
Location: Southeast Georgia, USA

PostPosted: Wed 07 Sep 2005, 21:55    Post_subject: Re: It works!  

budden wrote:
The step-by-step here works pretty much as advertised.


~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Note: While still in terminal, format your swap partition by "mkswap /dev/hda6" and then turn on swapping by "swapon -a" (substitute the correct name of your swap partition to "/dev/hda6"). Rebooting is not necessary after partitioning (and before hard disk install). If you rebooted the system, press this number at boot time: 3 in version 1.04, and 2 in version 1.03 - this is to restrain Puppy from using any partition for storing data.
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

This, for 1.04 at least, should include a note that to complete the prevention of Puppy from using any partition ENTER should be the answer to the question. The text says so but the newbie may be confused by that text. We can never be too informative!

doc

_________________
Thanks! David
Home page: http://nevils-station.com
Don't google Search! http://duckduckgo.com
Puppy upup Raring 3992 & Lighthouse64-b602
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
edoc


Joined: 07 Aug 2005
Posts: 4377
Location: Southeast Georgia, USA

PostPosted: Thu 08 Sep 2005, 00:22    Post_subject: Re: It works!  

budden wrote:
The step-by-step here works pretty much as advertised.


OK, not a happy Puppy guy here at the moment!

Just spent a good deal of time downloading a bunch of pupget and dotpup and other apps, loaded them, etc. and then rebooted (Radio3 didn't respond and Java said a reboot may be required).

Nothing that I downloaded was saved! ;-(

I have no idea where to even start looking for the problem as I followed the instructions to load to HDD carefully & Grub does boot from /dev/hda2 fine, though I have to manually select that at the start and don't remember how to tell it to just autoboot hda2 unless I make a different selection within x seconds.

Grub is in the MBR.

I did select the "fancy" boot display with the penguin vs the simple one.

Other than those items it was all pretty much plain vanilla -- same as the ibm 600X but on a newer laptop.

??? doc

_________________
Thanks! David
Home page: http://nevils-station.com
Don't google Search! http://duckduckgo.com
Puppy upup Raring 3992 & Lighthouse64-b602
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
raffy

Joined: 25 May 2005
Posts: 4765
Location: Manila

PostPosted: Thu 08 Sep 2005, 09:54    Post_subject: Procedure Checks  

If you installed to hard disk, did you actually start Puppy from hard disk?

If you started from CD, did you actually allow Puppy to use the hard drive? (i.e., no pressing of 2 or 3 at boot time)

If the answer is "No" to either, that can happen (nothing saved to hard disk).
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
edoc


Joined: 07 Aug 2005
Posts: 4377
Location: Southeast Georgia, USA

PostPosted: Thu 08 Sep 2005, 11:00    Post_subject: Re: Procedure Checks  

raffy wrote:
If you installed to hard disk, did you actually start Puppy from hard disk?
If you started from CD, did you actually allow Puppy to use the hard drive? (i.e., no pressing of 2 or 3 at boot time)
If the answer is "No" to either, that can happen (nothing saved to hard disk).


Here is a critical addition to the Load to HDD instructions ...

Following this:

"And you're done! You can now use Puppy in hard disk. Don't forget to eject the Puppy CD from the drive."

BE SURE TO REBOOT BEFORE LOADING ANY APPS OR MAKING ANY CHANGES YOU WISH TO SAVE.

No changes made to apps or other settings are saved until the computer has been rebooted from the HDD.

doc

_________________
Thanks! David
Home page: http://nevils-station.com
Don't google Search! http://duckduckgo.com
Puppy upup Raring 3992 & Lighthouse64-b602
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
edoc


Joined: 07 Aug 2005
Posts: 4377
Location: Southeast Georgia, USA

PostPosted: Thu 08 Sep 2005, 11:07    Post_subject: Re: Procedure Checks  

raffy wrote:
If you installed to hard disk, did you actually start Puppy from hard disk?
If you started from CD, did you actually allow Puppy to use the hard drive? (i.e., no pressing of 2 or 3 at boot time)
If the answer is "No" to either, that can happen (nothing saved to hard disk).


Tried Logout and it brought me to a Bash prompt.

Entered "halt" and it jammed up with "Kernel Panic: Tried to kill init! error."

Reboot from Start Reboot works fine.

The Ticker app I loaded prior to the reboots was saved fine.

doc

_________________
Thanks! David
Home page: http://nevils-station.com
Don't google Search! http://duckduckgo.com
Puppy upup Raring 3992 & Lighthouse64-b602
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
raffy

Joined: 25 May 2005
Posts: 4765
Location: Manila

PostPosted: Thu 08 Sep 2005, 21:08    Post_subject: Thanks!  

Yes, a computer shutdown via the Start button does the shutdown better.

OK, congrats for your success, and thanks for the updates (we're all learning, aren't we Smile ).
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 2 of 5 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 Next
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » House Training » HOWTO ( Solutions )
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0918s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0051s) ][ GZIP on ]